Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Viking66:  "Our record is fairly consistent with where we are historically. Most years we have reached the last 8. After that alot depends on luck of the draw, luck with injuries etc. We haven't really had an easyish QF, and we have been unlucky with injuries some years. We have missed out on a SF other years by less than a score.
The reason why I used the AI analogy and Cavan is because we aren't historically a rugby powerhouse.
Those countries would be NZ, SA, England, France, Wales and Australia.
We have won 1 more Grand Slam than Scotland, though equally we have more wooden spoons than any of the other 6 Nations."
The first line there needs to be thoroughly explained, if you think it carries any weight or meaning. Why? Because it's as obvious as night following day that our overall record 2000-2024(let's say) is not at all consistent with 'where we are historically'. It's light years ahead of where it was historically, generally since pro rugby started.

Look at any 6 nations metric. Ireland are the 'winningest' side in 6 nations history 2000-2024 over all 125 games. A whopping 85wins. More than France, more than England. Ireland won 2 triple crowns in my early lifetime in 1982 and 1985, and we heard a lot about them then too. They've won EIGHT triple crowns since Italy joined the 6nations in 2000, picking up this 'trinket' in recent years almost as casually as the Dubs winning Leinster Football crowns. In the pro era, Ireland rugby is a different animal entirely to what it was in the 70s 80s 90s, and presumably before that too. To say otherwise, and to harp on about the RWC quarter final hurdle, is just blinkered waffle.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 27/02/2025 17:14:35    2593541

Replying To Viking66:  "Our record is fairly consistent with where we are historically. Most years we have reached the last 8. After that alot depends on luck of the draw, luck with injuries etc. We haven't really had an easyish QF, and we have been unlucky with injuries some years. We have missed out on a SF other years by less than a score.
The reason why I used the AI analogy and Cavan is because we aren't historically a rugby powerhouse.
Those countries would be NZ, SA, England, France, Wales and Australia.
We have won 1 more Grand Slam than Scotland, though equally we have more wooden spoons than any of the other 6 Nations."
You say "most years we have reached the last eight" but surely there is only 9-10 top tier teams that play the game. To not reach the last 8 would be deemed a total disaster.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 366 - 27/02/2025 18:02:08    2593547

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The first line there needs to be thoroughly explained, if you think it carries any weight or meaning. Why? Because it's as obvious as night following day that our overall record 2000-2024(let's say) is not at all consistent with 'where we are historically'. It's light years ahead of where it was historically, generally since pro rugby started.

Look at any 6 nations metric. Ireland are the 'winningest' side in 6 nations history 2000-2024 over all 125 games. A whopping 85wins. More than France, more than England. Ireland won 2 triple crowns in my early lifetime in 1982 and 1985, and we heard a lot about them then too. They've won EIGHT triple crowns since Italy joined the 6nations in 2000, picking up this 'trinket' in recent years almost as casually as the Dubs winning Leinster Football crowns. In the pro era, Ireland rugby is a different animal entirely to what it was in the 70s 80s 90s, and presumably before that too. To say otherwise, and to harp on about the RWC quarter final hurdle, is just blinkered waffle."
Very well put, knowledgable points which can't really be argued. I find your last one about the "blinkered waffle" is particularly telling. It has been around for a little while but more of an observation than a term of belittlement or satirical criticism. It hardened during and since the last World Cup through the SA media who couldn't figure out why we were still no 1 in the world while they were world champs. It was then picked by some quarters in NZ and sections of the Welsh media really went to town - understandably when you see what certain sections of our media were coming out with. But, to see it being used on here is just proof that the old Irish habit of begrudgery towards our own is alive and well, and a little sad really.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1450 - 27/02/2025 18:36:15    2593555

Replying To KillingFields:  "Tell me youre bitterly against rugby no matter what wothout saying it....

Fans are fans. People who critic9se rugby love using bandwagon to dismiss them
They also do it to criticise fans of teams in gaa as well. Fans are fans doesnt matter how when or why they started supporting the team."
Look at the criticisms that have been in the media recently from what are said to be real fans of rugby...having to constantly get up from their seats to let people past to go to the bar etc and also apparently not to bothered in watching the games they are at

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 148 - 27/02/2025 19:16:22    2593562

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "Pass no heed. He was on the Leitrim forum giving out about two Leitrim GAA clubs staging a very successful fundraiser. Rugby is just another reason for him to give out."
What relevance has your post to this thread?

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 148 - 27/02/2025 19:17:32    2593563

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The first line there needs to be thoroughly explained, if you think it carries any weight or meaning. Why? Because it's as obvious as night following day that our overall record 2000-2024(let's say) is not at all consistent with 'where we are historically'. It's light years ahead of where it was historically, generally since pro rugby started.

Look at any 6 nations metric. Ireland are the 'winningest' side in 6 nations history 2000-2024 over all 125 games. A whopping 85wins. More than France, more than England. Ireland won 2 triple crowns in my early lifetime in 1982 and 1985, and we heard a lot about them then too. They've won EIGHT triple crowns since Italy joined the 6nations in 2000, picking up this 'trinket' in recent years almost as casually as the Dubs winning Leinster Football crowns. In the pro era, Ireland rugby is a different animal entirely to what it was in the 70s 80s 90s, and presumably before that too. To say otherwise, and to harp on about the RWC quarter final hurdle, is just blinkered waffle."
I'm not harping on about Quarter Finals. Only 1 team from the Northern Hemisphere has ever won the World Cup, and it only happened once. Yes it would be great if we won it, like it would be great for us to win the World Cup at soccer, or Millwall or Cliftonville to win the Champions League.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 27/02/2025 19:22:33    2593565

Ireland will never win a Rugby World Cup while they continue to put Southern Hemisphere coaches and players on a pedestal. We've not got the greatest coaches and players in the world but they're not bad. Need to improve the Irish players, not ring Shortland Street asking for lads who might be good enough for Ireland in 5 years. 5 years is plenty of times for improving emerging talent and make it Ireland class and better. We're intermittently the best team of 3 teams in Europe. The other two do better in World Cups. World stage is another step up entirely to winning Grand Slams and other nations time their run better.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7802 - 27/02/2025 19:49:47    2593576

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Ireland will never win a Rugby World Cup while they continue to put Southern Hemisphere coaches and players on a pedestal. We've not got the greatest coaches and players in the world but they're not bad. Need to improve the Irish players, not ring Shortland Street asking for lads who might be good enough for Ireland in 5 years. 5 years is plenty of times for improving emerging talent and make it Ireland class and better. We're intermittently the best team of 3 teams in Europe. The other two do better in World Cups. World stage is another step up entirely to winning Grand Slams and other nations time their run better."
I'm not sure it's about timing runs. I think it's more about having a good panel and developing big game winning mentality. World Cup knockout games between top teams are cagey affairs generally. Usually nothing much in them. And you need that little bit of luck with decisions also. SA had it in 2023, they beat France by a point in the QF, England by a point in the SF , NZ by a point in the Final. Smallest of margins. It's all about getting the smallest of details right.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 27/02/2025 20:20:19    2593580

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm not sure it's about timing runs. I think it's more about having a good panel and developing big game winning mentality. World Cup knockout games between top teams are cagey affairs generally. Usually nothing much in them. And you need that little bit of luck with decisions also. SA had it in 2023, they beat France by a point in the QF, England by a point in the SF , NZ by a point in the Final. Smallest of margins. It's all about getting the smallest of details right."
Management were fully to blame for Irelands demise in the last World Cup.. they were wore out when the QF game came around… Playing Romania in our first match gave Ireland a free pass to start the tournament a week later than their big rivals but instead the manager picked a full team to put 70/80 points on the opposition when their weakest 15 would have got the job done…… Very poor management.. the same manager who is now off on a jolly for a year to look after the meaningless Lions team to go on a meaningless tour….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3518 - 27/02/2025 21:30:31    2593591

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Management were fully to blame for Irelands demise in the last World Cup.. they were wore out when the QF game came around… Playing Romania in our first match gave Ireland a free pass to start the tournament a week later than their big rivals but instead the manager picked a full team to put 70/80 points on the opposition when their weakest 15 would have got the job done…… Very poor management.. the same manager who is now off on a jolly for a year to look after the meaningless Lions team to go on a meaningless tour…."
The Lions? The Pinacle of any British or Irish players career.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 27/02/2025 22:08:31    2593597

Replying To peiledoir20:  ""It's in your heeeeeead, in your heeeeeeead, rubgyyyyyy, rugbyyyyy, rent free, free, free....""
This post is seriously underappreciated

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3411 - 27/02/2025 22:29:32    2593603

Replying To Doylerwex:  "This post is seriously underappreciated"
100%

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 173 - 28/02/2025 09:33:06    2593632

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm not harping on about Quarter Finals. Only 1 team from the Northern Hemisphere has ever won the World Cup, and it only happened once. Yes it would be great if we won it, like it would be great for us to win the World Cup at soccer, or Millwall or Cliftonville to win the Champions League."
I know you're not harping on about it, but to compare the likelihood of a northern hemisphere side winning the rugby world cup to the likelihood of Clintonville or Stenhousemuir winning the Champions League is another meaningless stupid comparative.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 28/02/2025 09:56:23    2593634

Replying To Doylerwex:  "This post is seriously underappreciated"
Met her a couple of times in the 90s at parties, sound Limerick woman.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 28/02/2025 10:04:49    2593637

Replying To Viking66:  "The Lions? The Pinacle of any British or Irish players career."
A junket that nobody has any interest in whatsoever.. No wonder we are so woeful when it comes to the World Cup when going on a Lions junket is the hight of their ambitions.. pinnacle of their careers my hat..!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3518 - 28/02/2025 10:10:35    2593640

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm not sure it's about timing runs. I think it's more about having a good panel and developing big game winning mentality. World Cup knockout games between top teams are cagey affairs generally. Usually nothing much in them. And you need that little bit of luck with decisions also. SA had it in 2023, they beat France by a point in the QF, England by a point in the SF , NZ by a point in the Final. Smallest of margins. It's all about getting the smallest of details right."
South Africa weren't lucky to win the last 3 games by a point. They knew when to play and when to stop the opposition play. Not pretty but effective. They could grind out results against the best teams. France were favourites. We were second favourites and they knew that losing to us in the group wouldn't put them out. They weren't naive enough to go and throw the ball around and risk losing. Keeping it tight and winning by playing to their strengths and winning by small margins is what won them the cup.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7802 - 28/02/2025 10:36:54    2593648

The interest in the Lions isn't what it used to be. Even for me personally it doesn't have much appeal anymore. It's hyped to death on Sky and some podcasts as if it matters more than anything else. Painful at times.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8273 - 28/02/2025 11:06:04    2593653

Replying To Viking66:  "The Lions? The Pinacle of any British or Irish players career."
That's sad. And telling. That this made up team from a colonial throwback is more important than playing or indeed managing your own country, or the country that employs you to manage them.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 148 - 28/02/2025 11:18:38    2593658

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Management were fully to blame for Irelands demise in the last World Cup.. they were wore out when the QF game came around… Playing Romania in our first match gave Ireland a free pass to start the tournament a week later than their big rivals but instead the manager picked a full team to put 70/80 points on the opposition when their weakest 15 would have got the job done…… Very poor management.. the same manager who is now off on a jolly for a year to look after the meaningless Lions team to go on a meaningless tour…."
That is a very unfair and unqualified assessment of that Ireland Rugby team and it's management, because its our national Rugby team we're talking about it is an ideal time to wind up certain posters. Because you and a few others have a personal dislike for the game suggests to me you have not accumulated much knowledge about it.

For starters Management we're not fully to blame for Ireland's failure to clinch the title. The word demise is belittling don't you think.Lady luck deserted us in that world cup final game and you know it. After many attempts for that all important push over try it simply didn't happen no one can say we wasted a chance or hadnt got the energy, players or know how, and that is part of sport.

Playing Romania is akin to France playing Italy with a loaded team and clocking up 70 plus points to carry them through to meet Ireland.when their weakest 15 would suffice, I could be wrong but I doubt it very much.

It's not that I fell for the bait, ie, your post, its just to remind yourself and others how little you know about sport and how it works including management.

Discussion closed.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3124 - 28/02/2025 11:20:02    2593660

Replying To GreenandRed:  "South Africa weren't lucky to win the last 3 games by a point. They knew when to play and when to stop the opposition play. Not pretty but effective. They could grind out results against the best teams. France were favourites. We were second favourites and they knew that losing to us in the group wouldn't put them out. They weren't naive enough to go and throw the ball around and risk losing. Keeping it tight and winning by playing to their strengths and winning by small margins is what won them the cup."
Sorry GreenandRed I read my post back. When I said SA had it, by it I meant the big game mentality primarily that I talked about at the start of the post. On account of living and going to school in Botswana in the late 70s and spending alot of time in SA, since SA were readmitted the Boks are my second team.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 28/02/2025 11:23:49    2593663