All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

The greatest team to play the game. Kilkenny the greatest county in the history of the GAA but without doubt this group of Limerick hurlers 2020-2024 are the best team to do it. They proved it yesterday.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 24/07/2023 13:34:13    2496530

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Jesus wept will ye clowns ever move on. Clare are buried in your head."
Ye were never buried in my head in the 1st place, my initial point was it was no guarantee that Clare would have put it up to Limerick yesterday like consistently ye have in Munster, don't think any team would have lived with Limerick yesterday in the 2nd half.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/07/2023 13:53:52    2496539

Replying To daveboy:  "The greatest team to play the game. Kilkenny the greatest county in the history of the GAA but without doubt this group of Limerick hurlers 2020-2024 are the best team to do it. They proved it yesterday."
KK the greatest HURLING county in the history of the GAA. A disgrace when it comes to football

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 24/07/2023 13:57:00    2496540

Replying To daveboy:  "The greatest team to play the game. Kilkenny the greatest county in the history of the GAA but without doubt this group of Limerick hurlers 2020-2024 are the best team to do it. They proved it yesterday."
KK don't even field a football team. How could they be the 'greatest county' in GAA history, when they're the only county in Ireland not fielding a football team currently?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 24/07/2023 13:59:33    2496542

I agree but not just because of yesterday they've shown an ability to problem solve in game like no team I've seen before and the ability to both put a team to the sword like yesterday and grind out results in the closing straight like they did in Munster, I think Kilkenny's 2006-09 hallmark was how in a 10 minute spell a game could move from in the balance to been over, this Limerick side seems to be more a death by a thousand cuts approach.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/07/2023 14:04:01    2496547

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "KK don't even field a football team. How could they be the 'greatest county' in GAA history, when they're the only county in Ireland not fielding a football team currently?"
They have won Leinster titles at Football

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11874 - 24/07/2023 14:14:38    2496552

Replying To Viking66:  "They have won Leinster titles at Football"
When was that, Viking?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 24/07/2023 14:21:51    2496557

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I agree but not just because of yesterday they've shown an ability to problem solve in game like no team I've seen before and the ability to both put a team to the sword like yesterday and grind out results in the closing straight like they did in Munster, I think Kilkenny's 2006-09 hallmark was how in a 10 minute spell a game could move from in the balance to been over, this Limerick side seems to be more a death by a thousand cuts approach."
It's think it's more of a bludgeoning experience than death by 1000 cuts. This Limerick team has played 13 NHL Munster or allireland finals, and won all of them, by an average greater than 7 points. I haven't decided what I'd call that, domination obviously, but I wouldn't call it death by 1000 cuts.

It's been much more 'abrupt' than that on many of those 13 occasions. Limerick could have hung 7-40 on Cork at the 2021 final, but they didn't, because they're nice lads who come across well, so they 'freewheeled' the last 25mins to reduce Cork's humiliation. Was Cork's 2021 final failure a death by 1000 cuts? No, more like death from multiple organ failure.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 24/07/2023 14:38:04    2496563

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "KK the greatest HURLING county in the history of the GAA. A disgrace when it comes to football"
Apologies hurling is the GAA for me :)

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 24/07/2023 15:33:48    2496578

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "KK don't even field a football team. How could they be the 'greatest county' in GAA history, when they're the only county in Ireland not fielding a football team currently?"
Apologies I meant hurling county*

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 24/07/2023 15:37:49    2496579

Genuine congrats to Limerick.
If there was one county I would have picked to dominate (outside of my own of course), it would be Limerick. Even after all their success in the last 6 years, they're still not taking it for granted. Limerick are still bringing huge crowds to every match. Of the 7 matches they played this year, 4 had an attendance of over 40,000, and only one had an attendance less than 30,000. And in each case mostly Limerick people. And every match was an event, they really made every game they were in a spectacle. That can only be good for the game in general.
So yeah, fair play, already looking forward to next year.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 24/07/2023 15:57:34    2496588

Replying To baire:  "When was that, Viking?"
Not today or yesterday Baire; D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11874 - 24/07/2023 16:02:20    2496592

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "Genuine congrats to Limerick.
If there was one county I would have picked to dominate (outside of my own of course), it would be Limerick. Even after all their success in the last 6 years, they're still not taking it for granted. Limerick are still bringing huge crowds to every match. Of the 7 matches they played this year, 4 had an attendance of over 40,000, and only one had an attendance less than 30,000. And in each case mostly Limerick people. And every match was an event, they really made every game they were in a spectacle. That can only be good for the game in general.
So yeah, fair play, already looking forward to next year."
That's a great post fair play to you

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11874 - 24/07/2023 16:03:18    2496593

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It's think it's more of a bludgeoning experience than death by 1000 cuts. This Limerick team has played 13 NHL Munster or allireland finals, and won all of them, by an average greater than 7 points. I haven't decided what I'd call that, domination obviously, but I wouldn't call it death by 1000 cuts.

It's been much more 'abrupt' than that on many of those 13 occasions. Limerick could have hung 7-40 on Cork at the 2021 final, but they didn't, because they're nice lads who come across well, so they 'freewheeled' the last 25mins to reduce Cork's humiliation. Was Cork's 2021 final failure a death by 1000 cuts? No, more like death from multiple organ failure."
The 2021 final was like the 2008 final, a team naive on the big occasion shown no mercy by the vaunted opposition, the the 2020,22&23 finals Limerick have scored 1 goal combined but pile on the points, alot of Kilkenny's big wins in their pomp they'd get 2 goals in a 5 mins spell to leave their opponents startled, Limerick its a more gradual thing.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/07/2023 16:08:51    2496594

Sound. Lovely post and sentiments.
Thank you.
We absolutely relish what we're experiencing at the moment.
long may it last :)

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 24/07/2023 16:16:59    2496596

Quality post

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 24/07/2023 16:26:20    2496601

Replying To baire:  "When was that, Viking?"
Over 100 years ago.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/07/2023 16:42:33    2496610

Replying To skillet:  "Sound. Lovely post and sentiments.
Thank you.
long may it last :)"
I've been to 52 All Ireland senior hurling finals. Limerick's performance in the second half yesterday is the greatest that I have ever seen. It was a privilege to have been there to see it.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/07/2023 16:45:12    2496611

Replying To skillet:  "Sound. Lovely post and sentiments.
Thank you.
long may it last :)"
Congrats Limerick.

Super win - 4 in a row and 5 in last 6.

Some achievement.

Cant see anyone stopping them next year either tbh.
Such a formidable squad.

Fair play.

Fully deserved.

ps Hats off to the Cats for a great effort also.
They just couldnt stop the flow of attacks once Limerick got on that roll after the 2nd Kilkenny goal.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 24/07/2023 16:49:23    2496612

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Basically your weak argument is getting torn asunder by facts and logic and you've to resort having a pop at those Wexford lads for Wexford's terrible year. Wexford's terrible year has nothing to do with this argument, these are the facts Tipp had 1 game in the 4 weeks leading up their game against Galway a turkey shoot vs Offaly and they lost, Clare had 1 game in the 4 weeks leading up to the SF against Kilkenny a turkey shoot vs Dublin and they lost. A intense Munster championship wasn't the reason either of those teams lost, Clare lost to Kilkenny due to some awful decisions by both players and management, Tipp lost to Galway because their not consistent enough at the moment. The hurling landscape at the moment is Limerick an all time great side are top of the pile and there's very little between the next 5 teams in a given game( Kilkenny, Clare, Galway, Tipp, Cork) just a matter of who turns up on the day. Limerick would be winning All Ireland's regardless of what province they play in as they've some generational players, on your point above the 1 year since 2018 they haven't won the All Ireland they destroyed Waterford, Clare and Tipp in Munster and after a 4 week break after the Munster final got caught by Kilkenny, don't think an intense Munster campaign caught them out that year. You mention Kilkenny's 4 in a row in Leinster, there hardly dominating teams like Dublin do the Leinster football championship, they lost to Wexford last 2 years, drew with and lost to Galway the last 2 years, went to extra time with Wexford in 2021, won the Leinster final this with a goal last puck of the game. Finally I don't think anyone disputes that Munster is stronger than Leinster at the moment but I'll point out how daft your 4 teams qualify out of 5 logic is, if that was the case the brilliant occasion of Limerick/Cork in the final round robin game would be severely diluted as both teams would have been already qualified, the brilliant occasions of Clare/ Cork and Tipp/Limerick the week before would have been severely diluted as all 4 teams would have been already qualified, jeopardy is a big part of what makes sport exciting."
I'm not having a pop at Wexford but they're poor at the moment. So are Offaly and Galway are mediocre. That's led to an ordinary Kilkenny team reaching the last two All Ireland finals and getting hammered by 9 points yesterday. The provincial championship is distorting the All Ireland series. Cork nearly knocked Limerick out yet Cork themselves were out and gone home. I don't know what Cork would have thought yesterday watching that final. Perhaps the answer is to have the provincial championships separate from the All Ireland championship. Nobody wants to see the end of the Munster championship but having Leinster on a par with Munster at the moment for qualification for the All Ireland series is nonsense and nobody, yellow belly or whatever will convince me otherwise.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 24/07/2023 16:57:15    2496615