According to John Horan on the All Stars last night, club will be going after county as planned this year.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11553 - 21/02/2021 15:22:16
Replying To yew_tree: "According to John Horan on the All Stars last night, club will be going after county as planned this year." I'd settle for anything. Can't wait.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2492 - 21/02/2021 20:40:59
Replying To yew_tree: "According to John Horan on the All Stars last night, club will be going after county as planned this year." County first, I wonder why....
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2298 - 21/02/2021 21:31:31
Only reason I can see for it is they can organize it easier..fewer counties and less traveling involved..on the negative for clubs,it means matches being played in dire weather and a lot of dodgy pitches..
CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2505 - 21/02/2021 22:33:55
Given all the talk about how "safe" rugby is from some posters on this forum over the past few weeks here, it's alarming to hear that at least 3 of the French backroom team, and 3 players have now tested positive for COVID. Perhaps their bubble structures are not as comprehensive (or elite!) as we were led to believe??
football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 21/02/2021 22:41:42
Replying To lilylanger: "I don't understand how you think I am being forgiving of what happened. I'm not at all. I'm not just talking of house parties. Down here there are road bowling gatherings upward of 50 people happening weekly. The guards know and do nothing. Blind eyes are being turned to upwards of 100 at gravesides. University gatherings on campus, beaches, fields. It's rampant all over Ireland. Do I agree, of course I don't. But it's happening and no I don't condone it nor would I if it was mass on a Sunday down the town to answer your question." I'm going to leave it here now I don't want to get into a tit for tat argument with you. I'm not saying your forgiving anything I was just using a term of phrase, but you are definitely ignoring the double standard that is going on. There is alot more than 1 place having these gatherings every Friday and not just in Dublin either, they are happening all over the country. If you can't see the double standard, you have your head buried in the ground. Just because a few lads are playing road bowling in Kildare doesn't lessen the check and disregard of our country laws.
The Guards have gone to plenty student parties and gatherings and stopped them too when reported. As for the road bowling activities you highlighted I haven't heard of these going-ons and you are right it's a disgrace that it's left go on. As for mass gatherings at gravesides down my way the only Irish people are a certain cohort. I have played my part and stuck to the rules the best I can and I will call foul when I see it and I don't care who it offends and I don't care what they call me either.
DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 22/02/2021 09:47:13
Replying To DUALSUPPORT: "I'm going to leave it here now I don't want to get into a tit for tat argument with you. I'm not saying your forgiving anything I was just using a term of phrase, but you are definitely ignoring the double standard that is going on. There is alot more than 1 place having these gatherings every Friday and not just in Dublin either, they are happening all over the country. If you can't see the double standard, you have your head buried in the ground. Just because a few lads are playing road bowling in Kildare doesn't lessen the check and disregard of our country laws.
The Guards have gone to plenty student parties and gatherings and stopped them too when reported. As for the road bowling activities you highlighted I haven't heard of these going-ons and you are right it's a disgrace that it's left go on. As for mass gatherings at gravesides down my way the only Irish people are a certain cohort. I have played my part and stuck to the rules the best I can and I will call foul when I see it and I don't care who it offends and I don't care what they call me either." The road bowling is in Cork. I hear the frustration in your voice and I empathise. None of this is easy when most of us are sticking to the rules.
lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/02/2021 10:37:50
I tell you what else isn't easy - watching and listening to our bungling politicians from one day to the next. I'd be very interested to see if the likes of the Independent or the Irish Times ran a poll like they do before elections to gauge support and confidence in the current government. What was Donnelly at last night on Claire Byrne live? More blurred lines regarding the schools reopening.
I think the coming weeks and months will make or break the current coalition. If they don't get the vaccine rolled out quickly & competently as supplies improve there will be a tipping point.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 23/02/2021 10:10:40
Replying To lilylanger: "I don't understand how you think I am being forgiving of what happened. I'm not at all. I'm not just talking of house parties. Down here there are road bowling gatherings upward of 50 people happening weekly. The guards know and do nothing. Blind eyes are being turned to upwards of 100 at gravesides. University gatherings on campus, beaches, fields. It's rampant all over Ireland. Do I agree, of course I don't. But it's happening and no I don't condone it nor would I if it was mass on a Sunday down the town to answer your question." Fifty fellas strung out along an open road - there's not a lot of risk there, so there isn't.
It's the indoor stuff that's the problem.
lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 23/02/2021 11:02:09
Replying To Lockjaw: "I tell you what else isn't easy - watching and listening to our bungling politicians from one day to the next. I'd be very interested to see if the likes of the Independent or the Irish Times ran a poll like they do before elections to gauge support and confidence in the current government. What was Donnelly at last night on Claire Byrne live? More blurred lines regarding the schools reopening.
I think the coming weeks and months will make or break the current coalition. If they don't get the vaccine rolled out quickly & competently as supplies improve there will be a tipping point." I agree with you but what's going to topple this gov? they are useless and will continue to be but they have the numbers to run the full term so we are stuck with them. I'd love to have seen Mary Lou in charge, even the last gov with Leo and Simon were way better than this current shower, FF and the Greens are bloody useless.
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3178 - 23/02/2021 21:22:56
Replying To Tirchonaill1: "I agree with you but what's going to topple this gov? they are useless and will continue to be but they have the numbers to run the full term so we are stuck with them. I'd love to have seen Mary Lou in charge, even the last gov with Leo and Simon were way better than this current shower, FF and the Greens are bloody useless." If you want to see GAA back contact the relevant Ministers, Catherine Martin and Jack Chambers.
galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 24/02/2021 09:50:18
Replying To Tirchonaill1: "I agree with you but what's going to topple this gov? they are useless and will continue to be but they have the numbers to run the full term so we are stuck with them. I'd love to have seen Mary Lou in charge, even the last gov with Leo and Simon were way better than this current shower, FF and the Greens are bloody useless." Oh Lord if there is one person who would be worse than the current crop its Mary Lou!
hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 430 - 24/02/2021 10:50:49
Replying To Tirchonaill1: "I agree with you but what's going to topple this gov? they are useless and will continue to be but they have the numbers to run the full term so we are stuck with them. I'd love to have seen Mary Lou in charge, even the last gov with Leo and Simon were way better than this current shower, FF and the Greens are bloody useless." I actually wouldn't mind Fine Gael but with Simon Coveney as leader & Taoiseach. I thought he handled the Brexit situation quite well. Firm and decisive in the face of jingoistic nonsense the majority of the time from Boris and co.
FG and FF in a coalition together was doomed from the outset. They say they're working together but one would throw the other under the bus in a heartbeat if it advanced their own cause.
So the strategy is now an "all-in" approach with the vaccine. I really sincerely hope it goes to plan if it means getting some form of normality back. But I certainly won't be forgetting the amateurism and bungled communication from the present government come the next general election.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 24/02/2021 12:06:48
Replying To hopballref: "Oh Lord if there is one person who would be worse than the current crop its Mary Lou!" The current pandemic is the most challenging issue our government has faced in recent times. Tony Holohan said last year that the first few months while very difficult would be nothing like later stages in the pandemic. And how right he was ! In recent times some politicians have themselves made statements that have not been thought out too well. This is in the context where people are looking for certainty and a clear defined road map with specific dates for a return to more normal activity and daily life. This drive for certainty is understandable but it's not possible considering the transmission speed of the current strain. For example, next Monday sees Leaving Certificate and young primary school students return to school. Government will watch carefully how this will affect transmission. That will determine the rate of speed for the next tranche of students to return. This will also affect when construction and sports return. That's the context that government's are working in all around Europe. There are some commentators and politicians here in Ireland who are using this state of uncertainty to castigate the government and put themselves out front of stage to further their own position for personal political gain. Some may say, well that is politics, but is it responsible politics ? It generates confusion and helps build a lack of confidence in democracy. In my opinion it is not helping the mental health of people either. All I have heard from these is, well this should be done, and this should be done...I dont think it's that simple ! If all that these asked was put in place, the civil liberties people would be up in arms! My sympathies are with the current government. Whether we like it or not, we are part of the EU and are dependent on them for the roll out of the vaccine. We are getting our fair share. We will get more vaccine and we will be vaccinated in due course. May Lou and Soc Dems can talk till the cows come home, but they will not influence the speed of vaccine coming into the country.
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 24/02/2021 12:53:22
Replying To carlowman: "The current pandemic is the most challenging issue our government has faced in recent times. Tony Holohan said last year that the first few months while very difficult would be nothing like later stages in the pandemic. And how right he was ! In recent times some politicians have themselves made statements that have not been thought out too well. This is in the context where people are looking for certainty and a clear defined road map with specific dates for a return to more normal activity and daily life. This drive for certainty is understandable but it's not possible considering the transmission speed of the current strain. For example, next Monday sees Leaving Certificate and young primary school students return to school. Government will watch carefully how this will affect transmission. That will determine the rate of speed for the next tranche of students to return. This will also affect when construction and sports return. That's the context that government's are working in all around Europe. There are some commentators and politicians here in Ireland who are using this state of uncertainty to castigate the government and put themselves out front of stage to further their own position for personal political gain. Some may say, well that is politics, but is it responsible politics ? It generates confusion and helps build a lack of confidence in democracy. In my opinion it is not helping the mental health of people either. All I have heard from these is, well this should be done, and this should be done...I dont think it's that simple ! If all that these asked was put in place, the civil liberties people would be up in arms! My sympathies are with the current government. Whether we like it or not, we are part of the EU and are dependent on them for the roll out of the vaccine. We are getting our fair share. We will get more vaccine and we will be vaccinated in due course. May Lou and Soc Dems can talk till the cows come home, but they will not influence the speed of vaccine coming into the country." A good well reasoned post. The vaccine supply to an extent is outside the government's control Everyone is looking for certainty and specifics which just aren't possible to give. That being said, I would not excuse the government in areas which are well within their remit to control. I read recently that both Denmark and Germany acquired additional EU vaccines for themselves from other EU states which had a surplus. Why weren't we on the ball like they were? We seem to exist in a perpetually reactive state, instead of being proactive about things.
In addition, there is an obvious government reluctance to introduce mandatory quarantine at the airports. I simply do not buy the reasons Varadker and co are feeding us to explain their intransigence over this. Even today, dilly-dally tactics were employed which meant it didn't get debated as scheduled in the Dáil.
Also, there were months to prepare the logistics involved in ensuring the vaccines (when they eventually arrive) could be administered as swiftly and efficiently as possible. Could we not have had our vaccinators lined up and ready for action months prior to now be they GPs, pharmacists or dentists?
They are promising a ramp-up in vaccinations over the coming weeks and months. Lets juts see how that pans out...
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 24/02/2021 15:49:37
Replying To carlowman: "The current pandemic is the most challenging issue our government has faced in recent times. Tony Holohan said last year that the first few months while very difficult would be nothing like later stages in the pandemic. And how right he was ! In recent times some politicians have themselves made statements that have not been thought out too well. This is in the context where people are looking for certainty and a clear defined road map with specific dates for a return to more normal activity and daily life. This drive for certainty is understandable but it's not possible considering the transmission speed of the current strain. For example, next Monday sees Leaving Certificate and young primary school students return to school. Government will watch carefully how this will affect transmission. That will determine the rate of speed for the next tranche of students to return. This will also affect when construction and sports return. That's the context that government's are working in all around Europe. There are some commentators and politicians here in Ireland who are using this state of uncertainty to castigate the government and put themselves out front of stage to further their own position for personal political gain. Some may say, well that is politics, but is it responsible politics ? It generates confusion and helps build a lack of confidence in democracy. In my opinion it is not helping the mental health of people either. All I have heard from these is, well this should be done, and this should be done...I dont think it's that simple ! If all that these asked was put in place, the civil liberties people would be up in arms! My sympathies are with the current government. Whether we like it or not, we are part of the EU and are dependent on them for the roll out of the vaccine. We are getting our fair share. We will get more vaccine and we will be vaccinated in due course. May Lou and Soc Dems can talk till the cows come home, but they will not influence the speed of vaccine coming into the country." "My sympathies are with the current government. Whether we like it or not, we are part of the EU and are dependent on them for the roll out of the vaccine. We are getting our fair share. We will get more vaccine and we will be vaccinated in due course."
Where is it mandated that if we get vaccines from the EU, we also can't source vaccines independently, concurrently? I'm not saying it doesn't exist, but I can't find reference to it. I'd find it difficult to understand how/why the EU would prevent member states getting vaccinated as quick as possible, by getting vaccines from all available sources.
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 24/02/2021 16:38:51
Replying To carlowman: "The current pandemic is the most challenging issue our government has faced in recent times. Tony Holohan said last year that the first few months while very difficult would be nothing like later stages in the pandemic. And how right he was ! In recent times some politicians have themselves made statements that have not been thought out too well. This is in the context where people are looking for certainty and a clear defined road map with specific dates for a return to more normal activity and daily life. This drive for certainty is understandable but it's not possible considering the transmission speed of the current strain. For example, next Monday sees Leaving Certificate and young primary school students return to school. Government will watch carefully how this will affect transmission. That will determine the rate of speed for the next tranche of students to return. This will also affect when construction and sports return. That's the context that government's are working in all around Europe. There are some commentators and politicians here in Ireland who are using this state of uncertainty to castigate the government and put themselves out front of stage to further their own position for personal political gain. Some may say, well that is politics, but is it responsible politics ? It generates confusion and helps build a lack of confidence in democracy. In my opinion it is not helping the mental health of people either. All I have heard from these is, well this should be done, and this should be done...I dont think it's that simple ! If all that these asked was put in place, the civil liberties people would be up in arms! My sympathies are with the current government. Whether we like it or not, we are part of the EU and are dependent on them for the roll out of the vaccine. We are getting our fair share. We will get more vaccine and we will be vaccinated in due course. May Lou and Soc Dems can talk till the cows come home, but they will not influence the speed of vaccine coming into the country." They are absolutely right to call out poor governing. SF are spot on with regard to hotel quarantine for unnecessary travel, 15000 incoming passengers every week is reckless and risks new strains coming in. It's worked in Asia where theyve been living all but normal lives since the middle of last year. The govs collapse in contact tracing over Christmas was a disgrace. They still havent recruited the recommended number of tracers, in fact they let many of them go last year. If the Gov had actually made an effort to interact with the north and the UK rather than hiding scared of ruffling the feathers of the DUP, we could have been in line to receive surplus vaccines from the UK. I have actually been very impressed with many of SF and Soc dems, they have some very capable people. I have never voted for Sinn féin in my lifetime and still wouldn't agree with some of their policies, but I would be more than willing to give them their chance in the next election
97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 405 - 24/02/2021 16:55:18
Replying To 97Cavans: "They are absolutely right to call out poor governing. SF are spot on with regard to hotel quarantine for unnecessary travel, 15000 incoming passengers every week is reckless and risks new strains coming in. It's worked in Asia where theyve been living all but normal lives since the middle of last year. The govs collapse in contact tracing over Christmas was a disgrace. They still havent recruited the recommended number of tracers, in fact they let many of them go last year. If the Gov had actually made an effort to interact with the north and the UK rather than hiding scared of ruffling the feathers of the DUP, we could have been in line to receive surplus vaccines from the UK. I have actually been very impressed with many of SF and Soc dems, they have some very capable people. I have never voted for Sinn féin in my lifetime and still wouldn't agree with some of their policies, but I would be more than willing to give them their chance in the next election" Couldn't agree more, for an island nation the whole thing could have been handled better. Then up here we have DUP who make decisions and then change their minds 24 hrs later when they find out England are doing it differently. They want their beloved England to hold their hand and don't like it when they have to go it alone. Love watching them getting jealous of Scotland and Wales. British government keep them sweet an odd time by mentioning a bridge or tunnel to Scotland and they are that keen to be part of Britain they drink the stories up.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2289 - 24/02/2021 22:08:30
Replying To Saynothing: "Couldn't agree more, for an island nation the whole thing could have been handled better. Then up here we have DUP who make decisions and then change their minds 24 hrs later when they find out England are doing it differently. They want their beloved England to hold their hand and don't like it when they have to go it alone. Love watching them getting jealous of Scotland and Wales. British government keep them sweet an odd time by mentioning a bridge or tunnel to Scotland and they are that keen to be part of Britain they drink the stories up." The DUP are a laughing stock really. Everyone knew the Tories would just use them when it suited them and that as soon as an opportunity presented itself they'd throw them under the bus without a second thought. Then you have Ian Óg ranting and raving in Westminster with his wee rolled up magazine or whatever it is. The rest of the parliament sitting back thinking, " look at this clouster".
It's depressing that even in the midst of a deadly pandemic the old differences couldn't be put aside. An all-island approach from the beginning could have saved a lot of lives and a lot of hardship. But no - flegs.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 25/02/2021 09:35:07
Replying To carlowman: "The current pandemic is the most challenging issue our government has faced in recent times. Tony Holohan said last year that the first few months while very difficult would be nothing like later stages in the pandemic. And how right he was ! In recent times some politicians have themselves made statements that have not been thought out too well. This is in the context where people are looking for certainty and a clear defined road map with specific dates for a return to more normal activity and daily life. This drive for certainty is understandable but it's not possible considering the transmission speed of the current strain. For example, next Monday sees Leaving Certificate and young primary school students return to school. Government will watch carefully how this will affect transmission. That will determine the rate of speed for the next tranche of students to return. This will also affect when construction and sports return. That's the context that government's are working in all around Europe. There are some commentators and politicians here in Ireland who are using this state of uncertainty to castigate the government and put themselves out front of stage to further their own position for personal political gain. Some may say, well that is politics, but is it responsible politics ? It generates confusion and helps build a lack of confidence in democracy. In my opinion it is not helping the mental health of people either. All I have heard from these is, well this should be done, and this should be done...I dont think it's that simple ! If all that these asked was put in place, the civil liberties people would be up in arms! My sympathies are with the current government. Whether we like it or not, we are part of the EU and are dependent on them for the roll out of the vaccine. We are getting our fair share. We will get more vaccine and we will be vaccinated in due course. May Lou and Soc Dems can talk till the cows come home, but they will not influence the speed of vaccine coming into the country." "generates confusion" I'm sorry but the current government are generating a lot of the confusion themselves with their constant mixed messages, fence sitting, back tracking. Politician A from Fianna Fail says apples only for politician B from Fine Gael to say oranges especially the last few weeks which even the Tanaiste has admitted himself in FG's paramilitary meeting the other night that communication is poor. Nobody said it's an easy job and can be a very thankless job governing, I'm sure, but they can certainly make it a bit easier on us and try come across as some what competent. Just my lowly humble opinion.
Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/02/2021 13:45:26