Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Better team won first of all.

Ref was worth 5 points.

We did all the hurling in the first half and didn't put enough on the board.

Frees was a big problem for us. We couldn't her them, then missed most of what we got.

Galway lifted it a lot in the second half... We looked incredibly leggy.

Very disappointing night.

We needed jippo and mac to lead us and they didn't.

We're not the same without chinner and Rory.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2628 - 04/02/2023 19:03:21    2456423

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Getting hurled off the pitch is how i would phrase it. Played to our ability in my opinion"
You only post when we lose.

Missing half a team and with officials that understood the rules we'd have lost by 3 points.

Galway were good in the second half to be fair.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2628 - 04/02/2023 19:11:27    2456427

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Getting hurled off the pitch is how i would phrase it. Played to our ability in my opinion"
Wouldn't agree with that at all. We are missing 5 or 6 of our starting 15 and probably our 2 best forwards Rory and Lee.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 04/02/2023 19:24:30    2456431

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You only post when we lose.

Missing half a team and with officials that understood the rules we'd have lost by 3 points.

Galway were good in the second half to be fair."
Thats not true at all. I post when we win also. Alot of our players had the game of their lives in the first half. Fair play to them.

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 251 - 04/02/2023 19:30:43    2456432

Embarrassing post DoylerWex.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 04/02/2023 19:35:10    2456434

Second half fade out. Hard to watch as Galway ran riot. Mac not involved hardly at all. We really had no answer as they piled on the pressure. Hopefully they can get this poor game out of their systems and with a few more regulars returning they will perhaps get back to winning ways.
Big crowd again but not great value for money.p

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 260 - 04/02/2023 19:38:04    2456435

Replying To Afinestick:  "Wouldn't agree with that at all. We are missing 5 or 6 of our starting 15 and probably our 2 best forwards Rory and Lee."
I agree with you 100% that we will be alot stronger with the likes of rory,jacko,mathew and lee back in the team. Thats a no brainer. What i was saying is that the team that played today were never going to be good enough to win. We are trying alot of players that imho will never be upto the level required to compete at the top level. I hope im wrong

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 251 - 04/02/2023 19:41:53    2456437

I don't think blaming the ref for the performance tonight holds any water in all honesty!

Not when you keep hitting wide after wide and don't apparently have a free taker worthy of the name. 5 point in the second half the majority of them coming at the end when the game was over and giving up what 3 or 4 very good goal chances at least.

It was really men against boys stuff in the 2nd half in all honesty.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 04/02/2023 19:44:39    2456438

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Embarrassing post DoylerWex."
Just watched it on telly again.

Stand by every word.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2628 - 04/02/2023 19:48:53    2456439

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We're getting robbed blind here"
Was sitting next to a Galway man for the game and even he thought so!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 04/02/2023 19:54:41    2456440

Replying To tearintom:  "I don't think blaming the ref for the performance tonight holds any water in all honesty!

Not when you keep hitting wide after wide and don't apparently have a free taker worthy of the name. 5 point in the second half the majority of them coming at the end when the game was over and giving up what 3 or 4 very good goal chances at least.

It was really men against boys stuff in the 2nd half in all honesty."
Wouldn't worry 2 much Egan has made it clear its April he's concentrating on not the leauge.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 218 - 04/02/2023 20:00:31    2456442

Replying To beano:  "Most disjointed second half display in a long while, to a worrying degree. I know it's 'only the league' but we can't be so blasé at home in front of a large crowd, with the added bonus of silverware at stake (not exactly growing on trees in the county in recent times). Referee wasn't great, but wasn't the difference.

It was ear-marked here upon the announcement of the team that we were lacking a consistent dead-ball taker, and so it proved on the night. We can't keep shooting ourselves in the foot game on game with double-figure wide counts- we are definitely way off the top teams in our shooting accuracy.

But for a redemptive penalty save from Fanning, and Galway fluffing a clear goal chance in the second half, it could have been a trouncing. I wouldn't be too concerned about Whelan doing damage as he is has done it to some of the best around consistently for a few years now, but I would be worried about how open we looked back there.

Second-best in every category, which is disappointing because we looked well up for it early on when going 3-4 points up. Buffeted too easily off the ball, Galway jad better options off the bench too (I know we are down two of our best and most important forwards amongst others).

Reck our best again, thought Devitt struggled defensively for the first time this season, and Foley had a tough introduction to this level but should be all the better for it. McGuckin our best attacker, and I still think Dwyer is better on the '40. Mac poor given what we needed from him. Pointless giving Carty so little time."
I was sitting beside our bench. The subs were just thrown on without even warming up. We weren't trying to win that game as such. The 2nd half we had nearly a completely different team to the 1st. Half those lads won't even be on the bench come championship so I wouldn't be reading anything into it. We were all a little critical the last few years of management for not doing exactly what Egan did tonight.
The 2nd half was a training exercise nothing more nothing less. The point was to get experience of a big crowd and playing a strong intercounty selection into our younger lads. Play was disjointed because we had no tactical plan. None of the subs were given instructions when entering the pitch. They had their name called and ran on. Henry Shefflin was shown nothing of our team and tactics for the Round Robin opener in Salthill. And rightly so!
It would have been nice to see Carty get the second half but maybe it was important for management to get a good look at Foley and Donohue at wing back.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 04/02/2023 20:16:52    2456445

Maybe if you went to a few more games your opinions might be worth reading? You probably didn't know who half our players were. Or Galways. If you did you would know why the second half went the way it did.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 04/02/2023 20:20:32    2456449

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "I agree with you 100% that we will be alot stronger with the likes of rory,jacko,mathew and lee back in the team. Thats a no brainer. What i was saying is that the team that played today were never going to be good enough to win. We are trying alot of players that imho will never be upto the level required to compete at the top level. I hope im wrong"
If we don't give those lads experience you will never know. Imagine running onto that pitch to play Galway in front of that crowd. How nervous you would be. The only way to overcome that is by doing it a few times. How could you bring a lad off the bench in a championship game if he didn't get the chance to do it a few times in League games? Lads like Flood and Mogie are only just back. Of course they would look rusty. Lads like Doran, Carty, Higgins, Foley, Byrne Dunbar, Clarke, etc have never played a championship game. Some never even played an adult game for Wexford before this year. I hope you are wrong too. But if Egan didn't get these lads on the pitch in games like tonight he never will. And then lads like us would never get to know if you are right or wrong about them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 04/02/2023 20:29:22    2456451

Replying To tearintom:  "I don't think blaming the ref for the performance tonight holds any water in all honesty!

It was really men against boys stuff in the 2nd half in all honesty."
It was actually men against boys. The average age of the lads we brought on would have been around 21.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 04/02/2023 20:30:20    2456452

Replying To Tiger1:  "Wouldn't worry 2 much Egan has made it clear its April he's concentrating on not the leauge."
OK first thing first, the last 20 minutes were very poor and slightly worrying. For me the three big issues were once again, free taking, wides and winning primary possession. The ref was poor but not the cause of the losing of the game. We should have been 4/5 points up at half time and we cannot afford to keep throwing away scores like we do.
When I saw both team sheets, I had a feeling Galway would win by 5 or more,as they had almost a fulll strength team and we were missing 6 to 7 starters.
Our younger lads looked very small and their touch was behind where it should be but there young. Disappointing night but it only the first league game.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 920 - 04/02/2023 20:34:59    2456456

Replying To Viking66:  "I was sitting beside our bench. The subs were just thrown on without even warming up. We weren't trying to win that game as such. The 2nd half we had nearly a completely different team to the 1st. Half those lads won't even be on the bench come championship so I wouldn't be reading anything into it. We were all a little critical the last few years of management for not doing exactly what Egan did tonight.
The 2nd half was a training exercise nothing more nothing less. The point was to get experience of a big crowd and playing a strong intercounty selection into our younger lads. Play was disjointed because we had no tactical plan. None of the subs were given instructions when entering the pitch. They had their name called and ran on. Henry Shefflin was shown nothing of our team and tactics for the Round Robin opener in Salthill. And rightly so!
It would have been nice to see Carty get the second half but maybe it was important for management to get a good look at Foley and Donohue at wing back."
Well if that's the case then that's poor poor management.

We have numerous players already out injured and we are sending players on to play without warming up, no plan, no subs given instructions coming in to the pitch! that wouldnt happen in a minor club match! Dont recall anyone being critical of management not doing the likes of that.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 04/02/2023 20:36:52    2456458

Conor Foley should be very proud of himself. Motm in the first half. Mc Guckin very good in first half too.

A Galway lad shouldered you g Conor Foley in the chest when the ball was out of play and got in his face - there was not one bit of retaliation from any Wexford player. A senior player should have retaliated and stuck up for him.

Same when Fanning was fouled coming out with the ball in the first half. No reaction or retaliation. We don't hit hard or play on the edge. No opponent ever comes out with a scratch. I'm not advocating dirty play but I feel we let opponents off lightly with regard the physical side of the game. A big weakness is a lack of aggression in our approach

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 04/02/2023 20:57:19    2456460

Replying To tearintom:  "Well if that's the case then that's poor poor management.

We have numerous players already out injured and we are sending players on to play without warming up, no plan, no subs given instructions coming in to the pitch! that wouldnt happen in a minor club match! Dont recall anyone being critical of management not doing the likes of that."
I agree. A senior inter-county match on a cold evening, and players are being sent on without a chance to warm up? It's a reckless and callous attitude towards the welfare of the players.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 04/02/2023 21:00:57    2456463

Replying To Viking66:  "If we don't give those lads experience you will never know. Imagine running onto that pitch to play Galway in front of that crowd. How nervous you would be. The only way to overcome that is by doing it a few times. How could you bring a lad off the bench in a championship game if he didn't get the chance to do it a few times in League games? Lads like Flood and Mogie are only just back. Of course they would look rusty. Lads like Doran, Carty, Higgins, Foley, Byrne Dunbar, Clarke, etc have never played a championship game. Some never even played an adult game for Wexford before this year. I hope you are wrong too. But if Egan didn't get these lads on the pitch in games like tonight he never will. And then lads like us would never get to know if you are right or wrong about them."
I agree with you but i find it frustrating to see certain players that dont even stand out at club level get chance after chance after chance.

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 251 - 04/02/2023 21:16:57    2456465