Wides must count as scores in Limerick, I've never heard so much talk about them after a match. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 28/07/2019 17:44:26 2217717 Link 1 |
Jaysus, were ye like this in '74 too?
ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 28/07/2019 17:45:17 2217719 Link 1 |
There is nothing worse than booing a free taker. Also with watching the game for 50 years the decent fans used to control this by telling these idiots to cut it out. Most of them do not have a clue about the game or what it takes to get to the level of these players.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3025 - 28/07/2019 18:01:24 2217734 Link 0 |
The likes of me? Oh heaven forbid anybody in a football county may actually have an educated opinion on the game. Thankfully though we have people here from the self proclaimed home of hurling to show us the light.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2263 - 28/07/2019 18:12:26 2217742 Link 3 |
perhaps you need to bring that spirit of magnimity to posters on the carlow fball forum when the whine about refs and how it cost us etc!! lots of contentous calls again today. its gone too serious to have such inconsistent and often poor reffing often deciding things. i dont agree that the 65 was the only talking point from yesterday. lots there to look at.
old yellar (None) - Posts: 2630 - 28/07/2019 18:28:05 2217756 Link 1 |
Look this discussion is getting old i think everything covered and more.......a very average kk team deservedly out worked a rusty superior hurling team in limerick ....tipp has two hands on cup again sheedy is a great man manager with an excellent team with lots of options off bench ........but as I've said earlier this new system cheapens the the mc carthy cup it's not championship when you can lose 3 games and still lift cup ...great for the coffers though !!!!! Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 28/07/2019 18:39:31 2217765 Link 1 |
Fair play to kilkenny they were brilliant, Cody is amazing. But credit our lads too they fought tooth and nail for everything couldnt have given any more. There will be no recriminations on these boys after the joy and bliss they have given us the past 18 months. Champions2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 4 - 28/07/2019 18:50:45 2217775 Link 3 |
Well there were supporters of your county behind me in the stand, who were still complaining about 1973 and a few of them still furious about it.. You could not make it up
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 28/07/2019 19:16:35 2217785 Link 0 |
Cork were going to hammer us. Then of course Limerick were going to hammer us. And now Tipp are gonna hammer us. Love being underdog, this is great!
ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 28/07/2019 19:33:49 2217793 Link 0 |
Who said anything about "football" counties? You're the one who brought that up. Fact is, you would not be on here whinging about a Kilkenny 65 not being given. You know it and I know it. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 28/07/2019 19:36:02 2217795 Link 0 |
Yes and Galway were going to hammer ye in Nowlan park and Wexford were going to hammer ye in the Leinster Final.Oh wait a minute.!
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2376 - 28/07/2019 19:51:19 2217801 Link 1 |
Ha, what's your definition of "hammering"? There were a lot of Cork 6-10s and Limerick 6-10s (and a few +10s for good measure) hovering around the prediction forum the last few weeks, and no doubt they'll be awash with Tipp 6-10 / 10+ now, but no matter. Cody and his team of plucky underdogs will try give Tipp a game of it.
ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 28/07/2019 20:30:41 2217832 Link 0 |
Fact remains this is weakest kk team in 2 decades just goes to show the slip in standards all around the country .......reiterate this is no longer a CHAMPIONSHIP but a revenue donkey for headquarters any cup tournament inb"any" sport where you can lose up to 3 times and still collect the cup!!!!!!Well what more can i say And I've no problem in saying cork limerick are better teams than kk and perhaps wexford and Clare but that's life we left with tipp and kk in final and if both play to potential which cork or limerick didn't there will only be one winner tipp but if tipp not up for it kk will always take the scraps Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 28/07/2019 21:01:42 2217852 Link 0 |
Rubbish of the highest order. If Cork were better than KK why didn't they beat them 2 weeks ago? And were well beaten. Cork are lovely to look at but mark tightly and bar Patrick Horgan they have no one you can rely on. Can't win a high ball in the half forwards. Knocking at the door for 6 years and not good enough. Limerick are a good team, just hard to do back to backs. BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 28/07/2019 21:31:26 2217871 Link 1 |
I'd agree that it's one of the weaker teams of the Cody era, perhaps the weakest his had in terms of raw talent, but I've never ever seen one of his teams give up in matches the way Cork have done umpteen times this decade in Croke Park. I tipped Cork to beat us, I seriously overrated your lot, we were so much better than ye I couldn't believe it. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 28/07/2019 21:55:24 2217884 Link 1 |
care to elaborate?
mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 51 - 28/07/2019 22:04:28 2217887 Link 0 |
Head is melting listening to Sunday game...... You'd swear Wexford won arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 28/07/2019 22:11:54 2217891 Link 0 |
Absolute rubbish and no facts in your statement at all. The system of the championship is in place, you know in advance how it works. Kilkenny and Tipp have accessed the year and set their stalls to peak in July/August. How you can have a gripe about teams losing still being in the Championship. The 4 provincial finalists were all in the semi final. Not sure how often that has happened since the introduction of the qualifiers
Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 28/07/2019 22:13:29 2217892 Link 0 |
Soory you on your own with those points, yes maybe not strongest KK team but they have some new young players. No way are Clare, Cork near KK, and yet again 2019 has served up vintage hurling, a real joy to watch. Wouldn't surprise me if they win AI, that is not a reflection of poor standards but a shining example of hurlings renaissance.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 28/07/2019 22:51:58 2217917 Link 1 |
No but it appears that ye were. Winning is definitely a Kilkenny thing and fair play but winning with grace or style definitely is not. Neither it seems is losing with grace or style
welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 28/07/2019 22:55:32 2217922 Link 0 |