Replying To farneygael3: "Very low key build up to the Ulster u20 semi this evening. Great chance of making a final." It's a B semi final ………
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 745 - 21/04/2025 20:48:58
Replying To farneygael3: "Very low key build up to the Ulster u20 semi this evening. Great chance of making a final." Is that like the Tailteann Cup for U20's?
SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 763 - 21/04/2025 21:18:34
Replying To SouthOfTheGap: "Is that like the Tailteann Cup for U20's?" Living your best life ;)
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 188 - 21/04/2025 22:36:42
Replying To veterngaa: "It's a B semi final ………" Doesn't matter they our still our future stars and deserve the respect. Delighted they won. Fermanagh next Monday evening. Some great individual performances tonight
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 188 - 21/04/2025 23:08:55
Replying To Farneyblueandwhite: "Cowardly football someone called its not begrudging donegal at all they were the better team but take galway they defend man on man and have more faith in defending 1 one 1 and makes for a better watch instead of setting up structures and mass defences to defend the arc and it could turn the game into going over and back the three quarter line and turn it into the crap we have been watching this last 10 years its a plague that could start if he gets success is all am saying just like from 2012 on , as for the result good luck to donegal and maybe we will meet again in the summer" You start watching football in 2012???
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 472 - 21/04/2025 23:34:04
Replying To farneygael3: "Doesn't matter they our still our future stars and deserve the respect. Delighted they won. Fermanagh next Monday evening. Some great individual performances tonight" When you see the eye watering scores both antrim and fermanagh conceded in the round robin series, it sure is a booby prize competition for Monaghan….i wouldn't be shouting from the roof tops about wining it… be much better off letting lads go back to their senior clubs then wasting time on that….
mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 569 - 22/04/2025 08:45:07
Replying To farneygael3: "Doesn't matter they our still our future stars and deserve the respect. Delighted they won. Fermanagh next Monday evening. Some great individual performances tonight" My feelings exactly. The future is bright for Monaghan football. Thanks to all the mentors of the various underage squads, along with our Minor and Under 20 management teams and with the officialdom who put them there, we can look forward to many great days with the Monaghan Seniors as these talents make the breakthrough. My advice to the whingers on here is to get out and support these young lads, instead of sniggering from their barstools.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 472 - 22/04/2025 09:25:46
Bad luck at the weekend lads. Ye gave it a serious rattle as always and I thought it was maybe our stronger bench that enabled us to do just enough to edge it. With a few men to return from injury, and a few weeks to get the heads down training before the AI groups stages, yez will be formidable opponents for anyone.
I don't mean to be patronising in any way when I say this, but Monaghan GAA are an example ot every other county in Ireland. When you see the likes of Cork, Meath and Kildare floundering around like they do, Monaghan put them to shame. Consistently very competitive against any other county in Ireland and no whinging about playing numbers and resources.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9724 - 22/04/2025 09:36:34
Replying To Farneyblueandwhite: "Cowardly football someone called its not begrudging donegal at all they were the better team but take galway they defend man on man and have more faith in defending 1 one 1 and makes for a better watch instead of setting up structures and mass defences to defend the arc and it could turn the game into going over and back the three quarter line and turn it into the crap we have been watching this last 10 years its a plague that could start if he gets success is all am saying just like from 2012 on , as for the result good luck to donegal and maybe we will meet again in the summer" There's a time to play ball and a time to stop the opposition playing ball. Jimmy McGuinness knows the difference. There have been plenty of good games of football in the past 10 years but if you look hard enough you can find terrible ones too. Plenty of high scoring games of freeflowing football are disguising the fact that neither team can defend and won't be All Ireland contenders.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7910 - 22/04/2025 10:02:08
Replying To Scenicparish: "There was no hooter fiasco. The rules clearly state that if the ball is out of play, following a score, a wide or a sideline ball when the hooter sounds the match is over." the hooter at the end didnt beat monaghan - we were beaten in the first half unfortunately but its very GAA that there is a lack of clarity
in the meath league game, the hooter sounded and we put the ball out of play and the ref still awarded the 45 for some reason...i dont feel overly begrudged about the ending on Sunday but it is a fiasco when top managers and players dont understand basic rules.
Having said that - with my monaghan tinted sunglasses on - id av loved another attack but sure who wouldnt
Best of luck to donegal in ulster - i hope we get another crack at yis later in the season
final point - in such a condensed season, it seems crazy that by the time we enter the all ireland comp, we'll have only played one game in 2 months...id be nervous that we'll be caught cold. hopefully get a favourable draw to start us off
MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 220 - 22/04/2025 10:12:10
We blew it in the first half and the chance to level in 2nd half could have swung momentum back our way but it wasn't to be.
the views from the Home fans on the Hill were clear on Sunday, Some near the camera box were particularly harsh on our own players, not to mention the abuse fired at Coldrick at the end. the fact is we played well below par in the first half but no one goes out to have a bad game.
muckla (UK) - Posts: 370 - 22/04/2025 11:01:23
Replying To MalsBalls: "the hooter at the end didnt beat monaghan - we were beaten in the first half unfortunately but its very GAA that there is a lack of clarity
in the meath league game, the hooter sounded and we put the ball out of play and the ref still awarded the 45 for some reason...i dont feel overly begrudged about the ending on Sunday but it is a fiasco when top managers and players dont understand basic rules.
Having said that - with my monaghan tinted sunglasses on - id av loved another attack but sure who wouldnt
Best of luck to donegal in ulster - i hope we get another crack at yis later in the season
final point - in such a condensed season, it seems crazy that by the time we enter the all ireland comp, we'll have only played one game in 2 months...id be nervous that we'll be caught cold. hopefully get a favourable draw to start us off" You can play after the hooter if it's a 45 or a free.
But not after a wide or a sideline kick
I think that's enough to benefit a team that is on the attack/chasing the game. Ward hit some amazing points on the day - he just (unfortunately for ye) missed that last one. Patton hit a clever sideline, knowing the clock was running down. And your full-back wasn't quick enough getting the ball back into play.
Lessons learned for (all teams) going later in championship.
It is confusing at present, but new rules are bound to cause some.
Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 22/04/2025 11:23:23
After a very poor first half from Monaghan, it was an encouraging second half display. In the first half, I thought Monaghan rushed it too much in the forward play and made some very poor decisions. Donegal were much more patient and clincical, Mogan scored some absolute beauties off his left foot in first half, he's some player. Donegal didn't allow O'Hanlon any blistering runs, which hampered us, but he did win a couple of frees when he broke through. In old rules, Monaghan would have been well beaten but I feel new rules give the weaker/underdog counties a fighting chance now in championship games. The top 3-4 teams seem to avoid going for the lesser % 2 pointers and are happy to keep the scoreboard ticking over with 1 pointers. Kerry were same Sat night and were very lucky to come through. I wonder will these top teams change approach as the championship progresses as Monaghan almost forced extra time due to 2 pointers. On team selection, it must be based on performance at training ? as otherwise, Garland hasn't done enough since Cavan game to warrant his starting position. McCarville and Woods were also poor. I'd love to see Mooney start next game as his movement was great when he came on and he also tagged on 2 points for the limited time he did have. What about Sean Jones too ? I believe he's free of injury now and he always looked dangerous when introduced. I thought it strange that Monaghan didn't opt to play with the wind in first half too after winning the toss, it worked for us against Meath in the league where we built up a good lead due to 2 pointers. Maybe management didn't want to spring Jack from the bench until much later in the game. Having Lavelle back for All Ireland series will be a big benefit and what's the word on Hamill, how long is he out for ? Anyway, looking forward to the All Ireland series now, we should give a good account of ourselves and who knows how far we'll go.
SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 153 - 22/04/2025 12:21:21
Replying To muckla: "We blew it in the first half and the chance to level in 2nd half could have swung momentum back our way but it wasn't to be.
the views from the Home fans on the Hill were clear on Sunday, Some near the camera box were particularly harsh on our own players, not to mention the abuse fired at Coldrick at the end. the fact is we played well below par in the first half but no one goes out to have a bad game." On 66minutes and two points down Jack had the chance to pull the trigger on a two pointer and didn't. Frustrating. Way things were going we were going to win the kick out had it gone to wide
farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 188 - 22/04/2025 12:43:26
Might be a bit early to start figuring out how the draw for group stages go, but here are my predictions of 4 pots, based on provincial finals and league positions. Hardest to call is Donegal/Tyrone/Armagh to win ulster (I'll go with Donegal) and maybe Louth/Kildare as Leinster finalists. We'll know a lot more next Sunday evening.
Pot 1 - Provincial winners. Kerry Donegal Galway Dublin
Pot 2 - Provincial finalists. Mayo Tyrone/Armagh Clare Louth/Kildare
League top 4 Tyrone/Armagh Monaghan Roscommon Derry
League Bottom 4 Meath Cavan Cork Down
If we ended up in a group with Clare, Louth( or Kildare) as beaten finalists and one of the league bottom 4, we should be aiming for at least 2nd spot in our group.
SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 153 - 22/04/2025 13:53:29
Good to see dessie back at 6 it his best position,o toole mcphilips definely surprise me,glad to see mooney in there he scored 2 great pts in down game and proved again that he should be starting.
Not sure about mcnulty is there a game in club or county that he doesn't kick ball short in to the goalkeeper hands from 30 to 35 yards out..Jamie brennan 1st point his defending was poor to far off his man not tide enough.
If Bobby had of being fit mcphilips probably wouldn't of got his chance so that good going in to the summer that competition for places. Donegal done great Job an o hanlon but o hanlon will shine on a dry summer day as for poor Davy garland I think its time to give mooney his chance to kick them 2 pts as young lad comming off the bench in a tide game it proves he a big game player and agaisnt lesser teams he cud be getting 3 or 4 pts from play. Interesting that with 60 mins on clock he didn't put darren in to full forward line his power to beat a man and win a free or 2 in the scoring zone may have made a big difference also I taught Wilson do well but maybe mcbennett was the better option at that time mcbennett definitely has 2 pointer in him & as a more attacking footballer when we were chasing the game .well done donegal but tyrone or armagh will be hard beat in a final.
AlanD (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 22/04/2025 14:10:56
K duffy do well in defence is it time to play lavelle back at 9 with Gary mohan in the round robin and if need be give him the man marking jobs when we need it ...lavelle ability to beat a man with his strong running and win frees in the scoring zone..midfield is a massive problem I still think mcphilips would be a great option as impact sub more than a starter.
AlanD (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 22/04/2025 14:22:15
A lot of men here mentioning Sean Joes to come back, it is my understanding that he along with a number of other men have left the panel most likely due to lack of recent game time.
Deadballmerchant (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 22/04/2025 15:13:18
Replying To SouthMonMan: "Might be a bit early to start figuring out how the draw for group stages go, but here are my predictions of 4 pots, based on provincial finals and league positions. Hardest to call is Donegal/Tyrone/Armagh to win ulster (I'll go with Donegal) and maybe Louth/Kildare as Leinster finalists. We'll know a lot more next Sunday evening.
Pot 1 - Provincial winners. Kerry Donegal Galway Dublin
Pot 2 - Provincial finalists. Mayo Tyrone/Armagh Clare Louth/Kildare
League top 4 Tyrone/Armagh Monaghan Roscommon Derry
League Bottom 4 Meath Cavan Cork Down
If we ended up in a group with Clare, Louth( or Kildare) as beaten finalists and one of the league bottom 4, we should be aiming for at least 2nd spot in our group." Fair play lad
Presumably Tyrone and armagh will avoid being grouped together as a repeat pairing? That means the odds go up we'll get one of them... But it's all just guesswork now
MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 220 - 22/04/2025 15:26:36
Replying To MalsBalls: "Fair play lad
Presumably Tyrone and armagh will avoid being grouped together as a repeat pairing? That means the odds go up we'll get one of them... But it's all just guesswork now" Only repeats of Provincial Finals are prohibited.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2251 - 22/04/2025 16:33:11