Galway Football thread

Replying To ahsure.:  "Be careful S1234 or I might have to ask Willie Joe to put you in mayogaablog jail for a awhileen haha"
As Clare would say Ha

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 20/06/2023 20:41:57    2487964

Replying To GDL:  "I've just seen Sundays game back and we left an awful amount of goal chances behind us, but the creation of goal chances remains a big positive, however we need to execute them going forward. We also created numerous goal chances the in the league final and against Westmeath two weeks ago. The players will be disappointed that they didn't manage the clock with time running out. I think we will be ok but we need, Kelly, Comer and McHugh fit. The team for me would be
Power
McGrath
Kelly
Glynn
McHugh
Daly
McDaid
Maher
Tierney
Cooke
Conroy
Heaney
Burke
Comer
Walsh"
I agree with your change of goalie but there's no way he'll change now. But Gleeson is just unbelievably slow to put the tee and ball down. Is he told to I wonder? Maybe to let Galways backs all get into their positions?
It's blunting our attack anyway.

I don't recall many goal chances myself but of the ball work Galway did in the warm-up, most of it, prob ten mins was spent on creating goal chances.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 20/06/2023 21:07:59    2487965

Does anyone know if Sean Kelly will be able to play on Sunday? I agree about Owen Gallagher - he's solid and tough, we needed him especially against the northies . A lot of young lads on the team not half as tough as him and he gels well with cooke and kelly from all the club matches all year

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 20/06/2023 22:11:59    2487975

I also think tomo and Dessie Connelly can really score if they're given half a chance. They don't really get it.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 20/06/2023 22:16:37    2487978

What a difference 24 hours make, lookin at a 2 week break Sunday morning, by Monday morning we're playin Mayo in a weeks time do or die.. What about the match not one of our best, how many times have we seen lads in scoring positions only to hesitate and recycle, take on the shot especially early on for heavens sake, sometimes it looks like we're trying to manufacture the perfect score.. Walshe he's got so much natural talent sometimes we expect too much off him but imv he's not the same since the extended vacation, there was a mark there in the first half he would normally take on but he passed the ball crossfield, he was turned over another time, then again another time with Gallagher off his line he opted to pass to Burke, that last free wasn't in the ball park.... Gleeson too ponderous on his kickouts, penalised again on sunday, it's NOT Compulsory to use a tee, get on with it sometimes,we're too predictable..... Not one of Ian Burkes best days, not convinced by him
... Conroy that great servant hasn't the full 70 in him these days imv... And another thing, why wasn't Kelly called ashore straight away and a substitution made to kill time and get the lads reorganised... Anyways we'll keep the faith, if we die we'll die with our boots on, we have the beating of this Mayo team

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 20/06/2023 22:17:36    2487979

What team would people pick if (as seems likely) Kelly, Comer and McHugh are not fit to start?

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 383 - 21/06/2023 05:04:59    2487997

Replying To PressureKick:  "That wasn't a draw. Up to now there's been a rotation every year, and it was Connacht's turn to meet ulster in a semi if the provincial winners got through. That was there and known by every team (Mayo, Roscommon etc), at the start of the year. Galway got the tough draw in Connacht and then capitalized on that

As, for actual draws, Galway had a pot of Armagh, Cork and Clare last year, got Armagh. They got the toughest group by far of the provincial winners this year. They then get Mayo, again the toughest of 3 options. It's a huge statistical anomaly. 1 in 27 chance"
Or, they could just have beaten Armagh

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 390 - 21/06/2023 08:09:31    2488003

Replying To Belclare:  "As Clare would say Ha"
That Clare one on the blog would sicken ya

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1295 - 21/06/2023 08:50:42    2488016

Replying To Knocknadrough:  "What a difference 24 hours make, lookin at a 2 week break Sunday morning, by Monday morning we're playin Mayo in a weeks time do or die.. What about the match not one of our best, how many times have we seen lads in scoring positions only to hesitate and recycle, take on the shot especially early on for heavens sake, sometimes it looks like we're trying to manufacture the perfect score.. Walshe he's got so much natural talent sometimes we expect too much off him but imv he's not the same since the extended vacation, there was a mark there in the first half he would normally take on but he passed the ball crossfield, he was turned over another time, then again another time with Gallagher off his line he opted to pass to Burke, that last free wasn't in the ball park.... Gleeson too ponderous on his kickouts, penalised again on sunday, it's NOT Compulsory to use a tee, get on with it sometimes,we're too predictable..... Not one of Ian Burkes best days, not convinced by him
... Conroy that great servant hasn't the full 70 in him these days imv... And another thing, why wasn't Kelly called ashore straight away and a substitution made to kill time and get the lads reorganised... Anyways we'll keep the faith, if we die we'll die with our boots on, we have the beating of this Mayo team"
Galway had the ball and they weren't going to kick it out over the sideline to give it back to Armagh. They had to wait until it went dead, but I think they gave it back to Armagh for that last free and Kelly then had to run back onto the goal line. Not ideal.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 21/06/2023 09:06:15    2488020

Replying To Knocknadrough:  "What a difference 24 hours make, lookin at a 2 week break Sunday morning, by Monday morning we're playin Mayo in a weeks time do or die.. What about the match not one of our best, how many times have we seen lads in scoring positions only to hesitate and recycle, take on the shot especially early on for heavens sake, sometimes it looks like we're trying to manufacture the perfect score.. Walshe he's got so much natural talent sometimes we expect too much off him but imv he's not the same since the extended vacation, there was a mark there in the first half he would normally take on but he passed the ball crossfield, he was turned over another time, then again another time with Gallagher off his line he opted to pass to Burke, that last free wasn't in the ball park.... Gleeson too ponderous on his kickouts, penalised again on sunday, it's NOT Compulsory to use a tee, get on with it sometimes,we're too predictable..... Not one of Ian Burkes best days, not convinced by him
... Conroy that great servant hasn't the full 70 in him these days imv... And another thing, why wasn't Kelly called ashore straight away and a substitution made to kill time and get the lads reorganised... Anyways we'll keep the faith, if we die we'll die with our boots on, we have the beating of this Mayo team"
agree with your point about connor gleeson. if conroy tires he should be put into full forward joyce and co should have been trialing this all year imho he set up both of tierneys scores late on sunday and he would be a dream for the forwards inside= do we think hernon will start this weekend? alas does anybody have any update on damien or sean

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 38 - 21/06/2023 09:07:25    2488021

I can't see Kelly making it.
Injuries are going to happen, we'll have to get on with it. Our best defender the last month or so lads has been Johnny McGrath, he's been exceptional. Don't forget he also gave a clinic on O'Donoghue in the second half of the league final. His pace the last day to get back and disposess Campbell(led to a score for us) was exceptional. Sean Fitzgerald wasn't bad in the league final either so we are going to have to trust these young lads. We are going to need 15 points plus to win I believe. Need a big game from a few forwards or it's curtains I'm afraid. Relying on our full back for scores was never going to get us far.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 21/06/2023 09:14:23    2488022

What the story with tickets for Sunday game understood it was to be unreserved seating like Tyrone game but could only get terrace tickets yesterday there was no stand or mention of unreserved seating. All tickets are same price so will it be first come first served or is stand been reserved for season tickets?

My gut is Kelly will play seemed like an impact injury. Can't imagine mchugh will be ready if damaged hammer again and unsure on comer.

Hopefully mcstay stays with strange team selection and leaves loftus at 6 picks mchugh coen and leaves superior players in hession, callinan and mcloughlin on the bench

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1315 - 21/06/2023 09:15:39    2488023

Replying To jm25:  "What the story with tickets for Sunday game understood it was to be unreserved seating like Tyrone game but could only get terrace tickets yesterday there was no stand or mention of unreserved seating. All tickets are same price so will it be first come first served or is stand been reserved for season tickets?

My gut is Kelly will play seemed like an impact injury. Can't imagine mchugh will be ready if damaged hammer again and unsure on comer.

Hopefully mcstay stays with strange team selection and leaves loftus at 6 picks mchugh coen and leaves superior players in hession, callinan and mcloughlin on the bench"
I'd say Stand tickets gone to ST holders and the 2 County Boards.
McStay is Galway's best asset alright.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2044 - 21/06/2023 10:12:22    2488038

Is Mulkerrin not on 26?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1218 - 21/06/2023 10:38:08    2488050

Any word on Kelly yet? Without himself and Comer, I think Mayo have too much for ye

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 158 - 21/06/2023 10:59:44    2488060

Replying To Coolockweigan:  "I think posting Conroy in full forward might bring more out of the nippier forwards. You could have Burke and Shane bursting onto his breakdowns. I still prefer Finnerty in Salthill. Its his patch and last year he regularly hit 2 or 3 from play in at least 3 or 4 games. That should be the bare minimum for every forward. Finnerty has longe range scoring from the right wing in his locker. He is also creative with the fisted pass. I just feel Burke isn't shooting at all. At times last week he could have fisted points but turned back and away. Few of us gave mentioned how predictable he has become. People also have been championing Culhane but haven't seen anything to impress in the limited chances he got this season in the maroon. That lad won't have to be asked to shoot though! Is our full back line a bit small for the aerial attack? Love the buzz on the forum. I think we are all excited about this game. Where would we be without GAA? I really hope we can keep the summer going!"
Agreed, I actually feel that the Galway attack will be deadly with a diagonal type of ball to Conroy to feed burke and others. I taught Burke was brilliant against us in the connacht semi. However i actually taught that Walsh was poor in any of the games I saw him play this year for the county team. I may be old fashioned but is Walsh more interested in social media and doing interviews rather than bettering himself for the team. Is anyone in the management team going to pull him back to get him focus on the football pitch. My stand out player for Galway is Peter Cooke and Cillian Mc Daid. They are so effective on the ball. The match v Mayo will tell us alot of this galway team. If they win it , they will be very hard to beat in the next round. The winner of this game has the potential to knock out Dublin or Kerry. I would love to see a connacht team win sam this year, but injuries and form will have a massive part to play in the run into the final.

Route1ball (Roscommon) - Posts: 8 - 21/06/2023 11:31:26    2488075

None of the injured players trained last night. Neither did Walsh.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2317 - 21/06/2023 11:38:58    2488081

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Any word on Kelly yet? Without himself and Comer, I think Mayo have too much for ye"
I agree with TobeaRossie I fear our defence could be like it was a few years ago after Sk got injured against Mayo in Croke Park, porous as a sieve .The lad who played fullback for Moycullen may be a good replacement, big and strong and seemed well able to make strong runs forward like Kelly.Is he on the panel? No stand out replacement for Comer,may need Conroy as full forward.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 21/06/2023 11:47:54    2488091

Replying To Marooned:  "None of the injured players trained last night. Neither did Walsh."
We could potentially be missing Sean Kelly, Dylan McHugh, Comer and Shane Walsh.

On the Kelly one, you have to choose between Fitzgerald and Mulkerrin based on last week's subs, had to be Fitzgerald with Mulkerrin having played so little football. Need Neil Mulcahy and Eoghan Kelly available.

McHugh, Maher comes in and McDaid goes back to win back. Also could reshuffle with Hernon moving to FB line and Sweeney going wing back.

Comer, either Finnerty or Culhane realistically. Especially if Shane doesn't make it.

Walsh, I'd actually pick Paul Kelly to add another worker around the middle. Need Patrick Kelly as an option.

Free taking is going to be vital so needs to be well nailed down with a plan if Shane doesn't make it. Cooke, Tierney, Finnerty, Culhane and Conroy all options. Remember lads, free taking won us the game vs Mayo in 21(Walsh) and 17(Armstrong), need to nail them all.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 21/06/2023 11:51:40    2488092

Replying To Marooned:  "None of the injured players trained last night. Neither did Walsh."
So presuming Comer and Kelly are injured, team would be similar to following?

Gleeson
Glynn Fitzgerald McGrath
Sweeney Daly McDaid
Conroy Maher
Cooke Heaney Tierney
Walsh Finnerty Burke

Doesn't leave much impact from bench if Comer is injured.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 383 - 21/06/2023 11:57:36    2488096