Advertisement

Kildare V Mayo

I am enjoying the posters who think Mayo would have an advantage if it was in Castlebar, they bloody wouldn't! Mayo love playing in Croker, that's about it! The game should go ahead in Newbridge, end of story.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8929 - 25/06/2018 16:49:00    2114793

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I am enjoying the posters who think Mayo would have an advantage if it was in Castlebar, they bloody wouldn't! Mayo love playing in Croker, that's about it! The game should go ahead in Newbridge, end of story."
How isnt playing in Castlebar an advantage?

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 277 - 25/06/2018 16:54:08    2114799

Replying To joeteor:  "How isnt playing in Castlebar an advantage?"
Granted, The Flaker's comment was a little tongue in cheek, but in recent times they've had a pretty sorry record in McHale. It's far from the fortress you'd expect it to be given the quality of their team and the large fan base.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3163 - 25/06/2018 17:12:08    2114808

Replying To festinog:  "Classic example of Irish planning! After all the hupla around how great the super 8s will be, it turns out that not once did anyone stop to think if the infrastructure was actually in place to support it. I wonder how many other counties with teams you'd consider potential participants, don't have a stadium large enough to take advantage of the home game.

Priceless."
Waterford in the Munster hurling

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 25/06/2018 17:13:06    2114809

Replying To Green_Gold:  "This is a disgrace, Kildare and Cavan should have had their games at home, not fair at all.

Surely this is going to be an issue with the Super 8's as well, for example very few county grounds could cater for the kind of crowd that Dublin would draw."
Cavan stadium is out of use, can't play games their

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 25/06/2018 17:14:53    2114810

I heard today there were concerns about traffic in the Newbridge area on Saturday, with the Derby taking place at the Curragh. With Breffni Park out for the moment, and St. Conleth's Park too small for expected crowd, Croke Park seemed obvious choice. Oh, both games are on Sky, is that a consideration?

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 25/06/2018 17:19:42    2114811

Kildare need to hold their ground. The capacity issue is a no story. Sure team can sell 30 or 40 thousand tickets each for an All Ireland semi final but come the final they get allocated around 10k each. Half the tickets between the two teams and put it on RTE. Roscommon held their ground and it was the right thing to do.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 977 - 25/06/2018 17:21:12    2114814

So now Cavan and Tyrone fans are being called on to travel to Dublin for Cavan's "home" game? What a farce. You couldn't make this up if you tried.

Well done HQ, you really thought this one through!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3163 - 25/06/2018 17:21:59    2114816

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "I think they should move the Monaghan v Leitrim game to Croke Park instead.
I'm sure the Leitrim lads would love the opportunity to play in Croke Park.
Its not like it would give a big advantage to Monaghan. We don't exactly have a great record in Croke Park for championship matches. Won about 2 out of the last 6 matches there.. and they were rd 4 qualifiers."
Leitrim quite happy to play in Carrick. Playing in a three quarter empty Croke Park is no substitute for playing in a well filled pairc Sean.

I really hope Kildare don't budge on this one. The GAA is losing it's soul to the almighty euro and a stand needs to be made.

spiritofeslin (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 25/06/2018 17:23:57    2114819

I hate the way the GAA fixes so many games as Croke Park double headers. It leads to terrible atmospheres at these matches as the stadium is just too big and many are there are only interested in their own teams match and not the other match in the double header. If the GAA could not have accommodated this match bring played in Newbridge it should be have been switched to a neighbouring counties ground (probably Tullamore) as this would give Kildare some advantage from being drawn first (as they were suspossed to have) and lead to a great atmosphere at the game.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1416 - 25/06/2018 17:24:57    2114820

Kildare have always played big championship games in Croke Park as long as I can remember, the same with Meath.

Id say they have played more Championship games in the past 20 years in Croke Park as opposed to Newbridge.

Didn't they play Armagh last year in Croker in the qualifiers. Don't remember anyone having an issue with that.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 25/06/2018 17:28:29    2114824

Replying To joeteor:  "How isnt playing in Castlebar an advantage?"
Just having the craic man. Would far prefer Croker than Castlebar by the way. Our record and performances in Castlebar the last few years is average at best.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8929 - 25/06/2018 17:30:51    2114826

Kildare should have the biggest share of tickets in Newbridge, that's why it's called home advantage. A great venue right in the middle of the town the atmosphere will be class. Are the GAA gonna change venues every time they expect a full quota of season ticket holders to turn up and push the attendance past the attendance levels? There were less than 12,000 in Semple on Saturday and not all of Mayo supporters there were season ticket holders going by the queue for tickets. Derby weekend in the Curragh close by. If you get in you are lucky but can head to the races and make a night of it in Kildare either way. May the best team win.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8762 - 25/06/2018 17:33:29    2114828

Replying To TheUsername:  "Kildare have always played big championship games in Croke Park as long as I can remember, the same with Meath.

Id say they have played more Championship games in the past 20 years in Croke Park as opposed to Newbridge.

Didn't they play Armagh last year in Croker in the qualifiers. Don't remember anyone having an issue with that."
That was different. It was round 4 which are always neutral

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 818 - 25/06/2018 17:36:52    2114832

Kildare have a home draw and if there was a problem then at least it should have been flagged before the draw.

I think our neighbours in Kildare are totally right if they decide to make a stand and I would support them 100% on it.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 25/06/2018 17:38:22    2114834

This has all to do with money and nothing to do with Mayo or Kildare for that matter. When every draw is made the CCCCCCCCCCC (aka Sky Scheduling Committee) decide what gets played when and where. Tyrone and Cavan don't even get to stay in their own province! For Mayo supporters a trip to and from Newbridge for what's scheduled to be a late evening game would be more manageable than getting in and out of Croker. Same if they'd chosen one of the other two options, particularly Tullamore. What are the chances they'll reconsider this? I'd say none, and they'll conveniently blame it on Cavan, who have no stadium (and might have no team too!). Mind you, all 4 sets of players and management will be happy enough to get a run in Croke Park ahead of schedule.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 25/06/2018 17:55:56    2114842

the match should be in Newbridge. unless the Kildare county board and squad are happpy with it moving

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 25/06/2018 18:12:30    2114850

Roscommon stood their ground and rightfully got the home game they were due. Kildare should be no different. As long as a pitch is in good condition no team should be forced to forfeit home advantage

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1716 - 25/06/2018 18:16:59    2114853

Replying To spiritofeslin:  "Leitrim quite happy to play in Carrick. Playing in a three quarter empty Croke Park is no substitute for playing in a well filled pairc Sean.

I really hope Kildare don't budge on this one. The GAA is losing it's soul to the almighty euro and a stand needs to be made."
good point.. looking forward to game in Carrick myself on Saturday. Should be a good atmosphere. Monaghan should bring a big crowd too.
Looks like the GAA want the Sky Sports double bill in Croker.!! tut tut

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 182 - 25/06/2018 18:21:49    2114857

Replying To kildare73:  "If it was good enough for Tyrone a couple of years ago for a qualifier I don't see how it's not good enough for Mayo. Disgrace if it's moved but you just know it will be. We should nominate Aughrim as our alternate venue!"
Regarding your comment we don't mind where we play it wasn't our decision it was HQ they want the money to go Mayo fans will support ye on this. I am sure the stadium can accommodate everyone.

LauraMayo18 (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 25/06/2018 18:22:35    2114858