All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To Viking66:  "It is. They will be better next year. Their lads will be leaner and faster they have a good S and C man there."
The worst thing to happen Waterford was beating Tipperary this year if it meant Davy kept his job.

Now you have Cuntryman tipping them to come out of Munster next year. 16 RR games, 2 wins. There is no basis for anyone tipping Waterford............and anyone who does so (with the current season not even over) knows very little about hurling.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 14/07/2023 15:12:42    2494376

No harm having the banquets being done away with. The players I know all hated them bar one lad who loved them cause he never paid for a drink.

On the game itself Blanchfield will be a huge loss to Kilkenny, his height alone is a great leveller but physically he may be still a little light. Did well when coming on in the AI last year but defo a loss from that half back line.

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 14/07/2023 16:04:31    2494391

Seems like alot of the traditions are slowly being lost around All Ireland wend with the Banquets now gone too i.e final in July, Minor final gone. Hopefully the Sunday game will still be able to visit the winners hotel in Limk or KK for interviews, post match reaction etc.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 144 - 14/07/2023 17:08:47    2494409

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I see both Kilkenny and Limerick teams both travelling home after finals with hotel prices and availabily being a factor. No team banquets in Dublin. Is this going to start a trend. While it's not the only factor th point should be made hotel prices now especially Dublin are borderline criminal. Something should be done. Some hotels now quoting 1000 e for one night on busy nights. It is wrong. Ireland has a short memory!"
It's supply and demand. When only half the available hotels in the country are open to paying customers of course hotel prices will rise to crazy levels. It astounds me the number of people who dont seem to understand that simple connection.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2059 - 14/07/2023 19:34:40    2494422

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The worst thing to happen Waterford was beating Tipperary this year if it meant Davy kept his job.

Now you have Cuntryman tipping them to come out of Munster next year. 16 RR games, 2 wins. There is no basis for anyone tipping Waterford............and anyone who does so (with the current season not even over) knows very little about hurling."
Ironically, in the Covid years Waterford beat Tipp, Cork, Galway (with fourteen men for all of the second half) and swept aside KK in an All Ireland Semi Final, after been well down early in the game. They also gave Limerick one of their toughest games of the past six seasons, in the '20 Munster Final.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4518 - 15/07/2023 11:30:29    2494458

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The worst thing to happen Waterford was beating Tipperary this year if it meant Davy kept his job.

Now you have Cuntryman tipping them to come out of Munster next year. 16 RR games, 2 wins. There is no basis for anyone tipping Waterford............and anyone who does so (with the current season not even over) knows very little about hurling."
I couldnt agree with you more.. what are they thinking in Waterford.. hes not wanted there by any Waterford hurling person I've spoken to and a lot of the players if the rumours are even slightly true

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 15/07/2023 11:43:27    2494459

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "It's supply and demand. When only half the available hotels in the country are open to paying customers of course hotel prices will rise to crazy levels. It astounds me the number of people who dont seem to understand that simple connection."
Well I booked a room in the Burlington for 249 euro for the night f the 24th July, last October, and I know a few more LK Supporters who had done the same, around the same time. I was there last year as I have been to every Limerick AIF Banquet since 1980 and it always was a most enjoyable night and even in defeat I never any Limerick players who did seem to enjoy the occasion. Like most counties we seldom reach AIFs and the seldom time we do I think a good cohort of people would not mind paying the extra charges. After all especially people who are old LK Supporters know we will never see days like this again.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4518 - 15/07/2023 11:47:49    2494461

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Ironically, in the Covid years Waterford beat Tipp, Cork, Galway (with fourteen men for all of the second half) and swept aside KK in an All Ireland Semi Final, after been well down early in the game. They also gave Limerick one of their toughest games of the past six seasons, in the '20 Munster Final."
Yeah it is a strange one but for whatever reason the RR doesn't suit them and anyone tipping them is leading with either heart, agenda or simply doesn't know what they are talking about. Especially with Davy in charge.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 15/07/2023 12:23:35    2494468

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "It's supply and demand. When only half the available hotels in the country are open to paying customers of course hotel prices will rise to crazy levels. It astounds me the number of people who dont seem to understand that simple connection."
I think it's an outrage that the hotels can still benefit from the 9% vat rate. That was a rate given to boost the sector, a sector which is now screwing people big time.

The government made a huge error not capping the rate at which a room could be sold under the 9% rate.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 15/07/2023 12:27:30    2494471

Replying To KKid:  "No harm having the banquets being done away with. The players I know all hated them bar one lad who loved them cause he never paid for a drink.

On the game itself Blanchfield will be a huge loss to Kilkenny, his height alone is a great leveller but physically he may be still a little light. Did well when coming on in the AI last year but defo a loss from that half back line."
What is blanchfields injury?

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 15/07/2023 12:28:09    2494473

Replying To journeyman:  "Seems like alot of the traditions are slowly being lost around All Ireland wend with the Banquets now gone too i.e final in July, Minor final gone. Hopefully the Sunday game will still be able to visit the winners hotel in Limk or KK for interviews, post match reaction etc."
it is not that long ago that the Sunday game conducted the post match interviews etc. in the dressingrooms

KnockaineyAbú (Limerick) - Posts: 96 - 15/07/2023 13:30:45    2494486

Why is Davy so disliked in his own county?

He's instrumental in almost every success you've ever had.

There would be no Clare hurling without him

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3850 - 15/07/2023 14:06:23    2494495

Replying To daveboy:  "What is blanchfields injury?"
Lung puncture.

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 182 - 15/07/2023 17:49:58    2494549

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Why is Davy so disliked in his own county?

There would be no Clare hurling without him"
Its Clare. They are bitter to everything, including their own. They would have no All Irelands in over 100 years without Davy.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 863 - 16/07/2023 09:50:44    2494705

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Yeah it is a strange one but for whatever reason the RR doesn't suit them and anyone tipping them is leading with either heart, agenda or simply doesn't know what they are talking about. Especially with Davy in charge."
Big games don't seem to suit Clare. Especially with the diving.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 863 - 16/07/2023 09:51:48    2494707

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Why is Davy so disliked in his own county?

There would be no Clare hurling without him"
Jealousy, especially among his own former teammates.

Davy achieved as a manger what Daly, Lohan all failed at, winning Liam McCarthy as both a player and a manager of Clare.

Lohan has won absolutely nothing with Clare as a manager and he is heading into year 5 this coming January, yet he is lauded as this great manager even after they were given a lesson in how to play hurling v Kilkenny in 2022.

The mind boggles.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 16/07/2023 11:19:19    2494731

I have a very close friend who won 1 All-Ireland and said the banquet was the best craic he had in the whole celebration.
He said the banquet was the only chance in the whole celebration where he got to spend time with team mates and their families rather than being pulled from pillar to post by every drunk loulah.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1908 - 16/07/2023 12:22:20    2494744

Best wishes to Limerick and Kk this week. Two teams who play Hurling as it should be played.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 863 - 16/07/2023 14:23:41    2494781

Replying To Past hurler:  "Jealousy, especially among his own former teammates.

Davy achieved as a manger what Daly, Lohan all failed at, winning Liam McCarthy as both a player and a manager of Clare.

Lohan has won absolutely nothing with Clare as a manager and he is heading into year 5 this coming January, yet he is lauded as this great manager even after they were given a lesson in how to play hurling v Kilkenny in 2022.

The mind boggles."
If your barometer of someone's character is how successful they are then you are a bad judge of character.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/07/2023 14:29:33    2494784

Replying To Past hurler:  "Jealousy, especially among his own former teammates.

The mind boggles."
Btw. This arose as a result of me saying that Waterford would go no where under Davy. That is not an exclusive view point to Clare people.

You would be very hard pressed to find anyone who thinks that Davy will bring Waterford places. All I said was that beating Tipp (who as it transpired were a busted flush) will prove to be a negative as Waterford actually regressed further under Davy this year. That is not a controversial opinion but an opinion shared by the majority.

All is rosey with Davy when things are going well. When they are not, the sideshow begins which all your Wexford Clare haters should know well as every time we beat ye his interviews after were incredibly disrespectful towards Wexford (Clare this, Clare that). I can't understand why ye now would be trying to have a go at me given not one of ye wanted him to stay with Wexford.

Davy never acknowledges his own failings and always seeks to deflect. It's never his fault. The victim mentality get tiresome.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/07/2023 14:36:56    2494787