This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
RTE sunday Sport had the wrong score of the Down SFC Final today and then proceed to tell us Burren won , when in fact Kilcoo won
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 05/10/2014 21:26:44
i love how rte often portray the GAA in a violent negative way. You don't see it with the two other main codes, Rugby and Soccer and the funny thing is you'd have more fights in Rugby matches than GAA and the supporters at many a soccer match in this country and abroad would kick lumps out of eachother if they weren't segregated.
The link below is to a punch thrown in the rugby league grand slam final and it got me thinking. The English or Irish media won't be calling for a cleaning of Rugby over this or numerous other brawls that take place but how often does it happen when a GAA club match has a brawl. Double standards to say the least.
http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/9513493/flower-sees-red-in-grand-final-
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 11/10/2014 21:00:33
11/10/2014 21:00:33 Jack_Goff i love how rte often portray the GAA in a violent negative way. You don't see it with the two other main codes, Rugby and Soccer and the funny thing is you'd have more fights in Rugby matches than GAA and the supporters at many a soccer match in this country and abroad would kick lumps out of eachother if they weren't segregated.
The link below is to a punch thrown in the rugby league grand slam final and it got me thinking. The English or Irish media won't be calling for a cleaning of Rugby over this or numerous other brawls that take place but how often does it happen when a GAA club match has a brawl. Double standards to say the least.They don't do it often and when and how often do you see similar in rugby games in Ireland that are televised or where cameras are present Do you really have more fights in rugby matches? Proof please. What do you have that backs up that You are using rugby league in England to back up a point about the irish media. Cmon man...
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/10/2014 21:15:07
Rugby in Ireland avoids negative media coverage in two ways. 1. Most rugby violence goes unreported and 2. rugby violence which is reported is excused away by sympathetic commentators. Unlike football and hurling very few rugby matches actually merit media coverage. Most rugby reports in provincial newspapers are provided by rugby club PRO's who deliberately ignore all acts of violence. A good example of this is a Junior 1 match which I played in some years ago. The opposition won the first two scrums against the head. When the next ruck formed our hooker waited for the opposition No.2 to go to ground and he then rushed in and kicked him in the head, the worst unprovoked act of violence I have ever witnessed on a sports field. Our hooker was sent off, another rare sanction in rugby. I also happened to be club PRO at the time and immediately after the match I was approached by senior club officials and warned in no uncertain terms not to include details of the incident in my match report. That was the most serious unreported incident but was by no means the only one. So now you know why there are no violent incidents in rugby at least no reported incidents. If you want to hear how sympathetic commentators (fans with microphones) play down recorded incidents of rugby violence, just google 'fights Irish rugby' and you will witness hours of violence excused away by the professional media.
mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 12/10/2014 13:48:12
12/10/2014 13:48:12 mediaman Rugby in Ireland avoids negative media coverage in two ways. 1. Most rugby violence goes unreported and 2. rugby violence which is reported is excused away by sympathetic commentators. Unlike football and hurling very few rugby matches actually merit media coverage. Most rugby reports in provincial newspapers are provided by rugby club PRO's who deliberately ignore all acts of violence. A good example of this is a Junior 1 match which I played in some years ago. The opposition won the first two scrums against the head. When the next ruck formed our hooker waited for the opposition No.2 to go to ground and he then rushed in and kicked him in the head, the worst unprovoked act of violence I have ever witnessed on a sports field. Our hooker was sent off, another rare sanction in rugby. I also happened to be club PRO at the time and immediately after the match I was approached by senior club officials and warned in no uncertain terms not to include details of the incident in my match report. That was the most serious unreported incident but was by no means the only one. So now you know why there are no violent incidents in rugby at least no reported incidents. If you want to hear how sympathetic commentators (fans with microphones) play down recorded incidents of rugby violence, just google 'fights Irish rugby' and you will witness hours of violence excused away by the professional media.HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA rugby in Ireland doesn't avoid negative media coverage and maybe all your criticisms should be directed to the GAA and the media who primarily follow GAA for the completely negative coverage you feel the GAA receives. Very arrogant of you to say very few rugby games actually merit media coverage. Which games in your esteemed view are those that "actually merit media coverage" As for your pathetic jibes against amateur pro's. Cop on to yourself And sendings off are not a rare occurance in rugby. Speaking as a referee who attends disciplinary meetings in 2 provinces. I will totally disagree with that viewpoint
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/10/2014 14:00:45
I see RTEs biggest supporters have crawled back out again after disappearing for a while when the non reporting of Jim McGuinness's departure was being discussed. It would appear even that was a step too far for RTE.
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 12/10/2014 19:15:30
12/10/2014 19:15:30 Soma I see RTEs biggest supporters have crawled back out again after disappearing for a while when the non reporting of Jim McGuinness's departure was being discussed. It would appear even that was a step too far for RTE. Soma have the balls to call me out by name rather than hiding behind crap like "RTEs biggest supporters" Im not a big supporter of RTE at all and don't think they give any sport the correct and appropriate level of coverage. Rugby only now has the internationals shown live with no highlights of provincial games and provinces only get coverage on the news but we wont let that get in the way of you arrogantly dismissing me in the exact way you criticise me for posting towards others.... hypocrite
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/10/2014 20:14:21
what are your thoughts ormo on the non reporting of the departure of jim mcguiness?..the most high profile manager stepping down in the main sport?
fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 12/10/2014 21:38:40
highlighting the fact that Saturday mornings sports news on the radio didn't bother to mention that Jim McGuinness had stepped down as Donegal manager the night before.
i'd be interested to know if you actually listened to rte radio that morning yourself? cos jim mcguinness retiring was the main sports story and the only sports story on the 6am news bulletin on rte radio 1, there's no sports bulletins after that until the afternoon, at which point it was the first story covered by Saturday Sport and included clips of jim mcguinness speaking and an interview with the donegal chairman....it was also the main sports story for the first sports bulletin on 2fm that saturday
farneyfriend (Monaghan) - Posts: 37 - 13/10/2014 11:16:51
Ah farneyfriend don't you know reality has nothing to do with anything when attacking RTE on here! Radio 1 had fantastic coverage of all the clubs games over weekend, there was also great discussion on changes to champo structure, playing '2nd tier' finals on All-Ireland final day instead of minors, All Star selections...etc , great stuff from RTE
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4663 - 13/10/2014 13:23:38
12/10/2014 21:38:40 fabio8 what are your thoughts ormo on the non reporting of the departure of jim mcguiness?..the most high profile manager stepping down in the main sport? Ormonds thoughts are that there was plenty of coverage of jim mc Guinness departure as mentioned by farney etc
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/10/2014 14:00:37
Farneyfriend I didn't hear the news that morning but it seems unlikely that the Sunday Independent would invent such an oversight just to fill column inches. I know from discussing sky viewing figures on here that your 'facts' can be a little out sometimes. There is no doubt RTE radio do some good GAA features presented by people with a passion for the game, but for news items, naming of teams etc they are frequently lacking.
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 13/10/2014 14:59:49
Soma, considering the mistake i made with my last post on sky do ya not think i double checked before i posted this!!!
when i saw the original post i actually took the time to check this out cos i thought it was very unlikely that RTE wouldn't have reported on it (unfortunately my work involves me being on the road most saturdays from 5.30am until lunchtime so i know all too well there's no sports bulletins most of the morning but i knew there was definitely one at either 6 or 7), the story was 100% on the 6am news, i have the clip of it, and i'm sure with a bit of research it wouldn't be too hard for you to verify this for yourself
and don't worry, we all make the odd mistake when posting on here from time to time :-D
farneyfriend (Monaghan) - Posts: 37 - 13/10/2014 15:38:15
13/10/2014 14:59:49 Soma Farneyfriend I didn't hear the news that morning but it seems unlikely that the Sunday Independent would invent such an oversight just to fill column inches. I know from discussing sky viewing figures on here that your 'facts' can be a little out sometimes. There is no doubt RTE radio do some good GAA features presented by people with a passion for the game, but for news items, naming of teams etc they are frequently lacking. You don't know much about the Sunday Independent if you think they wouldn't invent or twist something to fill column inches to suit an agenda. Irelands most popular newspaper the SINDO is a rag red top of the highest order. Awful awful trash of a newspaper
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/10/2014 15:45:43
i agree with you on the sindo..no doubt...a rag
fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 13/10/2014 16:09:16
Ormond last season Rte showed 57 rugby games compared to 17 football games and 14 hurling game fair coverage my backside. The will still show more rugby this season then the will show football or hurling matches. It was very lazy by rte not to bother read out or show the results of the few county finals that were on yesterday on the nine o clock news last night.
ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 13/10/2014 16:42:56
Jaysus Ros1 I was fairly vexed when i read your post bt i went on the player there watched the clip from last nights news, they showed clips from 3 club matches and then said for all the results go to such an such a website and showed the link to the website, is this not sufficient for club games? i thought by your post they had ignored the county finals altogether, and yea before ya say it i know that's not what ya said
some ppl are never happy, ya can't have 24 hour gaa coverage
best thing that could happen and i'd love it would be for the gaa to have their own channel and then we wouldn't have to put up with rte or the rte basher brigade
turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 13/10/2014 17:29:19
ROS1 County: Roscommon Posts: 102
1663254 It was very lazy by rte not to bother read out or show the results of the few county finals that were on yesterday on the nine o clock news last night.
Agreed. RTE's failure to read out the results of any county football or hurling finals (like they've done in the past), referring us instead to their website to get the results, was a complete pile of dog doo-doo.
Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1208 - 13/10/2014 17:58:58
Just to put put people in the picture re coverage Jim McGuinness retiring:
It was breaking news on the late TV news at 11.45pm on Friday night after the LLS.
I received text messages from friends who heard this news and tuned in to Saturday RTE radio 8.00am news & papers .. no mention of any retirement.
There followed a detailed sports bulletin read by Brian Carthy (senior GAA reporter) and again not a mention of Jim McGuinness .. I found this very strange even for a reporter who favours coverage of Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone and Roscommon football.. I then checked and found the story confirmed on the RTE website.
It was covered and discussed on Saturday Sports in the afternoon.
Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 632 - 13/10/2014 20:47:40
13/10/2014 16:42:56 ROS1 Ormond last season Rte showed 57 rugby games compared to 17 football games and 14 hurling game fair coverage my backside. The will still show more rugby this season then the will show football or hurling matches. It was very lazy by rte not to bother read out or show the results of the few county finals that were on yesterday on the nine o clock news last night. The rugby season and not including pre season lasts 9 months of the year. Their is 4 provincial teams who play 26 games each in the league. Rugby is the primary professional sport in the country so of course will get large coverage it also has an international element the GAA doesn't. What would be fair coverage of the hurling and gaelic bearing in mind RTE have lost coverage of some games to Sky and also don't cover the league for counties? RTE will be showing the 15 6 Nations games, the u20 and women's 6 nations games and the November internationals. that is 25/26 games. Take it up with the newsreader who chose to include what they said in their news report. He/She decides what goes out on the airways 13/10/2014 17:29:19 turkeyplucker Jaysus Ros1 I was fairly vexed when i read your post bt i went on the player there watched the clip from last nights news, they showed clips from 3 club matches and then said for all the results go to such an such a website and showed the link to the website, is this not sufficient for club games? i thought by your post they had ignored the county finals altogether, and yea before ya say it i know that's not what ya said some ppl are never happy, ya can't have 24 hour gaa coverage best thing that could happen and i'd love it would be for the gaa to have their own channel and then we wouldn't have to put up with rte or the rte basher brigade +1 but who would fund this GAA channel and where would you broadcast it from etc
13/10/2014 17:58:58 Tacaí Liatroma Agreed. RTE's failure to read out the results of any county football or hurling finals (like they've done in the past), referring us instead to their website to get the results, was a complete pile of dog doo-doo. why is that poor from them?
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 13/10/2014 21:01:12