The Corona Virus And Possible Effects To GAA Matches

My take on the Covid 19 crisis, is that the daily media obsession with it must be dropped. Contract tracing and testing will be way to deal with it in future. There is too many small businesses in trouble at the moment. And they must be given a chance. End all of this "lockdown" mullarkey and concentrate on Cancer and obesity.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 11/10/2020 15:18:53    2296815

Replying To bloodyban:  "FF got 38 seats. For me its a sad reflection on our society that Sinn Fein got so many seats . I respect the vote. Our media gives them an easy ride and fails to call them put for their years of mayhem and murder. Our centre parties don't know what they are . Sinn fein exploited this. What I think Ireland needs is a proper left/right division...we don't have a proper Conservative party and really Fine Gael needs to take this ground or there ll be another alphabet soup of parties on the right to match whats on the left."
The last thing Ireland needs is a straight so called right/left divide. This is why they are on the brink of another civil war in the U.S. When each are in control of both houses and the presidency they stacks the courts, reverse legislation , change other laws and do many other underhand (dirty) changes that the people ignore or unaware of. Voter suppression in areas where they lose is skillfully done by making it difficult for the opposition voters to vote. Lobbyists with money from vested interests are the people who run that so called democracy. You need a a party in the centre to keep these extremist in check. If they had that in the U.S, I doubt if they would be in the trouble they are.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 11/10/2020 15:38:53    2296820

Replying To Saynothing:  "More people in Ireland voted for "the shinners" as people call them, than any other party. Does that annoy you. Get used to it."
Nope it doesn't annoy me. I was just pointing out that you were factually incorrect when referring to them as the biggest party in the South.

What they've essentially done of course, is forced Fianna Fail and Fine Gael into a joint centre-right ticket. That leaves no effective opposition in Leinster House that can be reasonably considered as a viable alternative capable of running the country.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 11/10/2020 15:49:34    2296823

Replying To Canuck:  "The last thing Ireland needs is a straight so called right/left divide. This is why they are on the brink of another civil war in the U.S. When each are in control of both houses and the presidency they stacks the courts, reverse legislation , change other laws and do many other underhand (dirty) changes that the people ignore or unaware of. Voter suppression in areas where they lose is skillfully done by making it difficult for the opposition voters to vote. Lobbyists with money from vested interests are the people who run that so called democracy. You need a a party in the centre to keep these extremist in check. If they had that in the U.S, I doubt if they would be in the trouble they are."
There always has been and always will be a left/right divide.
We are quite unique by how are governments have nearly always been led by centre parties. Fianna Fail and Fine Gael centre right, Sinn Fein, Labour, Greens centre left.
But a left right divide is needed and necessary tbh.
You cant compare it to US and the way they appoint judges. Not the same as here. There is extensive use of lobbyists in all areas here in Ireland...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 11/10/2020 17:28:34    2296843

Replying To cavanman47:  "Nope it doesn't annoy me. I was just pointing out that you were factually incorrect when referring to them as the biggest party in the South.

What they've essentially done of course, is forced Fianna Fail and Fine Gael into a joint centre-right ticket. That leaves no effective opposition in Leinster House that can be reasonably considered as a viable alternative capable of running the country."
They haven't gone away ye know.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 11/10/2020 17:50:06    2296846

Replying To cavanman47:  "Nope it doesn't annoy me. I was just pointing out that you were factually incorrect when referring to them as the biggest party in the South.

What they've essentially done of course, is forced Fianna Fail and Fine Gael into a joint centre-right ticket. That leaves no effective opposition in Leinster House that can be reasonably considered as a viable alternative capable of running the country."
And as I have pointed out to you, you are wrong. Who is the biggest party in the South, if it is not Sinn Féin?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 11/10/2020 19:12:03    2296855

And you are factually wrong when suggesting that there is 'no effective opposition in Leinster House that can be reasonably considered as a viable alternative capable of running the country'. Or maybe you just don't like this this called democracy.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 11/10/2020 21:22:45    2296873

Replying To Saynothing:  "More people in Ireland voted for "the shinners" as people call them, than any other party. Does that annoy you. Get used to it."
Perhaps you should focus on matters in your own juridiction. I literally could not care less who runs the north so long as the Brits continue to rule it and pay for it.

Sinn Féin are not fit to run this country and they will not run it. If they ever do, it won't be for long. The Defence Forces, Gardaí and judiciary won't tolerate it for long nor will the ruling class (not the Sinn Fein class - ie parasites that feed off the hard work of others). They can runs yours if they want and (not very well of course by looks of things but that's hardly a surprise) and I'm sure you and your pals are delighted with that.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 11/10/2020 21:49:08    2296881

Replying To Crinigan:  "Perhaps you should focus on matters in your own juridiction. I literally could not care less who runs the north so long as the Brits continue to rule it and pay for it.

Sinn Féin are not fit to run this country and they will not run it. If they ever do, it won't be for long. The Defence Forces, Gardaí and judiciary won't tolerate it for long nor will the ruling class (not the Sinn Fein class - ie parasites that feed off the hard work of others). They can runs yours if they want and (not very well of course by looks of things but that's hardly a surprise) and I'm sure you and your pals are delighted with that."
If S.F are the winners of the next election. It looks like there will be a major crisis. It sounds to me like you F.G ers will not respect democracy. This post shows what FF and FG have in mind for the Irish people. An N.I style state. With a permanent FFg built in majority, backed up the the RUC oops Garda. And areas where there is no FFg representatives. Not a very appealing vision.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 11/10/2020 22:22:18    2296886

Meath seems to have a large amount of FFg "cranks". Is it because they are so **** at Gaelic football now. They have only won one title (in disputed circumstances) in 20 years. Maybe that is why the Meath posters on here seem so bitter. Concentrate on improving your football, and stay out of politics.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 11/10/2020 22:24:03    2296888

Hogan stand publishes a lot of posts fairly anti Sinn Féin. Strange for a GAA site. Lots of posters are from Meath and Limerick, two counties who are **** at Gaelic football. Coincidence?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 11/10/2020 22:26:54    2296889

Replying To Crinigan:  "Perhaps you should focus on matters in your own juridiction. I literally could not care less who runs the north so long as the Brits continue to rule it and pay for it.

Sinn Féin are not fit to run this country and they will not run it. If they ever do, it won't be for long. The Defence Forces, Gardaí and judiciary won't tolerate it for long nor will the ruling class (not the Sinn Fein class - ie parasites that feed off the hard work of others). They can runs yours if they want and (not very well of course by looks of things but that's hardly a surprise) and I'm sure you and your pals are delighted with that."
Tiocfaidh Ár Lá. They'll fight the corner of the ordinary 5/8 as well as the " GENTRY".

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 11/10/2020 22:52:44    2296897

That was quite a long-winded way of saying "I'm right, and even if I'm wrong I'm actually right".

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 377 - 11/10/2020 23:41:57    2296902

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "And as I have pointed out to you, you are wrong. Who is the biggest party in the South, if it is not Sinn Féin?"
No it's not. Fianna Fáil are - albeit by a margin of one seat. Just fact checking you and your 4 likers.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 12/10/2020 07:12:18    2296909

Perhaps you should focus on matters in your own juridiction. I literally could not care less who runs the north so long as the Brits continue to rule it and pay for it.

Good to see that the Covid hasn't killed the old Freestate spirit anyway.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 12/10/2020 07:57:35    2296912

I have often disagreed with you. But on this I fully and wholeheartedly agree. Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/10/2020 07:59:50    2296913

Defence forces and Garda wont tolerate ???? Sounds just like the Blueshirts and their facist approach when FF first came to power.....its called democracy and you will need to get used to it .....

ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 86 - 12/10/2020 08:38:20    2296915

Replying To royaldunne:  "I have often disagreed with you. But on this I fully and wholeheartedly agree. Well said."
I'd expect nothing less from a Royal

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 12/10/2020 09:54:39    2296922

Lads is this not a GAA forum? keep the political bullsh1t elsewhere please.
Meath are poor at the moment but improving, although we were division one this year they are more realistically a team ranked from 8-14 in the country. Not good enough for division 1, and too good for division 3.

Hard to see the championship being played in this conditions but hopefully it brings some sort of buzz to the country.

butterfly (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 12/10/2020 10:19:21    2296924

If you really want to stop SF/IRA from getting elected, best thing to do is hold the election at the weekend and close the polling stations at 3pm, most of their supporters will still be in bed at that stage ;-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 12/10/2020 10:26:00    2296926