Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Well lads still in shock from yesterday as reality has hit home that we couple possible be playing in joe mcdonagh cup next year… just can't get over how we were 17 points up getting out scored in the 2nd half by 4-13 to 7 points in the 2nd half… crazy stuff no leaders on the field or line, some decisions Egan has made in last few games have to be questioned, starts foley and lawlor against Dublin doesn't start foley yesterday and I thought he played quiet well against Dublin… lawlor gets no game time yesterday.. … moves chin to full forward mid way through 2nd half no ball goes in his direction… we were cleaned out of it in the half back line again… takes off Dundar who was doing well…anyone who thinks mikie Dwyer is good enough for intercounty is senile fell over himself on 5 or 6 occasions yesterday…gives up the puck out to Westmeath in both half's.. I just can't see how them players can lift them selves to beat kk Sunday i really can't.. think we need to get rid of Egan Willie cleary Niall o Laughlin and back room team as it clearly ain't working players for me don't want to play for him…

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 322 - 22/05/2023 09:18:41    2480305

Dont know what to say after yesterday. Havent felt as low after a game in a long time. Given the position we were in it was the worst result in the history of Wexford hurling. How have we fallen from the cusp of an All Ireland Semi final last year to the verge of Joe McDonagh hurling now. Both players and management at fault. From what I hear the vibe in the camp is not good this year. Where do we go from here? We need to hope we can somehow gather ourselves this week to deliver a performance good enough to beat Kilkenny. Very hard to see that right now

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 22/05/2023 09:34:42    2480311

Replying To galwayford:  "Wexford clubs have not done well. Only in camogie Oulart have won All Irelands. Maybe Wex should look at the set up in Oulart the ballagh, camogie."
All relates to huge work by a number of parents including the Jacobs, Leacy's back in the day in the schools in the Oulart area. The players came from that crop. Oulart are arguably nearing the end of their golden period in camogie, they were awesome in stopping farther time and winning their most recent All Ireland a couple of years ago. Wexford camogie itself is in a dire state mainly due to nothing constructive going on in schools across the county.

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 22/05/2023 09:41:49    2480315

Replying To Viking66:  "As if things weren't bad enough a former Kilkenny player called us spineless on TSG and he's right. Hopefully those comments will be on the dressing room wall."
over 8000 posts, just please stop and get a life and let other people give there views

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 22/05/2023 09:53:15    2480321

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "All relates to huge work by a number of parents including the Jacobs, Leacy's back in the day in the schools in the Oulart area. The players came from that crop. Oulart are arguably nearing the end of their golden period in camogie, they were awesome in stopping farther time and winning their most recent All Ireland a couple of years ago. Wexford camogie itself is in a dire state mainly due to nothing constructive going on in schools across the county."
I know a few Wex GAA lads who seem to me to be more interested in following Leinster rugby and Liverpool FC than supporting the local GAA.
Wex need to focus on hurling and football. And have some successful clubs and schools. St Peters were in All Ireland schools football final a few years ago. On a positive note, the Fleadh Ceoil is coming to Wexford town next August 2024. It is like Wex winning an All Ireland. This will help Gaels in South Wexford. Also plenty of KK insults thrown on media recently.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2620 - 22/05/2023 09:58:35    2480325

Replying To Viking66:  "I wasn't anything to do with the team. I hate it when you start posting again as it always means we are doing badly."
no, I'm a passionate wexford man all.my life and just hate wexford losing and the rubbish from people like you,

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 22/05/2023 09:58:41    2480326

Replying To Viking66:  "The players don't deserve the criticism?"
totally agree but the county board and management team together with the model og full time paid coaches do

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 22/05/2023 10:00:12    2480328

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "now since we have the attention of wexford park, can we have your mind set into team selection of this year's minor team against kilkenny.
why was there 4 players from the managers club ( 1 or two maybe but noway 4), why 2 players from a selectors club ( one injured and player starting can't make his school team) , why 6 under 16 boys selected at u17 grade to start against kilkenny and expect to be competitive ,especially strange when you look at the extended panel full of 17 year old boys who lost there change to represent wexford at minor level, ryan from St annes, walsh from gusserane, mooney from rathnure, oconnor from bunclody, quinn front kilrush, mooney for example is 6'3", a stand out player for club and school since Richard league and not given one minute in minor championship and will again be a stand out player in this summers minor championship, nothing personal but some body has to be accountable for poor results in your so called academy, we are on the verge of no lenister or liam Mccarthy next year due to lack of underage success and development,"
A much better post from you at least you are naming names! Who do you think should be selecting? How are managers chosen? And more importantly how should our structures be changed? I don't think it's a funding issue per se.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 10:14:06    2480338

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Ah Tony,
You said a year ago now about knowing a full team of minor players better than the Wexford minor team, any chance now that you are back with a vengeance you will list them?"
sorry storey, not vengeance just very upset with wexford gaa and lack of success at every level, and the poor set up of our academy and weak county chairmen appointed
for a great hurling and gaa county like wexford it is just not acceptable if we want to compete at the high level

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 22/05/2023 10:16:38    2480341

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I dont think that is actually correct. Kilkenny need to get at least a draw vs Wexford to guarantee being in Leinster final....if they were to lose and Dublin beat Galway all 3 teams would be on 7 points and then score difference would come into play."
They only count the score difference of the three games played between Galway, Kilkenny, and Dublin. It's a new thing that only came in this year

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 22/05/2023 10:16:49    2480343

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "why are wexford park coaches posting on hogan stand ? and for the record, did westmeath not beat us at minor level in 2015, when we had 6 players starting from the managers club st martins, nothing learnt or nothing changed and now westmeath beating us at senior, kildare have beaten us a u20 so where are we going from here,
lets srart with a full over haul of ferns coe coaching academy structure,"
You should give this Westmeath team, and that minor team, alot of credit too. Many of them were on their u21 team that beat Kilkennys u21 team managed by Eddie Brennan in 2016 too. The assumption that we should automatically be beating them is part of the problem, especially when it is the players who seem to be believing that assumption also. The big difference I can see between ourselves and the other top teams is their players play their best every time they put on their county Jersey, and it's plain to see ours don't. It's like they only raise their game when they play Kilkenny, which is fundamentally wrong.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 10:19:10    2480345

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "over 8000 posts, just please stop and get a life and let other people give there views"
I've no problem with other people giving their views. I always read your posts carefully and everyone else's. It's how I learn that some of my views aren't right, which is the case sometimes. Maybe you should try listening to other people too sometimes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 10:22:25    2480346

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "no, I'm a passionate wexford man all.my life and just hate wexford losing and the rubbish from people like you,"
What rubbish? That we don't have the players to play a long game? We seem to have a keeper who isn't confident to puck it out short? Or a manager that's instructing him to puck it out long the whole time to lads who repeatedly aren't winning it like Jacko yesterday? Or playing 2 other lads in the half forwards and barely hitting a ball towards them for some reason, possibly injury in which case why are they starting at all ? Or how we don't have the players to play 15 on 15 when we gave ourselves a 16 point headstart and weren't able to beat them 15 on 15 in a half of hurling? Am I wrong in saying any of that?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 10:28:37    2480352

Replying To Viking66:  "Think it's personal myself."
very personal, I don't like wexford losing and I don't like the possibility of not playing in senior or all ireland liam macarthy championship next year,if we don't compete and have succes at minor level but will never complete at senior level, I'm just totally distraught after yesterday that words can't explain

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 22/05/2023 10:28:40    2480353

Please spare us all the 96 lads need to come in and rescue us *****.

Not a single good manager came from that group bar Liam Dunne who proved himself to be a terrible man manager

We need a Wexford manager who cares about the county - not a Tipp man or a Clare man who only care about fleecing the coffers and making themselves rich and improving their CV.

When Davy left - 5 years of coaching expertise left with him - same now with Egan

And lads who are criticising each other for being critical of a team who lost a 17 point lead against Westmeath need their head examined.

It was a shameful result from a decent crop of talented players. The worst in the history of Wexford hurling.

If your gonna play that badly then you can expect criticism- if you can't handle that then you shouldn't be playing sport.

Egan out ASAP

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 22/05/2023 10:32:48    2480357

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "They only count the score difference of the three games played between Galway, Kilkenny, and Dublin. It's a new thing that only came in this year"
Yes but Dublin would have to beat Galway by about 30 points not going to happen .

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 22/05/2023 10:35:45    2480361

Replying To gannett83:  "Well lads still in shock from yesterday as reality has hit home that we couple possible be playing in joe mcdonagh cup next year… just can't get over how we were 17 points up getting out scored in the 2nd half by 4-13 to 7 points in the 2nd half… crazy stuff no leaders on the field or line, some decisions Egan has made in last few games have to be questioned, starts foley and lawlor against Dublin doesn't start foley yesterday and I thought he played quiet well against Dublin… lawlor gets no game time yesterday.. … moves chin to full forward mid way through 2nd half no ball goes in his direction… we were cleaned out of it in the half back line again… takes off Dundar who was doing well…anyone who thinks mikie Dwyer is good enough for intercounty is senile fell over himself on 5 or 6 occasions yesterday…gives up the puck out to Westmeath in both half's.. I just can't see how them players can lift them selves to beat kk Sunday i really can't.. think we need to get rid of Egan Willie cleary Niall o Laughlin and back room team as it clearly ain't working players for me don't want to play for him…"
Egan himself said judge him and his management team on the Leinster championship when he was doing what was the right thing during the League as regards blooding new players. They have failed the test. Was Willie Cleary only appointed because he was from Wexford?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 10:43:38    2480369

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "very personal, I don't like wexford losing and I don't like the possibility of not playing in senior or all ireland liam macarthy championship next year,if we don't compete and have succes at minor level but will never complete at senior level, I'm just totally distraught after yesterday that words can't explain"
Can you explain why after you got challenged on comments about the minor team which had massive inconsistencies in them you disappeared for 2 or 3 months? Lads like you who only appear here after shocking displays like yesterday are no good.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/05/2023 10:43:50    2480370

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "very personal, I don't like wexford losing and I don't like the possibility of not playing in senior or all ireland liam macarthy championship next year,if we don't compete and have succes at minor level but will never complete at senior level, I'm just totally distraught after yesterday that words can't explain"
Me too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 10:45:35    2480372

As a KK hurling man, I will be in Wexford Park next Sunday but not sure about how i'll feel about the whole situation. I don't see KK doing Wexford any favours next weekend but at the same time sending Wexford down to Joe McDonagh will not be a good thing for Leinster. While some KK people might revel in the fact they have the opportunity to see KK inflict the worst possible outcome for Wexford i think those will be in the minority. When you take a step back and consider the consequences of Wexford not being in the Leinster Championship its really a disadvantage to every team competing in the province. While things are as bad as they have ever been for a Wexford supporter, they can get worse next weekend but things can also improve next year and the years ahead but Wexford need the competitiveness of the Leinster championship to build from the ground up again. Leinster is already a poor relation to the Munster Championship and losing a county like Wexford would be a disaster for all and wont serve anyone any good.
When ye came to Nowlan park last year and beat us, the celebrations that followed the final whistle were something that a few KK supporters might just retrieve from the memory bank next weekend but I wont be one of those. Its a sad situation for Wexford but equally a sad situation for hurling. Yes the manager will have to go, yes county board need a shake up but ultimately the players need a shake up with one of your own getting in there and restoring a bit of pride in the purple and gold and giving inspiration to the kids around Wexford.

SthCat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1 - 22/05/2023 10:45:46    2480373