Agree fully nobody from the 96 team should be the next manager none of them have proved themselves good enough. We need to move on from 96 its heading on 30 years ago now. I hear the chairman on the radio calling on 18k people to come to the park this weekend. There will be 4 or 5k max there people have had enough. I know myself yesterday I left the park totally deflated
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 22/05/2023 10:47:19 2480374 Link 0 |
Not one players name mentioned or singled out yet you cant resist getting a dig at jacko. You have spent months trying to convince people that he aint good enough to start ahead of lads who shouldnt be anywhere near the panel. I didnt make the match myself but i was told we were septic from midfield back. How did your young lad get on?
Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 22/05/2023 10:50:30 2480377 Link 0 |
We've become hurling's version of Tottenham which says it all really. TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/05/2023 10:53:53 2480379 Link 0 |
If they mixed their game plan to include high balls "into the big men" and practiced it in training, our backs and goalkeepers might have been better able to deal with the "high balls". Our inability to effectively deal with "high balls" landing around our square had been the cause of so many losses in the last few years. Brian Cody's mantra that "a backs first job is to defend" still applies.
Joe1 (Kildare) - Posts: 52 - 22/05/2023 10:55:37 2480381 Link 0 |
Sheedy seems to think ye're grand lads, just some of yere defending wasn't 'Wexford defending' that's all, nothing to worry about. According to Sheedy, Galway are the team with the problems, just not consistent since 2012 etc, which wan will show up, and all that bla bla. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4263 - 22/05/2023 11:01:40 2480385 Link 0 |
Jacko didn't play as badly overall as some of the more experienced lads so I'm sorry if that post sounded like a dig at him. He was poor earlier in the season and didn't seem to be trying which is why I was critical of him back then. It was a dig at management for repeatedly pucking the ball out to him when he wasn't winning it. Why have we no short game to speak of any more?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 11:01:49 2480386 Link 0 |
As a Tottenham fan, I concur. Sorry, but I was saying on here months ago that this did not look good, the display v Clare in the league was the worst I ever saw yet I was called negative and so on that we were trying new things. It is a big call, do you hit the pan-pan today or let them see it out to the bitter but maybe disastrous end? ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1405 - 22/05/2023 11:05:05 2480388 Link 0 |
Players downed tools in the second half. Simple as that. Work rate non existent from an experienced group of players. The fact we couldn't beat a team beaten by I think 22,12,34 points in their previous 3 games sums up where we are at. HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 22/05/2023 11:07:34 2480391 Link 0 |
If we're focusing on under-age, I think we're better off focusing on U20 results and not Minor. Galway win the All-Ireland Minor every second year yet have only won one Senior All-Ireland in the last 30 years. On the flip side, Clare got their backsides handed to them at Minor level by Cork in 2021 yet went very close to them last week at U20. ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 22/05/2023 11:08:30 2480392 Link 0 |
Totally concur with this, the jersey was let down yesterday, the repair work needs to start at 2pm next Sunday.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/05/2023 11:09:16 2480396 Link 0 |
Travelled to the game yesterday expecting a statement and boy did we get a statement! wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 191 - 22/05/2023 11:11:56 2480401 Link 1 |
He's not my young lad but I do know he's very disappointed although I wasn't talking to him. As far as the game went he did OK for what was his first ever championship start. He followed his managers instructions and wasn't responsible for many of their scores, bar one point where he batted the ball as per instruction and a Westmeath man stuck it over the bar. But from going to all the games this year that's what Egan has been telling them to do he must've shouted to the players to get it to ground hundreds of times in the games I was at this year, not sure why he won't let lads catch the ball. He scored a point, his ground hurling was good as usual, he played one ball straight into Rorys hand off the ground which was fairly impressive in this day and age. He got on ball and made some good runs, although not all were spotted by his team mates. Jackos sidelines were excellent he has some skill for a big man, and I couldn't fault him for effort this time. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 11:17:16 2480403 Link 0 |
Did you guys go to the pub at half time instead of full time ??? sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2953 - 22/05/2023 11:22:57 2480410 Link 1 |
There was a collective and unacceptable downing of tools in the 2nd half yesterday, they need to man up this week and start the repair work of the mess they've caused, yesterday had nothing to do county boards, historic underage set ups etc. in my opinion, they just paid the ultimate price for a rotten attitude in the 2nd half.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/05/2023 11:28:28 2480413 Link 0 |
Jackie Tyrrell certainly didn't hold back on the senior players, "spineless". Pity some influential types in Wexford GAA didn't do likewise, even go back to the league semi final defeat to Waterford last year. A similar down tools effort. The league game v Clare this year, the experienced players let the inexperienced ones take the heat. I can't see KK ever doing something like that but if they did their ex players and supporters just wouldn't tolerate it. Yesterday obviously the all time low but the second half v Antrim reeked of arrogance and laziness too if we are honest. Complete lack on field leadership, same as when we blew it v Tipp in 2019. Darragh Egan seems a very nice guy, by all accounts has done a super job with his club and was very well regarded by an AI winning Tipp setup. But in any other sport (or county), yesterday would have been his last day at the helm and still should be. I was in favour of dispensing with her services earlier in the season as I could just sense something wasn't right. But he's a long way from the only problem in Wexford hurling. I'd give Rossiter the game v KK and see if he can get a reaction out of them. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 430 - 22/05/2023 11:47:37 2480426 Link 0 |
For what it's worth I'd give Rossi the job next year, if Wexford hurling is to rebuild over the 2-3 years I think it will have to be based around the 2022/23 u20 teams. TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/05/2023 11:51:56 2480427 Link 0 |
Some lads have posted on this that players will be walking away from the panel if we get relegated. If they do so after the performance in that 2nd half they will lose all respect they ever had in the county.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16416 - 22/05/2023 11:53:48 2480430 Link 0 |
Well I didn't expect that. We'd a family event yesterday so I didn't get to the game or indeed to even a score update until we came out, turned on the radio and heard a devastated Tom Dempsey trying to process what had just happened while Spratt needled him. This has been truly an Annus Horribilis, my wife (not from Wexford) even said how far we'd fallen from the high of a full Wexford Park in January and how the wheels have fallen off since. We now face humiliation being heaped upon us with the prospect of relegation of Joe McDonagh. This from a team that won Leinster and was within a whisker of an All Ireland final appearance in 2019 and how should have made an All IReland Semi Final LAST YEAR. To lose was awful but to lose from a position of total dominance (17 points up at the peak) is baffling, fair play Westmeath BUT we threw this one away. wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 119 - 22/05/2023 11:57:28 2480431 Link 4 |
Liam Dunne was good enough to take over from Colm Bonnor after another Tipp man had left us in some mess. Nobody wanted to take over the team . Liam had to build a new team and had to be pretty good at man management with the team he handed over to Davy. Davy blamed the players after he made a total cock up on the line v Tipp 2019, Fantastic man management from him.Our lads have been flogged for 7 years now playing a Sweeper system. Total Joke . Two Munster Managers and sometime be careful what you wish for . Darrage Egan will take a heavy fall now and the great Davy walked away after leaving our team on its knees . castletownman (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 22/05/2023 12:02:58 2480433 Link 0 |
Others here can comment but the inclusion of the men from 96 on management teams has not paid dividends. From memory weren't Tom Dempsey and maybe Martin Storey over a good Minor team that somehow lost v 13 players one day in Croke Park? Could be wrong there but I remember Tom joking about it years later We aren't going to be competitive for next few years so there's no point spending huge money on outside management teams or pre season trips to Portugal. Start with someone like Joe Fortune who might be a bit excitable but has lots of experience and will give it his all. Give him the authority to get some overrated egos off the panel, which he won't shy away from, and let's go back to basics and restoring pride in the jersey starting with the first league game. Spend big on outside coaches at underage level if we need it to improve standards, that's what Limerick did. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 430 - 22/05/2023 12:04:39 2480435 Link 0 |