Listen to last 5 mins of rte gaa podcast reviewing weekend great tribute to monaghan. A lot were predicting a big drop off and decline into div 3 with lads leaving. This group players and management deserve enormous credit for refusing to accept that narrative and turning the ship back in the right direction after an awful year last year where been easy to drop the heads and be happy with our lot. The attitude has been first class new leaders emerging in the side new players coming into the side filling the Jersey with the same pride and passion those before them did. seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1871 - 17/03/2025 20:16:16 2596942 Link 4 |
Great job denying, refuting & correcting all my facts.
MonaghanMan44life (Monaghan) - Posts: 34 - 17/03/2025 21:38:29 2596951 Link 0 |
Granted, not all small clubs will have the numbers, or the skills. But that doesn't mean that they should not aspire to achieve the goals of the Gaelic Athletic Association. Progressive clubs like Inniskeen, Truagh and Clontibret are an example of what clubs should aspire to do in hurling for example. Corduff and Latton doing a lot of good work at handball, Carrick Emmetts at Rounders. They don't do everything well, but are moving things in the right direction.
BrehonBlonde (Monaghan) - Posts: 109 - 17/03/2025 22:22:53 2596958 Link 0 |
Great job denying, refuting & correcting all my facts.
MonaghanMan44life (Monaghan) - Posts: 34 - 17/03/2025 23:11:55 2596964 Link 0 |
Brilliant post people believe that this group can achieve
Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 32 - 18/03/2025 01:20:21 2596970 Link 1 |
It's been a very good league campaign, there's a deal good factor about again which is great. I'd like to see them push on and go for the league final in Croke Park, the new rules will be properly scrutinised there and it should stand well for them come championship, I thought at the start of the year another year in Division 2 would do them no harm but they are better than that, the yrs in division one has stood to them and the management as well .
stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 227 - 18/03/2025 10:38:19 2596990 Link 0 |
Watching the match at the weekend, the thing that impressed me was that there were lessons learned from previous matches. The 2nd half was handled much better than other games. The slow start was rectified after a huddle during Lavell's injury. Other games I've seen, we've been wiped out in terms of winning midfield breaks (Cavan and even the Westmeath game), yesterday was a massive improvement on that. The players are taking responsibility and new leaders emerging which is so important. There were worries over the past 12 month with the injuries, retirements and other distractions that there would be a leadership void. sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 18/03/2025 11:46:56 2597018 Link 2 |
Agreed on the fact that we all would of accepted two years in division 2 but after having a great league campaign we are all but sure of promotion. I can imagine Bannigan and co will want to go for the League and get some silverware under their belts and give the team a run out in croke park. Especially important for players who are new to the whole setup. It is also good to get back up to division one as there will be two strong teams coming down this year from division one, leaving division 2 tough next year and then you could find yourself in a dog fight maybe looking at Tailteann cup football which would not be ideal. So it is great to get back to the top table and play against the cream of the crop. Lavelle will be a miss but it is an opportunity for another lad to get his place and try make a name for himself. Good to see Duffy back as well as D Ward. Two massive players to have back. Get the win over Down this weekend back in Clones and keep the winning mentality up and see where we can go. countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 289 - 18/03/2025 13:17:01 2597057 Link 0 |
Garland has been a marked man and is still in the top ten players in the division for scoring from play. Yesterday, most of our scores came either from runners from midfield or shooting from outside the arc, this is not Garlands game.. he relies on quick balls kicked in long to him. This threat is still needed for the other type of scores to happen. He still adds a lot to the team even if he is not racking up high scores. I can't see him being dropped Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 813 - 18/03/2025 13:26:59 2597061 Link 0 |
I don't think there was 1 ball kicked in low in front of garland in navan or drogheda or inniskeen which is the only way he can win it he is never going to win a high ball at 5 ft 8 Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 32 - 18/03/2025 16:51:22 2597109 Link 0 |
Watching the game back this evening, Meath were so poor. They didn't lay a glove on Monaghan for about 40 minutes. That was very surprising because the vibe before the game was that Meath were really up for it. The big PT crowd showed that to be the case. Also, if Ronan Jones and Matthew Costello were playing the margin could have been a lot tighter. While nobody should get carried away from a Monaghan perspective, the team still deserves massive credit for how they have conducted themselves thus far. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1168 - 18/03/2025 21:41:59 2597160 Link 0 |
You called it well, Monaghan very much came alive again.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3563 - 19/03/2025 01:54:44 2597179 Link 0 |
You said it, Meath were so poor, so obvious the difference in their agression in the tackle and ours and how hands on we get. I see them talk about how they didnt push ut on our 2 pointer kickers, I think meath realised that if they opushed out it would have opened up space insiode for O hanlon, bannigan and co to run at them and open them up. Its just a testament to the variations in our play that
monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 406 - 19/03/2025 09:50:57 2597200 Link 0 |
I was wrong regarding Monaghan reaching the final, ye were miles ahead of us so hats off on a successful campaign, and best of luck for the remainder of the year.
Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 709 - 19/03/2025 18:27:12 2597339 Link 1 |
Only having bit of craic. Meath have improved from last year, certainly do yous no harm another year in division 2.
McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 87 - 20/03/2025 20:18:38 2597549 Link 0 |
meath and monaghan both massive improvements from last year...meath got everything wrong on sunday so theyll be disappointed but to be fair monaghan were on fire too so it was a double edged sword
MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 215 - 21/03/2025 09:02:47 2597588 Link 1 |
Do we know if it's 1.30 and 3.30 games for the league final or 2 and 4 pm? farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 162 - 21/03/2025 12:01:11 2597628 Link 0 |
Dessie Mone on the podcast was saying Killian Lavelle won't likely be risked for the Down game. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1168 - 21/03/2025 13:09:20 2597637 Link 0 |
I'm sure the players and management won't be taking anything for granted, but I'm wondering if promotion will be as straightforward as we think. moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 460 - 21/03/2025 13:42:59 2597645 Link 0 |
Jap free kick v Longford for anyone old enough on here to grab a draw and promotion. 2008 v westmeath in clones. Lots of talk then of league final v the dubs following week came to nothing. Ye never know but we will never have a better chance to escape div 2. Down will be tough through they won't fear monaghan and always something hard about playing them they are not the biggest but have serious pace when they get a run on ya. We brought a lot of size back in v meath for that midfield battle. This will be like a championship match but as I said at the start of the year I believe in this group of players they had a dreadful year last year but that doesn't wipe away the standards these players have set and those standards include a return to the top table come Sunday evening.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1871 - 21/03/2025 19:55:49 2597708 Link 0 |