Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "I think its absolutely madness playing lee in this mickey mouse competition against a poor carlow team who we would want to be beating without chin. In all fairness what did anyone learn from him scoring 2-7 sunday? He is a class player and when he plays well wexford play well. He might be mad to play games but given all the injuries he had he has to be managed
I said its easier for newer lads to play alongside experience lads but against carlow there was enough talent without lee.
Kilkennys team against carlow has one regular billy ryan who is afraid of the dark the rest is u20 and club players minus the 3 clubs in finals. Whats going to be gained by playing lee now? If lads cant be tried in the walsh cup then the same thing as the last few years will happen and we will only have 18 players to pick from
Fanning,mcguckin,kevin foley,jacko,lawlor will probably start championship so saying only 2 starters played sunday is crap"
We more than likely would be playing Joe McDonagh hurling this year if it wasn't for Lee Chin last year.

Rossi obviously didn't want to start off his tenure as Wexford manager especially in front of a home crowd with a defeat to Carlow and without Chin the win v Carlow would not be guaranteed.

Chin is more than likely mad to play also don't forget, he seemed very keen on Sunday to stay on the pitch.

I can understand Rossi to an extent but I really hope there is life after Chin, at the minute and that includes all of 2023, I am not seeing it.

But as mentioned above the likes of Casey, Ritchie Lawlor etc need to play matches without the comfort zone of Chin beside them and see how they step up.

Here's to a positive 2024 and a cut off Kilkenny away from home in January is always a good test to see where lads are at regarding fitness and touch in preseason.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 1028 - 16/01/2024 09:36:14    2520399

Replying To Viking66:  "The match is going ahead in John Locke park in Callan on Saturday at 2. Think that's a better choice of venue, better facilities and parking too, not sure it was ever going to go ahead in Mooncoin"
Yeah Mooncoin was an odd choice of venue but was defiantly planned to be there as of last weekend, agree Callan is probably a better choice all things considered.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 16/01/2024 09:43:16    2520402

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "I think its absolutely madness playing lee in this mickey mouse competition against a poor carlow team who we would want to be beating without chin. In all fairness what did anyone learn from him scoring 2-7 sunday? He is a class player and when he plays well wexford play well. He might be mad to play games but given all the injuries he had he has to be managed
I said its easier for newer lads to play alongside experience lads but against carlow there was enough talent without lee.
Kilkennys team against carlow has one regular billy ryan who is afraid of the dark the rest is u20 and club players minus the 3 clubs in finals. Whats going to be gained by playing lee now? If lads cant be tried in the walsh cup then the same thing as the last few years will happen and we will only have 18 players to pick from
Fanning,mcguckin,kevin foley,jacko,lawlor will probably start championship so saying only 2 starters played sunday is crap"
Disagree with this . We need try out some of the new young lads on the panel along with some of the more experienced players such as Chin not an entirely new starting 15 . Rossiter is trying to build momentum and a style of play and playing a completely inexperienced starting 15 will not serve any purpose. I'd play a very similar 15 again with Cian Byrne and Corey Byrne Dunbar getting a start

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 16/01/2024 10:14:41    2520409

As regards Kilkennys team against Carlow David Blanchfield, Cian Kenny, and Mossy Keoghan, all started or played most of their game against Carlow and all started Championship games for Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 16/01/2024 12:52:23    2520441

Tickets on sale now for Callan. Should be a good game!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 16/01/2024 14:29:24    2520480

Replying To Viking66:  "As regards Kilkennys team against Carlow David Blanchfield, Cian Kenny, and Mossy Keoghan, all started or played most of their game against Carlow and all started Championship games for Kilkenny."
I think kenny went off after a few minutes and was replaced by mossy so they had 2 starters. The point im trying to make is i know keith was anxious to get a good start at home but i dont see the benefit in playing lee against carlow. As someone said wexford would of being relegated if not for lee so thats all the more reason he has to be managed. Who cares if a walsh cup match is lost giving a lad experience. Lee has nothing to prove. No one plays their key players in these matches especially a lad with lees history of injuries .
Anyway rant over. A good match Saturday to get before we meet again in the league and championship. Now is the time to blood fellas and find a few players.

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 73 - 16/01/2024 20:58:28    2520565

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "I think kenny went off after a few minutes and was replaced by mossy so they had 2 starters. The point im trying to make is i know keith was anxious to get a good start at home but i dont see the benefit in playing lee against carlow. As someone said wexford would of being relegated if not for lee so thats all the more reason he has to be managed. Who cares if a walsh cup match is lost giving a lad experience. Lee has nothing to prove. No one plays their key players in these matches especially a lad with lees history of injuries .
Anyway rant over. A good match Saturday to get before we meet again in the league and championship. Now is the time to blood fellas and find a few players."
Most counties are doing exactly what we did last Sunday in these pre season competitions, play a mostly experimental team with a few experienced few heads included.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 16/01/2024 21:12:59    2520572

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Most counties are doing exactly what we did last Sunday in these pre season competitions, play a mostly experimental team with a few experienced few heads included."
Fully agree, Its important to integrate the younger lads alongside some experienced players i.e ROC could play if fit on Saturday and rest Chin.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 17/01/2024 10:05:01    2520613

https://m.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/wexford-set-for-strong-fitzgibbon-cup-representation/a623996177.html
Fitzgibbon starting. Think Pauric Reville and Sam Audsley are on the UCD panel as well.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 17/01/2024 11:12:40    2520627

Is the game being streamed on clubber on Saturday. Not sure if ill be able to make the trip to Callan due to work commitments

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 17/01/2024 12:54:17    2520643

Replying To Afinestick:  "Is the game being streamed on clubber on Saturday. Not sure if ill be able to make the trip to Callan due to work commitments"
It is indeed

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 17/01/2024 13:42:13    2520653

Planning ahead here. Anyone travel to casement Park before and recommend a hotel nearby.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 169 - 17/01/2024 21:51:53    2520725

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "Planning ahead here. Anyone travel to casement Park before and recommend a hotel nearby."
It's in Corrigan Park which is on the way into Belfast to the left off of the M1. I'm not sure about hotels as I'm staying with friends but it's just off the Whiterock Road not that far out from the City Centre.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 17/01/2024 22:12:04    2520728

Would be interested in recommendations for a hotel too. Have had a quick look on the usual sites, but there's nothing jumping out at me, and most seem relatively expensive too.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3464 - 18/01/2024 09:50:08    2520761

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "Planning ahead here. Anyone travel to casement Park before and recommend a hotel nearby."
I've booked the Malone hotel, 3 miles away from casement. Not too expensive either

Loyalmodel (Wexford) - Posts: 19 - 18/01/2024 10:37:57    2520770

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Would be interested in recommendations for a hotel too. Have had a quick look on the usual sites, but there's nothing jumping out at me, and most seem relatively expensive too."
If you aren't planning on drinking a b and b somewhere outside the city would be the best bet. Belfast is a good spot for live music and craic though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 18/01/2024 10:39:22    2520772

Grand Central is very nice but doesn't have onsite parking if that's an issue for you, similar story with the Clayton and both city centre but the Balmoral Hotel is just off the Andersonstown Rd and has ample onsite parking. As you said most hotels in Belfast are expensive.

GaeilgeDubh (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 18/01/2024 10:50:19    2520776

Thanks for the suggestions. Will have a look at them.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3464 - 18/01/2024 11:15:23    2520779

IT Carlow V NUIG on HE GAA Youtube channel tonight at 6, weather permitting i'm guessing, 7 Wexford players on the carlow panel including James Lawlor, Paidi Casey, Michael Dundon and Oisin Pepper who have figured or currently figure on the Senior panel.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 18/01/2024 13:33:35    2520814

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "IT Carlow V NUIG on HE GAA Youtube channel tonight at 6, weather permitting i'm guessing, 7 Wexford players on the carlow panel including James Lawlor, Paidi Casey, Michael Dundon and Oisin Pepper who have figured or currently figure on the Senior panel."
Will that be watchable still later in the night? Won't be able to watch it live.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19054 - 18/01/2024 15:20:27    2520834