My god it's hard to believe that game is 20 years ago, and what a game it was. We looked dead and buried but salvaged a draw with the wonder score from Paul finlay. Amazing what did it was for us. I can't recall much from 2008, did we loose? Anyway back to tomorrow, tricky situation for monaghan a win will be important to keep momentum going yet baring an unlikely sequence of results monaghan are promoted. I do agree with a previous poster in that the standard of D2 has been poor, it will be interesting to see maybe where we are really at in a months time against Derry or Donegal. But you can only beat what is front of you and monaghan have a done a good job in doing that. I predict a draw tomorrow. Monaghan Roscommon final. 222 (UK) - Posts: 837 - 22/03/2025 11:07:28 2597761 Link 0 |
Think we had cork away, and Westmeath at home in the last 2 games that year, and lost both of them. moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 460 - 22/03/2025 12:36:33 2597776 Link 0 |
Played Cork in Blaney rory Woods played well but other than that we were poor the westmeath game was in clones we couldn't cope with there midfield of Flanagan and another skin head fella on the day
Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 32 - 22/03/2025 12:43:55 2597777 Link 0 |
That day in 05 lit the torch for banty and monaghan for next two decades and the belief flowed after that. Paul Finlay was the clutch man back then some footballer. This campaign has gone well for monaghan but we haven't had any moments like that and it's really those times when you find out what is in the team like last games of leagues in recent yrs galway dublin games v armagh kildare in the summer . You are right through donegal most likely or derry will have us facing into the fire in a few weeks anyhow. Still think we are brewing nicely and shouldn't fear anyone.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1871 - 22/03/2025 14:30:00 2597800 Link 0 |
Not the best start to the weekend the hurlers remain rock bottom in the lowest division in Ireland and the minor footballers scored 5 times in the game to lose by a point! Is the new rules in at county minor this year or just championship? farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 162 - 22/03/2025 18:47:19 2597826 Link 1 |
Hope we keep building tomorrow and secure promotion without having to get the calculator out. MunnionOfMunnionHill (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 22/03/2025 23:10:08 2597880 Link 0 |
Doesn't matter the score, you need to want something to win it and the fight wasn't there today GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 23/03/2025 14:49:27 2597956 Link 0 |
Bit of a reality check today weren't at the races esp in first half. Down far hungrier and better side throughout although good fightback in second half. They dont desrrve to be in div 3 laverty is doing a good job much better side than results show. Think the game showed weaknesses we have ahead of ulster championship and that is no harm. Too easily got at through the middle. Still think we lack a player inside to threaten in championship when ground hardens and pace picks up. On positive note O hanlon was superb when he came on a class act. Ward v good also. League final day out next week will want to win it to go into ulster on good note after losing today. A good league still through promotion achieved some good young players blooded but mgmt will know standards be far higher in div 1 so noone will be getting carried away. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1871 - 23/03/2025 16:09:39 2597990 Link 1 |
A few lads were given chances and were badly found out in the absence of our starters. Few good performances throughout from Wylie, Duffy, Beggan, and particularly Bannigan but outside of that I thought we were off the pace badly. Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 195 - 23/03/2025 17:03:51 2598013 Link 0 |
Bernardo should be on here shortly sure we were beaten today Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 32 - 23/03/2025 17:53:18 2598038 Link 1 |
We dodged a bullet.. Derry and Tyrone relegated … div 2 be some craic next year! Serious achievement for the players and management! veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 733 - 23/03/2025 19:02:40 2598079 Link 0 |
We dodged a bigger bullet than ye, we probably earned the most undeserving promotion for along time!! Good for us both to be back in Division 1 though. See ye next Sunday!
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 259 - 23/03/2025 19:10:24 2598086 Link 0 |
See ye on Sunday. Ros are very lucky to be going up. Very poor in the second half today against Westmeath. Strange results throughout this Division. No standout team but Monaghan probably deserve to top the table.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2348 - 23/03/2025 19:11:43 2598089 Link 1 |
Ward, O Hanlon and Began were the only positives from today's game, don't quite know how we kept a clean sheet. mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1063 - 23/03/2025 19:43:04 2598111 Link 0 |
Possibly the worst first half display we've seen in along time poor shot selection and going for goal when going was easier option. Good response second half , changes made difference. Overall a good league campaign. Well done to management and players . McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 23/03/2025 19:54:51 2598117 Link 0 |
If Ward is fit, he starts and is a massive player for us
monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 23/03/2025 20:39:50 2598127 Link 0 |
Good game today down were down and played the better football. They'll feel unlucky to be making the drop but deserved the win. But a good league campaign overall, bannigan will be happy. Next week is a nice occasion to be back at HQ. Again it will be a good test for the newcomers on a fast paced pitch. Regarding championship midfield could still be a problem and defense. 222 (UK) - Posts: 837 - 23/03/2025 21:24:29 2598140 Link 0 |
Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 41 - 23/03/2025 22:37:41 2598164 Link 0 |
Job done today but it did have a strange anti-climactic feel in Clones on the final whistle. Bottom line is that promotion was secured with a game to spare. Huge credit to Gabriel Bannigan and team on the promotion- they have done the county some service in recent months. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1168 - 23/03/2025 22:39:23 2598166 Link 0 |
Bannigan gave a v telling interview after the game. Basically said they went all out for the win in navan and weren't going to risk some players v down. Definitely no harm getting the reality check yesterday . We all know monaghan on their day can beat anyone but equally we are always vulnerable to the smash and grab underdogs coming to town and beating us. If and its a massive if we did end up playing Down in Ulster this year certainly be no complacency. Down when they get their tails up are v hard side to beat and are coming team who will walk div 3. Be interesting to see if Bannigan and Moran stick with attacking style in championship as while we scored loads our defence v div 2 teams has been wide open.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1871 - 24/03/2025 09:25:03 2598194 Link 0 |