Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Even as a harriers man I think that's a stretch. Most important maybe. Not the best in my opinion."
Id agree with Viking . In my early 30s myself and cant remember a better Wexford hurler than Chin

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 29/01/2024 17:24:33    2523097

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Even as a harriers man I think that's a stretch. Most important maybe. Not the best in my opinion."
I look at hurlers as more than just stick men Doylerwex. Although Chins stick work has improved immensely over the last 10 years.
Heart, balls, leadership etc, the intangibles, are also a big part of being a great hurler. Liam Dunne had all that in spades also. Who would you rate higher than those 2 in the last 30 odd years? Anyone before that would really be before my time.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 17:32:06    2523102

Replying To Viking66:  "Just did a tot up. In the last 13 Senior games since the start of 2019 we have only lost once to Kilkenny over 70 minutes, and twice altogether. Yet they have won 4 Leinsters to our 1, and reached 3 AI finals to our none.
I'm really hopeful Lyng and his lads will be mindful of this statistic and come out ferocious next Sunday. They haven't beaten us at Senior over 70 minutes in the last 6 meetings, and haven't beaten us at all in the last 5, and have lost the last 4. If they lose on Sunday that will be 5 on the bounce, and I'm pretty sure that's never happened before, even in our heyday in the 50s and 60s.
Equally I'm hoping Rossiter sticks with the lads he's played so far. It will definitely stand to us come championship to know what each of our newer lads are really made of, and tbh they haven't really been tested yet. I was disappointed how poor Kilkenny and Galway were without their established big guns. I know Kilkenny only lost by a point in Callan and the weather was poor, but really that was a game we never looked like losing, even when we were down to 13 men. And the Galway game the same. And look it that's a real credit to Keith and the players and the management team.
Looking at it from a Galway or Kilkenny point of view I'd be very disappointed that their younger/newer lads didn't play better, as I think both of them need to find between 4 and 6 new top level players to add to their 26 if they are going to beat Limerick."
I wouldn't be one bit worried. Look after out own house, I couldn't give a s##t what they are like. Both Galway and kilkenny will be flying coming championship. We need to have our lads flying and the squad as strong as it can be.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1189 - 29/01/2024 17:43:12    2523108

Replying To Viking66:  "I look at hurlers as more than just stick men Doylerwex. Although Chins stick work has improved immensely over the last 10 years.
Heart, balls, leadership etc, the intangibles, are also a big part of being a great hurler. Liam Dunne had all that in spades also. Who would you rate higher than those 2 in the last 30 odd years? Anyone before that would really be before my time."
Personally I think dunne is the best in my lifetime.

I think Adrian Fenlon is massively overlooked.

Martin Storey was another. We all remember 96 but he was incredible throughout some difficult years.

Again though, I appreciate what people are saying about chin. He is everything to us right now

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 29/01/2024 18:01:29    2523112

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Start listening to the KCLR podcast again this week, there at the same craic again."
That was hard to listen to.

They know nothing about us.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 29/01/2024 18:02:27    2523114

I thought more about this post of yours on the way home. Fenlon was excellent especially off the ground. Rory Jacob was a bag of tricks and would have been able to find space on a London underground tube train at rush hour. Gizzy was very stylish, as was Storey but with a bit more edge. George O Connor had heart to share around. Larry would've got donkeys to follow him. Fitzhenry enough said. Darragh Ryan and Ruth would likely run through walls if they wanted. Codd the best freetaker, skilful with it. Always thought Eoin Quigley was very underrated.
Of the current squad Flood, Mac and Jacko must be well up there for pure skill and stickwork. Ryan and O Hanlon are rocks. Damien Reck is usually there to clean up just knows where to be, same as Dee. Both would have some engine also. The 2 Cathals Dunbar and Doyle are likely the fastest. Rory is a hard hard man behind the speed and skill he has.
But I came back to Chin and Dunne. Complete hurlers for me.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 18:17:29    2523119

Replying To hunting:  "I wouldn't be one bit worried. Look after out own house, I couldn't give a s##t what they are like. Both Galway and kilkenny will be flying coming championship. We need to have our lads flying and the squad as strong as it can be."
For sure. I was only looking at it from their point of view to put beating them the last 2 weekends into context. They were both poor. They won't be that poor when we play them again. Its nice to win now. And Martin Fogarty told me in Callan never underestimate the importance of winning games. But beating teams in Championship is what's really important.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 18:23:30    2523120

Replying To zinny:  "Galway's only home game in the province came against Clare in 1965, a match they lost by a point. The bulk of their games were played in neutral venues, usually in Limerick. Their solitary win was achieved in MacDonagh Park in Nenagh.

Some of the scorelines are hard to look at, though, to be fair, it should remembered that scorelines tended to be more lopsided across the board in those days. Here's every match Galway played in the Munster championship.

1959: Waterford 7-11 Galway 0-8

1960: Waterford 9-8 Galway 4-8

1961: Galway 2-13 Clare 0-8

1961: Tipperary 7-12 Galway 5-6

1962: Limerick 2-13 Galway 2-7

1963: Limerick 3-9 Galway 2-7

1964: Cork 4-14 Galway 2-7

1965: Clare 4-8 Galway 3-10 (match played in Pearse Stadium, would you believe!)

1966: Waterford 2-16 Galway 1-9

1967: Clare 3-13 Galway 1-11

1968: Cork 3-15 Galway 1-6

1969: Cork 3-15 Galway 1-10"
Thanks. It looks like they were LEAN YEARS for Galway Hurling back then. lol.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2631 - 29/01/2024 18:42:29    2523125

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Start listening to the KCLR podcast again this week, there at the same craic again."
I just listened to the 1st 2 minutes of that. We had a team stacked with Senior championship talent while Galway had a development squad according to Eddie Scally. We had 8 lads starting who never started a championship game before, some who never started a Senior intercounty game before this year. 3 more who have around 5 championship starts between them. Galway started 6 lads who played in the AISF last year. What in gods name persuaded the Bagnalstown executive to hire that muppet as manager?!
Here's the link if anyone wants to hear
https://podcasts.apple.com/ie/podcast/the-kilkenny-hurling-podcast/id1701845728

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 18:48:24    2523128

What do we expect lads until we put a decent championship run together and I don't mean just round robin no one will ever rate us .

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 435 - 29/01/2024 18:56:07    2523131

Replying To Viking66:  "Lee Chin is the best Wexford hurler I've seen play the game. And I used to think noone would ever replace Liam Dunne in my estimation."
Don't think he's even the best player from his club to play for his county! I think Lee will be disappointed with his championship performances in recent seasons. Always injured or half fit, tends to dominate against KK but he's capable of far more consistently. Sure, if we are criticising the performances of senior players last year in the likes of that Westmeath debacle, he was captain on the field. We aren't going to get carried away with pre season games but I like the fact he is there and pushing to come back on after a knock.

He's a fantastic player at his best. Performance to beat KK in Leinster final against KK was unbelievable. Mixed enough against Tipp the next day when leadership on and off pitch was lacking in key moments. Two narrow defeats against Clare, from memory the first day v Cork he missed a number of goal chances while running all over Conlan. Nearly beat Clare on his own the next year in Thurles playing on one leg. Lots of ifs and buts so I'm hoping he leaves it all out on the pitch this year.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 534 - 29/01/2024 18:57:55    2523132

Replying To Tiger1:  "What do we expect lads until we put a decent championship run together and I don't mean just round robin no one will ever rate us ."
It wasn't opinion, they were actually getting facts incorrect.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 29/01/2024 19:28:18    2523145

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "It wasn't opinion, they were actually getting facts incorrect."
Finished listening to it. Painful if you aren't from Kilkenny but you have to admire their positivity. They genuinely think Kilkenny are the 2nd best team in the country, they have no hang ups whatsoever about the rest of the Munster teams aside from Limerick unlike us, although Scally sounded nervous enough about Sunday if the OLG lads and TJ, Cody and Mullen aren't playing.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 20:28:24    2523156

Chin is a great hurler but for me ya judge on all stars I know he only has 1 but just thinking the likes of storey Liam dunne who have 3 mick Jacob senior has 2 i think Damien fitzhenry 2 etc defo be in wexfords greatest 15 though..

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 29/01/2024 20:28:51    2523157

Replying To Trump2020:  "Thanks. It looks like they were LEAN YEARS for Galway Hurling back then. lol."
I was at the 1969 game in Limerick. I thought Galway played well for long periods and deserved to be much nearer to Cork at the end. Mick McTigue at Center back was outstanding

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4540 - 29/01/2024 21:06:03    2523168

Replying To Viking66:  "Finished listening to it. Painful if you aren't from Kilkenny but you have to admire their positivity. They genuinely think Kilkenny are the 2nd best team in the country, they have no hang ups whatsoever about the rest of the Munster teams aside from Limerick unlike us, although Scally sounded nervous enough about Sunday if the OLG lads and TJ, Cody and Mullen aren't playing."
"They genuinely think Kilkenny are the 2nd best team in the country..."

So do all the bookmakers. Everyone one of them has Kilkenny as 2nd favourites to win the All-Ireland.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 29/01/2024 21:08:03    2523169

Replying To Viking66:  "I thought more about this post of yours on the way home. Fenlon was excellent especially off the ground. Rory Jacob was a bag of tricks and would have been able to find space on a London underground tube train at rush hour. Gizzy was very stylish, as was Storey but with a bit more edge. George O Connor had heart to share around. Larry would've got donkeys to follow him. Fitzhenry enough said. Darragh Ryan and Ruth would likely run through walls if they wanted. Codd the best freetaker, skilful with it. Always thought Eoin Quigley was very underrated.
Of the current squad Flood, Mac and Jacko must be well up there for pure skill and stickwork. Ryan and O Hanlon are rocks. Damien Reck is usually there to clean up just knows where to be, same as Dee. Both would have some engine also. The 2 Cathals Dunbar and Doyle are likely the fastest. Rory is a hard hard man behind the speed and skill he has.
But I came back to Chin and Dunne. Complete hurlers for me."
That's a brilliant list.

Larry Murphy is another legend of our time.

Rory McCarthy was a wizard, although far too inconsistent.

I always thought Paul Codd was all Star material and was very unlucky in the era he was in.

Darragh Ryan was the best full back in the country for a couple of years but his career was just too short at that level.

Fitzy is an all time great. In my opinion the greatest.

Personally I think Damien Reck is the best hurler in Wexford.

ROC has the potential to be our main man. He's just so injury prone.

Another thing, if McGovern's time has come, he's one we'll look back on as a legend. Motm every time it really mattered. Amazing Goals, blistering pace, the knees went, he not only came back but reinvented himself and hit another peak.

What are the best scores you can recall?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 29/01/2024 21:09:33    2523170

Replying To Trump2020:  "Thanks. It looks like they were LEAN YEARS for Galway Hurling back then. lol."
Tbf it got even worse for Galway once they left Munster too, lost an all Ireland quarter final to London in 1973. Galway almost fell off the face of the hurling world from the late 50s on. Disorganization and no desire to play with county team, nearly a very similar fate to what Antrim went through in that time....throw in the troubles in the mid 70s onwards for Antrim and they actually become more of force nearly out of defiance.
But Galway hurling really is one of the biggest successes of the GAA in the last 50 years, went from nearly loosing a top county to becoming a county that looks at getting to finals or winning every year since the mid 70s. Was always and is to a certain extent a sleeping giant. But since the mid 70s they've probably been the biggest force at underage and club hurling with Kilkenny...just don't have the senior all Ireland's to show...although 4 for a county that went from nearly intermediate/junior level to senior all Ireland Champs in 7 years is a fair testament to them.
Would be great if we got another hurling county to transform like that. Wexford and Offaly probably the next best example of that with Wexford from 50s-70s and Offaly 80s-2000...both probably didn't have the population and lapses in underage to continue it on. Would be great if Offaly or even a Laois could do a run like that.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 29/01/2024 21:13:51    2523171

Replying To Viking66:  "Just did a tot up. In the last 13 Senior games since the start of 2019 we have only lost once to Kilkenny over 70 minutes, and twice altogether. Yet they have won 4 Leinsters to our 1, and reached 3 AI finals to our none.
I'm really hopeful Lyng and his lads will be mindful of this statistic and come out ferocious next Sunday. They haven't beaten us at Senior over 70 minutes in the last 6 meetings, and haven't beaten us at all in the last 5, and have lost the last 4. If they lose on Sunday that will be 5 on the bounce, and I'm pretty sure that's never happened before, even in our heyday in the 50s and 60s.
Equally I'm hoping Rossiter sticks with the lads he's played so far. It will definitely stand to us come championship to know what each of our newer lads are really made of, and tbh they haven't really been tested yet. I was disappointed how poor Kilkenny and Galway were without their established big guns. I know Kilkenny only lost by a point in Callan and the weather was poor, but really that was a game we never looked like losing, even when we were down to 13 men. And the Galway game the same. And look it that's a real credit to Keith and the players and the management team.
Looking at it from a Galway or Kilkenny point of view I'd be very disappointed that their younger/newer lads didn't play better, as I think both of them need to find between 4 and 6 new top level players to add to their 26 if they are going to beat Limerick."
As a Limerick' Man, I feel we could very easily come to the end of this great run this year. That team are six years at or near the top. They are still young enough but they have a lot of miles on the clock and they achieved as much as any one Munster team ever did. The hunger just has to diminish also.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4540 - 29/01/2024 21:20:26    2523172

Replying To gannett83:  "Chin is a great hurler but for me ya judge on all stars I know he only has 1 but just thinking the likes of storey Liam dunne who have 3 mick Jacob senior has 2 i think Damien fitzhenry 2 etc defo be in wexfords greatest 15 though.."
Lee Chin definitely the best of the current generation. Lots of very solid and dependable lads like Dee, Liam Ryan, Liam Og but Lee probably in that class above those lads. Hard to look past Liam Dunne and Damien Fitzhenry as the best hurlers Wexford have had the last 30 years, the only Wexford hurlers of the last 30 years who could claim to be the best player in their position in Ireland and they played in positions which were filled by some high quality players. If we were to pick a best 15 of the all the counties in Ireland over the last 10 years, Lee is realistically the only Wexford man who's in with a shout of making that team. I think he's super, he can do things that no one else can do on the current panel and the one man Wexford have that really strikes worry in the opposition.
Rory O'Connor could and should be in this convo and tbh if you asked me 7 years ago would Rory be one of the best forwards in the game, something at the levels of Aaron Gillane, Conor Whelan, Eoin Cody, I would've put the house on it. He still has time, but he's 26 this year and hasn't really kicked on at all, I know injuries have played their part too. Mac, something similar after his 2014 at just 18. Davy trying to make a decent wing forward of him, instead of a top inside forward also didn't help and now he struggles against any full back in a top team who might edge him physically. That being said he's still only 28 and could get two or 3 top years out of him but hard to see it at this stage.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 29/01/2024 21:27:13    2523175