I am actually outraged about the way the GAA are being treated by the govt. It is almost like they are blaming the CLG for the Covid crisis. I really dislike too the way they pander to the IRFU and to a lesser extent Horse racing and the FAI. Those ahem Elite, sports have no problem being allowed to play their games. galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 26/02/2021 21:18:09 2332846 Link 3 |
For the SF supporters/explorers on here, what have they ever done for the country ? They are hurlers on the ditch & very good at that - they wouldn't have a clue what to do if the ever got into power & what it would do to our international reputation? Forget the multinationals & continued investments here. P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 26/02/2021 22:21:19 2332864 Link 0 |
With respect, the GAA are in fairly serious financial trouble at the moment. They lost a lot of money last year. So the Govt decision not to class the inter county games as Elite will have serious repercussions. It never ceases to amaze me that the most vocal anti Gaelic football and hurling people tend to come from counties who are not very good at the games, eg Wicklow, Louth.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 27/02/2021 11:13:28 2332881 Link 2 |
In case posters need reminding, the GAA made a big loss last year. And there is also a big question mark over continued sponsorship from certain companies this year, and another big loss. So the Govt decision not to have inter county is fairly serious imho. These are the hard facts of the matter. galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 27/02/2021 11:15:48 2332882 Link 0 |
Somebody must be voting for them. Which probably reflects disillusionment with FF and FG as much as anything. lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 27/02/2021 11:56:03 2332888 Link 0 |
Does anyone really care about international reputation? I would hope they would do good for the whole of the country and not worry about others. they'll not be anyone's puppet, unlike FF and FG. They haven't gone away you know.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 27/02/2021 15:05:56 2332900 Link 2 |
I'd give SF a term, not because I have alot of time for them, but because if they do a good job it's great, and if they don't do a good job avd fail to bring about the type of change they say they will (I'm guessing they won't), then they'll finally be exposed as the opportunist spoofers that their critics say they are. Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 27/02/2021 15:53:08 2332910 Link 3 |
Only the army council puppets ?? Nah thanks.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2021 16:00:58 2332916 Link 1 |
75% didn't vote for them. Sizeable majority.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2021 16:01:39 2332917 Link 2 |
That Army Council sh$te is just that...dangerous tripe peddled by some in the media that led to dozens of sinn fein members with no connection to the IRA being shot by loyalist death squads with the active arming and directing by British security forces That kind of media guff creates cover for women like Sheena Campbell to be shot ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 86 - 27/02/2021 16:32:17 2332920 Link 4 |
Didn't expect nothing different from our Royal correspondent, 14 seat gain in last election, 1 seat behind FF and more than FG, but of course other parties had the, we don't to play with you mentality. FF and FG jumped into bed with the Greens and they are ruining the country. Roll on the next election.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 27/02/2021 16:32:48 2332921 Link 2 |
I think the Army council is no more. S.F are commited to democracy, I hope the Loyalists are too. Given recent events in the North. Like over the N.I protocol I would have my doubts. For example Arlene Foster met with Paramilitaries last week.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 27/02/2021 16:39:16 2332924 Link 2 |
We all know your views on this matter.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 27/02/2021 16:51:17 2332927 Link 2 |
Some people here think their politics the same way they follow or are a "fan" of something, bizarre. "They" are bad because I don't like them so I will continue to vote for 70 year old plus parties who are a "safe" pair of hands and my great grand father voted for them so they can't be all that bad. Thank god FF is on its last legs. The world we are heading into is going to need real leadership, creativity, ingenuiety and then you look at the shower in power, and dispair. arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 27/02/2021 16:57:13 2332928 Link 3 |
Just for the record, I have a lot of respect for anyone who puts themselves forward for election. It is democracy in action and deserves gratitude for doing so. Whether they be FF, FG, PBP, Greens or SF!
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 27/02/2021 17:15:51 2332937 Link 0 |
Hope we don't see a new spike due to the nut jobs on the streets of Dublin today. The anti everything brigade...I even seen them holding a sign "Patriots for Freedom" what a bloody joke... yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11553 - 27/02/2021 17:21:55 2332939 Link 4 |
The antics on Grafton Street won't help with keeping case numbers down FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2874 - 27/02/2021 17:32:40 2332941 Link 0 |
I saw the videos this morning I hope the guys who aimed the fireworks at the guards get court and a nice fine with it, they could have caused a full scale riot. Hopefully there wasn't too many hurt. DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 27/02/2021 18:46:51 2332950 Link 1 |
That's a very narrow point of view. Reputation is what has attracted investment here in the republic & created hundreds of thousands of jobs, both directly & indirectly & probably why the northern part of the island has not. Yes I know they haven't gone away - this is obvious by many social media posts & a few of the victory speeches by that crowd .... the mask slips very quickly. P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 27/02/2021 19:12:48 2332955 Link 3 |
You say reputation, I say tax haven. Ireland is one of the leading tax havens in the world especially for global companies. The Norths hands are tied as far as lowering tax. So ye see, it's not all about reputation.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 27/02/2021 19:47:48 2332965 Link 1 |