Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I think they did away with the play-off between 4th in 1A and 1B so it's just coming down to whichever team in 4th gets more points (Or has the better score difference if tied on points)

Westmeath, Antrim, and Dublin all have very poor score differences and it's hard to see 4th in 1A finishing with less than 4 points, only way I could see 4th in 1B making Division 1B next year is if Dublin beat both Westmeath and Galway"
I can't see Dublin winning those 2 games, maybe they might but maybe they will lose both, but if they do win both Galway are likely to end up on 4 points instead in 4th.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 26/02/2024 14:18:47    2528355

Replying To wexfordwin:  "It was the Wexford Celtic Challenge team so numbers 30-50 Under 17s. There was a young lad from our club on it and I know his dad well."
The minors are going very well this year so far.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 26/02/2024 14:20:21    2528356

Replying To Afinestick:  "Do we expect to have good minor and under 20 teams this year? Is there many who played in last years Leinster final still eligable for the 20s this year?"
Would be hoping the minors should be very competitive. At u20 Eoin Whelan, Cillian Byrne, Sean Rowley, Simon Roche, Cian O Tuama, Darragh Kehoe, Luke Murphy, Luke Roche, Darby Purcell, Dylan Purcell and Darragh Farrell are all eligible again I think.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 26/02/2024 15:15:23    2528370

Replying To Afinestick:  "Do we expect to have good minor and under 20 teams this year? Is there many who played in last years Leinster final still eligable for the 20s this year?"
Leinster U20 is going to be very tough this year. Aside from ourselves, Dublin, Galway and Kilkenny, both Offaly and Westmeath will be very good with many of their best u20s from last years u20 championshipstill being u20 this year. And Laois will probably have some of their minors from 2 years ago stepping up also. That minor team knocked both us and Kilkenny out of that years Leinster minor championship.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 26/02/2024 15:19:42    2528371

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I think they did away with the play-off between 4th in 1A and 1B so it's just coming down to whichever team in 4th gets more points (Or has the better score difference if tied on points)

Westmeath, Antrim, and Dublin all have very poor score differences and it's hard to see 4th in 1A finishing with less than 4 points, only way I could see 4th in 1B making Division 1B next year is if Dublin beat both Westmeath and Galway"
You are assuming Wexford will win one of their last 2 games, yeah?
Wexford need to get to 4 points for me because we should I hope beat Westmeath which will put us on 4.
Sorry if my maths wrong, never a strong point for me.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1461 - 26/02/2024 15:27:58    2528373

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "You are assuming Wexford will win one of their last 2 games, yeah?
Wexford need to get to 4 points for me because we should I hope beat Westmeath which will put us on 4.
Sorry if my maths wrong, never a strong point for me."
I wasn't talking about Wexford though, I was talking about whoever comes 4th in 1A

Wexford are on 3, Cork and Waterford are both on 2 and given that Wexford-Waterford and Wexford-Cork still have to be played (Plus Cork-Offaly as well although Offaly are no pushovers), I find it hard to see how 4th in 1A would finish with fewer than 4 points

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 619 - 26/02/2024 15:38:22    2528376

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "You are assuming Wexford will win one of their last 2 games, yeah?
Not just to do with Wexford. Cork have 2 points and Waterford 2 points. Cork have us and Offaly to play. Waterford have us and Kilkenny to play.if both win both their games, and Clare beat Offaly, and Kilkenny beat Clare, then 4th place in our group will have 6 points.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 26/02/2024 15:40:20    2528377

Not just to do with Wexford. Cork have 2 points and Waterford 2 points. Cork have us and Offaly to play. Waterford have us and Kilkenny to play.if both win both their games, and Clare beat Offaly, and Kilkenny beat Clare, then 4th place in our group will have 6 points. If we beat Waterford we will definitely finish ahead of them, as we will then have 5 points. We will finish at least 4th in that scenario. But no reason we can't win both our last 2 games. Its only the League. We won all 5 group games year before last.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 26/02/2024 15:42:02    2528378

Replying To Viking66:  "Charlie is back available, but where's his best position? Our backs often carried the ball into contact, got turned over and conceded scores or frees when playing short the last 2 League games. We need backs, especially wingbacks, that can mix it up with long low hard 40-50 yard passes into the spaces inside. Dooley and Charlie don't seem to be that type of heads up player. That way our opponents can't just park 5-8 lads across the halfway line and wait to gobble up our ball carriers. They would have to sit a little deeper to mark that space between their fullback and halfback lines."
McGuckian, wing back I guess. Though he would need to improve a good bit from his first two displays. Seems to want to run with the ball a good bit and you can get away with that at club level but less so at county. I think we struggle to break tackles around the middle generally , Lawlor played well at midfield but struggles to get past players. You could say that about most of our lads. That's why I think Liam Ryan could be an option at half back, you don't stop him too handy and he delivers a good ball.

You could see our style more clearly the last day, Rossiter and Franks kept shouting at Casey and Doran to stay inside the 21. So staying with two up front at all times to give the man in possession an option to go long. Putting Chin at 11 keeps their centre back honest rather than just dropping deep too. 4 across the half forward line really and packing into midfield. Our defensive structure was much better, I can't recall Clare getting a goal chance and Foley and Reck were sound down the middle.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 444 - 26/02/2024 16:32:40    2528400

Replying To Timbertony:  "McGuckian, wing back I guess. Though he would need to improve a good bit from his first two displays. Seems to want to run with the ball a good bit and you can get away with that at club level but less so at county. I think we struggle to break tackles around the middle generally , Lawlor played well at midfield but struggles to get past players. You could say that about most of our lads. That's why I think Liam Ryan could be an option at half back, you don't stop him too handy and he delivers a good ball.

You could see our style more clearly the last day, Rossiter and Franks kept shouting at Casey and Doran to stay inside the 21. So staying with two up front at all times to give the man in possession an option to go long. Putting Chin at 11 keeps their centre back honest rather than just dropping deep too. 4 across the half forward line really and packing into midfield. Our defensive structure was much better, I can't recall Clare getting a goal chance and Foley and Reck were sound down the middle."
They had the goal disallowed where he took about 10 steps

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 26/02/2024 17:07:50    2528414

Replying To Timbertony:  "McGuckian, wing back I guess. Though he would need to improve a good bit from his first two displays. Seems to want to run with the ball a good bit and you can get away with that at club level but less so at county. I think we struggle to break tackles around the middle generally , Lawlor played well at midfield but struggles to get past players. You could say that about most of our lads. That's why I think Liam Ryan could be an option at half back, you don't stop him too handy and he delivers a good ball.

You could see our style more clearly the last day, Rossiter and Franks kept shouting at Casey and Doran to stay inside the 21. So staying with two up front at all times to give the man in possession an option to go long. Putting Chin at 11 keeps their centre back honest rather than just dropping deep too. 4 across the half forward line really and packing into midfield. Our defensive structure was much better, I can't recall Clare getting a goal chance and Foley and Reck were sound down the middle."
It will be interesting to see how the lads coming back integrate into the system. The full forward line are getting space and there is good ball going in there . Think ROC if we can get him fit could cause serious havoc in there. Regarding the middle third adding Liam Og to our half forward line and Jippo to our half back line will increase our potential to break through the tackle in the middle third. Will be interesting to see if they move Foley from full back when Jippo comes back. Would like to see Jippo at half back

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 26/02/2024 17:20:56    2528421

Well lads happy enough with result yesterday didn't loose but had a chance to win it.. just think the game against Offaly not winning it and the game yesterday when we had chances to.. on the other side of things I was happy yesterday with the young lads again Eoin Ryan looks a great prospect and did a great job on Ian galvin.. Murphy and foley did well as did the 2 recks.. places now in the backs are going to be hard to get and i can see Donohoe and devitt struggling to get a place this year.. Donohoe's man yesterday scored 5 points think the line was slow and never made a change there all game.. Ryan to come back molly and mcguckian makes places hard to come by.. hearne had a good game yesterday as did Richie Lawlor went he went back to midfield.. places are going to be hard to come by even in the 26 which is a good thing.. anyone fancy naming championship team and the bench??

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 26/02/2024 17:28:13    2528423

Yep. I think we have our shape pretty much spot on for the players we have fair play to management. And you are right about the breaking tackles point, and the difference between club and Senior intercounty. Chin and sometimes Jacko if he's in the right frame of mind can do it. Most of the rest of our lads are just too small.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16841 - 26/02/2024 17:47:15    2528430

Replying To gannett83:  "Well lads happy enough with result yesterday didn't loose but had a chance to win it.. just think the game against Offaly not winning it and the game yesterday when we had chances to.. on the other side of things I was happy yesterday with the young lads again Eoin Ryan looks a great prospect and did a great job on Ian galvin.. Murphy and foley did well as did the 2 recks.. places now in the backs are going to be hard to get and i can see Donohoe and devitt struggling to get a place this year.. Donohoe's man yesterday scored 5 points think the line was slow and never made a change there all game.. Ryan to come back molly and mcguckian makes places hard to come by.. hearne had a good game yesterday as did Richie Lawlor went he went back to midfield.. places are going to be hard to come by even in the 26 which is a good thing.. anyone fancy naming championship team and the bench??"
Strange they didn't swap Shane Reck onto Fitzgerald alright.
Champo team v Dublin, I'll have a punt....
Fanning in box seat now but think Duggan will get a chance against Cork or Waterford. Fanning did well yesterday. Lawlor seems a long way back.
2 x Recks, Foley are certainties, Liam Ryan is another one if fit, Murphy and Eoin Ryan are doing nothing wrong. Definitely one half back spot up for grabs. Molloy maybe
Lawlor and Hearne will stay in the middle I'd say. Dee and McGovern more bench options this year.
Kevin Foley, Chin and Casey are certs if fit. Rory if fit inside with Casey but he would want to get on the field soon. That leaves just two spots, one of Kinsella/Jacko I'd say and Dunbar maybe for a bit of speed. Mac and others will need to play their way on from the bench.
Our 26 will be miles stronger than last year.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 444 - 26/02/2024 18:25:29    2528442

My championship team and subs would be
Fanning
S Reck. Ryan. N Murphy
C foley D Reck. O hanlon
Hearn. K foley
Jack o Connor. Chin. C Dunbar
S Casey. Mac. Rory o Connor
Subs Duggan Donohoe eoin ryan mcguckian d o keefe Richie Lawlor McGovern Oisín foley( anyone know what the story is there) Cory Bryne Dunbar James Bryne Tomas Kinsella

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 26/02/2024 18:33:32    2528445

Replying To Afinestick:  "It will be interesting to see how the lads coming back integrate into the system. The full forward line are getting space and there is good ball going in there . Think ROC if we can get him fit could cause serious havoc in there. Regarding the middle third adding Liam Og to our half forward line and Jippo to our half back line will increase our potential to break through the tackle in the middle third. Will be interesting to see if they move Foley from full back when Jippo comes back. Would like to see Jippo at half back"
No way to moving Foley for me. Aidan McCarthy is a very good forward and Foley cleaned him out. I thought he was very loose at wing back for the U-20s last year but he has improved out of all recognition since.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 444 - 26/02/2024 18:39:47    2528448

Have we missed the boat as far as league semi finals go this year do yous think? I think we'll be in 1a next year, can see us beating one of Waterford or Cork at the least

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 286 - 26/02/2024 19:01:32    2528458

Conor Foley has to start in the championship , I really want to see him and Jippo at 3 and 6, irrespective of who plays where, at some stage before the championship begins.

If I had to pick the team to play Dublin in round 1 in the morning;

Fanning; Reck Foley OHanlon; Reck Jippo Donohue; Hearne Dee/Kevin Foley; Jack Chin Dunbar; Casey McDonald ROC.

That XV is very much fluid I think Richie Lawlor, Eoin Ryan along with CBD will be in with a shout come April - Cian Molloy also maybe? Very impressed with Corey yesterday in the first half I thought he really took the game to Clare. Was also happy with how we responded after Chin had to go off, a lot of players stood up, in particular Jack.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 286 - 26/02/2024 19:13:41    2528464

Replying To gannett83:  "Well lads happy enough with result yesterday didn't loose but had a chance to win it.. just think the game against Offaly not winning it and the game yesterday when we had chances to.. on the other side of things I was happy yesterday with the young lads again Eoin Ryan looks a great prospect and did a great job on Ian galvin.. Murphy and foley did well as did the 2 recks.. places now in the backs are going to be hard to get and i can see Donohoe and devitt struggling to get a place this year.. Donohoe's man yesterday scored 5 points think the line was slow and never made a change there all game.. Ryan to come back molly and mcguckian makes places hard to come by.. hearne had a good game yesterday as did Richie Lawlor went he went back to midfield.. places are going to be hard to come by even in the 26 which is a good thing.. anyone fancy naming championship team and the bench??"
Very hard to predict 7 weeks or so but guessing we have everyone available and all the young lads continue their form this could be our championship 26
1 Fanning
2 S Reck
3 C Foley
4 N Murphy
5 Jippo
6 D Reck
7 Hanlon
8 Hearne
9 Lawlor
10 Jacko
11 Chin
12 Liam Og
13 K Foley
14 Casey
15 ROC
16 Duggan
17 Eoin Ryan
18 Donohoe
19 Devitt
20 Dee
21 Mac
22 O Foley
23 Dunbar
24 Corey Byrne Dunbar
25 T Kinsella
26 Cian Byrne

Very tight calls between James Byrne, Cian Byrne, Mikie Dwyer and McGuckin to make the 26 . We will probably never have everyone available but if we can get our big players fit and mix with the young lads that have proved so far they have plenty to offer I think we can really have a good championship this year. Regarding Lee he is a vital player for us and we need to keep him fit over the round robin if we are to make the Leinster final which should be our goal.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 26/02/2024 19:27:34    2528468

Was happy enough yesterday, there was both positives and negatives for me.
Negatives;
Free taking big concern for me. Even chin is to inconsistent with them. Cian Byrne probably our best option but he not guarantee a starting spot just yet.
Lacks of ball winning half forward, outside of chin and Jack at times, yesterday with struggled in this aspect.
Finally injuries, they are a concern. What the story with Rory, oisin foley, mac, Liam Ryan, O keefe and Liam og?are they all currently training?they need to start seen game time soon.
Positives:
Strength in depth/young players.
Eoin murphy, foley, Ryan, hearne, Corey, Byrne, lawlor,casey, molloy etc.. are a breath of fresh air and are really putting their hands up for championship starts. It has made the panel stronger and competition for places should be fierce come April.
Work rate and never say die attitude from all players.
Management so far working really well and giving lads plenty of opportunities.
Finally in my opinion with everyone fit we can beat any of the top teams. We just need to believe and be more ruthless.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 26/02/2024 20:41:45    2528486