Advertisement

Kerry Vs Tyrone

Replying To totalrecall:  "Couldn't agree more, not like the GAA to have double standards..."
In fairness to the GAA, they spelled it out before last year's championship before a ball was thrown in. They said that only if there was a two week gap to the next round, would there be the possibility to postpone a game due to Covid.
I remember reading this before the championship, as commentators were saying it would only really leave any leeway from the All-Ireland semis.
The Galway-Sligo game was due to be played a week before the Connacht final.
Either way, the postponement in this case won't be sufficient in my opinion. An extra week won't be anywhere near enough time to prepare.
Sligo knew the same last year and didn't even request a postponement from the GAA.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 3057 - 10/08/2021 11:21:27    2369451

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "I agree, postponing the game in the circumstances makes sense but why wasn't the same solution applied to the Sligo situation last year. Is it a case of one law for the bigger teams and a different law for the smaller teams? Only asking!!!"
Smaller counties often seem to get the wrong of the stick but not in this case I believe. Open to correction but I think both this year and last the GAA ruled out postponements up to and including provincial finals.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1185 - 10/08/2021 11:26:48    2369456

They should have moved the semi final another week, played the final the 3rd Sunday in Sept as always used to be, I can see us pulling out on player welfare grounds. What happens if there's an outbreak now in one of the other teams?
It's a mess alright no doubt about it.

Rolo99 (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 10/08/2021 11:33:25    2369461

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Recover from what????

They are not even sick ffs. I'd lay serious money that none of them even knew they had it until they had to be tested under contact tracing.

It's three months since anyone died of the virus. And vaccination hasn't stopped it, whatever about easing the symptoms which are trivial among most people under retirement age anyway."
Nonsense.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6213 - 10/08/2021 11:41:26    2369466

They are not even sick ffs. I'd lay serious money that none of them even knew they had it until they had to be tested under contact tracing.

It's three months since anyone died of the virus. And vaccination hasn't stopped it, whatever about easing the symptoms which are trivial among most people under retirement age anyway."
Recover from Covid. There are 217 people in hospital with it in the South right now and 34 in ICU. People are dying of it and have died in the past 3 months but just not reported daily, apparently because of the HSE cyber attack back in May. Anyway, on the match, I think they should be given the extra week as there's only 3 matches left anyway. It does beg the question as to what happens if one of the other 3 teams starts reporting cases. It might set a dangerous precedent but I think they have to gamble here to save the competition.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4751 - 10/08/2021 11:43:09    2369469

Replying To daytona11:  "Seems to me that Tyrone want to avoid a hiding. Fair enough if they are missing lads but I'm sure that there are more than 30 footballers in Tyrone.

Fulfill the fixture."
Ye don't know much about football if ye think that. Yes there are hundreds of footballers in Tyrone and every other county. Big difference in county standard and club no matter how good a footballer you are. Stupid post.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2947 - 10/08/2021 12:02:09    2369478

Replying To Saynothing:  "Ye don't know much about football if ye think that. Yes there are hundreds of footballers in Tyrone and every other county. Big difference in county standard and club no matter how good a footballer you are. Stupid post."
OK so just don't play the fixture because you could ship a hiding?

Huge difference in standard. The fixture should be fulfilled though. It's an All-Ireland semi final.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/08/2021 12:22:08    2369485

Should you not be protesting in Dublin City centre with the rest of them

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2105 - 10/08/2021 12:26:13    2369487

Replying To daytona11:  "OK so just don't play the fixture because you could ship a hiding?

Huge difference in standard. The fixture should be fulfilled though. It's an All-Ireland semi final."
What do you want? Dooher and Logan to ring some fella who hasn't played for Tyrone before and tell him, in 9 days time, that he is marking David Clifford in Croke Park.

Not sure if this is a wind up or you are been serious.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2105 - 10/08/2021 12:28:36    2369488

Replying To Joxer:  "Recover from Covid. There are 217 people in hospital with it in the South right now and 34 in ICU. People are dying of it and have died in the past 3 months but just not reported daily, apparently because of the HSE cyber attack back in May. Anyway, on the match, I think they should be given the extra week as there's only 3 matches left anyway. It does beg the question as to what happens if one of the other 3 teams starts reporting cases. It might set a dangerous precedent but I think they have to gamble here to save the competition."
Oh, so after a year of passing off deaths from flu and cancer and old age as "Covid related" now we're supposed to believe that people are dying but it's just not on their computer!

Listen, if you and 90% of the population want to think yourself into a state of perpetual fear over all this, knock yourself out.

Keeping to the games, if this is the criteria they are going to use to stop sports and every other thing then get used to it. The vaccines are not going to get rid of Covid, no more than vaccines have gotten rid of malaria or flu or many other things.

It's how we live with it, and I think those with power have made that choice for us. This country, by the way, managed to half free itself in the midst of a real pandemic in 1918. We'd all be hiding under our beds now.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 10/08/2021 12:28:41    2369489

Replying To The_Fridge:  "What do you want? Dooher and Logan to ring some fella who hasn't played for Tyrone before and tell him, in 9 days time, that he is marking David Clifford in Croke Park.

Not sure if this is a wind up or you are been serious."
I guarantee that's what some people think should happen. Tyrone would 100% be better off forefitting than doing something like that if a choice had to be made.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 10/08/2021 12:34:31    2369491

Replying To Saynothing:  "Ye don't know much about football if ye think that. Yes there are hundreds of footballers in Tyrone and every other county. Big difference in county standard and club no matter how good a footballer you are. Stupid post."
Agreed. No one wants to see Kerry destroy a group of lads from Tyrone who've been pulled in off the street at the last second. It would be bizarre and pointless.

Unless they're given more time then I can understand if Tyrone decide to pull out.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 10/08/2021 12:40:21    2369493

Replying To sligo joe:  "Smaller counties often seem to get the wrong of the stick but not in this case I believe. Open to correction but I think both this year and last the GAA ruled out postponements up to and including provincial finals."
Yeah I think you're right.

It's not a case here of big team vs small team.

If it were Tipp or Cavan this was happening to a week out from an all ireland semi final, I've no doubt the same decision would've been taken.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 10/08/2021 12:42:17    2369494

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Oh, so after a year of passing off deaths from flu and cancer and old age as "Covid related" now we're supposed to believe that people are dying but it's just not on their computer!

Listen, if you and 90% of the population want to think yourself into a state of perpetual fear over all this, knock yourself out.

Keeping to the games, if this is the criteria they are going to use to stop sports and every other thing then get used to it. The vaccines are not going to get rid of Covid, no more than vaccines have gotten rid of malaria or flu or many other things.

It's how we live with it, and I think those with power have made that choice for us. This country, by the way, managed to half free itself in the midst of a real pandemic in 1918. We'd all be hiding under our beds now."
Relax Gemma, did nobody tell you that we're still in the midst of a global health pandemic? Tyrone players can't just "get on with it". They're sick and expected to be performing against professional athletes in all but name from Kerry week after next. They need time to recover and prepare. Simple as. I think HQ have to offer them the extension to keep the competition alive.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4751 - 10/08/2021 12:43:18    2369495

Replying To Joxer:  "Relax Gemma, did nobody tell you that we're still in the midst of a global health pandemic? Tyrone players can't just "get on with it". They're sick and expected to be performing against professional athletes in all but name from Kerry week after next. They need time to recover and prepare. Simple as. I think HQ have to offer them the extension to keep the competition alive."
Was that funny in your own head? ..... Karen :-)

I never said that Tyrone should just on with it. I said that i doubted any of them felt unwell before they were tested. I know this from other instances.

And unlike yourself I don't depend on "nobody" telling me what I should and should not believe. It's some "global health pandemic" when nobody is dying in significant numbers from it :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 10/08/2021 12:56:20    2369498

You're assuming an awful lot. The Tyrone lads could be very ill or could be asymptomatic we don't know. And if they are asymptomatic they still have to isolate. Hardly conducive to a team training for a semi final.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/08/2021 13:00:53    2369500

Replying To daytona11:  "Seems to me that Tyrone want to avoid a hiding. Fair enough if they are missing lads but I'm sure that there are more than 30 footballers in Tyrone.

Fulfill the fixture."
How can it possibly be "fair enough" when it affects the whole squad, including those who haven't tested positive because of the inability to train collectively. That doesn't sound "fair enough".

The way I read this is like this:

Tyrone requested a two week postponement and it wasn't granted.

The GAA completely rushed the decision.

I would not be surprised if this fixture is moved once again because if Tyrone are left with no option to pull out look at what will be lost on top of the good will. There will be no winners, everyone involved will lose.

So what if everything needs to be pushed back two or even three weeks, people argue about club fixtures but they are not set in stone either in the current environment.

Larry McCarthy needs to step up today and take control of this situation and involve Dublin, Mayo and Kerry as well and find a solution.

If he doesn't then I feel Tyrone should pull out and it will be the GAA hierarchy who will be left to explain how they failed to come up with a solution and possibly lost out on at least a million euros.

Why can the GAA never come up with clear rules or contingency plans, especially in the current climate.

Have they a plan in place if any of the other three semi-finalists suffer a covid outbreak, of course they haven't.

Earn your massive salary Larry and find a fair solution because what's on the table at the moment is not fair and if Tyrone are forced to pull out then the buck will stop at your desk Larry.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 10/08/2021 13:11:09    2369502

Replying To daytona11:  "OK so just don't play the fixture because you could ship a hiding?

Huge difference in standard. The fixture should be fulfilled though. It's an All-Ireland semi final."
It should be fulfilled Daytona on a level playing field, how can players that have contracted Covid-19 a respiratory condition be expected to compete within a few weeks against a team as fit as Kerry I don't know. Would you prefer Kerry get a bye into the final or give Tyrone players more time to recover.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 10/08/2021 13:11:31    2369503

Replying To Joxer:  "Relax Gemma, did nobody tell you that we're still in the midst of a global health pandemic? Tyrone players can't just "get on with it". They're sick and expected to be performing against professional athletes in all but name from Kerry week after next. They need time to recover and prepare. Simple as. I think HQ have to offer them the extension to keep the competition alive."
We've been in the midst of a global health pandemic for as long as I've been alive. There are far more dangerous threats to peoples health than covid, always has been,even if our awful media don't give them a fraction of the coverage,, , as for the players,, are they sick though? Has any of them been transferred to hospital for example, perhaps bedridden? Maybe they're asymptomatic,, if this virus is as deadly as some (albeit a dwindling number) say it is then its inconceivable that this game should go ahead at all as surely even a fortnight's postponement wouldnt be enough time to recover from such a supposedly grave illness?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 10/08/2021 13:31:47    2369509

its only a panel of 30 odd...there's far more club players who have to wait around if there's postponements and end up playing of crap wet, heavy pitches while the whole summer has passed by.

What were tyrone doing different to the other teams to contract covid on such a large scale? And if they're vaccinated, then why does it affect them so badly that they can't play? Do we continue postponing everyone's lives due to covid forever or just get on with it. I

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1754 - 10/08/2021 13:34:12    2369510