Replying To Neartheborder: "You can defo thank Hurson and Dublin's Joe for keeping their end of the bargain. Daylight robbery today altogether. Playing against 16 men all day." Grow up, churlish post, derry kicked it away
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1258 - 17/07/2023 09:44:00
I think there's a lot of pressure on Kerry going into this final. They've never beaten this Dublin side with everyone fit.
They barely got over the line against a under strength Dublin side last year who died on their feet. Albeit it was an unbelievable score from O'Shea.
They bottled the 5 in a row 2019 final when they had Dublin on the ropes and were a man up, who knows if Kerry won that, they could be going for a 5 in a row themselves in two weeks time such was the importance of that game.
Kerry need to beat this full strength Dublin side in a final before we can consider them a great side.
Great game to look forward to.
drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 389 - 17/07/2023 10:05:15
Replying To Neartheborder: "You can defo thank Hurson and Dublin's Joe for keeping their end of the bargain. Daylight robbery today altogether. Playing against 16 men all day." Typical Northern behavior. Never to blame themselves.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 1090 - 17/07/2023 10:10:45
Replying To countyman2022: "Is it? Did the Kerry goalkeeper not score a point from play yesterday?" Has it ever happened before that both goalkeepers scored from play in the same match….?
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 17/07/2023 10:11:28
Replying To Monaghansclown: "Not sure how you managed to type this out with a straight face. It's a toss of a coin between the Dubs and Kerry. Personally, I think Kerry were too open at the back against Derry. On another day, Derry could have had 3 or 4 goals and I'm fairly certain the Dubs won't miss the same chances.
Having said that, defending in hardly Dublin's strong point either. Clifford always has a field day against Dublin but when the mediocre Mick Fitzsimons is your main man marker then it's hardly a surprise. Should be a great game but hard to see anything more than a 1-2 point winning margin for either team." "the mediocre Michael Fitzsimmons"....you haven't a clue have you?? Have you ever played football? He is one of the best defenders in the country. He won man of the natch in the 2016 All_Ireland. A team doesn't win 6 All-Irelands on the trot with a "mediocre full back"
Apt username.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 17/07/2023 10:40:11
Replying To Neartheborder: "You can defo thank Hurson and Dublin's Joe for keeping their end of the bargain. Daylight robbery today altogether. Playing against 16 men all day." typical 6 county talk, its someone elses fault
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3125 - 17/07/2023 10:52:14
Replying To ForeverBlue2: "Has it ever happened before that both goalkeepers scored from play in the same match….?" I think Ethan Rafferty and Niall Morgan both did in a Tyrone v Armagh game.
But it's a huge string to the bow that Ryan has added to his game. A good final and he may pip Beggan to the All Star. Been a good year for keepers with Odhran Lynch so integral to Derry's play too. The fact himself and Beggan both saved penalties to win shootouts make that one a tight call.
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5333 - 17/07/2023 10:54:14
Delighted to be in the final and to have a cut off Kerry.
We were very unlucky against them last year picking up injuries last year and of course we had no Jack, Stevo or Mannion and still could of got a result, the game hinged on a questionable decision really.
Full deck, i think we will certainly be competitive.
50/50 game really. Two talented teams.
Key things for us - who takes Clifford, Fitzey has held him well before, maybe drop Jamsie or Howard back. If we can hold him to four and cut out the advanced mark - which is a lot of his score we will have done well.
Discipline will be key, no silly frees again Clifford and O Shea eat these up. Hold those two and you can be confident enough of posting a performance and a hand in on the result.
Kerry will go with their blanket and usual swarm defence, we need pace and penetration - you can at them. Hoping for a strong ref, Kerry tend to be cynical once you cross the half way line and beat the man they will drag you down high up the pitch, want a ref that punishes that with cards.
With the above in mind one consideration is a free taker, we've left Deano on the bench all year, but i think a free taker may be critical in this game - maybe im being unfair on Cosie, who has been in great form.
In between lets enjoy the build up, its been a couple of years since we've been in the final so nice to enjoy the build up and excitement again.
As always,
Up The Dubs.
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4541 - 17/07/2023 10:56:44
Replying To Stmunnsriver: "typical 6 county talk, its someone elses fault" I find it quite pathetic that in a county like Wexford with it's rich and proud history there seems to be such a substantial, partitionist, anti Northern element.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9841 - 17/07/2023 11:05:05
Replying To wishfulthinkin: "Another home final for Dublin," So where do you suggest the final be played, Thurles, Páirc Uí Chaoimh?
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2961 - 17/07/2023 11:06:09
Replying To TheUsername: "Delighted to be in the final and to have a cut off Kerry.
We were very unlucky against them last year picking up injuries last year and of course we had no Jack, Stevo or Mannion and still could of got a result, the game hinged on a questionable decision really.
Key things for us - who takes Clifford, Fitzey has held him well before, maybe drop Jamsie or Howard back. If we can hold him to four and cut out the advanced mark - which is a lot of his score we will have done well.
Discipline will be key, no silly frees again Clifford and O Shea eat these up. Hold those two and you can be confident enough of posting a performance and a hand in on the result.
Kerry will go with their blanket and usual swarm defence, we need pace and penetration - you can at them. Hoping for a strong ref, Kerry tend to be cynical once you cross the half way line and beat the man they will drag you down high up the pitch, want a ref that punishes that with cards.
With the above in mind one consideration is a free taker, we've left Deano on the bench all year, but i think a free taker may be critical in this game - maybe im being unfair on Cosie, who has been in great form.
In between lets enjoy the build up, its been a couple of years since we've been in the final so nice to enjoy the build up and excitement again.
As always,
Up The Dubs." Likes or Murchan, McCaffrey and co. could have a field day; Kerry defence couldn't cope when the Derry runners took on their man; lack of composure from Derry cost them yesterday.
drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 389 - 17/07/2023 11:56:09
Does anyone outside of Dublin and Kerry really care who wins it. Honest question
mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1106 - 17/07/2023 12:41:49
Replying To TheUsername: "Delighted to be in the final and to have a cut off Kerry.
As always,
Up The Dubs." Super post User...
I think they will target Lee and JS, and pump plenty of high balls into their FF line. Fitz needs to be on his game v Clifford.
Discipline is key - we cant be getting Jamesie booked early on especially.
Our team is stronger this year, but they will be more confident than last year imo.
Lots of off the ball stuff in the Derry game so expecting much of the same and the blocking of our runners.
Both teams will press up but their goalie drifts out a lot more than Clucko. I think the Monaghan game will stand to us in that respect, but think we might come up short if they get early goal.
We need more scores from Con and Ciaran, as Cormac and Collie wont be enough for us to win.
As Sean Kavanagh said last night - it is Kerry's to lose. He could be right.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 5282 - 17/07/2023 12:43:20
Most observers noted that Kerry brought a small crowd yesterday to Croke Park , will they turn up for the final ?
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1693 - 17/07/2023 12:48:18
Replying To mhunicean_abu: "Does anyone outside of Dublin and Kerry really care who wins it. Honest question" Yet, you'll be glued to it.
avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 2090 - 17/07/2023 13:06:23
Replying To letterkennyGuy: " Its really not acceptable, time and time again when he's reffing a match the major talking points are about him. Derry lost that match more than Kerry win it but that's nothing against Kerry they done what they could. For years it's Kerry this Kerry that , put them in Ulster and God knows how many all irelands are automatically wiped from their history. They're a very ordinary team without Clifford what a player!" Ye northerners never fail to amuse… PuT tHeM iN uLSteR…. We just beat 2 Ulster teams in the last 2 games… whilist ulster football has always been competitive, this is primarily because Ulster football doesn't get to an elite level like Kerry and dublin… it's good for what ye have in yer own little bubble but when ye play the big dogs, it's a different story hence why ye have about 5 all Irelands out of the 9 counties in the history.
Kerryfanboy (Kerry) - Posts: 5 - 17/07/2023 13:45:02
Should have their own Northern championship for the 6 of them.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 1090 - 17/07/2023 13:47:25
Replying To mhunicean_abu: "Does anyone outside of Dublin and Kerry really care who wins it. Honest question" I do. I'm thrilled that the two counties who play the most attacking football have made it to the final showing all the overly defensive teams that banging it endlessly around the middle third might make you hard to beat but it's no way to win. And before anyone accuses me of anything that comment is aimed at my own county team as much as anyone else.
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3163 - 17/07/2023 13:57:47
Replying To mhunicean_abu: "Does anyone outside of Dublin and Kerry really care who wins it. Honest question" Nah I wouldn't say so. Not many would have cared who won between Derry and Monaghan either I should imagine. But this will be the clash of the titans. So regardless of whether neutrals care who wins or not they'll certainly be glued to their TVs. Is there a sting in the tail from the dying wasp that is arguably the greatest squad to have ever played the game or will the current champions prevail? Be there or be square.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4751 - 17/07/2023 14:01:28
Replying To Joxer: "Nah I wouldn't say so. Not many would have cared who won between Derry and Monaghan either I should imagine. But this will be the clash of the titans. So regardless of whether neutrals care who wins or not they'll certainly be glued to their TVs. Is there a sting in the tail from the dying wasp that is arguably the greatest squad to have ever played the game or will the current champions prevail? Be there or be square." First 3 letters in titans is 'tit'.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4908 - 17/07/2023 14:08:52