Advertisement

Kildare V Mayo

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "The revolution has started, this is not just about one game . The corporate fat cats driving around Dublin in the executive cars versus the grass roots members now tired of the corruption and lies. Can you imagine sky TV are making millions of our game, an English corporation. Dublin county team sponsored by more money than any other county, now this.....lies and reinvention of the rules to suit intake of the euro. Enough is enough , let's all get behind Kildare. Mayo for god's sake speak up and get yourselves to new bridge"
youd love Mayo to do that , resulting them in getting kicked out if they did.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 25/06/2018 20:53:33    2114960

Replying To Vishred:  "youd love Mayo to do that , resulting them in getting kicked out if they did."
At least we'd have principles if we did.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8762 - 25/06/2018 21:02:37    2114963

Replying To yew_tree:  "The GAA have not thought out this home advantage rule especially when it comes to the super 8s....it's blown up in their faces..

Just another point...if the game goes ahead in Newbridge and can cater for season ticket holders on both side, you will still have a situation where mayo outnumber the home support significantly just comparing season ticket holders alone ?"
Well it holds 8-9k for championship games, if Mayo have 5000k season ticket holders should be a 50/50 split, Kildare can draw a big crowd if their tails are up to be honest. Can imagine given this issue they will come out in numbers.

Be plenty who would want to see this game miss out.

Not sure if many have been in Newbridge, to be honest I'd be a bit worried about safety if a big crowd is s expected.

I'm actually going to this game myself, hopefully it's in Croker.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 25/06/2018 21:05:48    2114966

Replying To Vishred:  "youd love Mayo to do that , resulting them in getting kicked out if they did."
If Mayo go to a newbridge and get kicked out of the championship along with Kildare...I wonder will Dublin, Tyrone, Galway and everyone else as a show of solidarity join Mayo and Kildare in not fulfilling any further fixtures in this years championship?....yeah right

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12261 - 25/06/2018 21:09:01    2114969

Replying To Richieq:  "They do have a ground and they are entitled to home advantage, they also have plans to redevelop their grounds something that I don't hear from the Dublin County Board........oh yes they're happy to pay out dead money on renting Croker and maintaining a monopoly instead of developing a proper home venue for Dublin supporters. I say fair play to Kildare it's time this shite about the amount of season ticket holders a county has or the capacity or amount of seats a ground has, stops dictating where games are held. The Dubs get two games in Croker in the Super 8's yet Kildare can't play a round 3 qualifier at home when drawn to do so, utterly ridiculous."
Totally agree with this. I give Kildare a lot of slagging on this forum. However I am 100% behind them. Do not move. Very impressed with O'Neill also.
Time to take back the gaa from the aigs, the big wigs who have done untold damage to football in every county apart from a few.
Now mayo don't act the fool, issue a statement saying you are prepared to go to Conleth park. The gaa don't really care about Kildare, they do care about mayo. Do the decent thing , back Kildare in this, it's the only way the gaa will crumble. They will do a uturn so quick it will spin their heads. The balls in mayos court.
Again fair play to Kildare, gone up hugely in my appreciation. Well done.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 21:10:18    2114971

Another factor I haven't seen mentioned is the fact this fixture is set at 7pm, that would mean Mayo fans who travel no matter where the game is might not be home until 2 or 3am, not much health and safety in that!

spiritofeslin (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 25/06/2018 21:10:36    2114972

There is no way this game should be played anywhere other than Newbridge. Just issue enough tickets to fill the ground & let the counties distribute them as they will.

If Man Utd get drawn away against a small club in the FA Cup then the game goes ahead unless the small team agrees to move. Bournemouth have a capacity of just over 11.000 and yet they host big clubs all season in the Premiership.

It can be done & it should be done.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 25/06/2018 21:13:28    2114976

Replying To TheUsername:  "Well it holds 8-9k for championship games, if Mayo have 5000k season ticket holders should be a 50/50 split, Kildare can draw a big crowd if their tails are up to be honest. Can imagine given this issue they will come out in numbers.

Not sure if many have been in Newbridge, to be honest I'd be a bit worried about safety if a big crowd is s expected.

I'm actually going to this game myself, hopefully it's in Croker."
It'll be an all-ticket affair so there'll be no H & S problems

'Worth pointing out that the season ticket does not guarantee a seat or even 'entry to that fixture''

https://twitter.com/depboyle/status/1011261248007221249

For far too long the GAA have run over the little guy, great to say someone stand up and say NO

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 25/06/2018 21:15:46    2114978

Replying To TheUsername:  "Well it holds 8-9k for championship games, if Mayo have 5000k season ticket holders should be a 50/50 split, Kildare can draw a big crowd if their tails are up to be honest. Can imagine given this issue they will come out in numbers.

I'm actually going to this game myself, hopefully it's in Croker."
A bit worried of safety ? Give over they'll all be fine , Kildare have a venue that holds ten thousand what's the problem here? They were drawn out first and should have home advantage and as we can see Mayo have no problem going to Newbridge. Please don't start the "safety worried" bs

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/06/2018 21:18:39    2114981

GPA have come out in support of Kildare. Kildare need to either win this or we all go to Newbridge on Saturday and cheer the lads onto the pitch and then the county board can seek to go to arbitration.

Caoimhog88 (Kildare) - Posts: 82 - 25/06/2018 21:20:35    2114982

Replying To jimbodub:  "Good story this

Could easily set a strong precedent.

But unfortunately when you sell TV rights for scores of millions to powerful broadcasters who have contractual clout in proceedings..

Scheduling decisions become something altogether more difficult.

This could possibly become quite a mess but when you sell the family silverware..."
Spot on...

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1156 - 25/06/2018 21:21:11    2114983

100% with Kildare on this one. It's their home draw, they should decide where it's played.

I'd 100% any protest by my own county if they withdrew in solidarity if Kildare were kicked out. There has to be a stand taken.

DNS16 (Dublin) - Posts: 53 - 25/06/2018 21:21:28    2114984

No need to worry about safety if it's all ticket. I think that's pretty simple and safety is another smokescreen. St Conleth's with 9000 is as safe as you like. The splattery report was rubbish.
Kildare are right, the rules are made. The marketeers need to know that moving forward does not need to exclude the roots of GAA. Dictatorships are dying in this country the GAA needs to wake up, or it too my be concidered corrupt to the core!

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 25/06/2018 21:21:53    2114986

Replying To yew_tree:  "If Mayo go to a newbridge and get kicked out of the championship along with Kildare...I wonder will Dublin, Tyrone, Galway and everyone else as a show of solidarity join Mayo and Kildare in not fulfilling any further fixtures in this years championship?....yeah right"
Couldnt care less where we play them , but why dont Kildare play the match at Croker and use these funds to help contribute to a rebuild their current stadium which is clearly not big enough in the modern era. ,

Forward thinking counties have tackled their stadium issues years ago,

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 25/06/2018 21:24:16    2114987

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "There is no way this game should be played anywhere other than Newbridge. Just issue enough tickets to fill the ground & let the counties distribute them as they will.

If Man Utd get drawn away against a small club in the FA Cup then the game goes ahead unless the small team agrees to move. Bournemouth have a capacity of just over 11.000 and yet they host big clubs all season in the Premiership.

It can be done & it should be done."
Yes a point I've often made, to be honest the release from Croke Park about serious concerns of people showing up in Newbridge without tickets is utter balderdash, the excuses that have been put out about venues in recent years has been cringeworthy. Remember O'Moore Park wasn't deemed fit to hold the Dubs v Laois in 2016 but good enough to hold Dubs v Carlow in 2017, that's the type of decision making that throws fuel on the fire of those who think money and the bigger counties are now dictating the GAA, it really is awful awful stuff.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 25/06/2018 21:24:55    2114988

one thing for sure is kildare will be in croke park sat eve and can o neill will have to eat some humble pie after comments he made on news

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 252 - 25/06/2018 21:28:20    2114990

Game wont go ahead i have heard, gaa top brass wont give in. Tough to take for kildare but at least now there is no hiding from the fact that the gaa is totally focused on money

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 367 - 25/06/2018 21:34:46    2114996

Hopefully Kildare stand their ground, surely the GAA will have to cave if they do?

Would love to see Donegal do similar re: the Dublin game being in Dublin but they won't.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 277 - 25/06/2018 21:35:11    2114997

Replying To DNS16:  "100% with Kildare on this one. It's their home draw, they should decide where it's played.

I'd 100% any protest by my own county if they withdrew in solidarity if Kildare were kicked out. There has to be a stand taken."
Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 21:35:17    2114998

Replying To royaldunne:  "Totally agree with this. I give Kildare a lot of slagging on this forum. However I am 100% behind them. Do not move. Very impressed with O'Neill also.
Time to take back the gaa from the aigs, the big wigs who have done untold damage to football in every county apart from a few.
Now mayo don't act the fool, issue a statement saying you are prepared to go to Conleth park. The gaa don't really care about Kildare, they do care about mayo. Do the decent thing , back Kildare in this, it's the only way the gaa will crumble. They will do a uturn so quick it will spin their heads. The balls in mayos court.
Again fair play to Kildare, gone up hugely in my appreciation. Well done."
Begob, quare goings-on in Kildare. If this keeps up ther will be a republic there by Christmas, mark my words.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 291 - 25/06/2018 21:39:08    2115000