Galway Football thread

Replying To galwayfball:  "There is a chance Roscommon will beat us. I think we will beat them based on the improvement but let's not write off Roscommon. Galway should never write off Roscommon.

Lads worked hard yesterday but there's plenty of room for improvement. Mayo did get through our defense on occasion and they did not have the forwards to finish the job Roscommon did.

Overall obviously a great day yesterday. Great to see the lads working their ***** off. We should've won by more and letting Mayo back like that shouldn't have happened. A few frees coughed up too.

Thought Mcdaid made an immediate impact. Conroy was superb again my motm. Great to see Comer back and in form. Brings a serious physical presence. Shane's frees really kept the spirit up at times when the team needed it. Heaneys goal so calmly taken.

Conroys post match interview sums it up.A happy man but not getting carried away he will enjoy the day but that's it. Beating Mayo know won't matter in a few weeks if we can't continue winning.

Well done team and management. I travelled in hope yesterday and they gave me a great day out"
The bad news is Conroy must be hitting 33 this year. He's playing like he's 23. In the form of his life for the county, and he's had good seasons before.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4341 - 25/04/2022 12:28:18    2413049

A good win for Galway. You were 6 up with game almost up, hung on for a one point win. Galway can win Connacht title now, unless they slip up. I'll keep a eye out for the Tribesmen.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 25/04/2022 12:29:35    2413050

Someone on here didn't like us discussing the merits/demerits of the injured/unavailable Mayo players last night. Don't know why, thought it was an informative discussion. Got a few likes on a post too, 10 I think ;)

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 25/04/2022 12:32:18    2413051

Replying To tommy k:  "It was a good performance but not a great performance as Dunphy would say. A lot of kick-outs lost with no strategy and allowing Mayo to kick 5 points in 8 mins is not good. You can't say we would beat Roscommon on that display as Roscommon have more firepower than Mayo and are more direct. Anyway one step at a time and prepare for the Leitrim game with the respect that it should be given."
A lot of kick outs won too, with 'no strategy'. We won a lot of kickout ball in Mayo territory in the first 20mins banging it as far up the pitch as we good, and Mayo looked very exposed defensively from a lot of it. It wasn't a sustainable strategy obviously, but we've had many worse days under long kickout ball, and will again no doubt. It gave an indication that we were the hungrier team maybe, the amount of breaking kickout ball we got onto. Contrast Heaney beating O'Shea to Comer's 'cross' and goaling, with Liam Silke beating the Mayo forward to a similar centre late on, when it was all to play for. Galway had that bit of an edge to them all day. Congrats to the management team on their first signature win. They made a smart move in Croker recently, when presumably deciding to look naive defensively all day long. In contrast, we shut up shop very well into the second half wind yesterday, and totally frustrated Mayo's offensive efforts with it. We just need to figure out why the wheels nearly came off there in the last 8or9 mins of action. Maybe we ran out of steam, after a hard working display. Was a bit like that Monaghan relegation game in that respect, only this time we scraped away with the spoils. Galway badly need to take the Connacht title now, to make this win worthwhile.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4341 - 25/04/2022 12:45:11    2413058

Replying To BLT:  "A mature post from Belclare. First time for everything."
No need for the needling. :)
Fair play Belclare. We're all delighted we got over the line yesterday.
The fundamentals we needed were workrate and physicality and we got those. We had structure defensively and it was clear lads knew what their role was. From there, we do have the players to get scores. We had less possession and fewer attacks, but converted at a much higher rate than Mayo.
We did a lot right, but there's still a lot of improvement to be made and the team and management are well aware of that. Kickouts are still a concern, but I'll be honest, I think there's merit in going long a lot of the time. Even if we lose it, we're set up to pressure the ball further out the pitch. Tyrone did this to good effect last year.
I'm delighted for the players and the management team. They put in a huge effort behind the scenes and yesterday will give them confidence.
Congrats to all involved and thank you for a great day out in Castlebar.
It's a boring cliche, but one game at a time. We're the last team who can afford to take anything for granted.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2460 - 25/04/2022 13:04:48    2413064

I hope the players and mgt enjoyed last night. They deserved to.

Going forward there is plenty to be positive about. We won against one of the so called Top 4 in spite of the fact that our only kick option was 50/50 long balls. It defies logic we can't fix this. I think it would transform us and is a great opportunity for improvement.

It's funny no matter what this team do the focus is on the negative. The negative in this case is so fixable that it is a huge opportunity.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 25/04/2022 13:05:30    2413065

Just watched it back, very enjoyable.
1. Conroy foot pass into Walsh, sends Mullin to Oz with a dummy, point.
4. Finnerty, huge turnover by Daly on our 21 v Carr, patient build up.
6. N Daly, Doherty, 9.2 for artistic merit, no penalty, good defending by Molloy.
6. Heaney Goal, pressed the kick out, Comer goes direct on Keegan
10. Conroy, free long to Comer who's up against 4, takes them on and scores.
12. Molloy fluffs a goal chance, long kick out won by Comer who plays in Molloy, Keegan can't stay with him, wide.
19. Black Card, O'Laoi, never was one, bad hand pass by O'Laoi and had just left one short. naivety really.
24. Huge kick out to the opp 45, Walsh picks up the break goes direct and is fouled by O'Hora, points the free.
30. Score of the game, Silke sticks with O'Donoghue and dispossess him on our 21, Mayo press, McHugh breaks the press through the hands to Daly to Conroy, quick interplay, back to Conroy, point.
39. Walsh draws 2, pops to Conroy who pops to Molloy in space, great score.
44. Patrick Kelly breaks the kick out to Tierney, huge run and we win a 45, over by Walsh.
47. Huge pressure by Galway in the middle, O'Connor loses the ball, Walsh great kick pass to McDaid, takes on Hession, good score.
48. McHugh to Finnerty, push in the back, Shane points the free
51. Conroy very unlucky with long ball over the top to Comer. 45, knocked over.
56. Super leadership by McHugh, breaks the press coming out and fouled by O'Connor. Daly with a lovely kick pass to Patrick Kelly who's out in front of Keegan, popped to Conroy, point
60. Glynn wins a great free coming out , Comer and Conroy take on the whole Mayo team, point for Conroy
62. Glynn wins another free. Conroy super kick pass to Comer who pops it to Heaney. 6 up or last score and game over. We could and should have managed the last 10 minutes a lot better.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 547 - 25/04/2022 14:10:47    2413103

Replying To lowballplease:  "Great win for the team and management. What will all the doom and gloom merchants say now?

We have won every league game we needed to and now beaten Mayo.

No chance Roscommon beat us a 3rd time in a row. Absolutely none and then we have a tough quarter against a qualifier.

PJ will remember the fancy dans getting carried away in 98 so will keep a lid on the hype."
Settle yourself down it's not 1998 revisited. The opportunity will be there to revisit 2018 whereby Galway reached the last 4 four and were competitive in that game.

Work to do yet however. If its a Roscommon v Galway (have to beat Leitrim and Sligo first) i don't agree with the zero view point as Roscommon and Galway are well matched with equal enough ability.

Galway will be favourites to win Connacht however and if they do win it and quarter final match up against division 1 opposition is possible in Croke Park. That's probably the type of match Galway will need to win as much as Connacht title and prove clear consistent progress has been made under this management.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 25/04/2022 14:56:17    2413122

Replying To Yondu:  "Settle yourself down it's not 1998 revisited. The opportunity will be there to revisit 2018 whereby Galway reached the last 4 four and were competitive in that game.

Work to do yet however. If its a Roscommon v Galway (have to beat Leitrim and Sligo first) i don't agree with the zero view point as Roscommon and Galway are well matched with equal enough ability.

Galway will be favourites to win Connacht however and if they do win it and quarter final match up against division 1 opposition is possible in Croke Park. That's probably the type of match Galway will need to win as much as Connacht title and prove clear consistent progress has been made under this management."
You're absolutely right. If we play Roscommon in the Connacht final, we'll have to perform very well to beat them.
They're more than capable of dashing our hopes and have done so a number of times in the last 5 or 6 years.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2460 - 25/04/2022 16:24:12    2413161

If you ever need a laugh on day after meeting Mayo, have a look at the Mayogaablog...
The lads were celebrating last night and they deserve it.. but I'm really hoping it's back down to business and concentrate on continue to work on kickouts etc for Leitrim.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 25/04/2022 16:40:31    2413168

Replying To WanPintWin:  "You're absolutely right. If we play Roscommon in the Connacht final, we'll have to perform very well to beat them.
They're more than capable of dashing our hopes and have done so a number of times in the last 5 or 6 years."
Can't see how a potential Galway vs Roscommon Connacht final wouldn't be perceived as being 50/50. It's been very evenly matched over the last 6 or 7 years. Bookies have us as strong favourites. If both teams progress the game would be in Pearse stadium. Roscommon have beaten us well on their last 2 visits there in the championship.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 145 - 25/04/2022 16:42:06    2413169

Ross always save their best for Galway. They will bring 100% commitment, go at it from before the ball is even thrown in, and will be oozing confidence. They are not quite as ferocious in the tackle as Mayo (Mayo top the charts in that department) and they may not be quite as fast turning a turnover into a score. However, they have better score takers especially from long range and , at least up to now, have got the better of Galway in the rough and tumble element of the game. It will be very interesting to see how both teams set up, should they progress from their respective semi finals v DIV 4 opposition.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 25/04/2022 17:36:23    2413191

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "I think that you might be getting a bit carried away."
Agreed. We have beaten Mayo on our last 3 visits to Castlebar. Should Ros and ourselves progress we have lost the last two Salthill championship meetings to ye. PJ will take nothing for granted from hereon but make no mistake about it yesterday was monumental although we should have won by more.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 25/04/2022 17:53:50    2413197

was at the game yesterday..
we give credit when credit is due and well done to all involved yesterday on a very good performance.

im not going to name any individuals but to 1 to 26 congrats to you all and to the lads who didnt make the 26
we cant forget them either..

thought gameplan was executed brilliantly and our bench worked very well..

when galway met before xmas this game was there main goal and they have achieved that now along
with promotion to division one so hats off to the management and the players.

now the leitrim game will be interesting as to what joyce does with team selection.
im assuming fitzgerald and maclouhjlin will be back so would he try fitzgerald at 3 and maybe
move sean kelly to a wing forward position and let him do what he does best and if needed and sweep
accross the full back line..
i think mcdaid could be pushing hard for a place but i though our half back line where superb yesterday.
mollloy deffo more at home in the wing back position..

could we possibly see mcdaid kelly and heaney as a half forward line..

id like to see young macloughlin get game time if he is fit enough to be involved.,im not sure
what the story is with him or fitzgerald.
i hope we didnt pick up any bad injuries yesterday.
i think glynn went off injured and comer was limping so hope both will be ok..

dont think shane is fully fit either..i think he is still carrying a knock..
though finnerty was very quiet yesterday so we need alot more from him as given chances
he can score..

does anybody no if sweeney has picked up an injury.!

anyways its great to be looking forward to a conn semi final and looking forward to going
down to carrick to support the lads..
Gaillimh Abu

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 25/04/2022 18:23:52    2413201

Galway must learn to hold onto possession and not give the ball away needlessly. It could have cost them yesterday.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 25/04/2022 18:39:19    2413204

Replying To GDL:  "I enjoyed that, a few pints last night, going for a walk on the prom, breakfast out with the papers and then a bit of light entertainment, reading the Mayo blog, Willie Joe will be putting lads in timeout and giving them detention."
This made me laugh.

I would have to concur, whenever I am feeling a bit sad or just a little down, I usually head over to the Mayo blog as it always serves up great entertainment reading some of the delusion served up in there. Tuning in after All Ireland's and reading the comments is a guilty pleasure of mine!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1732 - 25/04/2022 18:50:15    2413209

Replying To baire:  "Galway must learn to hold onto possession and not give the ball away needlessly. It could have cost them yesterday."
I did notice that there were a lot of needless turnovers when Galway players were in possession due to Mayo tackles plus they still need to be able to tackle properly themselves even though they were better than they were in the recent Roscommon games. It seems to be an S&C issue plus a technical issue that can be overcome with specialist attention. A lot done more to do!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 26/04/2022 09:39:16    2413246

Replying To gbay:  "was at the game yesterday..
we give credit when credit is due and well done to all involved yesterday on a very good performance.

im not going to name any individuals but to 1 to 26 congrats to you all and to the lads who didnt make the 26
we cant forget them either..

thought gameplan was executed brilliantly and our bench worked very well..

when galway met before xmas this game was there main goal and they have achieved that now along
with promotion to division one so hats off to the management and the players.

now the leitrim game will be interesting as to what joyce does with team selection.
im assuming fitzgerald and maclouhjlin will be back so would he try fitzgerald at 3 and maybe
move sean kelly to a wing forward position and let him do what he does best and if needed and sweep
accross the full back line..
i think mcdaid could be pushing hard for a place but i though our half back line where superb yesterday.
mollloy deffo more at home in the wing back position..

could we possibly see mcdaid kelly and heaney as a half forward line..

id like to see young macloughlin get game time if he is fit enough to be involved.,im not sure
what the story is with him or fitzgerald.
i hope we didnt pick up any bad injuries yesterday.
i think glynn went off injured and comer was limping so hope both will be ok..

dont think shane is fully fit either..i think he is still carrying a knock..
though finnerty was very quiet yesterday so we need alot more from him as given chances
he can score..

does anybody no if sweeney has picked up an injury.!

anyways its great to be looking forward to a conn semi final and looking forward to going
down to carrick to support the lads..
Gaillimh Abu"
Fitzgerald played for Barna Saturday in a league game. Sweeney and McLaughlin aren't injured either as far as I'm aware. Just weren't selected on this occasion....

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 625 - 26/04/2022 09:51:43    2413251

Congrats PJ and the whole team, it was brilliant. Great to beat a top team knowing we can improve
all over the pitch.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1761 - 26/04/2022 10:38:35    2413269

Jaysus lads I don't know what they are breeding in Mayo but it's good to know they are still as delusional as ever. Just heard the Ah Ref podcast with the Mayo lads who said they would be confident of beating Galway by six to ten points if we meet in the all Ireland quarter final.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 941 - 26/04/2022 11:55:12    2413292