That's shocking. Kilkenny man hit by his own player
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4387 - 20/01/2024 14:59:05 2521132 Link 0 |
Good performance from the younger lads Rossiter will be happy with how some of them went. Cian Byrne played well in the first half , Corey Byrne Dunbar was on a lot of ball and worked hard. Jack O Connor was MOTM with some good striking but we need to see more of this as the year goes on. Mike Kelly came to form in the second half. Conor foley was cleaning up at the back before he went off. Richie Lawlor worked hard was on a big physical player in Conor Delaney. Seamus Casey was good on the frees and done well in open play too. WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 346 - 20/01/2024 16:03:37 2521140 Link 0 |
A player can play adult once he's 18 on the 1st of January that year. What are you talking about 19 for? They can play adult as soon as they've finished minor. So they aren't being held back.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 16:57:51 2521148 Link 0 |
Wind was going sideways across the pitch from behind the stand we were in. Same both halves for both teams.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 16:58:55 2521149 Link 0 |
Watched the game with Martin Fogarty. I was wondering why Keith didn't make any subs at half time. He made the point that you need to give lads at least 40-45 minutes, preferably an hour. And Mikey Kelly was the proof of that approach. Thought he was bad against Carlow, and bad most of the 1st half, but his touch etc really improved in the 2nd half. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 17:02:48 2521151 Link 0 |
Our lads were more up for the game. Our handling was better. Our running off the shoulder was better. Our passing was better. Lads were finding pockets of space. We played good low ball inside to suit the inside forwards we have currently, which we didn't do much of against Carlow, especially in the 1st half. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 17:15:52 2521156 Link 0 |
It is only January, and Galway look a different beast this year so looking forward to next week, but I really really like the style we're trying to implement. We're playing intelligent hurling with proper purpose and being very patient. We're also defending well. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4387 - 20/01/2024 18:37:48 2521167 Link 0 |
Was thinking about another thing Fogarty said as I was driving through Bennettsbridge which was the importance of winning. At the same time by Thomastown the realisation struck me that this time last year we had just beaten Kilkenny after winning our previous Walsh Cup fixture. And then we only won 3 more games all year. We haven't even seen 1 Swallow yet. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 18:51:24 2521169 Link 0 |
We have O'Hanlon, Jippo, Dunbar, Dwyer, Donohue, Devitt, Shane Reck, Dee and Oisin Foley to add back to the mix also.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 18:53:35 2521172 Link 0 |
Not sure how Mac will fit in with our current style of play now?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 19:09:23 2521175 Link 0 |
Seamus Casey was excellent on frees, popped over some tricky ones with ease. goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 176 - 20/01/2024 19:28:40 2521179 Link 0 |
Very early in the year but you would have to be happy so far. Firstly I hope foley and hearne injuries are not to bad. The back 6 and molloy when he came on were all solid, which is great for competition in the squad. The 2 boys in midfield were good as well. Jack o was excellent but he needs to be more consistent. Tucker and Corey Dunbar are improving and could add extra options up front. Byrne was relatively quiet today but I think he could be an massive plus this year. Casey and Lawlor worked hard and are good options but they need to add more to the score board to really push on. All in all well done so far management and players. Tougher days lie ahead but I looking forward to the year ahead. hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1193 - 20/01/2024 19:38:54 2521182 Link 0 |
If a young man turned 18 yesterday, he can vote, drink in a pub, own property, buy an house, get married, etc. but he cant play adult hurling in Wexford til next year. He'll be 19 and a half playing his first adult championship hurling match in summer 2025, after turning 18 in January 2024.
icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2587 - 20/01/2024 20:38:57 2521189 Link 0 |
Very true, although I was talking about our attacking options mainly . Simon Donohue was probably one of our better players last year too Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4387 - 20/01/2024 21:01:16 2521193 Link 0 |
It wouldn't suit him at all. Although it's a very good option for mixing it up, particular hunting for a goal. Last week we had two on the edge of the square for the whole game Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4387 - 20/01/2024 21:03:17 2521195 Link 0 |
I think Richie lawlor is nailed on if he keeps this going. He's gotten through an obscene amount of work. He put the Kilkenny defense under savage pressure trying to clear the ball which created loads of chances. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4387 - 20/01/2024 21:06:25 2521196 Link 0 |
Dunbar Dwyer and Foley are all attacking options!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 21:31:36 2521203 Link 0 |
He did. Guilfoyle missed 2 I think
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 21:32:06 2521204 Link 0 |
If he turned 18 yesterday he can still play minor. And if he's a top minor, as he would have to be to be playing adult in any case, he'd likely be playing county minor for the 1st half of the year, which will help his development far more than getting mashed by a huge 30 year old built like a brick outhouse in adult club league hurling. And playing club u21 and minor after that also. There'd be very few minors I've seen who would be physically able for the hits in adult championship hurling. If the rule was relaxed some very good prospects might get badly injured and give up hurling altogether. The few that would be able for it would be grand playing adult, but how do you introduce a rule for some but not all?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 21:41:02 2521205 Link 0 |
They had to make very fast runs late out from the small rectangle to get on diagonal balls played in. They were doing that in the 1st half against Carlow too but I think only around 10 or 11 such balls were played in in the whole half. Mac wouldn't have the speed or inclination to make those runs, and against the top fullbacks at intercounty come championship he isn't able to win enough high dropping ball. I agree 100% there's very few lads as good at scoring when he gets the ball in his hand, but over the last few years how often has that happened in a game? Against Galway last year it happened when McInerney fell over. Hopefully when his back is better the management team might be able to try work out some way of getting the ball into his hand more often. But he is going to have to work hard to find something himself at the same time. He's a great hurler and always was since he was a chap. But when you look back at some of the great underage games he had for Wexford he used to move around alot more.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19055 - 20/01/2024 21:49:10 2521206 Link 0 |