Wexford Hurling 2025

Unfortunately it reminds me of us last year getting relegated. The total loss of all games was five points.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2965 - 01/03/2025 23:53:17    2594046

Gutsy showing this evening. Could easily have won. Undone again by costly errors, in particular the dropped ball just before half time.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 233 - 02/03/2025 00:18:06    2594048

Very disappointing to lose that game . Although the ref was poor we can only blame ourselves too . Management were way too slow putting Chin on the frees we could say Casey was low on confidence hitting them in the first half . We can't be handing goals to teams at this level we really should have went in ahead at half time . Damien and Eoin were huge loses full back line was under serious pressure without them. We lost our shape without Damien I think . We need them and please god Jippo is back come Championship. Happy with performances from Jacko , Lawlor and Conor Foley who all look certain starters for me. Rory did okay in patches hitting 1-2 still he's capable of more with his talent . Chin was good when he went on the frees and I'd keep him on it in Limerick see how he goes . We needed a lot more out of the forwards today I was dissapointed in Casey and Kevin Foley they are capable of more . With only 6 or 7 weeks and one league game left our best 15 presuming we have everyone bar Mac fit to start is
Fanning ( Needs to cut out the silly mistakes but we are unlikely to change goalkeeper at this stage of the year )
Eoin Ryan
Jippo
S Reck
C Foley
D Reck
Lawlor
Hearne
Dunbar
Jacko
Chin
Redmond
K Foley ( Need a lot more from him)
Rory
Cian Byrne

Keith will be looking for a bigger impact from the bench likes of Donohoe , McGuckin, Dwyer , Simon Roche , Cian Molloy , Mac if he's back and Tucker give us okay options .
I noticed Rossi got very annoyed with Dwyer for dropping the ball as he went in on goal near the end . We looked nervous on the ball tonight particularly K Foley and Casey throughout

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 02/03/2025 00:24:32    2594050

Facts about this game and what it boiled down to it is having our best free taker on the frees!!! I think not having him on them didn't suit him either!!! I felt he wasn't in the game at all yesterday bar winning one puck out and a free from it!! I think Lawlor had a good game as the sweeper yesterday for large parts of the game, unfortunately for me he gives to many frees away and should be further up up the field!! Thought Ryan was having a good game also Damien!!! Massive problem at centre and full back!!!! Hearne very quiet, Charlie just ok!! Dunbar not in it!! 2 poor team really lacked any real intensity!!

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 253 - 02/03/2025 07:20:15    2594055

Thought at halftime was only going to be wexford winning that game but never really kicked on in 2nd half,14 wides we seem too be getting at least double the amount of wides as the opposition in most games that needs tidying up aswell.

Ryanworld (Wexford) - Posts: 15 - 02/03/2025 07:27:08    2594056

Replying To theboys:  "Facts about this game and what it boiled down to it is having our best free taker on the frees!!! I think not having him on them didn't suit him either!!! I felt he wasn't in the game at all yesterday bar winning one puck out and a free from it!! I think Lawlor had a good game as the sweeper yesterday for large parts of the game, unfortunately for me he gives to many frees away and should be further up up the field!! Thought Ryan was having a good game also Damien!!! Massive problem at centre and full back!!!! Hearne very quiet, Charlie just ok!! Dunbar not in it!! 2 poor team really lacked any real intensity!!"
Lawlor was an orthodox wingback.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 02/03/2025 08:40:18    2594057

Replying To Ryanworld:  "Thought at halftime was only going to be wexford winning that game but never really kicked on in 2nd half,14 wides we seem too be getting at least double the amount of wides as the opposition in most games that needs tidying up aswell."
A game we shouldve won. Another one. But we didn't. Again. Stack was Stack. Galway played most of their best players except Cathal Mannion and Daithi Burke. Missed frees and I think a 65 didnt help. 14 wides in general not good enough. Touch was better, but still not great, and our marquee forwards both played well within themselves. Jacko was good, as were Conor Foley and Lawlor. Shiner scored the first point I remember seeing him score. Damien played well. Hearne was good, Dunbar not bad. Fanning was ok too. Good to see Mikey get on, hopefully he will be fully fit and firing come championship.
All in all plenty of positives.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 02/03/2025 08:53:06    2594059

Replying To Viking66:  "A game we shouldve won. Another one. But we didn't. Again. Stack was Stack. Galway played most of their best players except Cathal Mannion and Daithi Burke. Missed frees and I think a 65 didnt help. 14 wides in general not good enough. Touch was better, but still not great, and our marquee forwards both played well within themselves. Jacko was good, as were Conor Foley and Lawlor. Shiner scored the first point I remember seeing him score. Damien played well. Hearne was good, Dunbar not bad. Fanning was ok too. Good to see Mikey get on, hopefully he will be fully fit and firing come championship.
All in all plenty of positives."
Casey and Chin star men in Ennis were very quiet?

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 367 - 02/03/2025 11:17:11    2594075

Replying To Viking66:  "A game we shouldve won. Another one. But we didn't. Again. Stack was Stack. Galway played most of their best players except Cathal Mannion and Daithi Burke. Missed frees and I think a 65 didnt help. 14 wides in general not good enough. Touch was better, but still not great, and our marquee forwards both played well within themselves. Jacko was good, as were Conor Foley and Lawlor. Shiner scored the first point I remember seeing him score. Damien played well. Hearne was good, Dunbar not bad. Fanning was ok too. Good to see Mikey get on, hopefully he will be fully fit and firing come championship.
All in all plenty of positives."
Pat Spillane would be very impressed that yere in possession of 'markee' forwards. Mayo football 2011-2020 never had any of those according to Pat, and that's why they didn't win Sam.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 02/03/2025 11:54:46    2594078

Replying To Timbertony:  "Casey and Chin star men in Ennis were very quiet?"
Chin isn't up to speed yet. Wasn't in Ennis either. Clares fullback line was poor, they didnt have any of their 3 starters, and Hayes in particular has never had a good game against us, he was marking Seamus.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 02/03/2025 12:14:41    2594086

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Pat Spillane would be very impressed that yere in possession of 'markee' forwards. Mayo football 2011-2020 never had any of those according to Pat, and that's why they didn't win Sam."
Big name. Marquee. Best. Whatever you want to call them Pope. Both our hurling teams are further off winning an AI right now than the current Mayo Football team, never mind the one of the last decade.
Of course momentum could change all that over the coming months, but it's very unlikely.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 02/03/2025 12:17:32    2594088

My comments aren't getting through for some reason although I didn't say anything different to what others have now.

We should have won. Similar to nowlan park last year there was a few minutes we just stopped hurling altogether in the second half which hurt us.

Even when Reck and Ryan went off Molloy still left on the bench.

Jacko best player on the pitch last night.

Delighted with Lawlor too.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 02/03/2025 14:15:23    2594112

Can someone tell me why we didn't get a 65 for the blocked free by Casey. I didn't see it at the time was checking score on the Kilkenny cork game but saw it on buff egans page and had to be a 65

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 346 - 02/03/2025 14:16:02    2594113

There's the team I would start and the team I think Keith will start come Championship (Assuming no injuries which is a bad assumption)

Fanning will be in goal, like it or not

Shane Reck and Eoin Ryan in the corners and Jippo as full-back

I'd rather Cian Molloy at 6 and Damien Reck and Conor Foley at wing-back but Lawlor will be one of the wing-backs and then it'll probably be Damien at centre-back and Foley on the wing

I'd rather Lawlor in midfield alongside Hearne, don't think Dunbar is a guaranteed starter but it'll be either him or Kevin Foley alongside Hearne

Chin and Jacko likely to be the wing-forwards (Prefer Chin there as I think we can isolate him 1v1 against a wing-back, the opposition could crowd him out if he's centre-forward

Would rather Kevin Foley at 11 and give him license to drift, CBD could also do this role but he hasn't shown enough to date in the league, think this is at least a year too soon for Jack Redmond

Rory and Cian Byrne in the full-forward line, we don't have anyone better than Mac so if he's able to get fully up to speed quickly enough, he should start at 14. Casey maybe the front-runner otherwise although outside of the Clare game, he hasn't done much for me, not a huge fan of Dwyer, hard to know who to put in there, maybe Connal Flood deserves another chance? Could play someone there and allow them to drift (Kevin Foley or CBD most likely)

It's not a team of world-beaters although it's not a bad team at the same time, I think you could almost throw a blanket over us, KK, Dublin, Galway, and Offaly right now, don't think there's a huge gap between 1st and 5th in Leinster right now, we can beat all of these but equally, they can all beat us.

We also have to prove that we're able to navigate Antrim who for as much as they've had a poor league campaign to date, don't have much coming through at under-age, and have had to deal with two significant enough retirements/injuries in the forwards, they'll still think they can get us out at Wexford Park (Which is a hard to disagree with given their last two games against us as much as we've then put in immeasurably better performances against Galway & KK than they have, especially away from home)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 395 - 02/03/2025 15:33:47    2594128

Replying To Doylerwex:  "My comments aren't getting through for some reason although I didn't say anything different to what others have now.

We should have won. Similar to nowlan park last year there was a few minutes we just stopped hurling altogether in the second half which hurt us.

Even when Reck and Ryan went off Molloy still left on the bench.

Jacko best player on the pitch last night.

Delighted with Lawlor too."
In fairness Damien was on Conor Whelan. Shiner was definitely the best man for that job when Damien went off. And Ryan was playing cornerback, Patsy isn't really a cornerback, Niall Murphy has plenty experience there. I think it was a case of trying to win the game. He could've brought off Mcguckin and brought in Patsy though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 02/03/2025 15:45:14    2594131

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "There's the team I would start and the team I think Keith will start come Championship (Assuming no injuries which is a bad assumption)

Fanning will be in goal, like it or not

Shane Reck and Eoin Ryan in the corners and Jippo as full-back

I'd rather Cian Molloy at 6 and Damien Reck and Conor Foley at wing-back but Lawlor will be one of the wing-backs and then it'll probably be Damien at centre-back and Foley on the wing

I'd rather Lawlor in midfield alongside Hearne, don't think Dunbar is a guaranteed starter but it'll be either him or Kevin Foley alongside Hearne

Chin and Jacko likely to be the wing-forwards (Prefer Chin there as I think we can isolate him 1v1 against a wing-back, the opposition could crowd him out if he's centre-forward

Would rather Kevin Foley at 11 and give him license to drift, CBD could also do this role but he hasn't shown enough to date in the league, think this is at least a year too soon for Jack Redmond

Rory and Cian Byrne in the full-forward line, we don't have anyone better than Mac so if he's able to get fully up to speed quickly enough, he should start at 14. Casey maybe the front-runner otherwise although outside of the Clare game, he hasn't done much for me, not a huge fan of Dwyer, hard to know who to put in there, maybe Connal Flood deserves another chance? Could play someone there and allow them to drift (Kevin Foley or CBD most likely)

It's not a team of world-beaters although it's not a bad team at the same time, I think you could almost throw a blanket over us, KK, Dublin, Galway, and Offaly right now, don't think there's a huge gap between 1st and 5th in Leinster right now, we can beat all of these but equally, they can all beat us.

We also have to prove that we're able to navigate Antrim who for as much as they've had a poor league campaign to date, don't have much coming through at under-age, and have had to deal with two significant enough retirements/injuries in the forwards, they'll still think they can get us out at Wexford Park (Which is a hard to disagree with given their last two games against us as much as we've then put in immeasurably better performances against Galway & KK than they have, especially away from home)"
CBD hasn't shown he can win his own ball against any Senior back yet. Like Redmond this year is too soon for him. Redmond is better already that way actually. CBD is good when he has the ball ok.
Dunbar has been very good as an attacking midfielder the last couple of games, but switches off when it comes to marking and tracking runners.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 02/03/2025 15:52:14    2594133

Replying To Viking66:  "In fairness Damien was on Conor Whelan. Shiner was definitely the best man for that job when Damien went off. And Ryan was playing cornerback, Patsy isn't really a cornerback, Niall Murphy has plenty experience there. I think it was a case of trying to win the game. He could've brought off Mcguckin and brought in Patsy though."
I can't think of any player in recent times who has got the amount of chances McGuckian has. Very good club player and a very committed lad but has never really performed consistently in a Wexford jersey. Dunbar is maybe a bit similar, lovely first touch and striker of a ball but lacks the intensity in his play to be a regular starter. Good sub to bring on though when the game opens up. In case Gorey lads think I'm having a go at them, like rest of ye I can't understand why Molloy isn't a starter but Rossiter sees these lads every week.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 367 - 02/03/2025 16:13:58    2594143

Replying To Timbertony:  "I can't think of any player in recent times who has got the amount of chances McGuckian has. Very good club player and a very committed lad but has never really performed consistently in a Wexford jersey. Dunbar is maybe a bit similar, lovely first touch and striker of a ball but lacks the intensity in his play to be a regular starter. Good sub to bring on though when the game opens up. In case Gorey lads think I'm having a go at them, like rest of ye I can't understand why Molloy isn't a starter but Rossiter sees these lads every week."
Has to be something going on with Molloy definitely should be featuring a lot more

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 02/03/2025 18:22:57    2594194

We aren't relegated yet lads. We need Clare to lose to Tipp or Cork, and Limerick to lose to Kilkenny and Galway. Then it's winner stays up when we meet Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds! Pretty unlikely I know :-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 02/03/2025 18:27:42    2594196

The result in Limerick means the only way we can stay up is Limerick lose their next two games and we have to beat them while we have to hope Clare only win one game out of their two left . A long long stretch to say the least lads it's an awful pity we couldn't get the result last night to give ourselves a real chance

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 448 - 02/03/2025 18:28:01    2594198