Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To baire:  "17 All Irelands: Castlegar, Kiltormer, Sarsfields (2) Athenry (3) Portumna (4), Athenry (3) Clarinbridge, St Thomas (2)."
They are club all irelands Baire. All they mean is that the clubs concerned had particularly good teams at a certain time. Except Ballyhale, Loughgiel and James Stephens who won club AIs with completely different teams. Are you with one of those Galway clubs Baire?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 28/01/2024 17:37:22    2522749

Great result. Winning v Galway and Munster teams in preseason or league is always good but not worth a damn if we can't beat them in the real stuff. Still a step in the right and hopefully not a false dawn like 2020 when won Walsh cup or the last good league run in 2022 and ended up having terrible championships again. But can never complain about winning and beating the big two in Leinster to win a cup is always good. Nice for new lads to win too.
Lee Chin is a colossus, he plays as well whether he's playing with the full strength wexford team or a Walsh cup team. Was a step above anyone on show today. Heart does be in the mouth every time he goes down. Thought it wasn't the best management when he went off injured and came back on. I know lads want to play but sometimes you've to take decision out of their hands. He lifts the standard of every wexford team he plays with. Dreading the day he does retire.
Wexford played a type of game not too dissimilar to what Davy employed but maybe a bit more positive. Keith did spend a lot of time with Davy and think it suits the players we do have. The fight shown was the best bit, if you're going to play that game need to be fast and energetic and infairness Wexford looked way more up for a game and battle. Good signs so far but all that being said this game will be forgotten about by everyone by tomorrow. Duggan in goals was very good I thought, doesn't panic and was good on Puck outs. Jacko was good and thought Kevin Foley did a lot right and a lot of donkey work as well as setting up a good few scores, Corey Bryne Dunbar, Conor Foley and Charlie McGuckin good as well. I'd say Galway probably have more quality players to come back and had a huge number playing fitz in last few days but both teams were very experimental. Think Wexford had a bit more quality starting, mostly down to Lee Chin, but out of the lads on trial with Galway and Wexford, the Wexford lads were that bit better today and sharper looking. All in all a good workout but that's all. Galway and Kilkenny will be different animals come championship but hopefully so will Wexford.
Interesting side fact. Didn't realize Wexford won 8 Walsh Cups in a row in late 90s and early 00s. Kilkenny and Offaly obviously huge powers at the time and were regular all Ireland winners and finalists then so makes ya wonder what they were at in early January around then....maybe another stat to always use when over analyzing Walsh Cup games. Still fair going. Roll on national league, hope it is at least a small bit better than last year's one,the worst league I remember in a long time in terms of quality of games....the last round aside maybe.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 28/01/2024 17:44:32    2522753

Biggest concern right now might be our full-back line under the high ball, Galway had us under a bit of pressure in the first half, things got better when the full-back line stopped trying to win the high ball and started trying to spoil it instead

Hard to really fault anyone, Kevin Foley was maybe a little bit quiet if we're being critical, Cian Byrne struggled a little bit at times with the physicality of the game, and Niall Murphy was beaten in the air a few times in the first half but other than that, it was about as good a performance as could be reasonably expected for January (Although January performances count for little)

We need to get younger and to be fair, our last two U20s sides were good so we do have some young players to blood in and the sooner we do that, the quicker they're ready to play at the highest level. I'd like to see the same starting team as today start next week, I think the likes of James Byrne, Eoin Ryan, Aaron Duggan etc showed enough today to warrant starting against Kilkenny. We have a good few injuries and players just coming back from injury so it's not as if we have a whole host of options either

I know some take issue with Chin playing for as long as he did in a match that wasn't really that important but at the same time, if you try to blood in all these young players without any experienced players on the pitch to guide them, you end up getting a performance like the one we did against Clare last February (Although that was mainly because we had an injury crisis). Think we had a nice blend of experience and youth today, here's hoping that they're up to the level required next Sunday

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 1013 - 28/01/2024 18:10:41    2522769

Look it early days and no one is getting carried away but you would have to be heartened by what we have seen over the last 3 games. Well done to the management and players.
As for the match itself. Big positive was the younger squad members. Duggan was really solid. The full back line were very good, young Ryan looks to be some prospect. The half back line was excellent. Byrne Dunbar and hearne were very impressive. I was impressed with all the forward with Chin the star man. Nice to win silverware but it only January.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1189 - 28/01/2024 18:27:50    2522772

Travelled to game today not getting carried away as it's only January but was impressed today again with the style of play and with our young lads.. duggan lad in goal looks good and has a good puck out.. Corey in midfield has been a revelation for me thought he was brillant again today lacks physicality but uses the ball today and scored 3 fantastic points..chin superb all game jacko won the dirty stuff again and loves the hard stuff.. roll on next weekend for the start of league see if a few regulars are back would like go see a mix of regulars and team from today.. anyone know what the situation is with Liam og?? Heard d o keefe has to have operation on back.. Mac has bad siatica and is receiving injections.. anyone know if Liam Ryan or Oisín foley Shane reck roc are all injured or having a extended break??

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 28/01/2024 18:41:56    2522782

Replying To baire:  "17 All Irelands: Castlegar, Kiltormer, Sarsfields (2) Athenry (3) Portumna (4), Athenry (3) Clarinbridge, St Thomas (2)."
Means absolutely nothing in the context of intercounty hurling

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 28/01/2024 18:44:34    2522785

Replying To gannett83:  "Travelled to game today not getting carried away as it's only January but was impressed today again with the style of play and with our young lads.. duggan lad in goal looks good and has a good puck out.. Corey in midfield has been a revelation for me thought he was brillant again today lacks physicality but uses the ball today and scored 3 fantastic points..chin superb all game jacko won the dirty stuff again and loves the hard stuff.. roll on next weekend for the start of league see if a few regulars are back would like go see a mix of regulars and team from today.. anyone know what the situation is with Liam og?? Heard d o keefe has to have operation on back.. Mac has bad siatica and is receiving injections.. anyone know if Liam Ryan or Oisín foley Shane reck roc are all injured or having a extended break??"
Nothing confirmed on Liam og.

Dee is actually training with the squad.

All the others are nursing injuries but expected to be available for the later stages of the league

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 28/01/2024 19:01:57    2522795

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Means absolutely nothing in the context of intercounty hurling"
And vice versa!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 28/01/2024 19:03:56    2522798

Replying To baire:  "That's right, tell them to go to hell or to Connacht! Well done lads! Muimhneach is Laighneach in éineacht, nach deas sibh!"
Teir sibh thar nais go dti Connacht as bhur do thoil fein i 1959. Bhi sibh failte go mor in gach leibeail san cead La i Mhumain ach nil an Galliamh sasta le sinn. Bhi go han cneasta libh ar fad.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4540 - 28/01/2024 19:30:51    2522813

Can i ask how ye feel about having a Kilkenny man in goal for ye?

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 28/01/2024 20:35:36    2522838

Replying To KKid:  "Can i ask how ye feel about having a Kilkenny man in goal for ye?"
It's funny you should say that. He's a super player, but I wondered if this might be some sort of Kilkenny espionage tactic to break the recent hoodoo.

Having said that, nick o Donnell is one of the best we ever had and he was a Kilkenny man too

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4373 - 28/01/2024 21:17:03    2522845

Replying To KKid:  "Can i ask how ye feel about having a Kilkenny man in goal for ye?"
If he's the best man for the job what does it matter if he wasn't born in Wexford. He lives here and he plays his club hurling here so he's entitled to the opportunity.

I'm not sure he's going to be the first choice anyway, It'll be tight between him and Lawlor I'd imagine.

GaeilgeDubh (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 28/01/2024 21:24:37    2522847

Hadn't had one since Stoney Burke so had been a while tbf. We've done well out of lads moving to Wexford from Kilkenny, Nick O'Donnell moving and making the team of the millennium. So if this lad ends up being half as good, we'll take that too.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 28/01/2024 21:24:51    2522848

Nick o donnelll was a Kilkenny man we're not complaining about that

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 28/01/2024 21:29:00    2522852

Replying To GaeilgeDubh:  "If he's the best man for the job what does it matter if he wasn't born in Wexford. He lives here and he plays his club hurling here so he's entitled to the opportunity.

I'm not sure he's going to be the first choice anyway, It'll be tight between him and Lawlor I'd imagine."
I think he's better on puckouts and is a better shotstopper than James Lawlor. He made no mistakes I either saw live or just there now on clubber. I hope he gets more chances in higher pressure games to prove himself. His young lad was running around with a Wexford jersey on him after the game I don't think there are any divided loyalties in that household. When O Donnell moved down it came at the start of Wexfords best ever era of hurling. No pressure Aaron;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 28/01/2024 21:54:33    2522860

Replying To GaeilgeDubh:  "If he's the best man for the job what does it matter if he wasn't born in Wexford. He lives here and he plays his club hurling here so he's entitled to the opportunity.

I'm not sure he's going to be the first choice anyway, It'll be tight between him and Lawlor I'd imagine."
I think Duggan is a wee bit better than Lawlor but that is only my opinion, obviously Rossi sees them every night in training.

A big big game for Duggan in Nowlan Park next Sunday if he gets the nod v his home county Kilkenny,

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 1028 - 28/01/2024 21:56:39    2522861

Someone referred to Duggan as one of the younger lads earlier. He played in the U21 Leinster hurling final in 2013 for kilkenny.

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 304 - 28/01/2024 23:18:51    2522879

https://galwaybayfm.ie/sports/galway-hurlers-beaten-in-walsh-cup-final-report-and-reaction/

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 07:16:19    2522890

https://galwaybayfm.ie/sports/galway-hurlers-beaten-in-walsh-cup-final-report-and-reaction/
Some reaction from the Galway camp and media. Cyril reckoned we had a much stronger team out but we had 8 lads starting who have never started a Senior championship game, and 3 more who have started around 5 between them!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 07:18:25    2522891

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Someone referred to Duggan as one of the younger lads earlier. He played in the U21 Leinster hurling final in 2013 for kilkenny."
He will be 30 this year. Was u21 in 2014 also. Maybe they meant younger as in newer? 30 still not old for a keeper!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18997 - 29/01/2024 07:21:25    2522892