The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To yew_tree:  "No point giving keyboard warriors a second thought. I've seen some vile stuff written about GAA players online...but people who write that in my view don't typically play the game, are club members or volunteer/coach in any way.

Their own said pathetic lives are a waste of oxygen. Cowards who would run a mile of confronted and would never say what they type face to face."
Yes you are correct. I know of one player that it nearly cost him his life. Yes he made mistakes on the field but he was 19 years of age and the world was expected of him. The majority of the posters, if not all on here are genuine supporters and many are or were involved in the sport. A bit of ribbing from time to time is fun but we all know when it it is over the top. That is the time not to feed it and withdraw from the conversation.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 01/03/2021 22:20:31    2333235

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ask Cavan"
*golf clap*

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 02/03/2021 00:16:25    2333244

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'm happy with that. And was given my opinion. Btw I agree we must do more to catch Dublin. But Donegal aren't that close either."
Thats more like it jabbing each other about our teams ability is what these forums are about . Bit of fun with different opinions.
Donegal will win the all ireland this year. But I will admit I start every year saying that. All the best

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 02/03/2021 06:51:05    2333250

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Thats more like it jabbing each other about our teams ability is what these forums are about . Bit of fun with different opinions.
Donegal will win the all ireland this year. But I will admit I start every year saying that. All the best"
Totally right, and if all counties thought the same the gap wouldn't be as big to Dublin. Tyrone for Sam.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 02/03/2021 10:43:32    2333274

All messing aside, I think teams like Donegal, Galway, Cork and Meath simply have to believe they have it in them to be able to topple the Dubs eventually. Kerry and Mayo certainly have that belief. Both have come close. The more teams in contention the better.

I read Declan Bonner's article in the Donegal News last week. He was suggesting that if time is tight the GAA should look at an open draw straight-knockout style championship for 2021! It would be interesting to say the least!

I do think though that as case numbers and hospital admissions continue to drop then more options will present themselves to the government. I can see county training being allowed in April, with May being the month for condensed league. Championship to begin in June and wrapped up by August.

In the meantime, as more and more vaccinations are given to the adult population, perhaps club football can recommence in June. Club leagues to go ahead without county men with club Championship beginning in August. Perhaps clubs knocked out of Championship early can even get their own club championships going sooner if they wish.

Here's hoping anyway!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 02/03/2021 11:22:55    2333279

Replying To Lockjaw:  "All messing aside, I think teams like Donegal, Galway, Cork and Meath simply have to believe they have it in them to be able to topple the Dubs eventually. Kerry and Mayo certainly have that belief. Both have come close. The more teams in contention the better.

I read Declan Bonner's article in the Donegal News last week. He was suggesting that if time is tight the GAA should look at an open draw straight-knockout style championship for 2021! It would be interesting to say the least!

I do think though that as case numbers and hospital admissions continue to drop then more options will present themselves to the government. I can see county training being allowed in April, with May being the month for condensed league. Championship to begin in June and wrapped up by August.

In the meantime, as more and more vaccinations are given to the adult population, perhaps club football can recommence in June. Club leagues to go ahead without county men with club Championship beginning in August. Perhaps clubs knocked out of Championship early can even get their own club championships going sooner if they wish.

Here's hoping anyway!"
Open draw 32 county is the only way. Teams can win their province if they want but for All Ireland it has to be open draw. All neutral venues until semis.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 02/03/2021 12:11:06    2333288

GAA should finish the leagues first imho.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 02/03/2021 13:34:50    2333294

Cillian De Gascun said vaccine immunity could last just 6 months, which would be back to square 1 next winter.
Hopefully not, but its been mentioned people might need a vaccine yearly, unless they develop something which will work for a long time

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/03/2021 13:37:48    2333296

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Cillian De Gascun said vaccine immunity could last just 6 months, which would be back to square 1 next winter.
Hopefully not, but its been mentioned people might need a vaccine yearly, unless they develop something which will work for a long time"
Yeah booster shots might be needed. Whatever it takes for us to regain some semblance of normality I'm all for.
That's why I cannot understand these anti-vaxxers. What is the alternative? Live like we have been living indefinitely? Let all of our older population die out? The HSE to continue to frantically work as they have been? I heard Kieran Cuddihy listing some of the "theories" doing the rounds on the messaging service Telegram. He browsed it for 15 minutes just to get an idea of some of the stuff being discussed. The mind boggles as to how grown adults could be so totally and utterly stupid.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 02/03/2021 16:02:11    2333319

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Cillian De Gascun said vaccine immunity could last just 6 months, which would be back to square 1 next winter.
Hopefully not, but its been mentioned people might need a vaccine yearly, unless they develop something which will work for a long time"
That doesn't sound right at all, do you have a link to that?
Its estimated the anitbodies resulting from actually having covid will only give 6 months immunity, but vaccines are totally different, especially those using RNA technology. Immunity from having the disease, and immunity engineered by vaccines, are totally different.
No-where have I heard the above time-limit stats for vaccine based immunity.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 02/03/2021 17:35:16    2333327

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah booster shots might be needed. Whatever it takes for us to regain some semblance of normality I'm all for.
That's why I cannot understand these anti-vaxxers. What is the alternative? Live like we have been living indefinitely? Let all of our older population die out? The HSE to continue to frantically work as they have been? I heard Kieran Cuddihy listing some of the "theories" doing the rounds on the messaging service Telegram. He browsed it for 15 minutes just to get an idea of some of the stuff being discussed. The mind boggles as to how grown adults could be so totally and utterly stupid."
There are a lot of stupid people around. You can see them every day. Even during lockdown.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 02/03/2021 17:55:39    2333329

Replying To Saynothing:  "Open draw 32 county is the only way. Teams can win their province if they want but for All Ireland it has to be open draw. All neutral venues until semis."
I agree and it's Probably the fairest.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2114 - 02/03/2021 18:44:46    2333335

Replying To lionofludesch:  "There are a lot of stupid people around. You can see them every day. Even during lockdown."
They just like to be macho but I bet they will be in under the door sweep the first chance the vaccine is available. Of course they will be telling friends their not getting injected with that f--king bug.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 02/03/2021 19:29:24    2333342

Just play the feckin matches

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 02/03/2021 20:30:41    2333346

Lads there are videos circulating in limerick,and if they are anything to go by,we will be locked down for a long time and can forget about any sport being played..it's great to know the future of our country is in such safe hands..gobshites!!!!!!!!

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2209 - 02/03/2021 22:08:16    2333360

Replying To Trump2020:  "I agree and it's Probably the fairest."
Maybe if you drew a team from lower league they could get home advantage, if 2 from same division it could be neutral venue. Would suit lower teams.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 02/03/2021 22:42:56    2333361

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Lads there are videos circulating in limerick,and if they are anything to go by,we will be locked down for a long time and can forget about any sport being played..it's great to know the future of our country is in such safe hands..gobshites!!!!!!!!"
Whatever about what's happening in limerick, we will be locked down until such time as our leaders say otherwise.
If whatever happened in limerick didn't happen, there would have been some other gathering, somewhere in the country, for us to sink our teeth into.
Can I ask, since the onset of this pandemic, has there been any occasion, even one, when you have breached the official advice?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 02/03/2021 23:12:35    2333362

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Lads there are videos circulating in limerick,and if they are anything to go by,we will be locked down for a long time and can forget about any sport being played..it's great to know the future of our country is in such safe hands..gobshites!!!!!!!!"
They should turn the water cannons on them and batter the s***e out of them, that b****x that fired the firework at the guards deserves all he gets, scumbags.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 02/03/2021 23:22:11    2333364

Replying To realdub:  "Just play the feckin matches"
What a disgracefully cavalier attitude,, you'd swear listening to that that this virus wasn't as deadly as some people are making out to be.
Covid 19 is a threat borne from evils nightmare, and the bravery, and gallantry, with which noble Europeans and North Americans have faced up to this extreme horror should act as an example to people in other parts of the world in how to deal with adversity.
You'd do well to remember that sir.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 02/03/2021 23:25:17    2333365

We would be out of lockdown months ago if our dum dum government had done their work properly and stopped the flow of people coming into the country from Covid riddled countries.... only last month thousands were still arriving.. they even sent kids back to school without insisting teachers get the vaccine.,,. Wait till you see the fall out from that... We have pure clowns in Government at the moment...!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1908 - 03/03/2021 07:04:07    2333368