Yep, heading down Saturday
goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 139 - 20/02/2025 18:48:51 2592156 Link 0 |
Haven't missed a competitive game since 95 . A very fortunate time to have joined the party.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 20/02/2025 22:22:35 2592188 Link 0 |
Was indeed!!! Didn't seem in 96 that we would still be waiting in 2025 though.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 21/02/2025 07:47:58 2592206 Link 0 |
That's an amazing record! I've missed quite a few over the years, though very few hurling championship games it has to be said. And since the kids got to an age where I could bring them all to games I've only missed 2 Senior hurling games altogether, both on account of family functions, and havent missed too many more minor and u20 ones. I'll be missing a 3rd later this year when my youngest daughter makes her Communion. We also haven't missed too many Senior Football games either, most of which we have missed on account of fixture clashes with the hurling, of which there are 3 in this years League, which is shocking. I've also been to hundreds of games in other counties involving other counties and other clubs, both hurling and football. Especially Antrim and Tyrone games when I was living in those counties, but also for a couple of years Armagh games with a group of lads from inner city Belfast when I was living there, who strangely never missed an Armagh game in the early 90s complete with a large orange stuffed furry elephant, despite having no connection, blood or otherwise, with Armagh. Armagh weren't even overly successful back then! Although these were great drinking trips around the country it has to be said ;-) Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 21/02/2025 08:18:06 2592212 Link 0 |
God I didn't realise you had one of communion age. Enjoy it. Dare I say some things are more important than hurling. I haven't gotten to a lot of other county games although I've been to a few Munster championship. I've never actually been to an Ulster football championship game. You seem to have covered an enormous amount of ground over the years! An uncle of mine has been to every final Wexford contested since 1954 which I thought was amazing. My grandfather used to cycle to croke park in the 50s on an iron frame pierces bike (which he made himself) up the old road in a Tweed suit with a bottle of stout and a ham sandwich in his pocket. He'd be back for work on the Monday morning. In spite of this I still complain about traffic, park and rides etc. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 21/02/2025 10:14:47 2592228 Link 0 |
I wonder will the weather hold up, Sunday is to be bad
goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 139 - 21/02/2025 10:25:44 2592230 Link 0 |
Lived in Belfast and Coalisland with college and work. Yes and one more to come next year. Going to miss our trip to Salthill unfortunately. Will probably get up there for the u20s or minors. Great atmosphere at Ulster Football Championship games, definitely worth getting up to Clones for a final Doyler, just for the experience. In 93 Armagh had the distinction of playing 3 rounds up to the semi final, and all 3 went to a replay believe it or not. Sadly I missed 2 of the replays that year, the one in Omagh where they beat Tyrone, and the semi final replay loss against Donegal. Was away on bike runs. We also missed the 1st quarter of the drawn quarter final in Armagh, we were still in the pub! Fair play to him! Lads were just harder back in those days. Had to be. We are living in soft times :-D Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 21/02/2025 10:42:20 2592236 Link 0 |
Was talking to an Eire og man this morning, the Cusack Park pitch will almost certainly be playable. David Hoey has been looking after the pitch there the last 3 years, and keeps it in great condition.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 21/02/2025 10:45:11 2592238 Link 0 |
That would be great if true, hopefully mac can play some part as well. With the overall squad from the last day out against kilkenny, i would bring in chin, jack, K Foley and David Codd into the matchday 26, instead of murphy, james Byrne, mike kelly and tomas kinsella. Fanning, Ryan, C Foley, Donohue, Reck, Molly, lawlor, hearne, Codd, Redmond, Jack, Roche, Byrne, Rory, Cillian Byrne. Subs Kennedy, Charlie, CB Dunbar, Dunbar, Chin, K Foley, Casey. Flood, Clancy, D Codd, Carley Injured Mac, Ryan, S Reck, whelan, kehoe and Rowley hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1068 - 21/02/2025 11:15:04 2592252 Link 0 |
Great! Here's hoping! Long way to travel for nothing
goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 139 - 21/02/2025 12:28:53 2592262 Link 0 |
Was thinking that myself that's why I rang him :-D
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 21/02/2025 12:52:21 2592265 Link 1 |
Viking66 and DoylerWex, that is the epitome of great support for this county. Through good and bad times for you both and more bad than good, no slight intended. I hope you get many more good days out in the years ahead. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1274 - 21/02/2025 13:09:38 2592269 Link 0 |
Looking forward to meeting in Ennis on Sunday always a great crowd to follow there Team never much between us both Teams experimenting at this point so result not hugely important both teams may go down for a year not end of World clooney (Clare) - Posts: 969 - 21/02/2025 14:39:40 2592290 Link 1 |
"Never much between us".... Maybe in the league but unfortunately for us, not in the Championship! ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 395 - 21/02/2025 19:02:22 2592324 Link 0 |
Clare have won most of the championship encounters but they're usually close enough games. I can think of 3 70 minute draws in championship in the last 15 years Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3412 - 21/02/2025 20:12:50 2592339 Link 0 |
What's it like to win an All Ireland Quarter Final let alone the whole thing?
OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 203 - 21/02/2025 21:09:24 2592347 Link 0 |
Team named. Good to see some of the more established lads getting some game time. Our attitude is going to have to right from the throw in. Clare have a strong team named. Good luck to the lads and management hopefully we get a performance first and foremost! Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 21/02/2025 23:02:32 2592361 Link 0 |
Some great supporters on here. Hope ye get a performance worth shouting about. That bench looks a lot stronger this weekend, Id expect lots of changes to the starting 15. Shane Reck, Molloy, Chin and Rory will surely start. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 367 - 22/02/2025 00:20:12 2592371 Link 0 |
Rory and Lee on the bench ??? Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 22/02/2025 07:14:42 2592376 Link 0 |
I was thinking the same when I saw it
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14978 - 22/02/2025 08:44:49 2592388 Link 0 |