The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To Galway9801:  "Sorry, the last sentence of my post should have said mid to late 2023.
Can't take any chances with the hells virus."
Hell's virus? You're in for a rude awakening when you arrive at that destination.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/03/2021 14:30:53    2334393

Replying To Galway9801:  "Those people were very happy to unquestioningly proceed with those restrictions this time last year, the government were given a popular mandate to enforce this lockdown to the point where anyone who disagreed was labelled a tinfoil hat wearing lunatic. No good is turning around now and saying we're fed up."
Last year there was a sense that we are all in this together, that consensus has long gone. Living in rural Ireland, I am more than 5 km from the nearest town. It is the same throughout rural Ireland, the 5 km, rule is fine in cities,where services and shops are accessible.
To suggest we spend all of this year locked down, for some promise of deliverance, doesn't wash with me. NPHET and the Government have no solution other than continuing lockdown.
If the vaccination programme could be guaranteed delivery to everyone, there might be some respite.
I can see no definite Government plan to end lockdown, other than kite flying. In 2020, the caretaker government had a plan to end lockdown, and it worked. Maybe time to give Leo and Simon Harris the role again.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 17/03/2021 15:20:48    2334396

Replying To realdub:  "Hell's virus? You're in for a rude awakening when you arrive at that destination."
Well excuse me for unconditionally obeying the experts.
You could educate yourself by watching the news sometimes.
I recommend CNN, RTÉ and the BBC.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 17/03/2021 15:54:43    2334399

Replying To Galway9801:  "Well excuse me for unconditionally obeying the experts.
You could educate yourself by watching the news sometimes.
I recommend CNN, RTÉ and the BBC."
Good lad, you keep obeying the experts and RTE/BBC. Well done, things have really moved along nicely haven't they!?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/03/2021 16:58:33    2334404

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Last year there was a sense that we are all in this together, that consensus has long gone. Living in rural Ireland, I am more than 5 km from the nearest town. It is the same throughout rural Ireland, the 5 km, rule is fine in cities,where services and shops are accessible.
To suggest we spend all of this year locked down, for some promise of deliverance, doesn't wash with me. NPHET and the Government have no solution other than continuing lockdown.
If the vaccination programme could be guaranteed delivery to everyone, there might be some respite.
I can see no definite Government plan to end lockdown, other than kite flying. In 2020, the caretaker government had a plan to end lockdown, and it worked. Maybe time to give Leo and Simon Harris the role again."
Leo is the Tánaiste and some people say the real Taoiseach in the Govt. Harris is always sticking his nose in the Health portfolio. They are still in Govt. I would not blame FF and the Greens for what has happened. It is a world wide pandemic. I do blame Leo and Simon for not buying enough vaccines when they were on the market last December. And I also think they should have appointed, like S.F and Labour were saying, a Minister responsible of the vaccine rollout.
League of Ireland begins on Friday (good luck to them)- where is the intercounty GAA?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/03/2021 18:26:46    2334412

What the public want is a way out of this situation. They are getting frustrated. Leo and Micheál did not buy enough vaccines last year, and should also have appointed a Minister for the vaccine rollout imho.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 17/03/2021 18:28:18    2334413

Replying To realdub:  "Good lad, you keep obeying the experts and RTE/BBC. Well done, things have really moved along nicely haven't they!?"
For God's sake man I'm trolling

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1698 - 17/03/2021 18:44:48    2334415

Replying To Galway9801:  "For God's sake man I'm trolling"
Bahaha:D I'm too old to know what that is!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 17/03/2021 18:54:46    2334417

Our problem has been we've dithered and fannied around from day one. Lockdown this, restric that.

Even now when there is a way out via the vaccine, we've lads like Donnelly on live TV and radio spoofing and back tracking day in day out.

I think the vast majority in this country have done their civic duty. Time for our government to drive home this vaccine rollout. Supply issues with Astro Zeneca aside, why aren't we bollocking the CEO of Pfizer each and every day? I'm aware the Pfizer vaccine is a two shot dose, and there are more complicated logistics involved with it needing to be stored at low temperature.

Arghhh sorry for being a ranting eejit. A few whiskies on board this evening. Sick of all this Covid shite

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 17/03/2021 22:39:57    2334432

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Our problem has been we've dithered and fannied around from day one. Lockdown this, restric that.

Even now when there is a way out via the vaccine, we've lads like Donnelly on live TV and radio spoofing and back tracking day in day out.

I think the vast majority in this country have done their civic duty. Time for our government to drive home this vaccine rollout. Supply issues with Astro Zeneca aside, why aren't we bollocking the CEO of Pfizer each and every day? I'm aware the Pfizer vaccine is a two shot dose, and there are more complicated logistics involved with it needing to be stored at low temperature.

Arghhh sorry for being a ranting eejit. A few whiskies on board this evening. Sick of all this Covid shite"
Up the jack Daniels saan

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 17/03/2021 22:52:34    2334434

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Last year there was a sense that we are all in this together, that consensus has long gone. Living in rural Ireland, I am more than 5 km from the nearest town. It is the same throughout rural Ireland, the 5 km, rule is fine in cities,where services and shops are accessible.
I can see no definite Government plan to end lockdown, other than kite flying. In 2020, the caretaker government had a plan to end lockdown, and it worked. Maybe time to give Leo and Simon Harris the role again."
I thought 5km is for exercise? I'm 12km from town and go beyond 5km every day. Anyway the 5km needs to be scrapped. Make it a county rule if they like so people have to stay within their county at least then you might have the option of going to a lake, woodland or the coast of your lucky enough to have one.

The politicians are doing such a great job they are giving themselves a pay rise....in these times that's borderline Treason.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 18/03/2021 07:56:34    2334442

There was a great line from Israeli author Yuval Noah Harari on New Year's Eve...

"Humanity's battle with Covid-19 has so far been a scientific triumph coupled with a political fiasco. A year into the pandemic, we still don't have any global leadership or global action plan. Hopefully, in 2021 our politics will finally catch up with our science."

Truer words never spoken. Last night's news headlines was basically Ursula Von Der Leyden warning the UK "not to be at it" when it comes to AZ vaccine supplies. But, as we all know from painful experience in this country, the British are never really "not at it".

Hence the reaching for the whiskey bottle last night and the thick head today!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 18/03/2021 09:29:57    2334446

Replying To yew_tree:  "I thought 5km is for exercise? I'm 12km from town and go beyond 5km every day. Anyway the 5km needs to be scrapped. Make it a county rule if they like so people have to stay within their county at least then you might have the option of going to a lake, woodland or the coast of your lucky enough to have one.

The politicians are doing such a great job they are giving themselves a pay rise....in these times that's borderline Treason."
Why would you re make this county rule- it is a joke.. I live in Carlow. I am two miles from Laois, Four from Kildare, seven from Wiclow and about the same from Kilkenny. I strictly speaking cannot go to the Gym two miles away or to a golf club ten miles away. Now my Father was a native of North West Cork, If he was still alive and living there he could travel about eighty miles to Youghal, about a hundred to the farthest point of Beara, sixty miles to Mitchelstown, etc, etc. He would also befree to travel to different far distant islands like Bere, Dursey, Cape Cleare or Sherkin. How can this be right? There should be a twenty mile limit to travel from ones home, which would broadly speaking allow people to do their business in the places they nearly always do it.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 18/03/2021 09:58:16    2334448

You are allowed travel beyond 5km to go to the shops etc.

In saying that the 5km rule does seem silly in terms of exercise. The 5km radius probably just about covers a lot of towns across the country. That means that, under the guidelines, the entire town can only exercise in the town rather than allowing people to disperse into the surrounding countryside.

Personally the 5km radius hasn't bothered me but I still don't really see the logic to it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 18/03/2021 09:59:12    2334449

Replying To yew_tree:  "I thought 5km is for exercise? I'm 12km from town and go beyond 5km every day. Anyway the 5km needs to be scrapped. Make it a county rule if they like so people have to stay within their county at least then you might have the option of going to a lake, woodland or the coast of your lucky enough to have one.

The politicians are doing such a great job they are giving themselves a pay rise....in these times that's borderline Treason."
Why would you re make this county rule- it is a joke.. I live in Carlow. I am two miles from Laois, Four from Kildare, seven from Wiclow and about the same from Kilkenny. I strictly speaking cannot go to the Gym two miles away or to a golf club ten miles away. Now my Father was a native of North West Cork, If he was still alive and living there he could travel about eighty miles to Youghal, about a hundred to the farthest point of Beara, sixty miles to Mitchelstown, etc, etc. He would also befree to travel to different far distant islands like Bere, Dursey, Cape Cleare or Sherkin. How can this be right? There should be a twenty mile limit to travel from ones home, which would broadly speaking allow people to do their business in the places they nearly always do it.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 18/03/2021 10:02:04    2334451

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Why would you re make this county rule- it is a joke.. I live in Carlow. I am two miles from Laois, Four from Kildare, seven from Wiclow and about the same from Kilkenny. I strictly speaking cannot go to the Gym two miles away or to a golf club ten miles away. Now my Father was a native of North West Cork, If he was still alive and living there he could travel about eighty miles to Youghal, about a hundred to the farthest point of Beara, sixty miles to Mitchelstown, etc, etc. He would also befree to travel to different far distant islands like Bere, Dursey, Cape Cleare or Sherkin. How can this be right? There should be a twenty mile limit to travel from ones home, which would broadly speaking allow people to do their business in the places they nearly always do it."
Nobody's ever going to accept these new-fangled kilometres, are they ?

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 18/03/2021 12:23:12    2334458

Wonder would the GAA allow people who have been fully vaccinated attend games and if so how would people feel about it?

Be divisive for sure...….!!!!

*Full disclosure, I've had both my doses as am in healthcare.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/03/2021 13:51:14    2334466

I'd feel fine about it.

Saying that as someone who isn't vaccinated and won't be for a long time I'd imagine.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 18/03/2021 14:49:55    2334469

Replying To lionofludesch:  "Nobody's ever going to accept these new-fangled kilometres, are they ?"
No problem either way. I was in a shop attempt recently attempting buy something for a five foot bed. It is quite obvious that if 1 meter is just over 39 inches that 60 inches is roughly 1.5 meters, yet a young shop assistant attempted to drive it down my neck that it was 1.8 meters. So old people have no major issues with these 'new fangled Kilometers', it seems to be young people that have it because if they have not got a pocket calculator in their hands to work out something, they are bewildered.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 18/03/2021 16:39:07    2334481

Replying To Oldtourman:  "No problem either way. I was in a shop attempt recently attempting buy something for a five foot bed. It is quite obvious that if 1 meter is just over 39 inches that 60 inches is roughly 1.5 meters, yet a young shop assistant attempted to drive it down my neck that it was 1.8 meters. So old people have no major issues with these 'new fangled Kilometers', it seems to be young people that have it because if they have not got a pocket calculator in their hands to work out something, they are bewildered."
Ha ha - young folk just can't do mental arithmetic.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 18/03/2021 17:46:50    2334484