Mayo V Dublin

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Seriously? Seamie O Shea gets the road after his performance last weekend? No chance. Both O Sheas start and so does Ruane if he is fit enough."
Flaker have Mayo got a speedster at wing forward to run with simple jack? All they'd have to do is run with him and don't give a moments peace.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/08/2019 14:21:01    2222190

The general sale tickets are now sold out.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/302608

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/08/2019 14:32:11    2222197

Replying To TyroneUltra:  "achara your baffled as to why Tyrone have been given a chance. I will try and explain it for you. Tyrone are in the All-Ireland Semi- Final with one game to win to be in the All-Ireland Final. This would mean we have a chance of winning. Hope that clears it up for you. I have no doubt you will be shouting your support for a fellow Ulster County as I know Monaghan people are very sporting."
I'll be supporting Tyrone from here on anyway,hope ye get to the final and win it.no reason why Tyrone can't win Sam, I'd make ye second favs now.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 07/08/2019 14:34:54    2222199

What do you think the Dubs would do if the Mayo boys went down to the Hill again for their warm-up? Would love to see it happen just to see what the reaction would be!!

surfdude62 (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 07/08/2019 14:38:13    2222203

Replying To surfdude62:  "What do you think the Dubs would do if the Mayo boys went down to the Hill again for their warm-up? Would love to see it happen just to see what the reaction would be!!"
Would be gas to see alright but I'm pretty sure Dublin wouldn't bat an eyelid and just trot off down to the Canal End and continue about their warm up as usual. Jim Gavin doesn't get rattled unlike Pillar Caffrey back then so he would never show it if it did irk him.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 07/08/2019 14:42:35    2222205

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Flaker have Mayo got a speedster at wing forward to run with simple jack? All they'd have to do is run with him and don't give a moments peace."
A few years ago I would have had Higgins on him but not anymore. Durcan wouldn't be as pacy but if he gets forward as well it might work out as good as we can hope for. You can be sure if Dublin try and switch that Durcan will still follow him!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 07/08/2019 14:43:33    2222206

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Flaker have Mayo got a speedster at wing forward to run with simple jack? All they'd have to do is run with him and don't give a moments peace."
Durkan

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 07/08/2019 14:54:02    2222212

Replying To surfdude62:  "What do you think the Dubs would do if the Mayo boys went down to the Hill again for their warm-up? Would love to see it happen just to see what the reaction would be!!"
Slaughter them by about 12-15 points id imagine.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/08/2019 14:54:44    2222213

I hope Mayo can give Dublin a good rattle. At this stage of the season you'd hope to see two, exciting and close semi finals. Tyrone and Kerry is hard to call.

I think Mayo will certainly go toe to toe with Dublin but can they match Dublin's efficiency on the score board? I'd have my doubts. If Mayo are to prevail they'll need to drastically improve their shot conversion rate from last Saturday, albeit in difficult conditions.

Prediction: Mayo to give it a right good cut against the Dubs once again, but falling short by about 4 or 5 points.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 07/08/2019 15:28:06    2222220

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'll be supporting Tyrone from here on anyway,hope ye get to the final and win it.no reason why Tyrone can't win Sam, I'd make ye second favs now."
Good man Tierchonaill 1 good to see some support from our neighbours in Donegal.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 07/08/2019 16:04:28    2222249

They countered that with letting Dublin out first..Mayo could try getting out before them, but it would just be a bit of craic, wouldnt see it affecting the Dubs these days

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 07/08/2019 16:07:04    2222251

Replying To Gleebo:  "Some amount of lazy commentary here! Irrespective of how Mayo get on at the weekend, Horan has given championship debuts this season to the likes of James Carr, Fionn McDonagh, Matty Ruane, Ciarán Treacy, Mikey Murray, James McCormack, Conor Diskin and Michael Plunkett. Darren Coen has come back following a spell off the panel and forced his way into the starting side. Eoin O'Donoghue had a fine game of the bench against Donegal (EOD made his debut last season, following the last championship joust with the Dubs).

Do posters here honestly expect us to jettison the likes of Barrett, AOS, Keegan, Boyle, Andy etc. all at once?

The mind boggles."
Pay no heed Gleebo. Hopefully they'll know the names of some our young lads better on Saturday night.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 07/08/2019 16:17:00    2222256

If they did go down and start a fight the should be penalised for it. Dont see why they think they have the right to warm up on a particular side of a neutral venue

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 07/08/2019 16:30:44    2222269

I wonder will the Mayo Maor Faoirne wear a blue bib for this one or wear the yellow bib specially bought for the Donegal game!;)

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 07/08/2019 16:42:26    2222273

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Playing Donegal on a tight wet pitch in Castlebar is a million miles away from Dublin in CP , he played well but his pace is gone it would be crazy to play the two O Shea brothers in midfield they lack too much pace for that, were as Ruane is a flier who I think has to start. It's just a guest anyway personally if it's the two O Shea's in midfield I'll be delighted."
I think you'll see all 3 starting. Seamie had some game and the pace may be an issue but I don't think he gets dropped.

AOS has to start midfield whoever suggested throwing him in full forward hasn't been watching Mayo. He's playing the football of his life because he's finally just playing his best position, leave him at it!

Durkan will look to do a similar job on McCaffrey as he did on McHugh.

Some great matchups for Mayo as I said before though unless they sort out their shooting boots it won't matter.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 07/08/2019 16:56:43    2222280

I love all the talk about Mayo on the build up to this game...you can almost feel all the so called neutrals willing Mayo to win this. Cold hard facts are Mayo have not beaten Dublin in 14 attempts they staggered over the line having been beaten twice already this year. The only fear I have is the like of COC diving in front of players to get them black card, big Aido going down like he has been shot and trying to ref the games themselves. Key for Dublin is discipline, don't give away frees because o'connor offers nothing from play. McLaughlin has been poor this year, Coen at full forward is slow and seems very selfish shoot onsite type of player. Doherty will be a loss. DOC if he does play will lack match fitness and sharpness. Mayo have regressed since 17 and Dublin have improved. I am very confident Dublin will win this by 6+ points.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/08/2019 17:02:12    2222284

Replying To DLlegends:  "I wonder will the Mayo Maor Faoirne wear a blue bib for this one or wear the yellow bib specially bought for the Donegal game!;)"
Seems to be in honour of the team you are playing against. Kerry lad wore a blue one against us in Killarney so our lad felt duty bound to offer the same respect to Donegal!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/08/2019 17:06:29    2222288

Replying To tommy132:  "They countered that with letting Dublin out first..Mayo could try getting out before them, but it would just be a bit of craic, wouldnt see it affecting the Dubs these days"
As Leg End has already stated- a Zen like calm has descended up this Dublin outfit. I would hope they'd shrug nonchalantly, go down to the Canal End and focus on warming up for the actual game. It's immaterial where a team warms up. A mature outfit like Dublin would understand that and know that the real issue at hand is the match ahead and what follows from that. Who cares who warms up in front of the Hill. The days when those things really matter are long gone.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 07/08/2019 17:08:55    2222290

Replying To Breezy:  "If they did go down and start a fight the should be penalised for it. Dont see why they think they have the right to warm up on a particular side of a neutral venue"
That's not going to happen. Dublin have bigger fish to fry than worry about where they warm up.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 07/08/2019 17:12:17    2222293

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Yeah would be shocked if Keegan isn't on him. I would prefer Durcan on Howard but I think he might start on McCaffrey which would be interesting.

O Shea and Ruane in midfield and O Shea named as a forward but effectively a 3rd midfielder. He may hold McLoughlin off the bench. If we are in the game and we have a bench with Andy Moran and McLoughlin as well as O Donoghue or Higgins that is a real boost.

We lost in 2017 as we had nothing from the bench last 15. The players were spent."
Thought McLoughlin did very well when he came on at the weekend. Could see Vaughan on Scully maybe. That whole middle sector will be some battle with AOS, Ruane, Fenton, Macauley or James. Howard will be in the mix there as well. Keegan and Kilkenny could cancel each other out. Fascinating match ups all over the place.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/08/2019 17:47:58    2222301