Have to say I think he's hugely unlucky too. Spent two or three years knocking around the fringes of the panel before establishing himself on the team early last year. Was maybe harshly done by to be the first one taken off on that day up in Corrigan Park, when things started to turn against us. Goes without saying that they turned against us even more after that change. Was then left off the team in favour of Eoin Ryan for the following match, v Galway. Ryan obviously did very well there, and held his place for the rest of the championship. He's still worth his place too. Murphy won back his place for the first couple of matches of this year's League, and while things obviously weren't great for the defence in either match, probably fair to say he "was no worse than anybody else". But injured in the latter stages of match v Tipp, and hasn't seen action since. Now he has to try win back a place just at the time the likes of the two Recks are starting to jockey for position too. As I said up top - unlucky. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2720 - 25/02/2025 11:56:01 2593123 Link 0 |
Great to get the win the weekend,nobody including me thought we would win!!! Let's put it into context Clare obviously have no interest in league,and from listening to interviews with there management over the couple of days they are solely focused on Munster championship!!! A Clare team with one eye on league beats us comprehensively and we know that!!! Id imagine Galway will not shadow box and want to keep us down to be honest and keep there upward curve!!! I'm really not convinced about us at all still!!! Great to get the win and hopefully that's a spark that lights the fire for the remainder,I still think we will get relegated and I don't think that's a bad thing!!! Leinster championship I think will be tight this year which is exciting,but I'm really nervous about us still!!! I'm so happy we have Antrim at home first to kick start us and get points on the board I think we beat them at least!!! I think that win still papers over a lot of cracks for me!!! Our full back line is poor I think our half backline is weak our midfield is ok but I feel we need Lawlor there with Hearne!! Jack for me when it boils down to it is not going to offer much in half forward line in championship might get away with him now in league,and it's proven!! Kevin foyle and Cathal Dunbar are another 2 that we will be carrying in the forward come championship!!! A fit Rory and Chin is essential,I hope notting happens to them or our race will be run!!! Seamus Casey lovely hurler but come championship as we have seen won't get a look at it!!! So ontil I see us next week and v Limerick if we can back it up I feel this way!!!I hope it's the start of something but I think last weekend is an absolute false Dawn!!!! theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 253 - 25/02/2025 13:38:39 2593146 Link 0 |
God you are getting very excited about a League game in February :-D
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 25/02/2025 14:37:29 2593157 Link 0 |
People can say the league means nothing but if we can get a win on Saturday and a good performance in Limerick we would be very confident going into championship that we can have a good summer. Saturdays game will be difficult though Galway have looked good so far
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 25/02/2025 15:00:24 2593165 Link 0 |
I think we underutilized Casey a bit last year. I wouldn't be bigging Clare up too much either. We drew in the park last year and they went on to win the league so were obviously interested then Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 25/02/2025 15:06:12 2593167 Link 0 |
They have. Michael O'Donohue is a good manager who has won the big prize with them before. Himself and his selectors were standing behind me in Ennis in the 1st half . Himself and one of the selectors then went off, not sure if they went up the other end, but if they did that meant he watched our defensive set up both halves. They look well organised, Cathal Mannion and Brian Concannon will add more threat going forwards when they return, not sure their halfbacks will be fast enough come better ground and pitches, and their fullback line is a work in progress also. Look, it's a League game on the 1st March, I'm not sure it will mean anything come the 10th May in Salthill, but it means a good bit for the current League campaign to both sides. Whoever loses will be under a bit of pressure to stay up, especially if we lose. I'm sure it will be a good game in the Park Saturday. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 26/02/2025 10:24:23 2593296 Link 0 |
I think depending on other results we could be as good as gone if we lose on Saturday. Im hoping we are going to Limerick with all to play for and who knows they may be already in a League final
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 26/02/2025 11:06:10 2593303 Link 0 |
I think you're right. If we lose we're basically gone. I see this as a must win game for us if we're to stay up, but I've said all year I don't really mind if we go down with good performances.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 26/02/2025 13:34:23 2593339 Link 0 |
Whatever about the result we need to deliver a performance on Saturday to keep momemtum and confidence going. We've only 1 game left after Saturday before championship
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 26/02/2025 15:41:40 2593360 Link 0 |
This has the makings of a cracker. A good performance and a win would really settle the lads and build confidence, something that is in short supply I think. We're at home and I don't think you can allow anyone boss you on your own patch. Granted 'its just the league' and picking up injuries would be terrible but on balance I think we go out with serious intent to win this, hopefully stay up and leave little but pride and learning at stake for the Limerick game. wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 89 - 26/02/2025 16:20:33 2593368 Link 0 |
I'm looking at almost all top tier counties and all seem to have settled on the spine of their teams,down the middle.tipp are doing it,Clare and cork have done it..limerick have it for last number of years and of course kk have always seem to have it.Galway look as if they are doing it now slso(full back to be sorted).could ye name a spine for the team that would definitely start??if that can be done then the rest of the positions can be worked on..I want to see Wexford back as a force again.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2461 - 26/02/2025 16:45:00 2593371 Link 0 |
A lot will depend on if we get Liam Ryan and Mac back come championship. I would expect D Reck at 6 and Chin at 11 anyway and Hearne at 8
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 26/02/2025 17:27:16 2593384 Link 0 |
What we need is consistency, this was the most frustrating thing last year, put in a performance one match for it to be gone again the next. I am hoping and have everything crossed they just give it everything Saturday goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 139 - 26/02/2025 20:17:25 2593405 Link 0 |
Paper said ryan is making good progress, mac will hopefully see action around 2nd game in the championship but Whelan and Rowley injuries are longer term.
hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1068 - 26/02/2025 20:45:03 2593406 Link 0 |
With everyone fit you'd say yes. 3. Ryan 6. D Reck 8. Hearne 11. Chin 14. McDonald E Ryan, s Reck and C Foley are certs. I'd say Molloy as well but that doesn't seem to be happening for some reason. Rossi seems loyal to Donohue so he'll play. Other midfielder for me is Lawlor. Other 4 forwards then although there's some debate about this would be Byrne, Rory o Connor, Jack O Connor with another up for grabs between Redmond, Casey and Dunbar. I'm not going to mention number 1 because I've a pain in my face. With that considered we've a few subs at similar level to some of those lads. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 26/02/2025 22:42:46 2593420 Link 0 |
Just copped I never mentioned Kevin Foley. Certainly worth a spot when in form. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 26/02/2025 22:45:58 2593421 Link 0 |
If everyone is fully fit, and as importantly in form, I'd be expecting something like this- Fanning S Reck, Jippo, Dooley/E Ryan C Foley, D Reck, Lawlor Hearne, Dunbar Jacko/Dwyer, Chin, Rory K Foley, Mac, Byrne/Casey Subs- whoever isn't starting of the 6 lads in 3 places, Patsy, Murphy, Redmond, Tucker, Mcguckin, Kennedy, and 2 others. Dara Kehoe would be worth a look in the remaining League games if flying in training. You would imagine all of the 9 named subs have had enough good gametime in the League to do a job if called on, and that Keith would trust them enough not to have to leave on lads if they are having a bad game or get a knock, although I'd of liked to see more of Patsy tbh. I'd leave the u20s with the u20s. You would also imagine that not all of the 18 potential starters will be in form, or uninjured, for any particular game. But that's what I'd imagine Keith Rossiter is looking at right now. And that team would be good enough to win a Leinster if things went right on the 6 days. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 27/02/2025 09:48:41 2593440 Link 0 |
Would be a huge boost to have a fit Jippo back for championship . He has had no luck the last few years
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 27/02/2025 09:52:28 2593443 Link 0 |
Ah lads we have to move away from D Reck at 6. Did he play there v Clare? Liam S was saying on radio he dropped back into full back on Kelly and quietened him...but just wanted to double check! Very strange the situation with Molloy, thought he stood out when he came on v KK. Going to be a big ask for Ryan to come back for the Antrim game but he showed last year v Galway that he makes some difference to the defence. He had Conor Cooney dumped on the ground in the first minute! I often thought he would be well able to play at 6 too. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 367 - 27/02/2025 10:04:20 2593445 Link 0 |
I agree 6 isn't his best position but he's a decent reader of the game and has a great hurling brain. More importantly in not seeing a viable alternative right now. Could be Foley or Molloy in the near future but if you were picking for a championship game tomorrow it has to be Reck. Lads are talking about chinner as well but he's just too important at the other end. We do have options coming from 20s as well but none ready to slot in this year. I had really hoped Kyle scallan would get a good go but it's not happening. Same with Clancy. I'd leave jippo alone as well. He's a top class full back. In theory he could play anywhere but he's too good at 3 for us to be messing at this stage in his career. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 27/02/2025 10:35:19 2593449 Link 0 |