Galway Football thread

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Is Mulkerrin not on 26?"
He is but has barely kicked a ball in 18 months.
Think he might have played one or two club games that's it. No way he'd be up to speed for a game like this

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1295 - 21/06/2023 12:16:32    2488106

Replying To Knocknadrough:  "What a difference 24 hours make, lookin at a 2 week break Sunday morning, by Monday morning we're playin Mayo in a weeks time do or die.. What about the match not one of our best, how many times have we seen lads in scoring positions only to hesitate and recycle, take on the shot especially early on for heavens sake, sometimes it looks like we're trying to manufacture the perfect score.. Walshe he's got so much natural talent sometimes we expect too much off him but imv he's not the same since the extended vacation, there was a mark there in the first half he would normally take on but he passed the ball crossfield, he was turned over another time, then again another time with Gallagher off his line he opted to pass to Burke, that last free wasn't in the ball park.... Gleeson too ponderous on his kickouts, penalised again on sunday, it's NOT Compulsory to use a tee, get on with it sometimes,we're too predictable..... Not one of Ian Burkes best days, not convinced by him
... Conroy that great servant hasn't the full 70 in him these days imv... And another thing, why wasn't Kelly called ashore straight away and a substitution made to kill time and get the lads reorganised... Anyways we'll keep the faith, if we die we'll die with our boots on, we have the beating of this Mayo team"
Yes I think we are all asking those questions currently! Another thing that Armagh did was target the Galway fullback line and in particular the corner backs McGrath and Glynn who are very small for the intercounty game. Mayo will do the same the next day no doubt so I'm not sure do the Galway management recognise that or how slow Gleeson is with the kick-outs and have a plan in place to address those issues because if they don't they are very slow learners!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 21/06/2023 12:17:59    2488107

Replying To Route1ball:  "Agreed, I actually feel that the Galway attack will be deadly with a diagonal type of ball to Conroy to feed burke and others. I taught Burke was brilliant against us in the connacht semi. However i actually taught that Walsh was poor in any of the games I saw him play this year for the county team. I may be old fashioned but is Walsh more interested in social media and doing interviews rather than bettering himself for the team. Is anyone in the management team going to pull him back to get him focus on the football pitch. My stand out player for Galway is Peter Cooke and Cillian Mc Daid. They are so effective on the ball. The match v Mayo will tell us alot of this galway team. If they win it , they will be very hard to beat in the next round. The winner of this game has the potential to knock out Dublin or Kerry. I would love to see a connacht team win sam this year, but injuries and form will have a massive part to play in the run into the final."
I don't think it's necessarily old-fashioned to think that way, but I'd imagine it's still incorrect in this case. Shane Walsh's form might not be great at the moment, but it's highly unlikely that's anything to do with his focus being impinged on by things as trivial as interviews. The man lives and breathes football.

TheHuckleBuck (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 21/06/2023 12:31:44    2488111

Replying To smallfrank:  "We could potentially be missing Sean Kelly, Dylan McHugh, Comer and Shane Walsh.

On the Kelly one, you have to choose between Fitzgerald and Mulkerrin based on last week's subs, had to be Fitzgerald with Mulkerrin having played so little football. Need Neil Mulcahy and Eoghan Kelly available.

McHugh, Maher comes in and McDaid goes back to win back. Also could reshuffle with Hernon moving to FB line and Sweeney going wing back.

Comer, either Finnerty or Culhane realistically. Especially if Shane doesn't make it.

Walsh, I'd actually pick Paul Kelly to add another worker around the middle. Need Patrick Kelly as an option.

Free taking is going to be vital so needs to be well nailed down with a plan if Shane doesn't make it. Cooke, Tierney, Finnerty, Culhane and Conroy all options. Remember lads, free taking won us the game vs Mayo in 21(Walsh) and 17(Armstrong), need to nail them all."
Walsh is running his summer camps this week in Dublin so may have been excused...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/06/2023 12:35:22    2488115

Replying To Belclare:  "Walsh is running his summer camps this week in Dublin so may have been excused..."
Possibly, also nothing to be gained by training this week - rest/recovery order of the day. Galway need to be fully tuned in - no half-***** back passes from Cooke.

Surely, from league final the players realise they are well capable of winning - but we also need to win smart. By that I mean, for once, playing as a team - not individuals. That way, we put this game to bed with the minimum of fuss, and maintain good energy levels for the following week's test.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 623 - 21/06/2023 13:30:18    2488139

Replying To Belclare:  "Walsh is running his summer camps this week in Dublin so may have been excused..."
I would very much doubt that the week of a knock out championship game.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 21/06/2023 13:36:00    2488141

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "So presuming Comer and Kelly are injured, team would be similar to following?

Gleeson
Glynn Fitzgerald McGrath
Sweeney Daly McDaid
Conroy Maher
Cooke Heaney Tierney
Walsh Finnerty Burke

Doesn't leave much impact from bench if Comer is injured."
Who needs a bench if we are pulling away?!!!!

Coolockweigan (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 21/06/2023 13:40:11    2488144

Replying To Really:  "Possibly, also nothing to be gained by training this week - rest/recovery order of the day. Galway need to be fully tuned in - no half-***** back passes from Cooke.

Surely, from league final the players realise they are well capable of winning - but we also need to win smart. By that I mean, for once, playing as a team - not individuals. That way, we put this game to bed with the minimum of fuss, and maintain good energy levels for the following week's test."
I'll take any kind of win. Thinking about winning with a minimum fuss is not something which should be in anyone's mind coming up to such a crucial game.
We'll need to play with a serious intensity to win this match. If anyone's thinking about keeping something in the tank, then the game is gone.
If we get through, then the next game is the focus. Until then, this Sunday is the be-all and end-all.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2230 - 21/06/2023 13:43:51    2488148

Precisely, we played within ourselves on Sunday (almost looked like we were saving ourselves for an AIQF) and look what happened. Armagh brought great intensity, it was do or die for them and it showed.

Galway need to get to the tune of it on Sunday, we can't be thinking about the following weekend, that will look after itself after full time on Sunday.

They have knocked us out of 4 championships since 1998 - 99, 19, 20 and 21… we owe them one and what better place to do it than our own backyard.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1641 - 21/06/2023 14:41:14    2488171

What's Shane Walsh doing a camp in dublin for? I feel he's all about the media attention and social media followers. It' takes the focus off the game.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/06/2023 15:46:24    2488187

In my opinion Walsh , kelly , comer will all be fit I firmly believe comer was fit last day as well but management got caught out messing about with certs pure rubbish stuff ,, best game Galway played this year was v Kerry in league with power in goal the Galway players were receiving ball in attacking positions not under pressure Gleason need be benched as does Ian Burke play Finnerty centre forward he smart player and give Walsh number 14 jersey snd play him there I don't believe he played there since all Ireland last year ,, makes sense I suppose he only scored 9 points ,,,,, play sweeney wing back I believe management are confusing a simple game naming dummy teams John Maher cleaned enda. Smith this year only one who did not sure if he started a game since , management are in last chance saloon loose Sunday and that's them done ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 976 - 21/06/2023 16:43:04    2488212

One glaring thing from watching the game back and maybe it was a tactic in the first half against the wind.
The ball went wide at 12.12, there was a bit of a delay for a sub. Gleeson puts the ball on the tee at 12.52.
Joe McQuillan blows the whistle to throw the ball up at 13.20. How can it possibly take that long

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 21/06/2023 16:44:51    2488213

More bad news for Galway Sean Hurson has been confirmed as the referee.

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 21/06/2023 16:45:22    2488214

Has anyone noticed if the body language of Shane Walsh during matches is different to last year?

Something that caught my eye twice in replays of the goal in Roscommon and also last Sunday, was other players all reacting with a raised fist etc. Walsh never flinched but that can be the way.
Couple that with him being late to huddles, or not joining one and standing on his own before the start of the second half against Tyrone, and something is off that isn't injury related.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 21/06/2023 16:52:03    2488217

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "What's Shane Walsh doing a camp in dublin for? I feel he's all about the media attention and social media followers. It' takes the focus off the game."
We don't own players, it is no wonder so many step away. What a player does in their own time is their business. They aren't paid by you, me or Galway GAA or the GAA. They have bills to pay so they still have to make a living. Why single out this player. What about other players that have to work this week? Should they tell their employers they aren't available. However if you want to stand on Shop street on Friday evening and Saturday morning and outside The Gaelic Grounds on Saturday evening and Pearse Stadium on Sunday with buckets collecting for the players so they can pay their bills and take unpaid leave from work to concentrate on The GAME fair play to you. I'll definitely give you a few euro, or perhaps you can set up an idonate page.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 777 - 21/06/2023 17:41:56    2488232

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "What's Shane Walsh doing a camp in dublin for? I feel he's all about the media attention and social media followers. It' takes the focus off the game."
He's entitled to make some money for himself. Agree on the social piece in general but no harm trying to make something after all they give

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 21/06/2023 18:07:40    2488236

Anyone on this forum with any inside knowledge on Comer or Sean kelly? I can't see Sean being able to play next week with his injury. Also what happened Eoghan kelly? He was superb against Mayo in the league matches.
The bottom line is that we need to really change things around from last Sunday and that line up does not work well together. Firstly - it's extremely predictable at this stage. Mayo are wise to our players and tactics.
Secondly, it's hard to blame it all on Shane Walsh, but what's the point of trying to make that team work when it doesn't. The truth is there lot of very weak players on the team. Not enough hunger. We need some tougher lads out there and that was very evident the last day. Peter cooke is brilliant when he goes for a point but he needs to be told not to passing backwards - maybe it's a confidence issue. Sean kelly seemed to be the only one driving it up and going for goals last week. We need way more of that confidence

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/06/2023 18:08:00    2488238

Replying To backtooldwall:  "I agree with TobeaRossie I fear our defence could be like it was a few years ago after Sk got injured against Mayo in Croke Park, porous as a sieve .The lad who played fullback for Moycullen may be a good replacement, big and strong and seemed well able to make strong runs forward like Kelly.Is he on the panel? No stand out replacement for Comer,may need Conroy as full forward."
Are you on about David Wynne or Neil Mulchahy? Was speaking to a man in Corofin selector about a month ago who said Wynne was the best player for Moycullen against Corofin but for he's not even on the panel. I vote that we just sit back and let the Moycullen Club Senior team play Mayo at this stage , they were class against Westport. Doesn't seem to be any cohesion at all with the Galway team!!

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/06/2023 18:25:20    2488243

I've wondered a few times and this is just my opinion.. Is our management team a bit crowded, maybe by 1, too many cooks and all that.. Sideline decisions seem to take too long, is there too much consultation going on? By the time changes are made it's oftentimes too late

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 21/06/2023 18:30:02    2488245

Replying To jam83:  "Has anyone noticed if the body language of Shane Walsh during matches is different to last year?

Something that caught my eye twice in replays of the goal in Roscommon and also last Sunday, was other players all reacting with a raised fist etc. Walsh never flinched but that can be the way.
Couple that with him being late to huddles, or not joining one and standing on his own before the start of the second half against Tyrone, and something is off that isn't injury related."
Yes I agree with you, I noticed the body language and team spirit isn't there. Shane walsh being late to the huddle spoke volumes on Sunday, and this attitude and lack of connection translates on the pitch. Team sports are far more than the individual - they need to work together. You'd wonder what is going on behind the scenes

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 21/06/2023 18:33:54    2488248