Sean Boylan Vs Jim Gavin - Who Is The Greatest?

Replying To TheHermit:  "Discount, what an interesting word to choose.
Certainty all that unprecedented Dublin success lately has not come cheap.
How much does it work out at exactly, let's see what is it, 20-22 million given to Dublin divided by those 7 = c. 3 million a Sam? Not counting what they get themselves in sponsorship etc.
Not cheap in money terms that's for sure.
But in so many other ways, they'll be judged cheap enough ;)"
Oh you bitter lemon -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/06/2020 23:08:04    2279688

Replying To TheHermit:  "Discount, what an interesting word to choose.
Certainty all that unprecedented Dublin success lately has not come cheap.
How much does it work out at exactly, let's see what is it, 20-22 million given to Dublin divided by those 7 = c. 3 million a Sam? Not counting what they get themselves in sponsorship etc.
Not cheap in money terms that's for sure.
But in so many other ways, they'll be judged cheap enough ;)"
Took you 5 days to come up with that nonsense Jesus wept -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/06/2020 23:10:49    2279689

Replying To endgame:  "Micko managed Kerry for 15 years (1974-1989). He won 8 All-Ireland's during that time.Jim Gavin's management of Dublin was far shorter.He managed them from 2012-2019 and won 6 All-Ireland's.Gavin chose to stand down when there were probably more All Ireland's to be won with that Dublin team.When Micko quit, Kerry were gone and they didn't win another All -Ireland for 8 years after he left."
True, sure Wicklow haven't won an All Ireland since Micko left either. Left us in a right mess :)

LSDEindhoven (Wicklow) - Posts: 69 - 01/06/2020 23:36:44    2279691

Replying To endgame:  "Micko managed Kerry for 15 years (1974-1989). He won 8 All-Ireland's during that time.Jim Gavin's management of Dublin was far shorter.He managed them from 2012-2019 and won 6 All-Ireland's.Gavin chose to stand down when there were probably more All Ireland's to be won with that Dublin team.When Micko quit, Kerry were gone and they didn't win another All -Ireland for 8 years after he left."
Micko's managerial career didn't finish with Kerry . He managed Kildare twice after Kerry. He then went Laois . Subsequent to Laois he went to Wicklow. Kildare have won two Leinster titles since 1956 . Micko managed them to both of those titles . They have reached one All Ireland final since 1935. Micko managed them to that final. Laois have won one Leinster title since 1946 . Micko managed them to that title . Wicklow have only ever reached the final round of the All Ireland qualifiers once in their history . Micko was their manager when they reached that stage . When Kerry reached the All Ireland final under Micko in 1975 Dublin were hot favourites . Kerry won. Micko over the course of his managerial career has shown an ability to manage teams to win against the odds . He did it in the early days with Kerry before he moulded then in to one of the two most successful teams in football history. He led Kildare against the odds to what are still their two greatest successes since 1935. He led Laois against the odds to what is still their greatest triumph since 1946. He led Wicklow against the odds to possibly the greatest championship run in their history. Jim Gavin managed Dublin in 45 championship matches . Never once in any of those 45 matches did Jim Gavin have to manage a team that were in any way markedly inferior to their opponents . Never once in his career has he managed a team that had to win a match against the odds . I'm not saying he couldn't do it . But he has never had to do it in so much as even one championship match much less a championship campaign. Don't get me wrong . Jim Gavin has done a magnificent job with Dublin and deserves to be considered as one of the great football managers . I love what he did with Dublin and more importantly I love how he did it . All of the great managers of modern times have triumphEd against the odds . Cody did it last season with Kilkenny against Limerick. John O Mahony did it with Mayo, Leitrim and Galway . Micky Harte, Joe Kernan and Sean Boylan have all done it . There is a massive gap in Jim Gavin's list of achievements. To fill that gap he has to lead a team to triumph against the odds . That is why in my opinion Micko is ahead of Jim Gavin and why others I have listed deserve to be considered as being at Jim Gavin's level if not indeed above him .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/06/2020 00:16:19    2279693

Much in the same way that KK were castigated for 'only concentrating on one sport' Dublin and Gavin will have the begrudgers and in time they may get the credit they deserve. For me Gavin built on a successful foundation and kept the ship steady, no mean feat but it's hard then to compare to those that took teams from nowhere, Boylan, Harte, McGuiness.

History and statistics will remember them as one of the best however the romantics, of which every armchair pundit seems to be may be less enthused especially whilst they're still there or there abouts.

Absence makes the heart grow fonder and they're still top of the tree currently.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 02/06/2020 07:09:43    2279696

Replying To superbluedub:  "Took you 5 days to come up with that nonsense Jesus wept -:)"
Yerra I wouldn't be hanging around here 24/7 looking at what gets posted, it would give you a headache reading the Dubs on here :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/06/2020 09:48:00    2279701

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra I wouldn't be hanging around here 24/7 looking at what gets posted, it would give you a headache reading the Dubs on here :D"
Yerra it brings a smile to my face reading the whinging and nasty bitterness about Dublin the Kerry "few" on here
keep dragging up -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/06/2020 13:21:11    2279730

Replying To superbluedub:  "Yerra it brings a smile to my face reading the whinging and nasty bitterness about Dublin the Kerry "few" on here
keep dragging up -:)"
Nasty bitterness? The hermit is just giving posters the facts, ye don't like to hear them I know but sure that's the way it goes I guess.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2020 14:14:09    2279733

Replying To superbluedub:  "Yerra it brings a smile to my face reading the whinging and nasty bitterness about Dublin the Kerry "few" on here
keep dragging up -:)"
A Lion doesn't concern himself with the opinion of the sheep. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/06/2020 14:56:34    2279734

Replying To TheUsername:  "A Lion doesn't concern himself with the opinion of the sheep. ;)"
Haha quoting game of thrones eh! priceless :-) but sure you have plenty of time to be catching up on the old Netflix.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2020 15:37:07    2279736

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Haha quoting game of thrones eh! priceless :-) but sure you have plenty of time to be catching up on the old Netflix."
Game of Thrones isn't on Netflix KingdomBoy. It's on Sky.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/06/2020 16:34:35    2279741

Kerry supporters react, to getting smashed and surrendering Dublin the 5 in a row.

[url=] https://youtu.be/LwZNG7Uuu7g

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/06/2020 17:16:53    2279744

Replying To Greengrass:  "Game of Thrones isn't on Netflix KingdomBoy. It's on Sky."
Fair enough greengrass, I didn't know that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/06/2020 17:33:34    2279746

Replying To TheUsername:  "A Lion doesn't concern himself with the opinion of the sheep. ;)"
And nobility certainly don't care for the thoughts of lowly new money, they are inevitably so utterly crass and tacky :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/06/2020 17:38:25    2279748

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Nasty bitterness? The hermit is just giving posters the facts, ye don't like to hear them I know but sure that's the way it goes I guess."
Facts ? The facts are your lot couldnt stop the 5 in a row , ye dont like hearing that hence all the whinging and nasty bitterness i guess -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/06/2020 00:02:15    2279773

Replying To TheHermit:  "And nobility certainly don't care for the thoughts of lowly new money, they are inevitably so utterly crass and tacky :D"
Nobility, not according to Paudí.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 03/06/2020 08:15:32    2279778

Oh I love how Kerry are hurting .....makes the success of this Dublin team all the sweater.

The more they focus on 'money' the better for us as they defocus from understanding the real success behind this Dublin team and the longer our success will continue.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 03/06/2020 08:35:25    2279780

Replying To witnof:  "Oh I love how Kerry are hurting .....makes the success of this Dublin team all the sweater.

The more they focus on 'money' the better for us as they defocus from understanding the real success behind this Dublin team and the longer our success will continue."
Oh yes the "real" factors; how silly of me to think being funded 20 times more than the next county and supporting a near professional set-up could in anyway have a bearing ;)
Thankfully the reality has sunk in for most these past two years. I never remember any other county GAA setup being investigated by Prime Time.

Ah lads ye are some crowd, the kind that would do a lap of honour after beating a ten year old in a sprint.

Is there anything as distasteful as the nouvea riche - The Buys in Blu€ indeed :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/06/2020 09:33:22    2279784