Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Was impressed with Thomás Kinsella, good decision making. Kevin Foley looks to be on form too

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 176 - 15/01/2024 10:35:17    2520245

Patchy game yesterday, Next weekend will be a real test for a lot of the young lads. Thought we put together some good patches of play in the first half. Conor Foley done a good job on Mouse Kavanagh who only got a point from play. Reck was good centre back. Kevin Foley looked back to his best his touch was very good for this time of year. Chin was excellent . Tucker Kinsella looked really good in the first half. The full forward line struggled at times although Richie Lawlor looked good when he came out around the middle. Cian Byrne was very good when he came on while Corey Byrne Dunbar looked lively. I wouldnt risk Chin next weekend and would like to see a few more lads get a chance to start.
Is there any the established players on the panel expected to return next weekend?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 15/01/2024 11:01:21    2520250

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "Infairness everyone should be behind rossi. He bleeds wexford. He knows players will have to be found and supporters will have to give him time. I think its better blend in younger lads with a few experienced guys but playing chin om the 14th of January against a poor carlow team is absolutely madness. I know he wants to play but lee is such a key player for wexford what are you going to learn today. There was enough experience there without playing him. I know rossi wanted to get off on the right note at home but no one will remember this in a few months time."
I can understand that but chinner is really mad for games at the moment.

You're never going to leave all your main players out and we have 10 or so out injured so I felt the balance was good.

Only him and reck would be certain to start in the summer.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4385 - 15/01/2024 11:05:52    2520253

Replying To Afinestick:  "Patchy game yesterday, Next weekend will be a real test for a lot of the young lads. Thought we put together some good patches of play in the first half. Conor Foley done a good job on Mouse Kavanagh who only got a point from play. Reck was good centre back. Kevin Foley looked back to his best his touch was very good for this time of year. Chin was excellent . Tucker Kinsella looked really good in the first half. The full forward line struggled at times although Richie Lawlor looked good when he came out around the middle. Cian Byrne was very good when he came on while Corey Byrne Dunbar looked lively. I wouldnt risk Chin next weekend and would like to see a few more lads get a chance to start.
Is there any the established players on the panel expected to return next weekend?"
Just watched the game back on clubber while the workshop heated up and I noticed Carlow played with way more intensity than they did against Kilkenny. I think Chin has to start against Kilkenny as we only really have 2 nailed on starters playing at the moment in himself and Reck, although if Kevin keeps going the way he has played in the last 2 games he would be one also. As regards the full forward line we are only playing 2 inside and they are holding their positions in the small rectangle most of the time which presumably is a ploy to make space for runners coming through. Richie was the one who played out the middle most, with Casey dropping out there sometimes more so after half time. Up until Doyle went off they only got targeted around 10 or 11 times inside, with Doyle only getting 2 shots off for wides and 1 that fell to Lawlor for the penalty, while Casey got no shots off. If we don't play ball inside or into the corners for them to run out onto they aren't going to score much. Cian Byrne took his points well though.
In the half forward line Tucker and Chin got on plenty of ball, while Jacko didn't really. Hearne and Foley were busy in midfield. Reck was very good, and Charlie busy also, while Kelly and Molloy look like they need more games. Fullback line looked pretty good, Murphy was excellent, but Foley needs to tidy up his tackling although he had the required aggression for the full back position. The 3 lads are going to be tested far more against Kilkenny though.
I'd probably go with the same team again tbh, maybe bring Cian Byrne in instead of Jacko for his workrate. But make 2 changes at half time, and the max 5 in the 2nd half, so 7 subs can get on instead of only 5.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19051 - 15/01/2024 12:36:40    2520279

Replying To Viking66:  "Just watched the game back on clubber while the workshop heated up and I noticed Carlow played with way more intensity than they did against Kilkenny. I think Chin has to start against Kilkenny as we only really have 2 nailed on starters playing at the moment in himself and Reck, although if Kevin keeps going the way he has played in the last 2 games he would be one also. As regards the full forward line we are only playing 2 inside and they are holding their positions in the small rectangle most of the time which presumably is a ploy to make space for runners coming through. Richie was the one who played out the middle most, with Casey dropping out there sometimes more so after half time. Up until Doyle went off they only got targeted around 10 or 11 times inside, with Doyle only getting 2 shots off for wides and 1 that fell to Lawlor for the penalty, while Casey got no shots off. If we don't play ball inside or into the corners for them to run out onto they aren't going to score much. Cian Byrne took his points well though.
In the half forward line Tucker and Chin got on plenty of ball, while Jacko didn't really. Hearne and Foley were busy in midfield. Reck was very good, and Charlie busy also, while Kelly and Molloy look like they need more games. Fullback line looked pretty good, Murphy was excellent, but Foley needs to tidy up his tackling although he had the required aggression for the full back position. The 3 lads are going to be tested far more against Kilkenny though.
I'd probably go with the same team again tbh, maybe bring Cian Byrne in instead of Jacko for his workrate. But make 2 changes at half time, and the max 5 in the 2nd half, so 7 subs can get on instead of only 5."
Personally i don't see why we'd play Chin against Carlow / Kilkenny in meaningless pre-season games .. It is giving a very false sense and allowing lads to slightly hide as Chin contributes 1-7 or so in the game. So be it if we get bet let the fringe players play. If they are good enough they will be stand out .. Chin gets injured in first round of championship and who do we put in to take frees? .. Seamus Casey got one game in Walsh Cup against KK in Belefield during Davys reign .. and that was it .. Pick a panel of players for Walsh Cup and go with them.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 15/01/2024 15:18:40    2520313

Replying To Viking66:  "Just watched the game back on clubber while the workshop heated up and I noticed Carlow played with way more intensity than they did against Kilkenny. I think Chin has to start against Kilkenny as we only really have 2 nailed on starters playing at the moment in himself and Reck, although if Kevin keeps going the way he has played in the last 2 games he would be one also. As regards the full forward line we are only playing 2 inside and they are holding their positions in the small rectangle most of the time which presumably is a ploy to make space for runners coming through. Richie was the one who played out the middle most, with Casey dropping out there sometimes more so after half time. Up until Doyle went off they only got targeted around 10 or 11 times inside, with Doyle only getting 2 shots off for wides and 1 that fell to Lawlor for the penalty, while Casey got no shots off. If we don't play ball inside or into the corners for them to run out onto they aren't going to score much. Cian Byrne took his points well though.
I'd probably go with the same team again tbh, maybe bring Cian Byrne in instead of Jacko for his workrate. But make 2 changes at half time, and the max 5 in the 2nd half, so 7 subs can get on instead of only 5."
Fair play to you viking, you will back your club man to the last:)for me, I think Byrne was a different class when he came on. He done more in 20 minutes then the whole full forward line in the whole game. He has great potential, as has his younger brother.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1193 - 15/01/2024 16:36:58    2520338

Replying To hunting:  "Fair play to you viking, you will back your club man to the last:)for me, I think Byrne was a different class when he came on. He done more in 20 minutes then the whole full forward line in the whole game. He has great potential, as has his younger brother."
Was talking to Cian after the game he said Cillian was OK just a minor niggle. He said Eoin Whelan will be back next month he did an LCL. Both great bits of news for the u20s especially. He was very sharp when he came on. As regards Cathal he looked nervous and should've took his points but then it was his 1st proper game for the county so was to be expected, but he showed well and did the hard part getting on the ball. We still didn't play anywhere near as much ball inside in the 1st half as the second, and also there was more space in the second half as lads got tired. Of course I'll always back the Taghmon men in Wexford, just as I'd always back the Wexford men in the country as a whole;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19051 - 15/01/2024 17:09:38    2520342

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Personally i don't see why we'd play Chin against Carlow / Kilkenny in meaningless pre-season games .. It is giving a very false sense and allowing lads to slightly hide as Chin contributes 1-7 or so in the game. So be it if we get bet let the fringe players play. If they are good enough they will be stand out .. Chin gets injured in first round of championship and who do we put in to take frees? .. Seamus Casey got one game in Walsh Cup against KK in Belefield during Davys reign .. and that was it .. Pick a panel of players for Walsh Cup and go with them."
I'd have agreed 100% up until last year, but since then I'm of the opinion you need a few top lads to hold the whole thing together. Momentum is a funny thing, hard to get back when it's gone.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19051 - 15/01/2024 17:11:46    2520343

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Personally i don't see why we'd play Chin against Carlow / Kilkenny in meaningless pre-season games .. It is giving a very false sense and allowing lads to slightly hide as Chin contributes 1-7 or so in the game. So be it if we get bet let the fringe players play. If they are good enough they will be stand out .. Chin gets injured in first round of championship and who do we put in to take frees? .. Seamus Casey got one game in Walsh Cup against KK in Belefield during Davys reign .. and that was it .. Pick a panel of players for Walsh Cup and go with them."
Seamus played a League game in the Park that I can remember under Davy but agreed he should've played alot more, as should alot of other young players back then.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19051 - 15/01/2024 17:24:53    2520344

Replying To Viking66:  "Seamus played a League game in the Park that I can remember under Davy but agreed he should've played alot more, as should alot of other young players back then."
yeah against Tipp in 2019 league when we're down a few through injury. Got a run in 2021 v Laois in goal too.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 15/01/2024 17:32:20    2520345

Replying To Afinestick:  "Patchy game yesterday, Next weekend will be a real test for a lot of the young lads. Thought we put together some good patches of play in the first half. Conor Foley done a good job on Mouse Kavanagh who only got a point from play. Reck was good centre back. Kevin Foley looked back to his best his touch was very good for this time of year. Chin was excellent . Tucker Kinsella looked really good in the first half. The full forward line struggled at times although Richie Lawlor looked good when he came out around the middle. Cian Byrne was very good when he came on while Corey Byrne Dunbar looked lively. I wouldnt risk Chin next weekend and would like to see a few more lads get a chance to start.
Is there any the established players on the panel expected to return next weekend?"
Listening to Rossi on the radio last night sounds like this is status of some more experienced panelists but open to correction on these.

Jippo, Shane Reck and Rory all just recovering from niggles.
Devitt and Flood recovering from surgeries
Dee and Conor Mc working away on getting their injuries cleared up
Donohoe back training, don't know if he was injured or just got a bit of a break
O'Hanlon due back on January 25th, still unknown if Liam Og will be available or not
Dunbar back training in the last week, got married over Xmas and was away on honeymoon after that
Joe O'Connor back training yesterday after getting a flu which kept him out for 2 weeks.
He sounded hopeful good few will be available for the start of the league

No word on Oisin Foley who I think has a groin issue, Mikey Dwyer hasn't figured yet this year so not sure if he's in the panel.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 15/01/2024 17:49:15    2520347

Replying To Viking66:  "Seamus played a League game in the Park that I can remember under Davy but agreed he should've played alot more, as should alot of other young players back then."
Yes he started a league game vs Tipp in 2019. I think he scored 1.2 from play.

logger (Wexford) - Posts: 329 - 15/01/2024 17:52:24    2520348

Anyone know whether Liam Ryan is currently with the panel?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1027 - 15/01/2024 18:45:43    2520350

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Anyone know whether Liam Ryan is currently with the panel?"
He was sitting with the team on Sunday anyway

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 176 - 15/01/2024 19:57:40    2520359

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Listening to Rossi on the radio last night sounds like this is status of some more experienced panelists but open to correction on these.

Jippo, Shane Reck and Rory all just recovering from niggles.
Devitt and Flood recovering from surgeries
Dee and Conor Mc working away on getting their injuries cleared up
Donohoe back training, don't know if he was injured or just got a bit of a break
O'Hanlon due back on January 25th, still unknown if Liam Og will be available or not
Dunbar back training in the last week, got married over Xmas and was away on honeymoon after that
Joe O'Connor back training yesterday after getting a flu which kept him out for 2 weeks.
He sounded hopeful good few will be available for the start of the league

No word on Oisin Foley who I think has a groin issue, Mikey Dwyer hasn't figured yet this year so not sure if he's in the panel."
Oisin was carrying the hurls yesterday.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4385 - 15/01/2024 20:09:40    2520361

I think its absolutely madness playing lee in this mickey mouse competition against a poor carlow team who we would want to be beating without chin. In all fairness what did anyone learn from him scoring 2-7 sunday? He is a class player and when he plays well wexford play well. He might be mad to play games but given all the injuries he had he has to be managed
I said its easier for newer lads to play alongside experience lads but against carlow there was enough talent without lee.
Kilkennys team against carlow has one regular billy ryan who is afraid of the dark the rest is u20 and club players minus the 3 clubs in finals. Whats going to be gained by playing lee now? If lads cant be tried in the walsh cup then the same thing as the last few years will happen and we will only have 18 players to pick from
Fanning,mcguckin,kevin foley,jacko,lawlor will probably start championship so saying only 2 starters played sunday is crap

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 73 - 15/01/2024 23:05:49    2520372

The match is going ahead in John Locke park in Callan on Saturday at 2. Think that's a better choice of venue, better facilities and parking too, not sure it was ever going to go ahead in Mooncoin

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19051 - 16/01/2024 06:45:19    2520381

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "I think its absolutely madness playing lee in this mickey mouse competition against a poor carlow team who we would want to be beating without chin. In all fairness what did anyone learn from him scoring 2-7 sunday? He is a class player and when he plays well wexford play well. He might be mad to play games but given all the injuries he had he has to be managed
I said its easier for newer lads to play alongside experience lads but against carlow there was enough talent without lee.
Kilkennys team against carlow has one regular billy ryan who is afraid of the dark the rest is u20 and club players minus the 3 clubs in finals. Whats going to be gained by playing lee now? If lads cant be tried in the walsh cup then the same thing as the last few years will happen and we will only have 18 players to pick from
Fanning,mcguckin,kevin foley,jacko,lawlor will probably start championship so saying only 2 starters played sunday is crap"
None of them were regular championship starters last year

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19051 - 16/01/2024 09:03:31    2520393

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "I think its absolutely madness playing lee in this mickey mouse competition against a poor carlow team who we would want to be beating without chin. In all fairness what did anyone learn from him scoring 2-7 sunday? He is a class player and when he plays well wexford play well. He might be mad to play games but given all the injuries he had he has to be managed
Fanning,mcguckin,kevin foley,jacko,lawlor will probably start championship so saying only 2 starters played sunday is crap"
There's no way fanning will be our number 1.

Charlie has a chance. If Kevin Foley keeps going like this he will probably start. I don't think jacko will.

There's oisin, Mac, Rory, Dunbar and Dwyer all to come back. I'd love to see Richie start but I doubt it.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4385 - 16/01/2024 09:13:45    2520395

Possibly mogie too actually

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4385 - 16/01/2024 09:14:02    2520396