Fair play to kildare. Cian o neill v impressive on six one news. These matches at croke park have a funeral atmosphere about them. Kildare entitled to home match. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 2030 - 25/06/2018 19:56:57 2114911 Link 2 |
Up to the GPA to support their members and not support their paymasters in Croke Park Triple H (Meath) - Posts: 551 - 25/06/2018 19:58:03 2114913 Link 1 |
GAA have said it is NOT going to be played there, so if Kildare want to participate in the Super 8 they better turn up at Croke Park. The ground is just not up to scratch and your county board and team coach can grand stand all they like it simply is not fit to host a game of that size.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4975 - 25/06/2018 20:02:18 2114914 Link 2 |
if they have a ground, they don't
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4975 - 25/06/2018 20:03:00 2114915 Link 0 |
We have listened to many on here speaking of how we have to promote the games, create an atmosphere to enable our sports to compete with all the other sports competing for participation etc. Money unfortunately tuns on the lights, keep the pitches up to scratch and enable the GAA to reinvest in promoting the games at all levels. That was the whole idea behind the Super 8, big crowds, big games, great occasions and then you give us St Conlaith's!! you are having a laugh surely.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4975 - 25/06/2018 20:06:00 2114918 Link 1 |
The attendance at Newbridge has conflicting offices numbers a bit like the Mayo season ticket holders...media reporting Mayo have 3,500 season ticket holders...which is correct but don't factor in Caridre Maigh Eo season ticket holders (Mayo's Verizon of Dublin's Parnell Pass). yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12261 - 25/06/2018 20:07:36 2114919 Link 0 |
Kildare are dead right, no mayo person should be complaining about Kildare wanting to play there home game in there own county. There is enough room for season ticket holders, so what if some have to stand i think they will be alright. tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 693 - 25/06/2018 20:09:34 2114921 Link 3 |
Whatever chance there is of the GAA doing an about turn (which is close to zero), the almighty Sky sports have already put the double-header from Croker into their schedule and they wont do an about turn. ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 666 - 25/06/2018 20:11:08 2114923 Link 0 |
You haven't answered my point at all. Where in the rules does it say what decides whether a ground is 'just not up to scratch' or not & tells that county that they will have to give up home advantage ? There's nothing. So Kildare are right. KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 25/06/2018 20:18:35 2114928 Link 2 |
They do have a ground and they are entitled to home advantage, they also have plans to redevelop their grounds something that I don't hear from the Dublin County Board........oh yes they're happy to pay out dead money on renting Croker and maintaining a monopoly instead of developing a proper home venue for Dublin supporters. I say fair play to Kildare it's time this shite about the amount of season ticket holders a county has or the capacity or amount of seats a ground has, stops dictating where games are held. The Dubs get two games in Croker in the Super 8's yet Kildare can't play a round 3 qualifier at home when drawn to do so, utterly ridiculous.
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 25/06/2018 20:20:15 2114930 Link 7 |
Kildare are in the right, no questions asked!!! oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 25/06/2018 20:20:41 2114932 Link 2 |
GAA is losing its soul and Kildare absolutely right to hold their ground on this. The rules are there on how home advantage is decided and changing mid stream like this is just plain unjust. facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 232 - 25/06/2018 20:23:31 2114934 Link 1 |
Hopefully it's not a farcical situation were season ticket holders have to travel get their ticket scanned and just go home. I can't see it not being played in Croker now, tickets have already gone on sail and people may already have made hotel booking or train tickets etc. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 25/06/2018 20:26:10 2114937 Link 0 |
The revolution has started, this is not just about one game . The corporate fat cats driving around Dublin in the executive cars versus the grass roots members now tired of the corruption and lies. Can you imagine sky TV are making millions of our game, an English corporation. Dublin county team sponsored by more money than any other county, now this.....lies and reinvention of the rules to suit intake of the euro. Enough is enough , let's all get behind Kildare. Mayo for god's sake speak up and get yourselves to new bridge cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/06/2018 20:29:42 2114941 Link 3 |
Just like Dublin doesn't have a home ground capable of hosting a championship game. Glass houses and all that
spiritofeslin (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 25/06/2018 20:29:52 2114942 Link 2 |
I'm no Kildare fan. I actually dislike them. But I'm so proud of their guts on this issue and will be rooting for them no matter what happens now. Just hope they stick to their guns. Wish we had the balls to do the same thing in 2016. GAA are a joke. Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 818 - 25/06/2018 20:31:26 2114945 Link 2 |
Forgive me in case I'm assuming what your thinking? Are you saying that paying for putting the lights on is more important than giving home advantage to the team drawn out first as was, supposedly, the agreement for playoffs? If money is such a concern why not reduce ticket prices for games they know will be half full and give a knockon boost to the economy. Croke Park and other stadia are part funded by taxpayers. The GAA top brass are happy to sit on their arses when concerts fill out stadia but don't seem bothered a out money if it benefits supporters or local businesses. Super 8 is to keep the strong counties strong and let the rest have their leftovers. Time some grasroots GAA people took it over.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8762 - 25/06/2018 20:33:02 2114949 Link 4 |
Let's be clear. This has NOTHING to do with Newbridge being unfit to host the game. It's about money. If this was Kildare v Clare the game would be in Newbridge cause sky wouldn't be interested. Portlaoise has a lovely stadium capacity 27000 but we weren't allowed play Dublin there in 2016 .again because there was more money to be made by playing it elsewhere. The GAA lied about insufficient seating for Dublin season ticket holders. A year later hey Presto Portlaoise was fine for Dublin v Carlow. Well done Kildare for not tolerating this rubbish. Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 818 - 25/06/2018 20:48:02 2114955 Link 2 |
The GAA have not thought out this home advantage rule especially when it comes to the super 8s....it's blown up in their faces.. Just another point...if the game goes ahead in Newbridge and can cater for season ticket holders on both side, you will still have a situation where mayo outnumber the home support significantly just comparing season ticket holders alone ? yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12261 - 25/06/2018 20:50:32 2114957 Link 0 |
Good story this jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/06/2018 20:50:49 2114958 Link 2 |