My mind boggles how you think one Clare persons opinion represents the counties thoughts!
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 16/07/2023 14:41:45 2494789 Link 1 |
As a proud lifelong Wexford supporter I'd hate to see Davy even spend a weekend in Curracloe again. Davy arrived on the scene and took a group of young Wexford players - that JJ Doyle had developed and had success with, and milked them for all their worth with zero squad development. This group of players had a good degree of success (by Wexford standards) DISPITE Davy.. we would've reached and AI in 2019 if Davy had kept his mouth shut and let the players continue to do what they were doing well instead of pulling them back into the 'Davy defensive tactics' for the last 10 minutes. He is not good for hurling.. yes the media love his antics. I couldn't believe it with when I heard him giving out about Quaids gamesmanship last week.. of all people to talk about poor gamesmanship Davy can't open his mouth to be fair. Clare are so lucky that a few great Clare hurling people eventually stood up against the Fitzgeralds and took control things there again. I can't get my head around Waterford who have been burned twice by him at this stage have decided to hold on to him. That's just my opinion. TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 16/07/2023 15:14:11 2494793 Link 1 |
I'd walk on glass for Davy.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 863 - 16/07/2023 15:49:11 2494800 Link 0 |
Fitz always gets a kick out of teams in year 1. The fact that Waterford were worse this year is in my opinion telling. They played like a team at the end of Fitz life cycle not the beginning. Hard to see how this gets turned around. It seemed to me like the players didn't want to play for him.
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/07/2023 16:00:37 2494805 Link 0 |
Jesus tis stranger your are getting
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/07/2023 16:02:28 2494807 Link 0 |
He's more than welcome down here. Ye just turn on yer own. Always have someone else to blame. Never yer fault.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 863 - 16/07/2023 16:09:38 2494809 Link 0 |
That I do agree with. Always got the feeling he was happy enough when Clare beat us. I was happy he left when he did, but that's irrelevant to my question. What has he done wrong in Clare other than win a few all Ireland which you aren't exactly swimming in? Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3857 - 16/07/2023 16:36:41 2494819 Link 1 |
"Ye just turn on your own" With the exception of the Fitzgeralds, name one Clare man the people of Clare have turned on? We're the good people of Wexford delighted with Liam Dunne before Davy or did ye turn on him and demand change? Give those questions an answer there please? LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/07/2023 16:42:02 2494821 Link 1 |
I am not a spokesperson for Clare. Nor do I intend to list out any grievances I would have with the man. I don't know why me saying he is the wrong man for Waterford has turned into a "why do Clare hate him" debate. Do you think he is right for Waterford and will bring them places? This is simply my opinion based on what I have seen this year (I also said last year Waterford wild do nothing which has proven to be true). It has nothing to do with my feelings on his character which admittedly are not positive. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/07/2023 16:55:22 2494829 Link 1 |
As a hurling fan, it's great than Davy is managing a senior inter county team. Whether you love him or hate him, the guy is entertainment and box office. And to be fair, a more than respectable track record of success. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1257 - 16/07/2023 18:00:45 2494849 Link 1 |
Didn't ye elect a fella called De Va Lera over 100 years ago in an election in Clare? And he had nothing at all to do with the county. It was just an opportunistic shot on his part that Clare people fell for and voted against the good Clare man Patrick Lynch. And there are more recent examples which I won't go into here!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2354 - 16/07/2023 18:09:39 2494855 Link 2 |
Yeah and he turned out terrible sure……
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/07/2023 19:13:49 2494878 Link 0 |
So basically like saying it's great to sit back and enjoy the popcorn and sh*tshow Davy brings to the table as long as it doesn't effect your own county. Agree 100%. Mad to see Wexford lads who wanted his head 2 years ago on here having a go at me for saying he is bad for Waterford. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/07/2023 19:18:36 2494884 Link 0 |
Most of us were happy enough with the improvements Liam Dunne made to our Senior intercounty set up. We were heading down the same road as Offaly before he came in. In fairness to Davy he did alot of good for Wexford hurling too. The one big critism I'd have of him is he didn't develop any new players who weren't already near enough ready made for Senior intercounty.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16704 - 16/07/2023 19:36:37 2494894 Link 0 |
Any of us with any sense will be eternally grateful to Liam dunne
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3857 - 16/07/2023 22:25:45 2494942 Link 0 |
Good for nothing nor no-one!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2354 - 17/07/2023 03:19:38 2494954 Link 0 |
100%. A true Wexford hero as a player and manager... treated badly during his time, didn't get the support that is required by top teams that Davy subsequently got. Baffling
TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 17/07/2023 08:23:37 2494960 Link 0 |
Well look at what he ended up doing to some of his own... my point proven.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 863 - 17/07/2023 09:05:38 2494977 Link 0 |
He wasn't the great leader he was cracked up to be.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16704 - 17/07/2023 10:39:55 2495019 Link 0 |
Usual story here with club politics. It's one of the things I like most about Keith Rossiter incidentally. He also picked lads from clubs who would be looked down on by some of the hurling snobs here.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16704 - 17/07/2023 10:43:47 2495022 Link 1 |