What a pity that firework didn't backfire on that gombeen today..he deserves everything he gets from court appearance,jail to good for him..think it shows there are very divided ideas in the country..I also saw a picture of 2 females with the slogan RTÉ sold their soul..what in the name of Jesus are they on about??am I missing something?
CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2505 - 27/02/2021 20:00:29
Replying To CTGAA10: "What a pity that firework didn't backfire on that gombeen today..he deserves everything he gets from court appearance,jail to good for him..think it shows there are very divided ideas in the country..I also saw a picture of 2 females with the slogan RTÉ sold their soul..what in the name of Jesus are they on about??am I missing something?" I saw that, they actually have it spelt wrong on the Tee shirt. RTE sold there soul..
FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2874 - 27/02/2021 20:09:15
Replying To Saynothing: "You say reputation, I say tax haven. Ireland is one of the leading tax havens in the world especially for global companies. The Norths hands are tied as far as lowering tax. So ye see, it's not all about reputation." Over 250,000 of us are employed by American companies here in Ireland. In Mayo alone you have Allergan, Baxter, Hollister and Coca Cola....employing 4,000 directly and anything to destabilise these companies and you may have well shut the lights out.
Galway city the same with a load of pharma and IT companies. Boston Scientific alone employing around 4,000. Other countries want that business and don't buy into their tax concerns, it's all a smoke screen.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11553 - 27/02/2021 20:15:13
Replying To Saynothing: "You say reputation, I say tax haven. Ireland is one of the leading tax havens in the world especially for global companies. The Norths hands are tied as far as lowering tax. So ye see, it's not all about reputation." I just took a look at a list of Tax Havens in the World. Four of the first eight were either British Protectorates or former British Colonies. Apart from that, London is renowned for the amount of hot Russian and Chinese money 'invested there'- so no need to take lectures from British people on these issues.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 27/02/2021 20:16:51
Replying To CTGAA10: "What a pity that firework didn't backfire on that gombeen today..he deserves everything he gets from court appearance,jail to good for him..think it shows there are very divided ideas in the country..I also saw a picture of 2 females with the slogan RTÉ sold their soul..what in the name of Jesus are they on about??am I missing something?" It's a very strange situation here at the moment ! We had a small fraction of our people asserting their right to protest... they did not keep social distance, they caused a riot. They are an amalgam of social and perverse discontents, with a few thrown in who are there for the craic and for some twisted reasoning think they are doing the right thing. Similarities with the USA over the past few months... and we have laughed at the USA and their problems! Then we have the SF brigade...who really need to gave a good look st themselves...that infamous PR funeral a few months ago, and some wish them a stay in government!!!! Whether SF sympathisers like it or not, you have not been responsible in your response to either government or the pandemic. There is no doubt that some feel a perverse need to do whatever is necessary to threaten our state through general social irresponsible behaviour or on social media in undermining the government and its organs in trying to get our country through a pandemic that is killing people. Those citizens need to be dealt with through the courts. These most irresponsible citizens think that it is okay to march on the streets arm in arm with absolutely ridiculous slogans and go on social media like Facebook and Twitter and vent their anger in shocking remarks towards the Gardai. And all the while we have other citizens who have worked beyond belief to try to keep people from dying... today in our care homes and hospitals. Doctors and nurses must be tearing their hair out. They are exhausted with dealing with a virus that knows no boundaries.
I for one have absolutely no time for those in our society attempting to undermine the hard fought liberties and way of life that I and my family enjoy. My forefathers fought and died for the freedoms we enjoy today. Ireland is a great country to live in. I stand by that. I absolutely condemn those trying to undermine our society and way of life.
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 27/02/2021 21:19:36
Replying To Oldtourman: "I just took a look at a list of Tax Havens in the World. Four of the first eight were either British Protectorates or former British Colonies. Apart from that, London is renowned for the amount of hot Russian and Chinese money 'invested there'- so no need to take lectures from British people on these issues." Which "British" people are lecturing you?
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2745 - 27/02/2021 21:30:22
Replying To Oldtourman: "I just took a look at a list of Tax Havens in the World. Four of the first eight were either British Protectorates or former British Colonies. Apart from that, London is renowned for the amount of hot Russian and Chinese money 'invested there'- so no need to take lectures from British people on these issues." I wouldn't take lectures from British people either but I wouldn't let apple and the like hold the government to ransom. Small companies pay their share of corporation tax so why not global companies.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 27/02/2021 21:34:18
Replying To Saynothing: "You say reputation, I say tax haven. Ireland is one of the leading tax havens in the world especially for global companies. The Norths hands are tied as far as lowering tax. So ye see, it's not all about reputation." Perhaps one man's strategic economic planning & foresight is another (ulster) man's tax haven.
P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 27/02/2021 21:53:28
Replying To carlowman: "It's a very strange situation here at the moment ! We had a small fraction of our people asserting their right to protest... they did not keep social distance, they caused a riot. They are an amalgam of social and perverse discontents, with a few thrown in who are there for the craic and for some twisted reasoning think they are doing the right thing. Similarities with the USA over the past few months... and we have laughed at the USA and their problems! Then we have the SF brigade...who really need to gave a good look st themselves...that infamous PR funeral a few months ago, and some wish them a stay in government!!!! Whether SF sympathisers like it or not, you have not been responsible in your response to either government or the pandemic. There is no doubt that some feel a perverse need to do whatever is necessary to threaten our state through general social irresponsible behaviour or on social media in undermining the government and its organs in trying to get our country through a pandemic that is killing people. Those citizens need to be dealt with through the courts. These most irresponsible citizens think that it is okay to march on the streets arm in arm with absolutely ridiculous slogans and go on social media like Facebook and Twitter and vent their anger in shocking remarks towards the Gardai. And all the while we have other citizens who have worked beyond belief to try to keep people from dying... today in our care homes and hospitals. Doctors and nurses must be tearing their hair out. They are exhausted with dealing with a virus that knows no boundaries.
I for one have absolutely no time for those in our society attempting to undermine the hard fought liberties and way of life that I and my family enjoy. My forefathers fought and died for the freedoms we enjoy today. Ireland is a great country to live in. I stand by that. I absolutely condemn those trying to undermine our society and way of life." You mean Sinn Fein? The only party you singled out, somehow you tangled them up with that rubbish on my cities street today. From my vantage point from my home there was no Sinn Feiners there today. Lots of disaffected youth, going to get worse. Btw I had a very good business blown away by covid, 4 peoples livilihoods destroyed. My mother died last summer of Covid in nursing home, totally unforgiveable as she got it from staff. We have the toughest lockdown in EU and the longest and for what exactly? To listen to that clown tell me "we are are resilient people" emarresing. Numbers are rising back up, people in Dublin are compressed into 5k. This is the hardest time now, people are sick to their back teeth of being treated like prisoners and children. According to Samaritans tgere is an epidemic of suicide. The answer is vax us asap and then we can put this govt back in their box or just ignore them. Lots of people will not forget this, for me there is a reckoning coming.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 27/02/2021 22:13:11
Replying To carlowman: "It's a very strange situation here at the moment ! We had a small fraction of our people asserting their right to protest... they did not keep social distance, they caused a riot. They are an amalgam of social and perverse discontents, with a few thrown in who are there for the craic and for some twisted reasoning think they are doing the right thing. Similarities with the USA over the past few months... and we have laughed at the USA and their problems! Then we have the SF brigade...who really need to gave a good look st themselves...that infamous PR funeral a few months ago, and some wish them a stay in government!!!! Whether SF sympathisers like it or not, you have not been responsible in your response to either government or the pandemic. There is no doubt that some feel a perverse need to do whatever is necessary to threaten our state through general social irresponsible behaviour or on social media in undermining the government and its organs in trying to get our country through a pandemic that is killing people. Those citizens need to be dealt with through the courts. These most irresponsible citizens think that it is okay to march on the streets arm in arm with absolutely ridiculous slogans and go on social media like Facebook and Twitter and vent their anger in shocking remarks towards the Gardai. And all the while we have other citizens who have worked beyond belief to try to keep people from dying... today in our care homes and hospitals. Doctors and nurses must be tearing their hair out. They are exhausted with dealing with a virus that knows no boundaries.
I for one have absolutely no time for those in our society attempting to undermine the hard fought liberties and way of life that I and my family enjoy. My forefathers fought and died for the freedoms we enjoy today. Ireland is a great country to live in. I stand by that. I absolutely condemn those trying to undermine our society and way of life." You talk about being responsible. Were there many Sinn Féin at the golf dinner in Galway?
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 27/02/2021 22:13:15
Replying To P.Mckenna: "That's a very narrow point of view. Reputation is what has attracted investment here in the republic & created hundreds of thousands of jobs, both directly & indirectly & probably why the northern part of the island has not. Yes I know they haven't gone away - this is obvious by many social media posts & a few of the victory speeches by that crowd .... the mask slips very quickly." With respect, have the Loyalists gone away in N.I too. I sincerely support the Good Friday agreement and N.I assembly as the the best way forward.The Loyalists were marching only a few weeks ago. I condemn both sets of paramilitaries and hope that the peace process continues.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 27/02/2021 22:22:39
I for one have absolutely no time for those in our society attempting to undermine the hard fought liberties and way of life that I and my family enjoy. My forefathers fought and died for the freedoms we enjoy today. Ireland is a great country to live in. I stand by that. I absolutely condemn those trying to undermine our society and way of life." Ok good post. And when will the vaccinces be rolled out. At the moment Ireland is lagging well behind. It is ok to ask people to lockdown for months on end, but they also need to get the vaccines. And right now Ireland has been slow to do that. Hope though it changes over the next few months.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 27/02/2021 22:25:40
Replying To Saynothing: "Didn't expect nothing different from our Royal correspondent, 14 seat gain in last election, 1 seat behind FF and more than FG, but of course other parties had the, we don't to play with you mentality. FF and FG jumped into bed with the Greens and they are ruining the country. Roll on the next election." And how's things going in sf run north ? That's right a bloody disaster. Again no mandate in this country. And won't have one after next election either. Thankfully. Country would be ruined
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2021 22:29:27
I for one have absolutely no time for those in our society attempting to undermine the hard fought liberties and way of life that I and my family enjoy. My forefathers fought and died for the freedoms we enjoy today. Ireland is a great country to live in. I stand by that. I absolutely condemn those trying to undermine our society and way of life." Well said
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2021 22:32:38
Replying To Saynothing: "I wouldn't take lectures from British people either but I wouldn't let apple and the like hold the government to ransom. Small companies pay their share of corporation tax so why not global companies." Ahh sure what will sf use now to pay for everything? Now that the Apple money is now gone ?
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2021 22:33:31
Replying To royaldunne: "And how's things going in sf run north ? That's right a bloody disaster. Again no mandate in this country. And won't have one after next election either. Thankfully. Country would be ruined" Going great guns in the North thanks. 28% of population vaccinated including All residents in nursing homes and all staff. Sinn Féin playing their part. Roll on election time.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 27/02/2021 23:23:12
Replying To P.Mckenna: "Perhaps one man's strategic economic planning & foresight is another (ulster) man's tax haven." Maybe more money from corporation tax could go to hospitals, nursing homes , nurses and care staff. The North could do with a lower corporation tax for companies to set up here but maybe Brexit might bring companies here anyways. Best of both worlds.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 27/02/2021 23:32:15
Carlowman.... What are you bringing SF into it for... what happened today had nothing to do with them. I'm sure there were lots of FG and FF supporters on the streets today too... Sinn Fein couldn't do any worse in power than the incompetent clowns we have running the Country... They can't even get the mandatory quarantine up and running but still allow plane loads of Brazilian's and Nigerians in to work while stopping our own citizens from working... Oh we have some beauts running the Country
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3794 - 28/02/2021 00:48:23
I for one have absolutely no time for those in our society attempting to undermine the hard fought liberties and way of life that I and my family enjoy. My forefathers fought and died for the freedoms we enjoy today. Ireland is a great country to live in. I stand by that. I absolutely condemn those trying to undermine our society and way of life." Sometimes I think that debt, or more specifically adding to our national debt, is what's keeping our country going at this stage. Every man woman and child here owes 44k,, to who I've no idea lol,, when you take into account children, elderly, the disabled etc and focus on workers that 44k might double or treble. I know a couple, neither of who has worked in 12 years and they've been provided with a 5 bedroom house, foc, to live in with their children, a friend of theirs and mine works 6 days a week and just gets by raising one child with his partner, they live in her mother's housecabt afford a place of their own and he earns too much to qualify for socal housing. You've more faith in this country than I do tbh.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 28/02/2021 01:28:52
Fossils like "Carlowman" seem to have no idea of the hardships that are going on in this Country and would vote for the same useless FF/FG government all the time regardless of what misery they impose on people while they live the life of luxury... Wouldn't it be great if we had a leader like the NZ women Jacinda Ardern who imposed a pay cut on politicians while citizens were going through the hardships of the pandemic and all the while suppressed the virus and protected the people... real leadership compared to our incompetent clowns who no doubt will reward themselves with a bumper pay rise for the bumbling mess they have made...
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3794 - 28/02/2021 08:54:17