All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To Jedobi:  "How are Roscommon doing in the hurling..."
Silly. There's a substantive point here to be addressed. Btw I'd love to see Wexford win an All Ireland.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 23/07/2023 22:42:02    2496430

From the rubble of the 2009 semi final when Tipperary mauled Limerick by 6-19 to 2-07 & a shambles of a season in 2010.

Limerick went away dusted themselves down & worked damn hard to address their failings in the game.
No self pity, but people in Limerick pulled together to build a legacy which has surpassed their most optimistic of supporters.
Tis a credit to all concerned & an example of what hard work & an honest appraisal can do to achieve massive success.

I reckon Henry Martin will have to pen a new book titled "Unlimited Success " to pay due homage to his all conquering Limerick team.
Well done to all concerned.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 106 - 23/07/2023 22:46:13    2496431

Replying To endgame:  "Wexford posters standing up for the Leinster championship. Wexford couldn't beat Westmeath this year and Wexford have won Leinster once in 20 years. A very ordinary Kilkenny team will go for 5 Leinster titles in a row next year. That says it all. if Limerick were playing in Leinster they'd win 6 or 7 All Irelands in a row because they'd only have to peak for a semi final and final. Limerick nearly came undone this year in Munster where Cork could have knocked them out of the entire championship. They picked up the injuries to Finn and Hannon in Munster. The intensity and competitiveness of the Munster championship will ultimately catch up with this great Limerick team and is the biggest threat to their 5 in a row ambitions because nothing in Leinster will beat them over the next few years."
Actually it's twice in 19 years, 2004 and 2019.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 194 - 23/07/2023 22:56:16    2496432

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Clare haven't delivered in Croke Park since 2013, no guarantee they'd put it up to Limerick like they do in Munster."
I think they have played there 3 times since 2013, drawing against all Ireland Champions in 2019 semi final, getting a beating against the cats last year and a narrow defeat against the cats this year.
Will the Wexford obsession with Clare ever end?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 23/07/2023 22:58:21    2496433

An extraordinary game, I had predicted a Limerick win in going for 4 in a row and good luck to all concerned with that.

I thought Kilkenny brought a massive level of tenacity, thought, and team spirit into today's game, I thought the first half was full of physicality, speed, and scores that was made look so easy. Kilkenny rattled the back of the Limerick net with a goal from the top drawer, sort of. Kilkenny added on a few more points but so too did Limerick, Kilkenny went in leading by 1-09 to 0-09 leading by 0-03 after being 0-06 up against the might of Limerick.

The second half started well enough for Kilkenny they slotted over a couple of points, so too did Limerick, then Kilkenny sent a pile driver to the Limerick net, in fact it went through it, Kilkenny went 0-05 up again, Limerick clawed their way back into the game but I thought Kilkenny were still in touch up to the 60th min. So where did it all go wrong for Kilkenny and go right for Limerick.

Personally I think Kilkenny left everything they had on the pitch at half time, nothing left in the tank.

Serious congrats to Limerick and commiserations to a gallant Kilkenny.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 23/07/2023 23:10:19    2496434

Replying To endgame:  "Wexford posters standing up for the Leinster championship. Wexford couldn't beat Westmeath this year and Wexford have won Leinster once in 20 years. A very ordinary Kilkenny team will go for 5 Leinster titles in a row next year. That says it all. if Limerick were playing in Leinster they'd win 6 or 7 All Irelands in a row because they'd only have to peak for a semi final and final. Limerick nearly came undone this year in Munster where Cork could have knocked them out of the entire championship. They picked up the injuries to Finn and Hannon in Munster. The intensity and competitiveness of the Munster championship will ultimately catch up with this great Limerick team and is the biggest threat to their 5 in a row ambitions because nothing in Leinster will beat them over the next few years."
But limerick did only peak for the semi final.

If they'd turned up like that in the round Robin they'd have beaten the rest of munster by 20 points.

Also we've won leinster twice in the last 20 years.

It's not just about winning it.

Kilkenny have had some savage tests they've come through too.

Galway didn't get out of leinster in 19, and I'd argue they'd have beaten anyone else out of munster other than limerick.

Munster is tougher yes, there are no easy matches, but leinster is not easy to win like you're making out.

In the last ten years we've had four different winners.

The leinster final is very often as good or better than the munster final.

A packed thurles or limerick feels better than a half full croke Park but it isn't. That's proven time and time again in the all Ireland serious.

The key point is that Hurling exists outside of munster in a very real way regardless of how certain people feel about it.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2668 - 23/07/2023 23:32:03    2496438

Realistically in hindsight I don't think Limerick got out of 3rd gear in Munster round Robin and didn't have to. They're experts at peaking at the right time, enough confidence in their ability and experience at this stage to realize that. Any time they've played Munster teams in the all Ireland series it's been pretty tough days. 2020 all Ireland final v Waterford, 21 semi final v Waterford, 21 final v Cork. They've been absolute hammerings. They don't need to peak for every game, they're that much better that they play to their own time frame, sure they don't want to loose but they only need peak for the what essentially is the only competition that matters in the grand scheme of things and still won 5 of them in a row. I think outside of Limerick, the rest of Munster is pretty average, I have Kilkenny ahead of the chasing pack and then Clare, Galway, Tipp, Cork below that again. Waterford, Wexford, Dublin a level below that again, any of those 3 could pull a shock v the ones above, Waterford v Tipp, Wexford v Kilkenny, Dublin v Galway but couldn't do it more than once this year, all 3 have potential to move up a level. It's Limericks competition, we're just living in it atm. Some team, probably the best team unit that has ever taken the pitch, Kilkennys golden team(s) had probably greater individuals but my God that Limerick unit is some machine, so in synce and trained. Outrageous. Bit it's pointless comparing the two, just appreciate what were watching atm.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 259 - 23/07/2023 23:39:02    2496439

Basically your weak argument is getting torn asunder by facts and logic and you've to resort having a pop at those Wexford lads for Wexford's terrible year. Wexford's terrible year has nothing to do with this argument, these are the facts Tipp had 1 game in the 4 weeks leading up their game against Galway a turkey shoot vs Offaly and they lost, Clare had 1 game in the 4 weeks leading up to the SF against Kilkenny a turkey shoot vs Dublin and they lost. A intense Munster championship wasn't the reason either of those teams lost, Clare lost to Kilkenny due to some awful decisions by both players and management, Tipp lost to Galway because their not consistent enough at the moment. The hurling landscape at the moment is Limerick an all time great side are top of the pile and there's very little between the next 5 teams in a given game( Kilkenny, Clare, Galway, Tipp, Cork) just a matter of who turns up on the day. Limerick would be winning All Ireland's regardless of what province they play in as they've some generational players, on your point above the 1 year since 2018 they haven't won the All Ireland they destroyed Waterford, Clare and Tipp in Munster and after a 4 week break after the Munster final got caught by Kilkenny, don't think an intense Munster campaign caught them out that year. You mention Kilkenny's 4 in a row in Leinster, there hardly dominating teams like Dublin do the Leinster football championship, they lost to Wexford last 2 years, drew with and lost to Galway the last 2 years, went to extra time with Wexford in 2021, won the Leinster final this with a goal last puck of the game. Finally I don't think anyone disputes that Munster is stronger than Leinster at the moment but I'll point out how daft your 4 teams qualify out of 5 logic is, if that was the case the brilliant occasion of Limerick/Cork in the final round robin game would be severely diluted as both teams would have been already qualified, the brilliant occasions of Clare/ Cork and Tipp/Limerick the week before would have been severely diluted as all 4 teams would have been already qualified, jeopardy is a big part of what makes sport exciting.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/07/2023 00:27:36    2496444

Replying To Viking66:  "Limerick were far from their peak in Munster. And have still now won 5 Munsters in a row.
Yes Wexford lost and drew to Westmeath the last 2 years. Exact same results against Galway. Lost twice to Dublin. But beat Kilkenny twice. Leinster is not predictable. Kilkenny are the only side to get out of it every year of the Round Robin. But nearly didn't last year had Dublin even got a point against Galway. Last year was Dublins only defeat to Galway in 6 seasons. They won or drew all their other games against Galway in that period.
All that is irrelevant as in another 8 years likely the hurling landscape will have completely changed like it has in the last 8 years."
If all that is irrelevant, it might have been a wise move to desist from typing it.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 24/07/2023 00:39:56    2496445

Nothing to do with province, Limerick are a league apart. Delighted for ye tonight lads. For all of Kilkenny's impressive street fighting, once ye found ye're groove there was only one team in it, it mightn't have been the prettiest match, but that was a feckin' battle. 'Hon Limerick!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/07/2023 04:47:53    2496452

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "A rather nasty comment from a certain pundit about "sugardaddy" and "sugarbabies."

As a Dub, I can only sympathise. Begrudgers will begrudge. JP ought to be congratulated for investing so much of his money into all aspects of Irish sport, and into many other worth while projects. I'd say its money that is put to better use than if it ended up in the hands of those who spend our tax.

Brilliant display from an awesome team. Kilkenny looked bereft of ideas in the second half. Can't ever recall the stripey men fold like that."
I'm only reading through comments etc now after getting home late last night..have to agree with you though. The remark by "Saint" was small, petulant and frankly sad..the mask slipped there big time.

That second half performance was one of the most incredible I've ever seen. The atmosphere was spine tingling when we started to fire.
Casey in the last 20 mins gave a virtuoso display..CON was brilliant when he came on.. I was fortunate to be in the lower Cusack on the half way line and able to witness, to paraphrase Donal Og " a display for the ages"

Kilkenny were as expected, tough, committed, showed some flashes of brilliance esp with Cody's goal but limited when the game went on.
their Puck outs into the breeze in the second half seemed to find a Limerick man time and again. Byrne's had a tough time of it in the first half but my God, he was incredible as the game developed. Himself, WOD and Hayes just ran riot.

Just blessed to see a Limerick team of this calibre, we were on the ropes in Munster and at one point I was worried we wouldn't get out at all. Timed our run to perfection and to see the great Cian Lynch lift Liam after all his injuries last year was just special.
Great days.. Luimneach Abu!!

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 24/07/2023 08:10:38    2496453

Replying To katser:  "Your probably wondering what would a Roscommon man know about hurling, but he does have a point.
I definitely agree that winning Leinster is so important because of the free pass to the All Ireland Semi Final because the standard in Leinster is weak.
Isn't it mad to think that Waterford, Cork and Tipperary had all opportunities and "could have" beaten limrik in this years Munster Championship."
"LIMRIK"

I'll help you here with your spelling problems Kathy, as you seem to constantly lose a vowel or letter when it comes to us..
I'm sure it's nothing to be worried about, but it's an ongoing issue for you these last few years so you might want to look into it..
Try this out and see if it's any help :)

E rhymes with 3.. as in
the 2023
1)league champions ,
2) Munster champions
3) All Ireland champions

C.. rhymes with glee..
Which is a very nice word to describe seeing your county win 4 all Irelands in a row.
(along with the league and Mackey cup)

So you end up with LimEriCk.. Keep repeating those stats above and I'm sure you'll never forget how to spell LIMERICK again.
You're welcome :)

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 24/07/2023 08:43:17    2496459

Replying To PattyONeill:  "I saw a Limerick flag outside a house in co.Derry. I originally thought it was a Fermanagh flag as the logos are similar."
We would have strong support from our friends in the north.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 24/07/2023 10:29:27    2496472

Best combined VX from Limerick 4 in a row and Kilkenny 4 in a row teams?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 24/07/2023 10:32:41    2496473

Congrats to Limerick.. my money was on Kilkenny but Limerick saved their best performance by far for the AI final after just doing enough to get through Munster, that's the sign of a serious team. What a 2nd half.. Byrnes was my man of the match but you cant have to complains that Casey got.. super performance throughout the team.. all the big lads stood up when they were needed.. enjoy the celebrations.

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 63 - 24/07/2023 11:06:58    2496477

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "Well done to Limerick; they're a brilliant team. Kilkenny were a major disappointing; men against boys in the second half. Thought that Kilkenny had a big chance today with Limerick missing some of their key defensive players. It is hard to see anyone preventing Limerick from winning five in a row. The challengers lack and there is no real complete team out there to compete against the complete team that is Limerick. Can't see Kilkenny winning an All Ireland at this group especially as a number of them are nearing the end of their careers. Kilkenny will be disappointed to miss a good opportunity today and with their performance. Very unlike Kilkenny in the second half; the gulf was very apparent. Should there not be a call for Limerick to be divided considering their dominance which is likely to continue into the future .... only joking, couldn't resist!!!!!"
As someone said to me the other day............... "I'd Love if Limerick were split in two............................ a Limerick V Limerick All Ireland would be epic"

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 54 - 24/07/2023 11:59:06    2496494

Replying To galwayford:  "Galway beat Limerick in March."
March 2022 I'd say your thinking of.

I was in Pearse Staduim on a lovely sunny Sunday in February this year and I thought Limerick won by 5 points

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 54 - 24/07/2023 12:07:09    2496495

Replying To Ban:  "I think they have played there 3 times since 2013, drawing against all Ireland Champions in 2019 semi final, getting a beating against the cats last year and a narrow defeat against the cats this year.
Will the Wexford obsession with Clare ever end?"
Will Clare's habit of blaming everyone and everything else when they fall short ever end?

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 24/07/2023 12:50:47    2496511

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "If all that is irrelevant, it might have been a wise move to desist from typing it."
I was answering the man's post.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 24/07/2023 13:15:36    2496525

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Will Clare's habit of blaming everyone and everything else when they fall short ever end?"
Jesus wept will ye clowns ever move on. Clare are buried in your head.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 24/07/2023 13:30:11    2496529