Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""They genuinely think Kilkenny are the 2nd best team in the country..."

So do all the bookmakers. Everyone one of them has Kilkenny as 2nd favourites to win the All-Ireland."
That's because people will back them.

Kilkenny will always be there. They will always find ways to win tight games.

We'll see how they go this year, but I'd argue they aren't in the best place at the minute.

Having said that, they weren't great last year and still managed to win Leinster, beat the next best in Munster and tear into Limerick for 40 minutes.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 29/01/2024 21:48:26    2523182

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That's because people will back them.

We'll see how they go this year, but I'd argue they aren't in the best place at the minute.

Having said that, they weren't great last year and still managed to win Leinster, beat the next best in Munster and tear into Limerick for 40 minutes."
Yeah they left everything on the pitch (they always do) but they got a lesson from Limerick and there's no gainsaying that.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 425 - 29/01/2024 22:15:43    2523186

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That's a brilliant list.

Larry Murphy is another legend of our time.

Rory McCarthy was a wizard, although far too inconsistent.

I always thought Paul Codd was all Star material and was very unlucky in the era he was in.

Darragh Ryan was the best full back in the country for a couple of years but his career was just too short at that level.

Fitzy is an all time great. In my opinion the greatest.

Personally I think Damien Reck is the best hurler in Wexford.

ROC has the potential to be our main man. He's just so injury prone.

Another thing, if McGovern's time has come, he's one we'll look back on as a legend. Motm every time it really mattered. Amazing Goals, blistering pace, the knees went, he not only came back but reinvented himself and hit another peak.

What are the best scores you can recall?"
1- Eoin Quigleys point in 2005. Best Wexford score I ever saw.
2- Mick Jacob 2004 Cody falling on the floor
3- Rory McCarthy 2003 lived to fight another day
4- Cathal Dunbar u21 LSFv Carlow think it was the second goal he soloed in from miles out
5- Billy Byrnes goal and point 1997 settled the nerves.
6- Fannings penalty in 2019 after Rory was flattened. Thought it was slipping away from us.
7- Dunbars goal v Offaly at u21 in 2015 after a team move the length of the pitch after a save and a great final pass from Mac.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 22:32:15    2523189

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Tbf it got even worse for Galway once they left Munster too, lost an all Ireland quarter final to London in 1973. Galway almost fell off the face of the hurling world from the late 50s on. Disorganization and no desire to play with county team, nearly a very similar fate to what Antrim went through in that time....throw in the troubles in the mid 70s onwards for Antrim and they actually become more of force nearly out of defiance.
But Galway hurling really is one of the biggest successes of the GAA in the last 50 years, went from nearly loosing a top county to becoming a county that looks at getting to finals or winning every year since the mid 70s. Was always and is to a certain extent a sleeping giant. But since the mid 70s they've probably been the biggest force at underage and club hurling with Kilkenny...just don't have the senior all Ireland's to show...although 4 for a county that went from nearly intermediate/junior level to senior all Ireland Champs in 7 years is a fair testament to them.
Would be great if we got another hurling county to transform like that. Wexford and Offaly probably the next best example of that with Wexford from 50s-70s and Offaly 80s-2000...both probably didn't have the population and lapses in underage to continue it on. Would be great if Offaly or even a Laois could do a run like that."
That team of the 80s was a great team though before my time. The team of the teens were too, except a lack of deep down belief coupled with Kilkenny and Tipp having great teams at the same time meant they only had the one AI to show for it. And then the big green machine clicked into gear!
But really Galway should've been a part of a big 4. And much though I've thought about it I've no answer as to why it wasn't so over the history of the hurling championship.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 23:18:03    2523204

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Lee Chin definitely the best of the current generation. Lots of very solid and dependable lads like Dee, Liam Ryan, Liam Og but Lee probably in that class above those lads. Hard to look past Liam Dunne and Damien Fitzhenry as the best hurlers Wexford have had the last 30 years, the only Wexford hurlers of the last 30 years who could claim to be the best player in their position in Ireland and they played in positions which were filled by some high quality players. If we were to pick a best 15 of the all the counties in Ireland over the last 10 years, Lee is realistically the only Wexford man who's in with a shout of making that team. I think he's super, he can do things that no one else can do on the current panel and the one man Wexford have that really strikes worry in the opposition.
Rory O'Connor could and should be in this convo and tbh if you asked me 7 years ago would Rory be one of the best forwards in the game, something at the levels of Aaron Gillane, Conor Whelan, Eoin Cody, I would've put the house on it. He still has time, but he's 26 this year and hasn't really kicked on at all, I know injuries have played their part too. Mac, something similar after his 2014 at just 18. Davy trying to make a decent wing forward of him, instead of a top inside forward also didn't help and now he struggles against any full back in a top team who might edge him physically. That being said he's still only 28 and could get two or 3 top years out of him but hard to see it at this stage."
Doylerwex asked what were scores that stuck in my mind and I suppose it might be a surprise to some that I picked out a goal from an u21 game against Carlow. The reason was as I left the ground that sunny evening I was convinced we were on the cusp of something special. An inside line of Mac, Dunbar and O Connor was going to terrorise full back lines for years I was full sure of it. I was somewhat deflated when Richie Leahy inspired Kilkenny to beat us in the final. Leaving that game I was worried he'd become the next King Henry. Both things never came to pass just goes to show how wrong you can be!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 23:25:59    2523206

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That's because people will back them.

Having said that, they weren't great last year and still managed to win Leinster, beat the next best in Munster and tear into Limerick for 40 minutes."
I think a lot of Kilkennys success is down to Ballyhale Shamrocks producing brilliant forwards.

If you look at the semi-final last year v Clare TJ Reid (12pts), Eoin Cody (1-5) & Adrian Mullen (2pts) scored 1-19 out of the 1-25 that bet Clare.

In the successful era before that you had King Henry, Michael & Colin Fennelly, Cha Fitz & TJ Reid.

Obviously Kilkenny have produced some other fabulous hurlers like JJ, Tommy Walsh, Ritchie Power but Ballyhale forwards have been always central to Kilkennys success.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 1028 - 30/01/2024 07:56:29    2523219

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Lee Chin definitely the best of the current generation. Lots of very solid and dependable lads like Dee, Liam Ryan, Liam Og but Lee probably in that class above those lads. Hard to look past Liam Dunne and Damien Fitzhenry as the best hurlers Wexford have had the last 30 years, the only Wexford hurlers of the last 30 years who could claim to be the best player in their position in Ireland and they played in positions which were filled by some high quality players. If we were to pick a best 15 of the all the counties in Ireland over the last 10 years, Lee is realistically the only Wexford man who's in with a shout of making that team. I think he's super, he can do things that no one else can do on the current panel and the one man Wexford have that really strikes worry in the opposition.
Rory O'Connor could and should be in this convo and tbh if you asked me 7 years ago would Rory be one of the best forwards in the game, something at the levels of Aaron Gillane, Conor Whelan, Eoin Cody, I would've put the house on it. He still has time, but he's 26 this year and hasn't really kicked on at all, I know injuries have played their part too. Mac, something similar after his 2014 at just 18. Davy trying to make a decent wing forward of him, instead of a top inside forward also didn't help and now he struggles against any full back in a top team who might edge him physically. That being said he's still only 28 and could get two or 3 top years out of him but hard to see it at this stage."
He's not 28 yet. He's only 26 this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 30/01/2024 08:18:49    2523225

Replying To Viking66:  "1- Eoin Quigleys point in 2005. Best Wexford score I ever saw.
2- Mick Jacob 2004 Cody falling on the floor
3- Rory McCarthy 2003 lived to fight another day
4- Cathal Dunbar u21 LSFv Carlow think it was the second goal he soloed in from miles out
5- Billy Byrnes goal and point 1997 settled the nerves.
6- Fannings penalty in 2019 after Rory was flattened. Thought it was slipping away from us.
7- Dunbars goal v Offaly at u21 in 2015 after a team move the length of the pitch after a save and a great final pass from Mac."
I don't think I can top that list but I'll try add to it with some famous and some obscure.

Rory Mac point in 96 aisf against Galway.

Rory Mac overhead doubled goal against Limerick in 01 aiqf.

Rory Mac, 06 aifq against Clare. The Paul Codd hand pass was out of this world although we were hammered.

Mitch Jordan goal against cork 03 aisf

Mikey Dwyer, Nowlan Park 22 point

Fitzy penalty tipp 07. I couldn't believe we were going to beat them after the Leinster final horror show

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 30/01/2024 09:59:23    2523236

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""They genuinely think Kilkenny are the 2nd best team in the country..."

So do all the bookmakers. Everyone one of them has Kilkenny as 2nd favourites to win the All-Ireland."
Realistically there's about 5 or 6 teams at the moment all at the 1 level just below Limerick, Kilkenny are 1 of them and Wexford are not based on recent championship showings.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 30/01/2024 10:09:58    2523239

Come to think of it... Chin's goal in 19 aisf....for ten glorious minutes I was sure we were going all the way.

Or Clare in 14. There were 20k of us in the park. Nobody but Jack guiney saw Harry kehoe running up the wing

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 30/01/2024 10:26:36    2523241

Replying To Viking66:  "He's not 28 yet. He's only 26 this year."
I think himself and Conor mac did not develop at the rate we hoped but that's life.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 30/01/2024 11:00:08    2523252

Replying To Viking66:  "He's not 28 yet. He's only 26 this year."
Conor Mac is 28....born in 95, turns 29 this year at some stage actually.
Rory O'Connor born in 98 is 26 this year

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 30/01/2024 11:21:27    2523258

4 of last Sunday's team playing Fitzgibbon Thursday night so not sure if that will effect team selection next Sunday. Niall Murphy and Richie Lawlor with DCU and Eoin Ryan and Charlie with UCD who are playing Carlow IT with James Lawlor, Paidi Casey and Michael Dundon all in team for them,

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 30/01/2024 11:28:27    2523260

Replying To Viking66:  "You didn't win many AIs before JP got involved with Limerick Baire."
How many AIs did ye win during Cody's reign or since Galway's arrival? Ye were blaming him for your demise and nowadays it's Galway's fault. Have a look in the mirror for a change.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 30/01/2024 11:28:58    2523261

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Teir sibh thar nais go dti Connacht as bhur do thoil fein i 1959. Bhi sibh failte go mor in gach leibeail san cead La i Mhumain ach nil an Galliamh sasta le sinn. Bhi go han cneasta libh ar fad."
Muimhneachas maíteach agus cacGhaeilge!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 30/01/2024 11:31:45    2523262

It's hard to quantify the best, but Chin is by far the most exciting hurler I've ever seen play for Wexford. The sense of anticipation when he gets on the ball you don't get with anyone else. He's capable of anything.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 304 - 30/01/2024 11:35:53    2523264

Good debate as usual here. I laugh when I see posters from other counties join the discussion, it is the best page on HS by a long way. I would love Dublin debate to be like it but I might be as well off getting BarneyGrants number. Anyway!

Galway would have half the club All-Irelands if they had to negotiate either Munster or Leinster. Dublin clubs often came a cropper in Leinster but would have beaten Antrim teams in challenge matches. To claim winning 2 matches as a sign of great clubs is pushing it.

I didn't see the Wexford match but I heard a bit on the radio. It sounded like 2 mid strength teams going at it but mercifully Wexford have decided to mix the direct with the planned. Its about 6 years after they should have been doing it. Wexford need to find new faces for the league, so it is good to see players giving it and putting their hand up. But its only Jan. The real challenges begin at the weekend, and even then they REAL challenges begin in April.

I'm an immigrant to the county (!!!) but for me, watching Wexford since the late 80s and properly from the 90s the best is by a mile Liam Dunne. He just had it all. Next 4 would be Fitzehenry, Rossiter, Darragh Ryan and Martin Storey. Chin is a monster and the best conditioned player Wexford ever hard, but he needs to do it in May/June every year before he will be one of the greats. I thought McDonald, Guiney and Rory O'Connor could be and 2 still could, but they need to deliver when the stakes are highest, not in a Walsh Cup.

KK Podcast, I pay no podcast any heed. They got a programme and said "heard of him, championship starter". Most podcasters on GAA are clowns who do no research.

"Realistically there's about 5 or 6 teams at the moment all at the 1 level just below Limerick, Kilkenny are 1 of them and Wexford are not based on recent championship showings.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1408 - 30/01/2024 10:09:58 2523239"

I think that is right. Time will tell whether it is a different Wexford this year.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1583 - 30/01/2024 11:37:06    2523265

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Good debate as usual here. I laugh when I see posters from other counties join the discussion, it is the best page on HS by a long way. I would love Dublin debate to be like it but I might be as well off getting BarneyGrants number. Anyway!

Galway would have half the club All-Irelands if they had to negotiate either Munster or Leinster. Dublin clubs often came a cropper in Leinster but would have beaten Antrim teams in challenge matches. To claim winning 2 matches as a sign of great clubs is pushing it.

I didn't see the Wexford match but I heard a bit on the radio. It sounded like 2 mid strength teams going at it but mercifully Wexford have decided to mix the direct with the planned. Its about 6 years after they should have been doing it. Wexford need to find new faces for the league, so it is good to see players giving it and putting their hand up. But its only Jan. The real challenges begin at the weekend, and even then they REAL challenges begin in April.

I'm an immigrant to the county (!!!) but for me, watching Wexford since the late 80s and properly from the 90s the best is by a mile Liam Dunne. He just had it all. Next 4 would be Fitzehenry, Rossiter, Darragh Ryan and Martin Storey. Chin is a monster and the best conditioned player Wexford ever hard, but he needs to do it in May/June every year before he will be one of the greats. I thought McDonald, Guiney and Rory O'Connor could be and 2 still could, but they need to deliver when the stakes are highest, not in a Walsh Cup.

KK Podcast, I pay no podcast any heed. They got a programme and said "heard of him, championship starter". Most podcasters on GAA are clowns who do no research.

"Realistically there's about 5 or 6 teams at the moment all at the 1 level just below Limerick, Kilkenny are 1 of them and Wexford are not based on recent championship showings.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1408 - 30/01/2024 10:09:58 2523239"

I think that is right. Time will tell whether it is a different Wexford this year."
How many competitive games do the Dublin footballers have to play to get to an AISF? Would you cast aspersions on their All Ireland wins? What about Cody's easy route out of Leinster for most of his time in charge of KK?
You wouldn't make those remarks about the achievement of Galway hurling clubs if you knew anything about club hurling or the history of club hurling in Galway.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 30/01/2024 11:58:14    2523268

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I don't think I can top that list but I'll try add to it with some famous and some obscure.

Rory Mac point in 96 aisf against Galway.

Rory Mac overhead doubled goal against Limerick in 01 aiqf.

Rory Mac, 06 aifq against Clare. The Paul Codd hand pass was out of this world although we were hammered.

Mitch Jordan goal against cork 03 aisf

Mikey Dwyer, Nowlan Park 22 point

Fitzy penalty tipp 07. I couldn't believe we were going to beat them after the Leinster final horror show"
Top list there also! Can't believe I didn't list Mikeys point in Nowlan Park it was only a couple of years ago!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 30/01/2024 12:10:17    2523270

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Come to think of it... Chin's goal in 19 aisf....for ten glorious minutes I was sure we were going all the way.

Or Clare in 14. There were 20k of us in the park. Nobody but Jack guiney saw Harry kehoe running up the wing"
That was some diagonal pass I was right behind it it was inch perfect!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 30/01/2024 12:11:12    2523271