Jaysus, surprisingly easy to wind people up sometimes, effortless even
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12258 - 26/02/2025 10:16:56 2593294 Link 1 |
Ireland vs France will be interesting. Ireland's rugby team is experiencing its golden age, and is one of the best teams in the world. We have benefited by our 3 Kiwis, Gibson-Park, Aki, and Lowe and Congratulations to James Lowe on becoming an Irish citizen recently. We can easily win the grand slam again, already have the triple crown, and great credit to the players and coaches!!
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 450 - 26/02/2025 17:13:28 2593378 Link 0 |
Ireland who are ranked 2nd in the World should have no bother beating a team ranked 4th especially with home advantage…. It will be quite embarrassing if the chaps don't win this game..! ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3518 - 26/02/2025 17:57:10 2593387 Link 1 |
Your post will be like a red rag to a few "bulls" on here.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1450 - 26/02/2025 17:59:27 2593388 Link 0 |
Nothing between the top 4 in the World.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 26/02/2025 18:41:32 2593394 Link 1 |
You won't care less about the result anyway! There's no way rugby is living rent free in your head. So there isn't.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 173 - 26/02/2025 18:50:16 2593397 Link 0 |
He's really promoting it big time. Even when you'd be forgetting about it during the week up pops rugger boy in Cavan/London to remind you all about it again :-D
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 26/02/2025 19:34:49 2593402 Link 0 |
For the Ireland v France game P. P is giving (-1 ) Ireland 10 / 11 France (+1 ) 10 / 11. France will most definitely go into the game as favourites before the end of the week. My understanding is if the 2 / 3 personal changes are made so too will positional changes follow. I don't have inside info but I take on board the bit that I do get and they make sense. A couple of draws are coming in at 20 / 1. supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3124 - 27/02/2025 08:19:46 2593430 Link 0 |
Ireland definitely favourites for this match… 3 main reasons.. 1 Ireland are ranked above France , 2 Ireland are at home and 3 , it's not a vital World Cup game… A major surprise if the chaps don't win..!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3518 - 27/02/2025 10:10:37 2593446 Link 0 |
Nah. Don't agree he is promoting rugger. I think he is just getting off on trying to wind up a few on here. Giving the "old chaps" a perceived bashing at the minute . Thinks he has found an ope and is going at it like a jackrabbit. This is getting quite entertaining. Go Cavan go.
Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1450 - 27/02/2025 10:31:48 2593448 Link 0 |
"It's in your heeeeeead, in your heeeeeeead, rubgyyyyyy, rugbyyyyy, rent free, free, free...."
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1131 - 27/02/2025 10:46:02 2593454 Link 0 |
I wouldn't have Ireland as favourites. Think it's a 50/50 game. It's a de facto grand slam game for us, no disrespect to Italy. So it's a big game. We have won less grand slams than Cavan have all Ireland titles, in around the same amount of years, that's how rare they are, and hard to win. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 27/02/2025 10:46:44 2593455 Link 0 |
Hold on now. All-Ireland Football titles are significantly harder to win than 5/6 Nations. Let's be reasonable here.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12258 - 27/02/2025 10:55:34 2593461 Link 0 |
He did say Grand Slams, rather than titles. Grand slams are hard to win. England have the record at only 13, in well over 120 years of competition. Wales have 12. Compare that to Kerry and Dublin's 30+ All-Ireland's each. An All-Ireland will be won every year. A Grand Slam is happens less than once every two years. Of course there are far fewer teams competing for a grand slam than All-Ireland football title, but it's not that easily achieved. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2242 - 27/02/2025 11:39:00 2593471 Link 0 |
I think there's a lot of 'fans' of rugby who are just fans because everyone else is on the bandwagon. The true test of a team is their performance in a world cup and Ireland's record is abysmal. That is the level. boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 148 - 27/02/2025 11:49:45 2593472 Link 0 |
All of Cavan's AI's are effectively Grand Slams
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12258 - 27/02/2025 12:05:16 2593476 Link 0 |
Tell me youre bitterly against rugby no matter what wothout saying it.... Fans are fans. People who critic9se rugby love using bandwagon to dismiss them They also do it to criticise fans of teams in gaa as well. Fans are fans doesnt matter how when or why they started supporting the team. KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3730 - 27/02/2025 12:37:30 2593485 Link 0 |
Our record is fairly consistent with where we are historically. Most years we have reached the last 8. After that alot depends on luck of the draw, luck with injuries etc. We haven't really had an easyish QF, and we have been unlucky with injuries some years. We have missed out on a SF other years by less than a score. The reason why I used the AI analogy and Cavan is because we aren't historically a rugby powerhouse. Those countries would be NZ, SA, England, France, Wales and Australia. We have won 1 more Grand Slam than Scotland, though equally we have more wooden spoons than any of the other 6 Nations. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 27/02/2025 12:44:15 2593487 Link 0 |
Yes and took around the same number of wins to win. These days you can lose 2 or 3 games and win an AI, so they aren't as hard to win as a Grand Slam, which you can't win if you lose even 1 game. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 27/02/2025 12:51:16 2593491 Link 0 |
Pass no heed. He was on the Leitrim forum giving out about two Leitrim GAA clubs staging a very successful fundraiser. Rugby is just another reason for him to give out.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 173 - 27/02/2025 12:59:46 2593494 Link 0 |