Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Pet:  "Colin and drew have retired"
2 incredible servants who have give blood, sweat and tears to the cause over the years.. never craved or hogged the limelight the ultimate team players..In their pomp both would have walked onto any intercounty team..enjoy retirement lads and many many thanks for the memories..

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 04/01/2023 14:39:38    2451101

Replying To latefortraining:  "jack mccarron has submitted a transfer request to scotstown,"
Heard this is well and by all accounts it isn't a rumour either..it's happening and will go through… it will leave a sour taste in a small rural club like currin and rightly so..your club is your club…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 04/01/2023 14:41:27    2451102

Best wishes to Walshe and Drew Wylie warriors to the cause over the years. All that is left of old guard now are the Hughes beggan mcmanus and o connell. Going to be a tough season. Kearns and mcenespie are big losses for the year as been mainstays of side and are both in their prime. Good luck to vinny think he will end up doing a lot of work for the next man.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 04/01/2023 14:57:34    2451108

I don't think Walshe played in the championship at all last year was he injured or out of favour. Two great servants best of luck to both in retirement.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 04/01/2023 15:02:56    2451111

Replying To mick2007:  "Heard this is well and by all accounts it isn't a rumour either..it's happening and will go through… it will leave a sour taste in a small rural club like currin and rightly so..your club is your club…"
Not many in Scotstown are happy with it either. Players & supporters alike. Curran should stick to their guns, he may not be living or working in Curran but the same can be said for Scotstown and Monaghan

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 04/01/2023 15:44:36    2451119

Replying To Fit15:  "Hope mulligan hasn't left,can't afford to loose players of his ability,while we are keeping players like Mealiff Irwin mcelearney that are not up to county standard,good luck tonight Vinny"
Mulligan didn't quit he was dropped

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 04/01/2023 15:45:44    2451121

Replying To Fit15:  "Hope mulligan hasn't left,can't afford to loose players of his ability,while we are keeping players like Mealiff Irwin mcelearney that are not up to county standard,good luck tonight Vinny"
Mulligan didn't quit he was dropped

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 04/01/2023 15:52:28    2451125

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Not many in Scotstown are happy with it either. Players & supporters alike. Curran should stick to their guns, he may not be living or working in Curran but the same can be said for Scotstown and Monaghan"
Not many happy with it lol…..I can assure you if you asked the so called "main" players in scotstown they would welcome jack in with open arms…not much currin can do, daddy bear played with scotstown and I'm told Jack will soon be living in the scotstown area.. ..this whole thing will leave scotstown even more likeable in the county……..

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 04/01/2023 16:05:21    2451129

Replying To latefortraining:  "jack mccarron has submitted a transfer request to scotstown,"
Will there be an objection from Currin (which would in effect result in Jack McCarron sitting out the year at club level)?

I've seen in other counties and it's not always worked out for the player moving from the junior club to the big senior club. Though you would think with JMcC being well established then it should be a win for both player and Scotstown.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 04/01/2023 16:56:38    2451136

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "Few of you boys would wanna grow up and put on your big boy pants. If you's think 3 players, all either in their prime or starting to break into the team, leaving the panel the same year we get a new manager is just a coincidence and the decisions were made before the appointment was made goes to show what planet yous are on.

May not like it but these are the facts. As for the argument of continuity, we were terrible last year, anyone involved should have been shown the door. Keeping the 2nd or 3rd coach on and giving him his FIRST EVER MANAGEMENT ROLE is and was a act of desperation which will fail, mark my words."
"May not like it but these are the facts" Don't know where you got your facts from but the FACTS are Ryan Mc Anespie and Niall Kierans had plans to travel before any new manger was even appointed . Maybe take the time to ask them rather than try to paint a picture here that they just decided after the announcement of new manager to leave because they were unhappy . If you knew these two players you should know better . They would never opt out because of a manager . They would play under anybody for the Monaghan cause and to presume otherwise is very unfair on the players mentioned . Maybe just maybe they had decided before the year started that they planned to take a break at the end of it . And hopefully we will see them back very soon wearing the Monaghan jersey once again

Positivity (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 04/01/2023 17:01:07    2451139

Definitely a changing of the guard Re monaghan fotoball for the coming season. Will be a different and challenging season ahead as the county builds for the future. I really really hope vinnie can use the league to introduce players and if relegated so be it. Then perhaps we can have a decent cut at championship, I have to say since 2019, banty waisted 3 years flogging players in the league. Been a challenge in itself for monaghan on this managerial appointment, be interesting to see how it plays out. Frustrating that the players in the county are not putting themselves forward as well.

Best wishes to drew and Colin, tough players who were outstanding on their day especially ulster final 13.

222 (UK) - Posts: 693 - 04/01/2023 19:39:52    2451167

Many in Blayney last night??

Good show of new faces which credit has to be given to Vinnie for. Only 2/3 regular faces on the team which gives the younger lads a chance to show what they have. Better team won on the night but the McKenna cup is for learning and blooding these younger lads,
Good to see Vinnie giving another goalie a chance. Goals were not his fault. Defence was wide open. Gave away one kickout and a point was the result, this is the only fault I could see. Hopefully continues to get a chance.
Pity for Leonard in midfield, has no luck. Started two games and was withdrawn due to severe looking injuries in both (Armagh last year). Hopefully he is ok. Hughes battled well in midfield, scored good point, looks for first time ball into forwards also and few nice high fields experience will do him well.
Loughran was impressive, hard runner and plenty of hard work. Bannigan stood up and was a leader in my opinion, few big scores and few hard runs. O Hanlon was lively as always and it is brilliant to see him back in the Monaghan jersey.
Gallagher (no 10) looked promising in the first half was a big help to the midfield. Irwin worked hard but a bit rash with tackling. McCarthy was quiet but wouldn't worry about him at the minute we know what he has. Treanor and Beggan done well for first day out. Slevin put in good shift coming on also.

Hopefully see another few new faces next week against Donegal.

If anyone is from Blayney here could you please get your PA system sorted as it is brutal for a 'county ground' and also whoever assigned the man to announce over the PA please reconsider this for future games. English was bad and Irish was worse, Mix up between singer of National Anthem and the poor person who had passed away who the minutes silence was for. Bit of a shambles.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 05/01/2023 08:52:26    2451178

It will be a seriously dark day for Monaghan club football if Jack McCarron is allowed to transfer to Scotstown. Scotstown can already field FOUR (!!) adult teams and have the biggest player pool to pick from in the whole entire county. They narrowly lost a county final last year whilst arguably their best player, Kieran Hughes, missed the entire championship campaign.. and now they're getting maybe the best forward in the county? It shouldn't be allowed. Even without McCarron, they'd win this year's championship easily if they have all their main players fit. You have to feel for Currin.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 05/01/2023 11:13:53    2451206

Replying To countymonaghan:  "Many in Blayney last night??

Good show of new faces which credit has to be given to Vinnie for. Only 2/3 regular faces on the team which gives the younger lads a chance to show what they have. Better team won on the night but the McKenna cup is for learning and blooding these younger lads,
Good to see Vinnie giving another goalie a chance. Goals were not his fault. Defence was wide open. Gave away one kickout and a point was the result, this is the only fault I could see. Hopefully continues to get a chance.
Pity for Leonard in midfield, has no luck. Started two games and was withdrawn due to severe looking injuries in both (Armagh last year). Hopefully he is ok. Hughes battled well in midfield, scored good point, looks for first time ball into forwards also and few nice high fields experience will do him well.
Loughran was impressive, hard runner and plenty of hard work. Bannigan stood up and was a leader in my opinion, few big scores and few hard runs. O Hanlon was lively as always and it is brilliant to see him back in the Monaghan jersey.
Gallagher (no 10) looked promising in the first half was a big help to the midfield. Irwin worked hard but a bit rash with tackling. McCarthy was quiet but wouldn't worry about him at the minute we know what he has. Treanor and Beggan done well for first day out. Slevin put in good shift coming on also.

If anyone is from Blayney here could you please get your PA system sorted as it is brutal for a 'county ground' and also whoever assigned the man to announce over the PA please reconsider this for future games. English was bad and Irish was worse, Mix up between singer of National Anthem and the poor person who had passed away who the minutes silence was for. Bit of a shambles."
Much the same as ourselves a lot of new faces getting their chance, good to get the win though as we are starting from a lower base than Monaghan but as we all know this in not the time of year to panic too much, On the PA man , i suppose he was doing his best and thats fine by me, but your right a bit of a shambles

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 05/01/2023 11:34:00    2451213

Replying To countymonaghan:  "Many in Blayney last night??

If anyone is from Blayney here could you please get your PA system sorted as it is brutal for a 'county ground' and also whoever assigned the man to announce over the PA please reconsider this for future games. English was bad and Irish was worse, Mix up between singer of National Anthem and the poor person who had passed away who the minutes silence was for. Bit of a shambles."
Have to agree with most of your post. Breath of fresh air after the mercenary actions of the past 3 years. From a Monaghan point of view my man of the match was Kevin Loughran. He looked very assured. All the younger lads looked like they have the potential to gel together into a decent outfit. Hopefully Vinny will be given the time it will take to undo the past 3 years shenanigans and that the morons who spouted their drivel during Eamon McEneaney's clean up attempt after Banty 1 will stay quiet. As regards the PA,it was shambolic from a Blaney perspective and worse from the announcer who I take it was from Ulster Council. The large crowd deserved better. Hopefully the announcer is one and done and that Blaney also get their act together. Parking also was the worst I have seen at that venue. Garda signs increasing and parking spots disappearing.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 05/01/2023 11:40:21    2451214

Was in blaney last night. great to see so many new lads getting a chance. Agree that Loughran seems the main candidate who could come into the side come league. Thought Hughes in corner back was good and I suspect there is a corner back spot up for grabs to freshen things up by moving Duffy out to half back so maybe Hughes can stake a place in there beside Wylie and Boyle.

Thought treanor done very well and done a lot of hard work and deserves his spot on the panel. Hughes had a decent game around the middle and should get another chance v Donegal, although its heard to see weather he can stake a place for the league.

Bannigan, mc carthy, jones and O hanlon all stand out from the rest and all four should be starters come business time of the league and championship.

Great to see Darren Mc Donnell get a chance in goals, I presume Vinny asked plenty of men to be number two to Beggan and none took it so good to see him get the experience as he will be well needed.

Only disappointing aspect was that there is 2/3 lads on the panel that I cannot understand how they are there, surely there is better within the county willing to commit and gain valuable experience. Also hard on Leonard to pick up a knock, he was one that everyone was hoping could stake a claim and fill a big void.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 05/01/2023 12:01:56    2451223

Replying To HB245:  "It will be a seriously dark day for Monaghan club football if Jack McCarron is allowed to transfer to Scotstown. Scotstown can already field FOUR (!!) adult teams and have the biggest player pool to pick from in the whole entire county. They narrowly lost a county final last year whilst arguably their best player, Kieran Hughes, missed the entire championship campaign.. and now they're getting maybe the best forward in the county? It shouldn't be allowed. Even without McCarron, they'd win this year's championship easily if they have all their main players fit. You have to feel for Currin."
Should this transfer be allowed it is a dark day for small clubs in Monaghan. Shame on Scotstown for even thinking about accepting him. It was not the way of the Scotstown of the seventies and eighties, a team that achieved so much more than the present bunch.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 05/01/2023 12:15:28    2451228

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Was in blaney last night. great to see so many new lads getting a chance. Agree that Loughran seems the main candidate who could come into the side come league. Thought Hughes in corner back was good and I suspect there is a corner back spot up for grabs to freshen things up by moving Duffy out to half back so maybe Hughes can stake a place in there beside Wylie and Boyle.

Thought treanor done very well and done a lot of hard work and deserves his spot on the panel. Hughes had a decent game around the middle and should get another chance v Donegal, although its heard to see weather he can stake a place for the league.

Bannigan, mc carthy, jones and O hanlon all stand out from the rest and all four should be starters come business time of the league and championship.

Great to see Darren Mc Donnell get a chance in goals, I presume Vinny asked plenty of men to be number two to Beggan and none took it so good to see him get the experience as he will be well needed.

Only disappointing aspect was that there is 2/3 lads on the panel that I cannot understand how they are there, surely there is better within the county willing to commit and gain valuable experience. Also hard on Leonard to pick up a knock, he was one that everyone was hoping could stake a claim and fill a big void."
Agree Loughran has a great future n McPhillips in the back was very good. Leonard very unluckily again.
Vinny Corry talking abt finding players when he has made things difficult for good young players to stay.
There are better players in the county but only he knows why their not there

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 05/01/2023 14:57:15    2451259

Not only good learning for Vinny last night but for the Blayney club as well. Lucky they had a dress rehearsal before the Armagh game. So much to improve upon. Enough has been said about the PA announcer/ system but a lack for stewards, pitch not in great knick (grasses looked long/ few bony areas), not enough match programmes, the list could go on. Hopefully they get everything sorted before the start of Feb for what should be a fantastic occasion.

padaly (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 05/01/2023 17:17:16    2451278

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Should this transfer be allowed it is a dark day for small clubs in Monaghan. Shame on Scotstown for even thinking about accepting him. It was not the way of the Scotstown of the seventies and eighties, a team that achieved so much more than the present bunch."
should the transfer be allowed ? and will it be granted .
see transfer rules

ref: rule 6.3 catchment area /Permeant residence

1. Jacks is not living in Currin/Scothouse catchment area anymore. Fact
2. can he prove permeant residence in Scotstown catch area ?
3. Can he prove a strong family connect to the Scotstown club i.e Father or sibling former or current player ? Yes Ray

Currin will probably not agree to the transfer,
but eventfully it will be granted after a hearing in Monaghan/Ulster or outside arbitration by the DRA
If Jack or scotstown have the willingness to push it.

latefortraining (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 06/01/2023 10:31:54    2451311