Kerry Dublin - Who are the neutrals shouting for?

I agree slayer, they are doing a great job it must be said. If the dubs take the same hiding in the game that they are getting in the mind games then it will be over by halftime. This is very much like a kerry all irelands of old, where they only had to start playing in the semi final. They could come out of the traps flying on sunday, nobody knows. If it was mayo playing them I have to admit I would be a bit nervous at present!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/08/2013 21:25:30    1471156

I'd like to see Dublin winning SAM. Their fans don't really be into rubbing other teams noses in it when they win or whinge much when they lose. They just seem to get on with it though I do think some of their behaviour over 'spitgate' was wrong. There did seem to be a definate closing of the ranks between Dublin, the GAA and media.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9823 - 29/08/2013 21:38:38    1471170

kerry definitely. limerick froze in the hurling but kerry will not do the same.

SAMTHEMAN73 (Limerick) - Posts: 72 - 29/08/2013 21:48:44    1471186

Darragh is spot on with how kerry see dublin, they dont rate them.

Dublin dont have much heritage. The AIs they got pre 1960 involved mostly non dubs.
They are basically a 7-8 AI county, on par with Meath, Limerick or Cavan. Thats their level. Once you take away the AIs that pad their record.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 30/08/2013 12:26:01    1471343

@Ulsterman - You must have been living in a cave with your fingers in your ears, screaming, for the whole of 2011.

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 30/08/2013 12:46:49    1471362

I'd shout for 30 counties against the Dubs, and I'd shout for 30 counties against Kerry, but I'd rather see the Dubs win as they play a better brand of football (no blanket defence), aren't near as cynical as Kerry and it would go against every fibre of my being to ever shout for Kerry ( and you can be sure they feel the same about us, though some will try and give you the yerra and say they do but don't believe a word of it)

And if ye Dubs and Kerrymen think I don't like ye, just to put it into perspective I can tell ye that I'd shout for 31 counties, England and the Orcs from the Lord of The rings against Kilkenny . Now, I really, really don't like them.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 30/08/2013 14:52:20    1471476

I'll take a wild guess and say Kerry.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 30/08/2013 15:27:45    1471506

As a Corkman - I want them both to lose! - As they can't, then neither winning, so perpetual Draws !!

omahant (USA) - Posts: 3313 - 30/08/2013 15:29:22    1471507

So basically Keyzer you don't like the successful counties?!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 30/08/2013 15:43:43    1471525

KeyserSoze, are the orcs the lads with the english accents? Quare lookin hawks alright!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/08/2013 15:56:44    1471538

No JMK - I'm a Cork supporter, and we have far more All Ireland titles between the codes and across the grades than any other county. I don't mind the other member of the hurling triumvirate, Tipp, one bit, always good craic to be had with their fans too. And I positively LOVE Tyrone footballers , the team of the noughties decade.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 30/08/2013 15:59:40    1471541

You have to think that there is one last kick left in these kerry men. They have been rested all year (in hindsight they probably had an even softer run than ourselves), got a good quarter final draw and now here they are. If anything is going to get that kick out of them it is a much fancied young dublin team in a semi in a packed croker. Lets hope it lives up to the billing, because if it does we will be in for a truely great game.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/08/2013 16:15:09    1471549

Well you've a problem with the two Football counties that far exceed Cork's All Ireland Senior Footballing successes and the only county that exceed Cork's All Ireland Senior Hurling successes! Inferiority complex there I'd say!! Haha you're not going to rise me with that team of the decade one!!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 30/08/2013 16:20:41    1471552

JMK

1471552 Well you've a problem with the two Football counties that far exceed Cork's All Ireland Senior Footballing successes and the only county that exceed Cork's All Ireland Senior Hurling successes! Inferiority complex there I'd say!! Haha you're not going to rise me with that team of the decade one!!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sure only one county far exceeds what Cork have won in football, surely you are not talking about the Culchies United Front team that played in the Dublin colours until 1958? Sure every county has a part of those All Irelands and why would someone from the most successful county the GAA has ever seen , in fact the country's top sporting county ,have any "inferiority complex"? And that must be most overused cliché in sports forums all around the world and all over the cyber-globe. Could you not do a bit more of your yerra if you can't even be remotely original.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 30/08/2013 17:05:06    1471591

I like Dublin and Dublin may shade this one. But I hope Kerry will win. Dublin could beat Mayo in the final but Kerry would beat Mayo in the final.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 30/08/2013 17:08:23    1471593

Hey keyser congrats to cork on winning the junior allireland. I heard ye beat a good Kildare team.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/08/2013 18:09:20    1471630

Its not the fault of Dublin if lads wanted to abandon their counties because they had a better offer and were ashamed of their own!
Dublin was like the 'Free World' for culchies back then with Lucan serving as a sort of Ellis Island staging post! Sure didnt the 'Deadmans Inn' pub get its name from the fact that any culchie that died on markat days in Dublin was brought to it to be waked and collected there!!........'Ellis Island' lad!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 30/08/2013 18:13:57    1471633

@ KeyserSoze

Ahh come on now Dublin have 23 all irelands no matter how many "culchies" played with them. I'm sure as Cork is a big city ye would have had a few non-corkonians playing for ye down through the years. Sure ye have an Antrim player starting at the moment!!

Even the fact you have to point out that Cork is "the most successful county the GAA has ever seen" shows your inferiority complex! I'd say now you can't accept that Cork aren't the best at either Hurling or Football so you put your hate onto Kilkenny, Kerry and Dublin for their successes. Shame really!

JMK (Kerry) - Posts: 273 - 30/08/2013 18:14:57    1471634

@ JMK :Oh, the Antrim fella, is it? You're obviously one of those Kerrymen who has never heard of Dan O'Keefe. I'll tell you about him. He won 7 All Irelands playing for Kerry and was named on the GAA football team of the millennium. People might say he must have been one of the best Kerrymen ever to play football . Except they couldn't - because he was a Corkman from Fermoy. I'm glad to cast a light of knowledge into your darkness of ignorance and you can thank me when you get back up off the floor.

@Kingdomboy1 : Thanks. I believe that was essentially the Kildare senior B team as they are not restricted to picking from intermediate and junior reams

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 30/08/2013 18:34:14    1471647

dont mind that langer, took two of our best lads to win those AIs for them over 20 years ago

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 30/08/2013 18:37:17    1471652