Advertisement

National Hurling League 2022

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree totally about Galway no guarantee they will even get out of Leinster. But they are still, along with Waterford, Limericks biggest threat. For them to play Limerick at all they will have to get out of Leinster. They have away trips to here and Kilkenny and have struggled against Dublin the last few years. They will have to have all the issues you mention sorted out or they wont even get to play Limerick. Kilkenny might win Leinster again but I'd only give them a 1 in 4 chance at the minute. Some of their younger players are very good and Cody will have them very well motivated. They wont lie down. But Adrian Mullen still doesnt seem back to his best. TJ is another year older and just got married. Cody and Reid are both good prospects but not yet the finished article. Corcoran is ok. That's most of what they have to come in from Ballyhale. And while the League is only the League friends of mine up there are worried enough. Which is very unusual for Kilkenny men let me tell you! I was only basing the threat on the physicality and skill of the hurlers they have. So that's why I was saying Waterford and Galway are the biggest threats. Agree after typing all that Waterford are the biggest threat!!!!! And I definitely wouldn't want to predict which 5 counties will make the AI series along with Limerick. Waterford are the most likely though."
"TJ is another year older and just got married."
What has TJ's, or any other players, marital status got to do with anything?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2961 - 16/02/2022 18:12:44    2400763

Replying To Viking66:  "Was thinking that too! Do you think Tiger Roll was held back to get favourable weight for the National again? I made a nice few bob on the X country last year!"
You'd wonder what they were at, Poor old horse should be left wander around the fields with his chums.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 16/02/2022 18:33:56    2400767

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Well there are exceptions to everything, and I most certainly wouldn't equate The Rock with tippy-tappy (a sterling, stalwart defender in fact), and of all me, it must grate with him to be associated with the phrase 'tippy-tappy'.

However, tippy-tappy, short puck-out hurling is what comes to mind when you think of that Cork team.

And of course, Stepford wives! Donal Og in trying to have a sly dig at the KK lads, only succeeded in reversing the identification onto himself and his own team.

So, whenever I see Donal Pg do punditry, "Stepford wives" and "tippy-tappy" always come to mind."
Typical American post. Watching a few games in pub in Florida and you know it all. Cork and Wexford as well as Clare had great teams in late 1970's. Players like Ray Cummins, Jimmy Barry Murphy, Denis Coughlan, Tony Doran, Mick Jacob ,starring then. Don't post about something you know little about!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 16/02/2022 18:36:30    2400768

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree totally about Galway no guarantee they will even get out of Leinster. But they are still, along with Waterford, Limericks biggest threat. For them to play Limerick at all they will have to get out of Leinster. They have away trips to here and Kilkenny and have struggled against Dublin the last few years. They will have to have all the issues you mention sorted out or they wont even get to play Limerick. Kilkenny might win Leinster again but I'd only give them a 1 in 4 chance at the minute. Some of their younger players are very good and Cody will have them very well motivated. They wont lie down. But Adrian Mullen still doesnt seem back to his best. TJ is another year older and just got married. Cody and Reid are both good prospects but not yet the finished article. Corcoran is ok. That's most of what they have to come in from Ballyhale. And while the League is only the League friends of mine up there are worried enough. Which is very unusual for Kilkenny men let me tell you! I was only basing the threat on the physicality and skill of the hurlers they have. So that's why I was saying Waterford and Galway are the biggest threats. Agree after typing all that Waterford are the biggest threat!!!!! And I definitely wouldn't want to predict which 5 counties will make the AI series along with Limerick. Waterford are the most likely though."
Galway play both KK and Dublin in Pearse Stadium. They play away against Wexford and Laois.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 16/02/2022 19:18:43    2400775

Replying To Viking66:  "Cork and Wexford were 2 good teams at that time unfortunately they were better than us. Kilkenny still had a very good team they competed in 7, I think from memory, finals between 71 and 79. Tipp didnt have a good team between the late 60s and the late 80s. Just because Tipp werent great it doesnt mean that hurling wasnt great. If so hurling hasnt been great since the 50s and 60s. And the great Cork team of the early noughties were the founders of today's modern style of play. You are the only hurling fan I ever heard describe the Rock as tippy tappy!!!!! Tbh the best decade of hurling in my lifetime was the 90s. No big 3 dominance and the opportunity to dream big at the start of every season for nearly everyone!"
Decent informative post. The Wexford team of late 1970's were excellent and just fell short against an exceptional Cork team. Always good to read informative, educated posts and not drivel!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 16/02/2022 20:47:17    2400781

Replying To Rockies:  "Hope Waterford do manage it. I was at the all Ireland final of 1963. Waterford vs Kilkenny 6-8 to 4-17. Great team then with Tom Cheasty, Larry Guinan and Philly Grimes but Seamus Cleere and company were too strong! Hope Cork are working on the physical side of their game. They have speed to burn but not much good if you can't use it on the big day!"
Rockies I was around for that one but deemed too young to take to Croke Park. The present team now has many options for different positions. However I have to ask do the options make any difference if they are equal to each other but not a step or two above the opposition. They seem to be now following the Limerick model with bigger men. The Limerick boys are big but extremely skillful.
Time will tell as Munster is a mine field. No disrespect to Leinster either as that is now very bit as competitive.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 16/02/2022 21:05:59    2400787

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""TJ is another year older and just got married."
What has TJ's, or any other players, marital status got to do with anything?"
Do you really have to ask??

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 16/02/2022 21:16:54    2400790

Replying To Shocs07:  "Do you really have to ask??"
I think hes an older guy who probably doesnt understand modern women or modern marriages!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20659 - 17/02/2022 09:37:39    2400808

Replying To Canuck:  "Rockies I was around for that one but deemed too young to take to Croke Park. The present team now has many options for different positions. However I have to ask do the options make any difference if they are equal to each other but not a step or two above the opposition. They seem to be now following the Limerick model with bigger men. The Limerick boys are big but extremely skillful.
Time will tell as Munster is a mine field. No disrespect to Leinster either as that is now very bit as competitive."
Gone are the days where wexford and kk was the only match in leinster.

I'd be nervous to be honest.

We could win it or not get out of the group just as easily.

Munster is gone crazy.

To think the championship can lose such a good team inside the first month is crazy.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4664 - 17/02/2022 10:01:28    2400812

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Gone are the days where wexford and kk was the only match in leinster.

I'd be nervous to be honest.

We could win it or not get out of the group just as easily.

Munster is gone crazy.

To think the championship can lose such a good team inside the first month is crazy."
Not really Doylerwex. Way it was before the backdoor you could be gone after only 1 game. Everyone will get more games than used to be the case or was last year for example.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20659 - 17/02/2022 11:15:19    2400825

Replying To baire:  "Galway play both KK and Dublin in Pearse Stadium. They play away against Wexford and Laois."
Sorry got it sideways. Still the original point stands- I'm not rushing down the bookies 2 put money on any of the teams to come out of Leinster.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20659 - 17/02/2022 13:12:43    2400848

Replying To Viking66:  "I think hes an older guy who probably doesnt understand modern women or modern marriages!"
Or a bachelor

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2684 - 17/02/2022 13:30:42    2400852

Replying To Viking66:  "I think hes an older guy who probably doesnt understand modern women or modern marriages!"
They've been together for 7 years, I doubt anything will change hurling wise

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2961 - 17/02/2022 14:15:21    2400859

I think his question about marital status is a valid one. Why should it make a difference? Surely in the modern marriage couples allow each other more freedom to pursue their interests. If it's a question of time and commitment most modern managers are married, some have young families and their status doesn't seem to impede them in carrying out their duties. Whether a hurler is married or single shouldn't make any difference. What tends to make a difference is age, mileage and injuries.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 17/02/2022 14:21:43    2400860

Replying To Viking66:  "Not really Doylerwex. Way it was before the backdoor you could be gone after only 1 game. Everyone will get more games than used to be the case or was last year for example."
That's very true.

I've heard it remarked that we were often the second best team in Ireland with Kilkenny rolling over everyone.

I'm just gone so used to the modern format.

It's been great for us.

Although ourselves or Waterford might have an all Ireland more recently if not for it.

All in all we've benefited hugely.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4664 - 17/02/2022 14:31:34    2400865

Replying To baire:  "I think his question about marital status is a valid one. Why should it make a difference? Surely in the modern marriage couples allow each other more freedom to pursue their interests. If it's a question of time and commitment most modern managers are married, some have young families and their status doesn't seem to impede them in carrying out their duties. Whether a hurler is married or single shouldn't make any difference. What tends to make a difference is age, mileage and injuries."
Being married tends to lead to other demands on your time over when you were just living together but not married. It might not make any difference to him. But it did to me and many others I know. So it might to him too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20659 - 17/02/2022 15:38:19    2400877

Replying To tommy k:  "Limerick city alone has a fair size of a population i.e. about 100,000 and in total with the county included has approx 220,000 (Galway has about 260,000) so this thing that ye are a small county is untrue hence the number of AI's ye have won is rather paltry. I am not saying Galway has a large number of AI's either and should have won a lot more I agree but we don't go around saying that we "calve" in especially when other county fans like Limerick say! When Galway hurlers were not going strong we had the footballers to fall back on including the great 3 in a row team of the 1960's - something Limerick don't have to worry too much about! Of course Galway has also loads of club hurling AI's i.e 11 (including 10 in over a 22 year period between 1992 and 2014) and 6 club football titles as well. Galway has also won 14 minor hurling titles since 1983 and 6 football titles as well as 10 U20/21 titles and 6 football titles. I think even with similar populations there is no doubt about who has been the most successful GAA county."
How many dual players have Galway had
Limerick had six hurlers who withdrew from the hurling panel in circa 2003 to 2004 alone, players like Mike O'Brien, Stephen Lucey, Connor Fitz Mark O'Riordan And Mark Keane and remember in 04 we only lost by two points to Cork the eventual Hurling Champions and in football took Kerry to a replay losing narrowly to that fine side that wiped the floor with Dublin, Cork and Mayo,among others that yea Please do not tell hurling in Limerick is not affected by football.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 17/02/2022 16:08:43    2400880

Replying To Rockies:  "Typical American post. Watching a few games in pub in Florida and you know it all. Cork and Wexford as well as Clare had great teams in late 1970's. Players like Ray Cummins, Jimmy Barry Murphy, Denis Coughlan, Tony Doran, Mick Jacob ,starring then. Don't post about something you know little about!"
The opinion of a Yank sitting on a high stool in Florida or any part of America on the game of hurling is as valid as that of any Corkman, even if the man claims to have played the game with Blackrock. Indeed, many observers would see the American opinion as even more valid as it is more objective overall, and devoid of bias and subjectivity, as the Yank isn't owned by any specific county, unlike most posters on here. Most posters I find to be fair and objective, but for a certain few the bias and bitterness when their own county isn't going well, or is indeed hammered, in their eyes, by a 'smaller' county than their own, is unmaskable and plain for all and sundry to see.

Jaysus, that hammering at the hands of Limerick last year must have really set you back on the flat of your behind!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2635 - 17/02/2022 16:13:16    2400883

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "They've been together for 7 years, I doubt anything will change hurling wise"
Probably not but possibly his last year with KK?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/02/2022 16:47:07    2400887

Replying To foreveryoung:  "The opinion of a Yank sitting on a high stool in Florida or any part of America on the game of hurling is as valid as that of any Corkman, even if the man claims to have played the game with Blackrock. Indeed, many observers would see the American opinion as even more valid as it is more objective overall, and devoid of bias and subjectivity, as the Yank isn't owned by any specific county, unlike most posters on here. Most posters I find to be fair and objective, but for a certain few the bias and bitterness when their own county isn't going well, or is indeed hammered, in their eyes, by a 'smaller' county than their own, is unmaskable and plain for all and sundry to see.

Jaysus, that hammering at the hands of Limerick last year must have really set you back on the flat of your behind!"
I don't agree. It was more of a massacre!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 17/02/2022 16:50:38    2400888