The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

Replying To ArmaghCat:  "My family have significant links to An Garda....indeed where among its first members ....this is a GAA forum yet you have been given free rein for some reason to spout widely inaccurate and dangerous comments about not only political parties but people based simply on what part of the island they live on....
As said before its interesting the vast majority of people making these statements are from Meath...."
Tis a grand county Meath.

Also surely in a democracy the people of Meath are equally entitled to their views?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2020 13:43:16    2296986

Replying To Crinigan:  "An Armagh man. When you come down here and kill unarmed Gardaí, do you need to go to your local SF rep before going to the law enforcement? You think Gardaí down here want to share a country with that kind of culture and be gunned by "Gaels" from Armagh? And SF barely recognize OnahE as the legitimate defence forces of the state."
That "Gael" from Armagh, was a British citizen. Check out the links. He carried a UK passport. He was a thug and a murderer. I fully support the Garda by the way. Just get your facts right. He was not Irish.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 12/10/2020 14:02:52    2296994

If the posters here from Meath and Limerick put as much effort into Gaelic football as they do into politicking they might start winning. But they are probably just Rugby heads really. On this site to troll.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 12/10/2020 14:12:55    2296998

Replying To galwayford:  "If the posters here from Meath and Limerick put as much effort into Gaelic football as they do into politicking they might start winning. But they are probably just Rugby heads really. On this site to troll."
I love the aul rugby in fairness, it's a great game.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2020 14:45:43    2297013

Replying To ArmaghCat:  "My family have significant links to An Garda....indeed where among its first members ....this is a GAA forum yet you have been given free rein for some reason to spout widely inaccurate and dangerous comments about not only political parties but people based simply on what part of the island they live on....
As said before its interesting the vast majority of people making these statements are from Meath...."
Did a prominent SF politician from Kerry not pick up the convicted murderer of a Garda detective from prison upon his release from prison? Yes, yes he did. If you had any respect or affiliation with Gardaí in this country there is no way in hell you'd be spouting support for SF on a public forum.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 12/10/2020 15:13:56    2297021

Replying To Htaem:  "I love the aul rugby in fairness, it's a great game."
Wouldn't be a big fan of the rugby scene myself, especially in Ireland. Wall to wall coverage of a minority sport. It's all about what school you want to and who your daddy is. And when you go to a match most of the crowd aren't even watching the match, it's all about being seen to be there.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 12/10/2020 15:16:28    2297023

Replying To Htaem:  "The Premierleague is on most weekends as well, the shinners supporters love nothing more than a good game of English club football, that should really keep them away from the polling stations :-)"
Oh how wrong. My original post wasn't allowed. Think back 15 years and see who allowed foreign games to be played on GAA grounds. Not many Ulster counties you'll see.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 12/10/2020 15:48:41    2297033

Replying To Crinigan:  "Did a prominent SF politician from Kerry not pick up the convicted murderer of a Garda detective from prison upon his release from prison? Yes, yes he did. If you had any respect or affiliation with Gardaí in this country there is no way in hell you'd be spouting support for SF on a public forum."
Why answer your own question? Cringing stuff.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 12/10/2020 15:51:55    2297034

Replying To Crinigan:  "Wouldn't be a big fan of the rugby scene myself, especially in Ireland. Wall to wall coverage of a minority sport. It's all about what school you want to and who your daddy is. And when you go to a match most of the crowd aren't even watching the match, it's all about being seen to be there."
Ah sure look the colour of everyone's ***** is the same at the end of the day Crinigan and I couldn't care less what the toff beside me is looking at, I enjoy watching the games.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2020 15:54:52    2297035

Replying To Saynothing:  "Oh how wrong. My original post wasn't allowed. Think back 15 years and see who allowed foreign games to be played on GAA grounds. Not many Ulster counties you'll see."
It's not really wrong though, PL football is very popular over here, many SF/IRA supporters can also be seen sporting the jersey of their favourite English football club, which is no harm, just an observation.

As for the opening of Croker, that debate is long over and I'm not sure who was for or against it but personally I was for opening anyway, I think it was the neighbourly thing to do, wouldn't you agree?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2020 16:03:29    2297036

Question for you Crinigan, out of curiosity...who do you support? Is it FF/IRA or FG/IRA? Or maybe its Labour/Official IRA ?

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 12/10/2020 16:18:56    2297042

Replying To Htaem:  "It's not really wrong though, PL football is very popular over here, many SF/IRA supporters can also be seen sporting the jersey of their favourite English football club, which is no harm, just an observation.

As for the opening of Croker, that debate is long over and I'm not sure who was for or against it but personally I was for opening anyway, I think it was the neighbourly thing to do, wouldn't you agree?"
No such thing as SF/IRA. There is SF and there was IRA. I could guess you would have been on for opening it up. A lot like you too. Glad to see these clubs you support coming to the wall during these times and the more the merrier. And a answer to your question is a big NO.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 12/10/2020 16:22:18    2297044

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Question for you Crinigan, out of curiosity...who do you support? Is it FF/IRA or FG/IRA? Or maybe its Labour/Official IRA ?"
Long list of unhappy posts - there must be only one side on his bed - the wrong side.... ;o)

Reckon he bought his in a certain county in Munster.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 12/10/2020 16:28:01    2297045

The effects of the Virus continue to have an impact on the GAA with every league game and some more being shown live at the weekend. I would say some of the games will get more of an online crowd than they would have got live.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 12/10/2020 16:36:17    2297051

Replying To Saynothing:  "No such thing as SF/IRA. There is SF and there was IRA. I could guess you would have been on for opening it up. A lot like you too. Glad to see these clubs you support coming to the wall during these times and the more the merrier. And a answer to your question is a big NO."
'Ulster says No' eh ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2020 16:40:23    2297055

Replying To Htaem:  "'Ulster says No' eh ;-)"
That has a touch of class about it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 12/10/2020 17:43:23    2297072

Replying To Htaem:  "It's not really wrong though, PL football is very popular over here, many SF/IRA supporters can also be seen sporting the jersey of their favourite English football club, which is no harm, just an observation.

As for the opening of Croker, that debate is long over and I'm not sure who was for or against it but personally I was for opening anyway, I think it was the neighbourly thing to do, wouldn't you agree?"
That PL football your on about, I'd rather watch London V Meath in a Qualifier and it wouldn't be good stuff.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 12/10/2020 17:50:49    2297076

Replying To zinny:  "The effects of the Virus continue to have an impact on the GAA with every league game and some more being shown live at the weekend. I would say some of the games will get more of an online crowd than they would have got live."
More people watching is a Silver Lining to this whole mess I suppose.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 12/10/2020 18:19:04    2297084

Replying To Saynothing:  "That has a touch of class about it."
Haha I know

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2020 19:09:08    2297094

Replying To Saynothing:  "That PL football your on about, I'd rather watch London V Meath in a Qualifier and it wouldn't be good stuff."
So would I, or even a spot of cricket, the Twenty20 stuff isn't bad.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2020 19:10:26    2297095