The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Lads there are videos circulating in limerick,and if they are anything to go by,we will be locked down for a long time and can forget about any sport being played..it's great to know the future of our country is in such safe hands..gobshites!!!!!!!!"
Your dead right, this carry on has being going on a while, well done to the Gardaí for taking a stand and I hope their college take a stand on this too.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 03/03/2021 08:30:29    2333371

The 32 county draw would certainly bring some novelty to the whole thing. Imagine Dublin being drawn away to Kerry for example. Each weekend a live draw on RTE. The buildup to the games during the week etc. There would be a chance too that "smaller" counties, depending on the draw could find themselves on a great wee championship run.

I think that might be a wee bit too radical for the GAA though. I would say they'll keep options under discussion to themselves for the time being until they see what way the land lies with case numbers and vaccinations over the next few weeks. However, not ideal for managers and players who will want an idea as to how to tailor their preparations.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 03/03/2021 09:11:50    2333373

Replying To Galway9801:  "What a disgracefully cavalier attitude,, you'd swear listening to that that this virus wasn't as deadly as some people are making out to be.
Covid 19 is a threat borne from evils nightmare, and the bravery, and gallantry, with which noble Europeans and North Americans have faced up to this extreme horror should act as an example to people in other parts of the world in how to deal with adversity.
You'd do well to remember that sir."
Words fail me, as I was saying, play the feckin matches.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2021 10:41:14    2333384

Should the leagues be deferred, and go straight to inter county activity? There may be some resumption in April, depending on case numbers. If the leagues start in May after a period allowing for teams to carry out a training programme, the championships will finish in late Autumn or Winter.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 03/03/2021 11:12:59    2333385

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Should the leagues be deferred, and go straight to inter county activity? There may be some resumption in April, depending on case numbers. If the leagues start in May after a period allowing for teams to carry out a training programme, the championships will finish in late Autumn or Winter."
Straight into championships and then over to the club... GAA has promised a month to inter county managers for preparation when the green light is given by government for return.
If a league,even condensed is entertained then championship will take for ever. Club needs its window too, more than ever this year.
I dont think that we will be attending inter county games in any capacity this side of August so the crowd factor I think is a non issue
Club needs to be given time and club players need to have matches and plenty of them as soon as the inter county chamionship is over.
County panels can have their warm up games in that month and then go straight into the championship.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 03/03/2021 11:47:07    2333390

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Should the leagues be deferred, and go straight to inter county activity? There may be some resumption in April, depending on case numbers. If the leagues start in May after a period allowing for teams to carry out a training programme, the championships will finish in late Autumn or Winter."
I'd say that if something has to be sacrificed it would have to be the League. It's a shame but it's the lesser of 2 or 3 evils.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 03/03/2021 12:11:06    2333397

Replying To Trump2020:  "I'd say that if something has to be sacrificed it would have to be the League. It's a shame but it's the lesser of 2 or 3 evils."
They could scrap the whole lot really except the club championships. Most people are fed up with the intercounty set up, even the players. Too much committment for too little reward with no tangible prospect of winning any All Ireland as long as we have professional teams in both codes so to speak. Players are opting out and good luck to them. It is about time they saw sense. They burst themselves for a few claps on the back and plaudits by the very lads who look down on them from their corporate boxes on big match days saying- ah these are the lads that keep us here!! Without the players there would be no jobs etc in Croke Park.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 03/03/2021 13:21:14    2333406

Replying To tonguey:  "They could scrap the whole lot really except the club championships. Most people are fed up with the intercounty set up, even the players. Too much committment for too little reward with no tangible prospect of winning any All Ireland as long as we have professional teams in both codes so to speak. Players are opting out and good luck to them. It is about time they saw sense. They burst themselves for a few claps on the back and plaudits by the very lads who look down on them from their corporate boxes on big match days saying- ah these are the lads that keep us here!! Without the players there would be no jobs etc in Croke Park."
Too much commitment for too little reward, you mean just like most counties since 1884?
What do you think this is, gun to the head participation?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2021 14:13:02    2333416

Replying To realdub:  "Too much commitment for too little reward, you mean just like most counties since 1884?
What do you think this is, gun to the head participation?"
"What do you think this is, gun to the head participation?"
Over and over that is always the answer for those who want to keep the player down and make sure he gets no more reward than present for entertaining us. (No problem with the auld concert tickets helping to making millionaires) The countless hours of commitment its worth nothing and they are only doing it for themselves. No pride in their family or county. But hold on there though. You (not you personally, general) are running out to see them, beating your chest with your county colours as if it is life or death and the only way you will ever get to wear a county jersey is if you buy it in the store.
Strange old world. Jealousy and begrudgery is never too far under the surface.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/03/2021 14:51:17    2333424

Replying To Canuck:  ""What do you think this is, gun to the head participation?"
Over and over that is always the answer for those who want to keep the player down and make sure he gets no more reward than present for entertaining us. (No problem with the auld concert tickets helping to making millionaires) The countless hours of commitment its worth nothing and they are only doing it for themselves. No pride in their family or county. But hold on there though. You (not you personally, general) are running out to see them, beating your chest with your county colours as if it is life or death and the only way you will ever get to wear a county jersey is if you buy it in the store.
Strange old world. Jealousy and begrudgery is never too far under the surface."
Not at all, no hidden agenda, I've been supporting Dublin hurlers for years, say no more.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2021 15:19:05    2333429

Replying To realdub:  "Not at all, no hidden agenda, I've been supporting Dublin hurlers for years, say no more."
realdub I was not specifically pointing at you but this is a view that is expressed over and over and all are entitled to their view. The reality in my opinion is when our sport gets to inter county level the players are entertainers the same as any other form of the arts. The audience view and support it for entertainment value. The players rehearse (a lot more than some entertainers) for it to perform and yes also get enjoyment from it like a comedian, singer etc. They are a level above the average club player like the professional singer is to the sing songer in the pub. I believe Tanguey point is that if there was no inter county game the sport would still bring the same health and community benefits at club level. I for one would majorly miss my entertainment.
Some just like to down grade the value, the achievement, commitment, level of skill and contribution to entertainment of a large audience by saying "no body is forcing them to play". Funny I never here anyone saying that about Justin Bieber as they contribute to his billions. So lets enjoy the great entertainment that those players do for free.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/03/2021 16:18:09    2333439

Replying To Canuck:  "realdub I was not specifically pointing at you but this is a view that is expressed over and over and all are entitled to their view. The reality in my opinion is when our sport gets to inter county level the players are entertainers the same as any other form of the arts. The audience view and support it for entertainment value. The players rehearse (a lot more than some entertainers) for it to perform and yes also get enjoyment from it like a comedian, singer etc. They are a level above the average club player like the professional singer is to the sing songer in the pub. I believe Tanguey point is that if there was no inter county game the sport would still bring the same health and community benefits at club level. I for one would majorly miss my entertainment.
Some just like to down grade the value, the achievement, commitment, level of skill and contribution to entertainment of a large audience by saying "no body is forcing them to play". Funny I never here anyone saying that about Justin Bieber as they contribute to his billions. So lets enjoy the great entertainment that those players do for free."
I know what you're saying, but I always played to entertain myself, never once did I consider I was entertaining others to be honest.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2021 16:53:28    2333443

Replying To tonguey:  "They could scrap the whole lot really except the club championships. Most people are fed up with the intercounty set up, even the players. Too much committment for too little reward with no tangible prospect of winning any All Ireland as long as we have professional teams in both codes so to speak. Players are opting out and good luck to them. It is about time they saw sense. They burst themselves for a few claps on the back and plaudits by the very lads who look down on them from their corporate boxes on big match days saying- ah these are the lads that keep us here!! Without the players there would be no jobs etc in Croke Park."
I hate seeing any of it go for any reason but inter county draws huge crowds so I'd say there's a fair few that love it. Plus the TV Ratings show its popularity.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 03/03/2021 17:12:21    2333444

Replying To realdub:  "I know what you're saying, but I always played to entertain myself, never once did I consider I was entertaining others to be honest."
To be honest as you said, did you ever have the talent and put in the same commitment as an inter county player. Maybe you did. Who I am I to judge ? Also being honest if you were a county player do you not think that entertaining the public would be the reason being there in the first place. After all no entertainment probably no inter county game.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/03/2021 18:45:43    2333458

Q: Do I not think the reason for playing inter-county was to entertain people?
A: No

A very odd perception you have, but there you are.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2021 19:28:52    2333461

Replying To realdub:  "Not at all, no hidden agenda, I've been supporting Dublin hurlers for years, say no more."
The honour of playing for your county would be reward enough for me and I'd have worked my ass of just for the privilege of representing Donegal, would be nice to win something too though and that's why I'm in favour of a 3 tiered Championship, that way you get to play for something you have a chance of winning at your own level.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 03/03/2021 20:19:04    2333463

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The honour of playing for your county would be reward enough for me and I'd have worked my ass of just for the privilege of representing Donegal, would be nice to win something too though and that's why I'm in favour of a 3 tiered Championship, that way you get to play for something you have a chance of winning at your own level."
Fair play chap.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 03/03/2021 21:18:04    2333466

Silliest statement I've seen in a while. It's the championship that keep players going and supporters look forward to the first round for their county championship like Christmas. Talk of the pubs for weeks beforehand, local papers sold out, everyone going on about it. God almighty get into it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 03/03/2021 23:27:59    2333473

Replying To realdub:  "Q: Do I not think the reason for playing inter-county was to entertain people?
A: No

A very odd perception you have, but there you are."
What gets me cranked about this in the first place is statements that no one is forcing or holding a gun to the county players heads to play in a effort to devalue what they do to reach those standards. Then there are hundreds wishing for that opportunity is another way to devalue. What profession is there not ?
The reality is without the county players there would not be hundreds of jobs in Croke Park. Jobs in pubs, restaurants, tv,sport wear shops, transport, etc. etc. as well as money coming back into the community to develop facility at club level. It is also reality that without club players there would not be county players.
Here is some perception for you odd or not. In 20 years time or less the structure of the GAA at the elite level will have changed drastically. Why ? Because it is not sustainable and top planners in the GAA know that now and planning.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 04/03/2021 00:13:19    2333474

Replying To Trump2020:  "I'd say that if something has to be sacrificed it would have to be the League. It's a shame but it's the lesser of 2 or 3 evils."
The league is a better competition imho. It should go ahead.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 04/03/2021 08:45:02    2333480