Sean Boylan Vs Jim Gavin - Who Is The Greatest?

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh yes the "real" factors; how silly of me to think being funded 20 times more than the next county and supporting a near professional set-up could in anyway have a bearing ;)
Thankfully the reality has sunk in for most these past two years. I never remember any other county GAA setup being investigated by Prime Time.

Ah lads ye are some crowd, the kind that would do a lap of honour after beating a ten year old in a sprint.

Is there anything as distasteful as the nouvea riche - The Buys in Blu€ indeed :D"
Ah lads ye are some whingers , the kind that kick and scream when losing -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/06/2020 09:55:26    2279789

Lads, could you stay on topic and drop the Kerry v Dublin crap ? People are fed up of it .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/06/2020 12:34:33    2279808

Replying To Greengrass:  "Lads, could you stay on topic and drop the Kerry v Dublin crap ? People are fed up of it ."
Every single thread!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/06/2020 14:35:00    2279817

Replying To Greengrass:  "Lads, could you stay on topic and drop the Kerry v Dublin crap ? People are fed up of it ."
Unfortunately too many topics get steered in that direction and it's usually a Kerry person/posters doing it. Probably other posters have left Hoganstand because they had enough of it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 03/06/2020 14:46:18    2279818

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Unfortunately too many topics get steered in that direction and it's usually a Kerry person/posters doing it. Probably other posters have left Hoganstand because they had enough of it."
Admin came out a few months back and said they'd block any posts that went down that road. Tough to implement I suppose but some blatant ones still get through

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/06/2020 15:05:51    2279819

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Unfortunately too many topics get steered in that direction and it's usually a Kerry person/posters doing it. Probably other posters have left Hoganstand because they had enough of it."
I don't think that is entirely fair, there are guys in here who seem to do nothing except goad and bait Kerry posters. They usually get the reaction they want and I have engaged in it myself at times but to say it is only Kerry posters that are the problem is completely wrong. I think we are all sick of it at this stage, seems to just go around in circles.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/06/2020 15:33:37    2279822

Greenandred you've never hidden your dialike for for my county and that's fair enough but if you get a chance take a look back a long the threads and see who the real instigators are, I think you'll owe the kerry folk on here an apology.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/06/2020 16:28:41    2279829

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I don't think that is entirely fair, there are guys in here who seem to do nothing except goad and bait Kerry posters. They usually get the reaction they want and I have engaged in it myself at times but to say it is only Kerry posters that are the problem is completely wrong. I think we are all sick of it at this stage, seems to just go around in circles."
Gerry, you very rarely engage in it and give very fair balanced and sporting comments. I didn't say it's only Kerry posters, but in my opinion it's usually Kerry posters doing it. I know there are Dublin posters happy to try and wind them up too but they're posting less frequently now. Both should be ignored, they're getting a kick from getting a reaction so don't react.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 03/06/2020 16:28:57    2279830

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Greenandred you've never hidden your dialike for for my county and that's fair enough but if you get a chance take a look back a long the threads and see who the real instigators are, I think you'll owe the kerry folk on here an apology."
I have nothing but respect for Kerry and all our counties. I work with sound men from Lixnaw, Listowel and Tralee and enjoy the banter with them. I take issue with posters like yourself and alter egos fabricating stuff and not being an accurate representation of some great Kerry people I know.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 03/06/2020 17:59:03    2279840

Utter crap and all you need is to go on the Kerry forum and see the amount of them that pop up or hide behind the red thumbs. It's rather sad.

If the couple of Dubs that have several active alter egos want to spend half their lives being WUMs having a dig every 5 mins then good luck to them but I'll personally reserve the right to give them a response as my mood suits.

As KYboy said, if you wanted, it would be easy to check what side the vast majority of it starts from going back through threads over the years.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/06/2020 20:10:34    2279847

Replying To cavanman47:  "Admin came out a few months back and said they'd block any posts that went down that road. Tough to implement I suppose but some blatant ones still get through"
It's really not that tough to implement on a site where every post is moderated. The mods get to decide what posts get put up and when. There are so many great posters gone from this site over the years. It's a real shame.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/06/2020 20:57:33    2279851

I'd probably still go Jim Gavin after giving it a good think.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/06/2020 22:00:00    2279856

Replying To TheUsername:  "I'd probably still go Jim Gavin after giving it a good think."
Thankfully some one is on topic .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 03/06/2020 23:11:07    2279858

Considering the difference in resources available to both gavin and Boylan I'd have to go with Boylan.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/06/2020 09:45:59    2279866

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Considering the difference in resources available to both gavin and Boylan I'd have to go with Boylan."
yeh poor old micko had nothing going for him financially, terrible injustice.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 04/06/2020 14:49:03    2279882

Replying To TheHermit:  "Utter crap and all you need is to go on the Kerry forum and see the amount of them that pop up or hide behind the red thumbs. It's rather sad.

If the couple of Dubs that have several active alter egos want to spend half their lives being WUMs having a dig every 5 mins then good luck to them but I'll personally reserve the right to give them a response as my mood suits.

As KYboy said, if you wanted, it would be easy to check what side the vast majority of it starts from going back through threads over the years."
Ah stop lad we know where it starts and it's with KYboy. Jeysus what he accuses the Dub players of is actual libel and he does it every time he gets a whif of a Dub in a topic

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 04/06/2020 15:40:35    2279886

Replying To lilypad:  "yeh poor old micko had nothing going for him financially, terrible injustice."
Ye've won two Leinster titles since 1956. Micko was in charge for both of those .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 04/06/2020 16:41:19    2279890

Replying To Breezy:  "Ah stop lad we know where it starts and it's with KYboy. Jeysus what he accuses the Dub players of is actual libel and he does it every time he gets a whif of a Dub in a topic"
You need a bigger fishing rod buddy :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/06/2020 17:49:31    2279897

Yes , have to agree, it's impossible to have any meaningful discussion while these couple of Kerry posters are dragging threads down. Poor standards probably.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 04/06/2020 18:31:27    2279900

Replying To Greengrass:  "Ye've won two Leinster titles since 1956. Micko was in charge for both of those ."
That's right and he was well 'looked' after

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 04/06/2020 19:27:14    2279903