The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To zinny:  "This topic is now on the fourth page and the top topics at the moment are about it being Mayo's year and how Dublin get all the money, so you would think that all is back to normal. I even saw a couple of different topics giving out about referees . Are we all in agreement now it was a good idea to go ahead with the championship? Its not over yet but it doesn't seem as if playing it has been responsible for a surge in Covid infections, in fact the GAA has fared better than some professional teams. There will of course be people who say that this years championship means nothing - normally lads from the losing teams but I have seen nothing to suggest that the standards have changed, its just the crowds are missing - so visually its strange and I do miss that roar. With the Hurling Semis on this weekend I ask you now who is not looking forward to watching them (unless you don't like hurling!)?"
Amen. Big credit due to the people that are doing the right thing and taking precautions enabling these great matches to go on. Though I am mostly a Hurling fan how could you not be excited for Tipp and Cavan in FOOTBALL which might never have been allowed to happen due to the virus.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2489 - 27/11/2020 13:24:49    2315915

Keep me posted on the vaccine lads, I'll be fooked if I'm going first :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 27/11/2020 14:18:37    2315930

Replying To realdub:  "Keep me posted on the vaccine lads, I'll be fooked if I'm going first :D"
Not a chance would I get it, big money maker for pfizer. I had corona back in March, probably one of the first to get it, it's worse than flu yes, will not lie breathing was very off for a while and I wasn't able to train for a few weeks, I work in a hospital myself. The whole thing makes little sense too me. ICU in ST James's hospital was full of people 60/70 plus with heart or other issues, I worked there I seen it at its worst. Had not seen anyone under 50 bar a few on covid wards and they both had other issues. This is a GAA forum and off topic but it is a joke that we are having these lockdowns. 1918 killed mostly young people 15-40, over 20'000 in about a year in this country. I had this virus, my friends had it, work mates, no deaths, shutting down the economy over this and the GAA crowds in my opinion is insane. Yes it kills but not the way the media is making it out to be, period. This is not 1918-1920 and we still had games then. Call me what you like but it is an absolute lump of dump coming from someone who is a medical professional and someone who had it and a GAA hardcore. I am baffled to the international attention we have with this virus. It is more serious, far more serious than flu but it is NOT a pandemic anything near 1918 or even near the cholera plague of 1846, even the flu of 1957 killed far more and was much more dangerous to the younger generation. This is straight out a media thing. If my own mama got the virus I wouldn't worry at all. She is in her 50's and will be grand, it is dangerous to those with other issues and maybe older over 70. Even over 70 are 1 in 20 to die, they are the stats and you can pull them straight from the lancet medical journal. Rant over. Bring back the pubs and the GAA crowds absolutely sick of this.

GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 27/11/2020 15:04:46    2315946

Replying To Trump2020:  "Amen. Big credit due to the people that are doing the right thing and taking precautions enabling these great matches to go on. Though I am mostly a Hurling fan how could you not be excited for Tipp and Cavan in FOOTBALL which might never have been allowed to happen due to the virus."
ha what a username, better edit that for 2021 ;)

GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 27/11/2020 15:08:47    2315947

Replying To GameofTyronesIsBackhere:  "Not a chance would I get it, big money maker for pfizer. I had corona back in March, probably one of the first to get it, it's worse than flu yes, will not lie breathing was very off for a while and I wasn't able to train for a few weeks, I work in a hospital myself. The whole thing makes little sense too me. ICU in ST James's hospital was full of people 60/70 plus with heart or other issues, I worked there I seen it at its worst. Had not seen anyone under 50 bar a few on covid wards and they both had other issues. This is a GAA forum and off topic but it is a joke that we are having these lockdowns. 1918 killed mostly young people 15-40, over 20'000 in about a year in this country. I had this virus, my friends had it, work mates, no deaths, shutting down the economy over this and the GAA crowds in my opinion is insane. Yes it kills but not the way the media is making it out to be, period. This is not 1918-1920 and we still had games then. Call me what you like but it is an absolute lump of dump coming from someone who is a medical professional and someone who had it and a GAA hardcore. I am baffled to the international attention we have with this virus. It is more serious, far more serious than flu but it is NOT a pandemic anything near 1918 or even near the cholera plague of 1846, even the flu of 1957 killed far more and was much more dangerous to the younger generation. This is straight out a media thing. If my own mama got the virus I wouldn't worry at all. She is in her 50's and will be grand, it is dangerous to those with other issues and maybe older over 70. Even over 70 are 1 in 20 to die, they are the stats and you can pull them straight from the lancet medical journal. Rant over. Bring back the pubs and the GAA crowds absolutely sick of this."
Interesting

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8744 - 27/11/2020 17:04:40    2315972

Replying To GameofTyronesIsBackhere:  "Not a chance would I get it, big money maker for pfizer. I had corona back in March, probably one of the first to get it, it's worse than flu yes, will not lie breathing was very off for a while and I wasn't able to train for a few weeks, I work in a hospital myself. The whole thing makes little sense too me. ICU in ST James's hospital was full of people 60/70 plus with heart or other issues, I worked there I seen it at its worst. Had not seen anyone under 50 bar a few on covid wards and they both had other issues. This is a GAA forum and off topic but it is a joke that we are having these lockdowns. 1918 killed mostly young people 15-40, over 20'000 in about a year in this country. I had this virus, my friends had it, work mates, no deaths, shutting down the economy over this and the GAA crowds in my opinion is insane. Yes it kills but not the way the media is making it out to be, period. This is not 1918-1920 and we still had games then. Call me what you like but it is an absolute lump of dump coming from someone who is a medical professional and someone who had it and a GAA hardcore. I am baffled to the international attention we have with this virus. It is more serious, far more serious than flu but it is NOT a pandemic anything near 1918 or even near the cholera plague of 1846, even the flu of 1957 killed far more and was much more dangerous to the younger generation. This is straight out a media thing. If my own mama got the virus I wouldn't worry at all. She is in her 50's and will be grand, it is dangerous to those with other issues and maybe older over 70. Even over 70 are 1 in 20 to die, they are the stats and you can pull them straight from the lancet medical journal. Rant over. Bring back the pubs and the GAA crowds absolutely sick of this."
Careful now - rational viewpoints will not be tolerated.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 27/11/2020 18:49:46    2315991

Nonsense. The point you miss is that if pubs open, the numbers will be so high that people will die simply because they cant access a ventilator. "Sorry you'll have to die I'm afraid. All our ventilators are being used because people want to drink "

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 27/11/2020 19:27:05    2316002

Ive family who've had covid. My sister is a nurse and has had it.
Its not a joke at all that we are having these lockdowns. So what if its mainly affecting older people. That means evern more that we need to protect people.
That games were not postponed 100 years ago for something else is irrelevent.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3746 - 27/11/2020 19:35:54    2316006

On the covid and gaa. Just an aside. On a few occasions during the championship teams have had players missing at last minute with no reasons being given. I'm wondering is it covid or contact tracing and they afraid to say it in case half the team would be ko D on contact tracing. I've heard rumours but nothing concrete. In reality though it's very possible. If for aan example a player tells manager before an all ireland semi he has covid. Does the manager go public and lose half his team because of contact tracing or just tell player go and isolate and say nothing about it and say you picked up a late injury. As I've said already it's just rumours so I don't know.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3891 - 27/11/2020 19:39:00    2316007

Replying To GameofTyronesIsBackhere:  "ha what a username, better edit that for 2021 ;)"
Not yet. There's still hope. No concession yet. A lot of blaggarding went on. We'll see I suppose.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2489 - 27/11/2020 21:19:58    2316045

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "On the covid and gaa. Just an aside. On a few occasions during the championship teams have had players missing at last minute with no reasons being given. I'm wondering is it covid or contact tracing and they afraid to say it in case half the team would be ko D on contact tracing. I've heard rumours but nothing concrete. In reality though it's very possible. If for aan example a player tells manager before an all ireland semi he has covid. Does the manager go public and lose half his team because of contact tracing or just tell player go and isolate and say nothing about it and say you picked up a late injury. As I've said already it's just rumours so I don't know."
Contact tracing wouldnt necessarily mean half a team would be lost due to covid. Look at pro teams where there has been positive cases. all depends on so many variables.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3746 - 27/11/2020 21:54:36    2316058

Replying To KillingFields:  "Contact tracing wouldnt necessarily mean half a team would be lost due to covid. Look at pro teams where there has been positive cases. all depends on so many variables."
Maybe but funny enough when one of the Irish soccer players got covid the Irish management said no need of contact tracing and within a week a few other players had it so it makes me wonder.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3891 - 27/11/2020 22:06:27    2316060

Replying To Trump2020:  "Not yet. There's still hope. No concession yet. A lot of blaggarding went on. We'll see I suppose."
And there won't be any concession from a person like Trump. The man and his inner circle can't accept defeat but I'm sure they're waiting for the just the right time to produce all this evidence

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/11/2020 22:15:57    2316066

I agree with some of what you say, but I listened to a podcast way back in Jan/Feb with an epidemiologist saying that if Covid reached Ireland, the worst case scenario was around 20'000 deaths.

There are about half a million people over 70 in Ireland (I'm estimating based on 635'000 over 65s - CSO).

If 1 in 70 of those die, that's 7'000. And that's with those people contracting small quantities of the virus rather than experiencing full exposure due to hand-shaking, 2nd hand air, shared utensils, etc.

Add in those under 70 with underlying conditions and 2'000 odd deaths suddenly makes the lockdowns and restrictions look like a smart move.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5244 - 27/11/2020 23:08:21    2316080

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Maybe but funny enough when one of the Irish soccer players got covid the Irish management said no need of contact tracing and within a week a few other players had it so it makes me wonder."
wouldnt take what FAI do as best practice considering the mess they usually have in every aspect of what they do...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3746 - 27/11/2020 23:09:46    2316081

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Maybe but funny enough when one of the Irish soccer players got covid the Irish management said no need of contact tracing and within a week a few other players had it so it makes me wonder."
Look at other sports. Rugby and it hasnt spread amongst entire teams. all depends on what policies teams have

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3746 - 28/11/2020 00:02:31    2316089

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "I think a lot of Irish people are doing the Irish"it will be grand thing".

I never worried over bird flu, swine flu(even though that is technically the same strain the killed 50-100 million back in 1918) Anyway, this is different. You only have to look at the governments of the globe to see that.

If you want to find real official stats on the flu v Covid19 . You can look at the lancet medical journal.

Flu infected 100 people, two go to hospital. None die and roughly 1 in 1000-2000 die.

Covid19 infects 100 people, twenty go to hospital. Three die. Now those 20 will probably develop pneumonia, otherwise they probably wouldn't need to be there. That means oxygen treatment.

A large number of those will need ICU. North and South of the border already has issues with beds. So you could see that 3 easily go to 10/15 in time when you can't treat people with oxygen and that is not an unrealistic possibility.

Add in the fact that most of the pharma companies get their basic ingredients from China, there will come a time when there's shortages for basic drugs for diabetes and BP.

Not to mention it has the possibility to almost stop the total world food supply and turn into back into the stone age.

I think in this case, for once, those going to do big shops are right."
I'll reply to what you said in a bit but you know that is my actual user name you pulled there haha. I had an account with the same name here just lost the email I had on it and couldn't log back in. Thief ha. Genuinely thought I was reading my own comments for a minute.

GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 28/11/2020 11:15:43    2316122

Replying To cavanman47:  "I agree with some of what you say, but I listened to a podcast way back in Jan/Feb with an epidemiologist saying that if Covid reached Ireland, the worst case scenario was around 20'000 deaths.

There are about half a million people over 70 in Ireland (I'm estimating based on 635'000 over 65s - CSO).

If 1 in 70 of those die, that's 7'000. And that's with those people contracting small quantities of the virus rather than experiencing full exposure due to hand-shaking, 2nd hand air, shared utensils, etc.

Add in those under 70 with underlying conditions and 2'000 odd deaths suddenly makes the lockdowns and restrictions look like a smart move."
CSO actually has it at just over half a million at 65 plus 535'00 exactly. 70 plus is closer to 400'000, which would put that 20'000 marker if every single person over 70 got it. It is 1 in 20 not 1 in 70 (which is worse) Now in saying that, you can do other things other than a lockdown. Isolate those at most risk, not a full population. In my hospital they were throwing all elderly people out of the place to make "room" for covid patients. People died from strokes and heart attacks because they were afraid to call an ambulance to go to hospital, A and E is pretty close to 40% capacity most days, which I have never seen before that ( usually overflowing). The bottom floor of St James's was completely empty from March right through summer, it is used for cancer screening and other things (mostly day centre) how many people do you think died as a result of not actually being allowed in, with cancer, a few weeks between finding out are life and death, deferred appointments, the mental health side of things on the other wing is also there although two floors. These things don't stop happening.

I think I know the epidemiologist you are talking about, Luke O'Neill I would guess. He knows his stuff but even he would agree that this is nothing parallel with real pandemics before it. He threw out 20'000 because he is right, it would see if every single person got the thing over 70 would be effected I would say closer to 10'000/15'000 if they all got it. Back in Jan/Feb I did think it was serious, we all had a fair idea stuff was about to hit the pan but it isn't as bad as I first thought. I was worried it would effect everyone, young and old. A real pandemic is when people are dropping all about the place and we would all know people who died from it. People are shocked sometimes when I even tell them I have had it. The black death had a 40% death rate. That would be shocking. Of course covid is worse than the flu, I'm not saying it is not, it is pretty serious but it is not economy shutting stuff. I'm in the minority, 100%, with those I work with but plenty that feel the same.

Now 15'000 is a huge number.Too much, but just be careful with elderly. Isolate and pfizer will this thing sorted fairly fast with the 95% they talk about so that (hopefully) should be it.

The media has a nice role with this. Total fear and panic they are putting into the population. It is 1 in 35'000 (real stats you can google that) that die between 20-39 but you still have all this age bracket freaking if someone coughs.

Lockdowns need to end. This is not 1918,not even 1957 flu nor cholera of the 1800's. Bring back croker and maybe half capacity, but hating the fear mongering crap that is happening at the minute.Sorry I know this is a GAA forum, bit ranty.

GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 28/11/2020 11:59:12    2316130

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "And there won't be any concession from a person like Trump. The man and his inner circle can't accept defeat but I'm sure they're waiting for the just the right time to produce all this evidence"
That's your opinion and you're entitled to it. It's not that one sided though. Nothing is. Either way the sun will still come up in the morning and dogs will still bark.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2489 - 28/11/2020 12:59:50    2316140

Replying To GameofTyronesIsBackhere:  "CSO actually has it at just over half a million at 65 plus 535'00 exactly. 70 plus is closer to 400'000, which would put that 20'000 marker if every single person over 70 got it. It is 1 in 20 not 1 in 70 (which is worse) Now in saying that, you can do other things other than a lockdown. Isolate those at most risk, not a full population. In my hospital they were throwing all elderly people out of the place to make "room" for covid patients. People died from strokes and heart attacks because they were afraid to call an ambulance to go to hospital, A and E is pretty close to 40% capacity most days, which I have never seen before that ( usually overflowing). The bottom floor of St James's was completely empty from March right through summer, it is used for cancer screening and other things (mostly day centre) how many people do you think died as a result of not actually being allowed in, with cancer, a few weeks between finding out are life and death, deferred appointments, the mental health side of things on the other wing is also there although two floors. These things don't stop happening.

I think I know the epidemiologist you are talking about, Luke O'Neill I would guess. He knows his stuff but even he would agree that this is nothing parallel with real pandemics before it. He threw out 20'000 because he is right, it would see if every single person got the thing over 70 would be effected I would say closer to 10'000/15'000 if they all got it. Back in Jan/Feb I did think it was serious, we all had a fair idea stuff was about to hit the pan but it isn't as bad as I first thought. I was worried it would effect everyone, young and old. A real pandemic is when people are dropping all about the place and we would all know people who died from it. People are shocked sometimes when I even tell them I have had it. The black death had a 40% death rate. That would be shocking. Of course covid is worse than the flu, I'm not saying it is not, it is pretty serious but it is not economy shutting stuff. I'm in the minority, 100%, with those I work with but plenty that feel the same.

Now 15'000 is a huge number.Too much, but just be careful with elderly. Isolate and pfizer will this thing sorted fairly fast with the 95% they talk about so that (hopefully) should be it.

The media has a nice role with this. Total fear and panic they are putting into the population. It is 1 in 35'000 (real stats you can google that) that die between 20-39 but you still have all this age bracket freaking if someone coughs.

Lockdowns need to end. This is not 1918,not even 1957 flu nor cholera of the 1800's. Bring back croker and maybe half capacity, but hating the fear mongering crap that is happening at the minute.Sorry I know this is a GAA forum, bit ranty."
Think your figures are off. . .

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/ep/p-cp3oy/cp3/agr/

Either way, I'm not exactly disagreeing with you. But if we can save 1000s of unnecessary deaths, I think we should.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5244 - 28/11/2020 14:14:51    2316158