Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To jm25:  "That's the same in all sports you name it by way of them been knockout competitions you only play a handful of top players.

As in seed 1 at Wimbledon will only max have to beat 3 players seeded 2-8

Football World Cup
Wimbledon
World Darts
All Ireland football
Champions league"
Yep. All money makers. Commercial tournaments.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 24/02/2025 22:27:56    2593037

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Test series are only glorified challenge games where a win over NZ or the like gets the Irish rugger chaps all giddy and above their station before moving on to the real business of the World Cup where we continually tip the load at the Quarter Final stage …! Beating the Boks as you call them didn't mean a whole pile when the team were all sitting at home when the World Cup final was on… which the Boks won ….. they know how to win when it really matters..!!"
That's what they call themselves. Why do you post so much about a sport you claim to have no interest in, and that you know so little about?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 24/02/2025 22:29:55    2593038

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Test series are only glorified challenge games where a win over NZ or the like gets the Irish rugger chaps all giddy and above their station before moving on to the real business of the World Cup where we continually tip the load at the Quarter Final stage …! Beating the Boks as you call them didn't mean a whole pile when the team were all sitting at home when the World Cup final was on… which the Boks won ….. they know how to win when it really matters..!!"
You really do seem to be getting off on bashing the old rugger types, don't you ?? Sad really.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1450 - 24/02/2025 23:52:54    2593060

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Of course beating NZ at rugby is a barometer of success in rugby football. Ireland have beaten NZ five times since 2016, and never prior to 2016. Also won 2 'in competition' Grand Slams in 2018 and 2023, compared to the 2009 side winning just the one.

I'm not saying Ireland are any good. I'm just saying that your line about recent Irish squads not bettering 'that level' of 2009 is simply false. Results, silverware, world ranking all suggests otherwise."
Is glorifying New Zealand rugby not part of the problem? Beating them out of competition is giving them a false sense of their ability only to be stuck at quarter final stage at World Cups. And then get New Zealand players to improve the standard of the national team. Where's the confudence in Irish rugby showing there? Fair point on 2019 and 2023 Grand Slam winning teams even if there were a good few changes in between. Winning another Grand Slam is only keeping the level in Europe. Getting to a World Cup semi final would be a better gauge of progress for me. And I wish they could do it with a squad of just Irish players."
How would getting to a world cup semi provide such all encompassing affirmation around quality standards for you, when we could achieve that just off the back of getting a favorable draw that would avoid SA/NZ/France/England until the semis? You're choosing to have a blinkered view imo, harping about so much on this world cup quarterfinal issue.

The 2009 Irish side that you're lauding, and claiming hasn't been bettered for standard, wouldn't imo have got within an asses roar of even being competitive against NZ at a World Cup. Yet you're peeing on the 2023 side's tent for failing to make a semi, when they were highly competitive in the NZ qfinal, only losing by 4 points. The 2009 Irish side simply would not have been that competitive imo. It's very obvious that the current pipeline of players into the Irish side has never been stronger, and if we identify a gap that we can't fill, we can hire a New Zealander.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 25/02/2025 00:21:16    2593061

Replying To Viking66:  "Yep. All money makers. Commercial tournaments."
Not really anything to do with commercial a local Donegal football cup competition would be same you only have to beat a small amount of the teams entered in a ko competition

A 32 team cup competition requires you to beat 5 teams

Golf is the only sport where you have to be better than all competitors in a tournament to win

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1363 - 25/02/2025 06:42:06    2593069

Replying To Freethinker:  "You really do seem to be getting off on bashing the old rugger types, don't you ?? Sad really."
The truth always hurts

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3518 - 25/02/2025 10:03:53    2593095

Replying To Freethinker:  "You really do seem to be getting off on bashing the old rugger types, don't you ?? Sad really."
A large dose of insecurity at play methinks. A strange obsession with a sport that they continuously knock. Something tells me that they'll have an excuse ready if they're invited to give it a try (no pun intended).

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 173 - 25/02/2025 10:04:05    2593097

Replying To jm25:  "Not really anything to do with commercial a local Donegal football cup competition would be same you only have to beat a small amount of the teams entered in a ko competition

A 32 team cup competition requires you to beat 5 teams

Golf is the only sport where you have to be better than all competitors in a tournament to win"
Only golf? What about gymnastics, ice skating, athletics, formula1, downhill skiing, rally driving.....the list goes on I'm sure

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 25/02/2025 10:22:25    2593102

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I saw it alright. Not sure if you saw it though, or were you 'seeing things'? There weren't 2 tries scored by Ireland in 30mins. Only one in fact. The other Ireland try was the first score of the game.

As for greenhorns, I'd certainly be naming Clarkson, McCarthy and Prendergast in that category currently. Osborne inexperienced too, but was solid on the day."
Thanks for putting that right for me it must have been in the excitement of things I got carried away, anyway would you have doubts about Sam, M.O.T.M against Scotland, overall highest scorer against Wales surely you must see loads of promise in him.
Admittedly against France we might see an entirely different game, don't you think.?

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3124 - 25/02/2025 11:31:10    2593115

Replying To supersub15:  "Thanks for putting that right for me it must have been in the excitement of things I got carried away, anyway would you have doubts about Sam, M.O.T.M against Scotland, overall highest scorer against Wales surely you must see loads of promise in him.
Admittedly against France we might see an entirely different game, don't you think.?"
Overall highest scorer is pretty much par for the course for an out-half kicker, so that's not really much of a statement.
He mixed the very good with the very bad against Wales. His defence is a big issue. He missed 8 tackles against Wales which is a lot, and we've seen him get run over a few times now.
You'd worry, as France are much more physical than Wales and they'll definitely target him.
I don't think it's a size issue. We've seen much smaller men, like Peter Stringer and Damien McKenzie of NZ, be very effective tacklers.
Crowley is much more physical in defence and is also very talented. He might be the better choice to start against France. Prendergast to come on, when more players are tired might be a safer option.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2242 - 25/02/2025 12:04:48    2593131

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Overall highest scorer is pretty much par for the course for an out-half kicker, so that's not really much of a statement.
He mixed the very good with the very bad against Wales. His defence is a big issue. He missed 8 tackles against Wales which is a lot, and we've seen him get run over a few times now.
You'd worry, as France are much more physical than Wales and they'll definitely target him.
I don't think it's a size issue. We've seen much smaller men, like Peter Stringer and Damien McKenzie of NZ, be very effective tacklers.
Crowley is much more physical in defence and is also very talented. He might be the better choice to start against France. Prendergast to come on, when more players are tired might be a safer option."
I see a lot of issues inhis defensive work. Agreed it's not his size it's his appitite for defending

Fin smith same age and smaller was well able to drive back larger scots at weekend

To use another sport id compare him Trent AA, fabulous with time and space on the ball but no appetite or pride in their defensive work.

Just a case if you think positive outweighs negative.

Against the top teams in Sam P case France SA NZ we will see which it is.

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1363 - 25/02/2025 12:24:28    2593136

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The truth always hurts"
Sorry to disappoint friend, but you ain't hurting me. I have very little interest in Rugby, but I do have a sense of fair play, so bang away, if it makes you feel better and gets you to where you want to be. Really, you shouldn't let things get to you, bad for the ould heart and blood pressure.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1450 - 25/02/2025 13:47:10    2593151

Replying To jm25:  "I see a lot of issues inhis defensive work. Agreed it's not his size it's his appitite for defending

Fin smith same age and smaller was well able to drive back larger scots at weekend

To use another sport id compare him Trent AA, fabulous with time and space on the ball but no appetite or pride in their defensive work.

Just a case if you think positive outweighs negative.

Against the top teams in Sam P case France SA NZ we will see which it is."
He's only a kid in fairness, just turned 22. Some GAA teams don't think lads are ready for intercounty championship at 22, let alone ready to play no10 on a grand slam chasing outfit in 6nations.

One might expect his physicality and defense to improve with age, and with the years he'll spend in professional rugby. For now, we'll get a mixture of the great and not so great out of him, as WPW said there.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3985 - 25/02/2025 14:34:13    2593155

Ronan O'Gara was defensive liability for his entire career and it didn't stop him becoming a legend

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12258 - 25/02/2025 15:26:02    2593173

Replying To Breffni40:  "Ronan O'Gara was defensive liability for his entire career and it didn't stop him becoming a legend"
well spoken from the home of Rugby.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 338 - 25/02/2025 17:32:04    2593208

Replying To Freethinker:  "Sorry to disappoint friend, but you ain't hurting me. I have very little interest in Rugby, but I do have a sense of fair play, so bang away, if it makes you feel better and gets you to where you want to be. Really, you shouldn't let things get to you, bad for the ould heart and blood pressure."
One thing for sure Freethinker is that Rugby won't give me blood pressure or a heart attack… the most overrated nonsense of a sport that was ever invented.. with a League of Nations representing Ireland and clowns wetting themselves over winning meaningless friendly matches and then coming up with excuse after excuse when they tip the load at every World Cup

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3518 - 25/02/2025 18:28:07    2593212

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "One thing for sure Freethinker is that Rugby won't give me blood pressure or a heart attack… the most overrated nonsense of a sport that was ever invented.. with a League of Nations representing Ireland and clowns wetting themselves over winning meaningless friendly matches and then coming up with excuse after excuse when they tip the load at every World Cup"
Why did you keep posting about subjects you know nothing about? And claim to care less about?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14974 - 25/02/2025 22:17:18    2593252

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Overall highest scorer is pretty much par for the course for an out-half kicker, so that's not really much of a statement.
Crowley is much more physical in defence and is also very talented. He might be the better choice to start against France. Prendergast to come on, when more players are tired might be a safer option."
I wasn't trying to make a statement for Sam in the game against Walse, he kicked what was made available to him almost, every game is different and the game against France will be different again no doubt about that.
Sam brings calmness to where needed in seconds, there is a body language and understanding between himself and Gibson -Park.
The game with France is not about Sam, or Jack, it's about overall team work, the , there should be in theory be no fear of a more physical French team if at all.

Either way Ireland will have to play to their level best to win this one.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3124 - 26/02/2025 08:40:51    2593270

Wouldn't it be great if our ladies soccer players just concentrated on playing the game and not falling into media traps re the internal strife and politics of the FAI ?? I might be wrong, but except for some comment from the odd player post Saipan, I struggle to remember much by way of comment throughout the many managerial merry go rounds in recent times.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1450 - 26/02/2025 08:44:03    2593273

I wasn't trying to make a statement for Sam in the game against Walse, he kicked what was made available to him almost, every game is different and the game against France will be different again no doubt about that.
Sam brings calmness to where needed in seconds, there is a body language and understanding between himself and Gibson -Park.
The game with France is not about Sam, or Jack, it's about overall team work, the , there should be in theory be no fear of a more physical French team if at all.

Either way Ireland will have to play to their level best to win this one.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3124 - 26/02/2025 09:01:17    2593278