Replying To galwayman2: "He is but has barely kicked a ball in 18 months. Think he might have played one or two club games that's it. No way he'd be up to speed for a game like this" I think hernon will be fullback if Sean Kelly isn't fit. He's played there the last 2 games, Sean Kelly has been further out the pitch. Regardless of who marks him outside of Kelly, I don't think we've someone with enough experience to mark O'Shea
allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 21/06/2023 18:46:27
Replying To Kickitout: "In my opinion Walsh , kelly , comer will all be fit I firmly believe comer was fit last day as well but management got caught out messing about with certs pure rubbish stuff ,, best game Galway played this year was v Kerry in league with power in goal the Galway players were receiving ball in attacking positions not under pressure Gleason need be benched as does Ian Burke play Finnerty centre forward he smart player and give Walsh number 14 jersey snd play him there I don't believe he played there since all Ireland last year ,, makes sense I suppose he only scored 9 points ,,,,, play sweeney wing back I believe management are confusing a simple game naming dummy teams John Maher cleaned enda. Smith this year only one who did not sure if he started a game since , management are in last chance saloon loose Sunday and that's them done ,," Last chance saloon. They've just won 2 Connachts in a row for the first time in 20 years, stayed in Div 1, got to an All Ireland Final and a League final in the last 12 months.
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 21/06/2023 19:41:34
If there's no Comer or Sean Kelly, this is my starting team:
Bernard Power in goal (Gleeson could be too predictable for Mayo, need to switch it up )
Johnny McGrath - Jack Glynn - Cillian McDiad - Eoghan Kelly - Ger Davoren - Dylan McHugh
Move Johnny Heaney into midfield with John Maher
Peter Cooke - Paul Conroy - Matthew Tierney Dessie Connelly - Shane Walsh - Ian Burke
Paul Conroy not fit enough for midfield. He needs to be switched up. A lot of the lads need to be switched off. Give some others lads a game who have far more drive and fight in them to prove themselves & have shown good form. Dessie Connelly is well able to score plenty, we need to give him a chance. As is Tomo.
Take Shane walsh off and bring Tomo on if he's not bringing his A game. Keep it fast.
Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/06/2023 20:00:33
Replying To brisbane: "More bad news for Galway Sean Hurson has been confirmed as the referee." maybe not. We know he gave free against us last year etc but he could have black carded Gleeson. We did not finish well. Kerry beat us fair. The ref. in the league final was not nice. Chap from Kildare? No issue with Hurson. We need to take our chances, forget about refs.
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 21/06/2023 21:18:19
Replying To jam83: "Has anyone noticed if the body language of Shane Walsh during matches is different to last year?
Something that caught my eye twice in replays of the goal in Roscommon and also last Sunday, was other players all reacting with a raised fist etc. Walsh never flinched but that can be the way. Couple that with him being late to huddles, or not joining one and standing on his own before the start of the second half against Tyrone, and something is off that isn't injury related." He could have popped it into empty net on Sunday instead of passing. I think Shane will do well this weekend. Lets support all of our lads. Gaillimh Abu
suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 21/06/2023 21:20:15
Replying To brisbane: "More bad news for Galway Sean Hurson has been confirmed as the referee." He wouldn't be seen as a favourable choice in Mayo either
tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1205 - 21/06/2023 21:26:35
Replying To tirawleybaron: "He wouldn't be seen as a favourable choice in Mayo either" Tell me a referee that ye don't be giving out about!
Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/06/2023 22:28:01
Replying To tirawleybaron: "He wouldn't be seen as a favourable choice in Mayo either" Mayo folk could get Pierre Luigi Collina in to ref a charity game and still think he had an agenda against them
PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 243 - 21/06/2023 22:36:10
Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed: "If there's no Comer or Sean Kelly, this is my starting team:
Bernard Power in goal (Gleeson could be too predictable for Mayo, need to switch it up )
Johnny McGrath - Jack Glynn - Cillian McDiad - Eoghan Kelly - Ger Davoren - Dylan McHugh
Peter Cooke - Paul Conroy - Matthew Tierney Dessie Connelly - Shane Walsh - Ian Burke
Paul Conroy not fit enough for midfield. He needs to be switched up. A lot of the lads need to be switched off. Give some others lads a game who have far more drive and fight in them to prove themselves & have shown good form. Dessie Connelly is well able to score plenty, we need to give him a chance. As is Tomo.
Take Shane walsh off and bring Tomo on if he's not bringing his A game. Keep it fast." There's lads in the backs who haven't played championship yet. No way there'll be those kind of changes. There's as much chance of Tomas Mannion playing centre back as Ger Davoren. Conneely has had chances.
jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 21/06/2023 22:59:31
Replying To suckvalleypaddy: "He could have popped it into empty net on Sunday instead of passing. I think Shane will do well this weekend. Lets support all of our lads. Gaillimh Abu" He did pass it alright but was expecting the return. Was understandably annoyed when Burke's pass was intercepted. When I've seen him a few times not in any way bothered about a big important goal, with no gesture or anything to the goal scorer or anything else as Kelly ran out past him last Sunday, I was wondering is he unhappy not to be getting these scores himself?
jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 21/06/2023 23:03:41
Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed: "If there's no Comer or Sean Kelly, this is my starting team:
Take Shane walsh off and bring Tomo on if he's not bringing his A game. Keep it fast." You're obviously a Mayo fan in disguise with a proposed team like that.
galway2015 (Galway) - Posts: 60 - 22/06/2023 06:35:41
Take Shane walsh off and bring Tomo on if he's not bringing his A game. Keep it fast." You must be a Moycullen man? Dessie one of the best club players, not up to intercounty standard tho. Eoghan Kelly and Davoren not experienced enough and havent played enough with the team this year to be thrown in like that in a do or die game against Mayo. McDaid has too much scoring power to be in corner back, needs to be wing back. Swap Heaney and Conroy. Other than that, your selection is on point...
LetsPlayBall (Galway) - Posts: 64 - 22/06/2023 07:32:56
Replying To smallfrank: "Last chance saloon. They've just won 2 Connachts in a row for the first time in 20 years, stayed in Div 1, got to an All Ireland Final and a League final in the last 12 months." 100% what a ridiculous statement
galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1295 - 22/06/2023 08:12:24
Referee was not the cause of Mayo losing to Cork. That said you have to call out incorrect calls. The closed fist hit on Jack Carneys head was as clear a red you'll ever see but no the ref gives a yellow…disgraceful call.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11446 - 22/06/2023 08:21:48
Replying To Belclare: "Tell me a referee that ye don't be giving out about!" The obsession you have with mayo is funny.
Galwigan (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 22/06/2023 08:54:50
Replying To yew_tree: "Referee was not the cause of Mayo losing to Cork. That said you have to call out incorrect calls. The closed fist hit on Jack Carneys head was as clear a red you'll ever see but no the ref gives a yellow…disgraceful call." Have to agree with you on the closed fist, it was so so late you'd wonder how he called that as a yellow
TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 158 - 22/06/2023 09:52:14
some of the post here are mad, as if someone who hasn't kicked a ball all year will just start in the most important game all year, some of you need to give your heads a wobble
candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 292 - 22/06/2023 09:59:50
Take Shane walsh off and bring Tomo on if he's not bringing his A game. Keep it fast." You want to drop John Daly. I'll say no more.
GDL (Galway) - Posts: 777 - 22/06/2023 10:07:51
Take Shane walsh off and bring Tomo on if he's not bringing his A game. Keep it fast." Back to the whack shack with you
MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 22/06/2023 10:52:57
Replying To TobeaRossie: "Have to agree with you on the closed fist, it was so so late you'd wonder how he called that as a yellow" I've always said more often than not Connacht teams don't seem to get the marginal calls. Maybe that's a chip on the shoulder and a to hell or to Connacht mentality…I don't know? On the flip side Connacht teams do have a habit of shooting one's self in the foot and grabbing defeat from the jaws of victory.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11446 - 22/06/2023 11:17:30