Too many balls dropped short was the losing of the match today which resulted in about five scores from the resulting attack but also I thought we were the better side in 2nd half and left it behind us to a degree our backs were better in 2nd half ,thought patton should have been pulled on the slow kickoout at the end rather than o toole been pulled at hooter but I think were still in a really good place and can go really far in the all ireland series a dryer sod will help us also mohan mccarron mooney ward k duffy byrne o toole played well today get lavelle and a few others back in the swing of it and give it a good rattle muineachain abu Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 54 - 20/04/2025 17:38:33 2603103 Link 0 |
Yea we needed a 70 minute performance to win, cleaned out in midfield during first half, decent second half performance though. Best team won mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1066 - 20/04/2025 17:50:04 2603109 Link 0 |
Strange game. We looked like we'd be hammered at stages then Donegal would switch off. We'd peg it back, they'd kick on. Did we honestly look like winning that game, no. Do we pat ourselves on the back and well done for running genuine contenders close, yes.
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 188 - 20/04/2025 18:01:07 2603115 Link 1 |
Gutted. Seriously thought we'd win that game. We gave donegal far too much respect in first half seemed to stand off them they are a good side but they aint as good as jimmys first donegal side no karl lacy mcgees or a neil gallagher in that side . We were at home and opted not to play with the wind in first half which was strange call as meant we were always playing catch up. Much better in 2nd half midfield got on top. Think Mccarthy not going for the equaliser but trying for a difficult goal chance was turning pt as we had all the momentum then and donegal regrouped well after that and managed game better used their runners and Murphys experience to guide them through even through thought they were there for the taking in the last few mins. We need to back ourselves more in attack as this bringing beggan up slows the game down and is all v predictable. A top side like donegal were never going to fall for it. We looked way more threatening when we ran at pace. Dessie Ward was superb. Mcphilips mooney great when they came on. Brannigan will learn from today in fairness as was a step up from playing div 2 but let's not kid ourselves either. Armagh or Tyrone would beaten donegal today by 4 or 5 pts if not more. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1880 - 20/04/2025 18:31:20 2603128 Link 0 |
Pity, another year and another Ulster title gone . Sam is just beyond us.
Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 611 - 20/04/2025 18:35:35 2603134 Link 0 |
You'll find they did and lost in Omagh
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1038 - 20/04/2025 18:43:25 2603138 Link 0 |
I don't think he's another whinger, I think he's a regular from the United Villages with a new account. Anyway, Monaghan were really fantastic in that second half, a pity we didn't get extra time because we had all the momentum, Donegal were scratching their heads. I thought the two changes made before half time made a huge difference, as did Mooney for Woods. Dessie Ward was immense. BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 20/04/2025 18:44:34 2603139 Link 0 |
Strange game, we played much better in the second half but you never felt we were going to win it. Donegal did enough. We are in a much better place than 12 months ago. 222 (UK) - Posts: 844 - 20/04/2025 18:50:58 2603144 Link 0 |
Best of luck to yous the rest of the summer, some serious footballers and score-takers in that side CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 152 - 20/04/2025 19:00:59 2603155 Link 0 |
Despite there being only 2 pts in the final score I thought Donegal were by far the better team today. I never really felt that Monaghan were playing well enough to grab the game even though they could have got a draw. Donegal managed Monaghan's brief comeback spell well and looked like they had Monaghan's measure tactically. PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 191 - 20/04/2025 19:13:16 2603163 Link 0 |
First off all Donegal were deserved winners. They focused on how to negate Monaghans strengths like not fouling within Beggans range and had some well worked moves in both halves. Happy with the effort and workmate from Monaghan overall but disappointed about the line up choices for the starting team. Garland's scoring return has dried up and while he started with 1-3 against Cavan in the NFL, it has been diminishing returns ever since. Look, the lad Garland i always felt needed a persistent run of games to prove weather he has it or not at senior inter county level. He's had that now and you'd have to say he's had his chance and not taken it. Time for Mooney to be given the starting role. By the same token McCarville just lacks that bit of a "dog" in him. When the going gets tough, he goes missing. Happy for McCarville that he won a div 2 medal and got to play in croke park at the age of 30 but he's not the answer. Monaghan have been over run in midfield multiple times in div 2 this year. sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 177 - 20/04/2025 19:21:07 2603174 Link 1 |
You were hard done by today with the hooter fiasco but you're being harsh on us, Donegal. We have a brilliant young squad and have depth in all positions. Not often a Neil Gallagher or Karl Lacey comes around but sure we could say ye don't have anyone half as good as McManus anymore. Truth is, we battered you in the first half and then due to incompetence we let ya back into it. There was times near the end where we turned you over and should have taken easy points to put the game to bed but we didn't. We have Tyrone's number under Jim and we don't fear them. Same with Armagh. Don't think we would have played as bad as we did today in the second half against them. Feel like we took ye for granted. Best of luck in the summer though. eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 115 - 20/04/2025 20:04:53 2603199 Link 2 |
Monaghan started strongly, but they hit the pause button after Murphy was awarded the 2-pt free for the technical infringement. I need to see that on the Sunday game to see what really happened as there was serious confusion around it.. Donegal have some serious players in their team, but then so do we..there was some great battles around the field, Ryan O'Toole was top of Oisin Gallen who was a handful, it was a great tussle. I would not fear Donegal if we play them again later in the summer. This is a good team that will grow as they play good opposition. Time to get the heads down and prepare for mid May.. Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 20/04/2025 20:20:34 2603209 Link 0 |
Sam? Dream on. You can't even get close to winning Ulster. And the nerve of posters like Vetern/TomS coming on the Cavan forum telling us we're going nowhere. A bit of reality needed for you lot. Monaghan are at the same level as Cavan, Roscommon, Meath. You've no right including yourself in the conversation around Sam.
KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 177 - 20/04/2025 20:40:21 2603216 Link 0 |
You're not winning it this year either. Ten years since you won a meaningful competition. A team that depends on a 34 year old goalkeeper to create all their scoring chances should stay silent about other teams chances. Your all Ireland is as it always has been, winning a div 1 league game in January.
KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 177 - 20/04/2025 20:47:37 2603219 Link 0 |
There was no hooter fiasco. The rules clearly state that if the ball is out of play, following a score, a wide or a sideline ball when the hooter sounds the match is over.
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 20/04/2025 20:58:10 2603224 Link 0 |
Well done today to Monaghan, you ran us close in the end and I expected nothing else, I feel we deserved the win though. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3168 - 20/04/2025 21:35:39 2603234 Link 1 |
You're even more disappointed with your county ....Cavan ...lol
Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 20/04/2025 22:58:55 2603261 Link 0 |
How sad you are as as a cavan supporter. But I suppose understandable lol
Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 20/04/2025 23:07:08 2603264 Link 0 |
Thank you for your positive comments & look forward to meeting you later in the summer ...will be interesting !
Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 20/04/2025 23:09:54 2603266 Link 0 |